Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To daveboy:  "That day in the GGs last year was off the charts in the round robin and we were in the open stand. Couldn't take the kids to ennis this year because of that night and the actions of a few. Took them to the munster finals where I have to say the segregation of tickets especially for season ticket holders was far better. Every kid that loves hurling should see all these matches. Hopefully we've seen the worst of it. There are always sections of all fan bases that are at fault not just one. The clare/limerick rivalry has been the fiercest I've ever seen in my lifetime.

Any similar ones in wexford out of interest that anyone here can recall?"
Living in Limerick I've been at 3 or 4 games between the two, tbh I would say from what I've seen on social media and in the stands there is definitely a bit more of a nastiness to it, in comparison to ourselves vs Kilkenny ,a lot of personal stuff being said that lads wouldn't dare saying to a players face, which is way below the belt, every fanbase is no different unfortunately

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 19/06/2024 13:27:33    2552984

Best of luck to Wexford at the weekend . Although both teams are underdogs in the bigger frame of things, I'd prefer to see Wexford prevail in this one. Clare have had a shot in the AI series over the past two years and fell flat. Hopefully, Wexford can make a better fist of things.

I cannot really understand the great dislike for Clare on here. They've fewer AIs won than Wexford and the two counties don't meet very often at all in the championship!

Hoping for a cracking game!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2076 - 19/06/2024 13:28:52    2552985

Replying To Mossy73:  "As a Limerick man i would have to agree. The atmosphere at the Limerick / Clare games in recent years is toxic & getting worse as the years go on. Awful lot of bitterness between so called supporters."
I have to agree too, personally I've found Clare GAA supporters to be some of the worst and most toxic people. For years they've been airing their dirty toxic mess in public and when Davy and Lohan were managing they tried to drag us into it too. Remember when Lohan made accusations against a Wexford player, saying they intentionally nominated a Clare player as a close COVID contact so they'd miss a game? Perennial victims and always seem to be on the receiving end of GAA conspiracies.

They're the county I least want to see win an AI, at least until Lohan is long gone.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 19/06/2024 13:32:25    2552988

Replying To clooney:  "You obviously know nothing about Clare hurling Davy had his time with Clare and he knew it was time for a change hid Dad was Secretary for several years he also knew it was time to move on.

If Clare voted against change this disappoints me but its obviously been used as a motivating factor down in WX unfortunately no one will pass up o any advantage at this stage.

Wexford people and GAA fans are the absolute best IMO so I suppose we should ignore posts like yours who show you definitely as a bitter person get some help

If WX do win is say most Clare fans would want them to go all the way"
I know a lot more about Clare hurling than you think. And the personal veto's ye have, Funny thing is, if Lohan is not there next year, guess who will be looking for the job and possibly get it. Love see Clare faces then.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 687 - 19/06/2024 13:39:16    2552990

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "No but i was 12 at the time. Much like how Pat Horgan was on the bench for Glen Rovers the same day."
12 year old not making u-14 then. Ok.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 687 - 19/06/2024 13:40:00    2552992

Replying To Mossy73:  "As a Limerick man i would have to agree. The atmosphere at the Limerick / Clare games in recent years is toxic & getting worse as the years go on. Awful lot of bitterness between so called supporters."
That's just nonsense I go to every game underage ect never a word if you have seen did you call it out because from what you are saying its both sets of supporters.

IMO its a downright lie what you are saying

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 19/06/2024 13:40:39    2552994

Replying To daveboy:  "That day in the GGs last year was off the charts in the round robin and we were in the open stand. Couldn't take the kids to ennis this year because of that night and the actions of a few. Took them to the munster finals where I have to say the segregation of tickets especially for season ticket holders was far better. Every kid that loves hurling should see all these matches. Hopefully we've seen the worst of it. There are always sections of all fan bases that are at fault not just one. The clare/limerick rivalry has been the fiercest I've ever seen in my lifetime.

Nothing too toxic really, usually a bit of craic drim thr Kilkenny crowd at times but from experience it's good natured.

My only negative experience is Clare and when Offally were flying unbthr 80s and 90s they were insufferable.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 19/06/2024 13:42:24    2552995

Just remembered as a child being told to shout "**** in the powders" at KK fans if they were giving us a hard time. An apparent derogatory term for kk folk which originates from 1798 rebellion whereby they were supposed to have **** on the gunpowder instead of joining the rebellion. It's more than likely historically not true but I dunno I wasn't there!

That's probably lost on youngsters generation now as never heard that recently.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 19/06/2024 13:46:24    2552996

Well it must have been a very few because I was in that stand also any Limerick fans around us were grand as were Clare fans the atmosphere in Ennis this year was absolutely fine.

Limerick/Clare have always had a rivalry you know every County has a few idiots so why add to the drama its clear Wexford are annoyed but I can assure that both sets of fans will have respect for each other no point in trying to make it out to be like Rangers/Celtic

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 19/06/2024 13:46:39    2552997

So there you have it.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 19/06/2024 13:55:30    2553001

Replying To clooney:  "That's just nonsense I go to every game underage ect never a word if you have seen did you call it out because from what you are saying its both sets of supporters.

IMO its a downright lie what you are saying"
Unfortunately I am talking about both sets of supporters here. This is my opinion based on what i have seen & heard over the years !! There is nothing wrong with healthy rivalry but there is a toxic bitterness creeping in. It is actually the one fixture in the round robin that i don't look forward to now ( unfortunately )

Mossy73 (Limerick) - Posts: 46 - 19/06/2024 14:00:06    2553002

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Hard to argue with that, our biggest problem is match ups on Duggan ODonnell Fitzgerald and I'd even throw Malone in there due to his sheer size, against Kilkenny we really struggled with their forwards running directly at us, which Fitzgerald and ODonnell are primed for.

If you remember back to the league game Fitzgerald picked off 5 scores that were an exact carbon copy of each other - given the freedom of the park and easy tap overs."
It should be noted that Simon Donohoe was supposed to be marking Fitzgerald that day but didn't go such a good job of that.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 226 - 19/06/2024 14:02:53    2553003

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You tell em brother.
Wexford want to be loved by everybody, and that makes the county a push over. Learn to stick up for yourself and do your own fighting because nobody has your back at the end of it all. The heels needed to be dug in within 5 minutes of the full time whistle v Laois and the narrative "you had a month to sort this, we warned you" needed to be everywhere. If that did not work, the next step was to refuse to play the game. Newbridge or nowhere was what was needed. GAA politics is a minefield and they should have let the GAA figure it and left them in no doubt.
I saw Clare v Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds last year as was down at a wedding. The round robin game. I was astounded at some of the comments and abuse I heard between the 2 sets of supporters. To say it was a nasty atmosphere would put it mildly, it was the first time I wondered if supporters need to be segregated at certain fixtures."
They are horrible. Have been at countless Clare games over the last 3 years. You won't meet a more spiteful bunch of people. Bitter and always playing the victims. The way they carried themselves after the Munster final and KK match last year were beyond belief. Follow in their managers footsteps.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 687 - 19/06/2024 14:03:52    2553004

I wouldn't say we've ever had a rivalry as bitter as Limerick and Clare to be honest. Things obviously get heated when we're playing Kilkenny from time to time but they'd be isolated incidents. And we had a strong rivalry with Offaly in the 80's and 90's that wouldn't have been all that friendly.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 226 - 19/06/2024 14:07:52    2553005

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Best of luck to Wexford at the weekend . Although both teams are underdogs in the bigger frame of things, I'd prefer to see Wexford prevail in this one. Clare have had a shot in the AI series over the past two years and fell flat. Hopefully, Wexford can make a better fist of things.

I cannot really understand the great dislike for Clare on here. They've fewer AIs won than Wexford and the two counties don't meet very often at all in the championship!

Hoping for a cracking game!"
This is actually the seventh time we've met in the championship in the last 10 years. We played them in 2002, 2005 and 2006 too.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 226 - 19/06/2024 14:12:46    2553009

I've seen stuff with tipp fans in 19 and my brother had an incident as an 11 year old with tipp fans in 2001 replay. I had an incident with a couple of cork fans In 03 on the hill after Rory McCarthy goal me and my Kilkenny mate laughed our ***** off at them. Even though I'm from the boarder of wexford and Kilkenny never had an issue apart from maybe the odd ref call. Clare I didn't like during the Davy years the abuse the gave him especially coming out of thurlus. There are wexford eejets aswell 100 percent

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 19/06/2024 14:16:00    2553010

Replying To Mossy73:  "Unfortunately I am talking about both sets of supporters here. This is my opinion based on what i have seen & heard over the years !! There is nothing wrong with healthy rivalry but there is a toxic bitterness creeping in. It is actually the one fixture in the round robin that i don't look forward to now ( unfortunately )"
That was how I saw it. Both sets of fans and very nearly a punch up after the full time whistle.
I have never seen any bad blood with Wexford and opposition support as long as I am going to their matches. Dublin? Don't follow the football and never once had a bad word with the hurling. Might not be enough of us to form a mob.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1252 - 19/06/2024 14:40:09    2553022

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "This is actually the seventh time we've met in the championship in the last 10 years. We played them in 2002, 2005 and 2006 too."
Those were depressing days, particularly 06.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3055 - 19/06/2024 14:50:58    2553026

Replying To WEXILE:  "Nothing too toxic really, usually a bit of craic drim thr Kilkenny crowd at times but from experience it's good natured.

My only negative experience is Clare and when Offally were flying unbthr 80s and 90s they were insufferable."
My children hate the Biffos. I just nearly feel sorry for them. Nearly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 19/06/2024 15:01:30    2553032

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I've seen stuff with tipp fans in 19 and my brother had an incident as an 11 year old with tipp fans in 2001 replay. I had an incident with a couple of cork fans In 03 on the hill after Rory McCarthy goal me and my Kilkenny mate laughed our ***** off at them. Even though I'm from the boarder of wexford and Kilkenny never had an issue apart from maybe the odd ref call. Clare I didn't like during the Davy years the abuse the gave him especially coming out of thurlus. There are wexford eejets aswell 100 percent"
In my experience Tipp and Offaly fans are the hardest to listen to.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 19/06/2024 15:03:02    2553033