Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To theboys:  "Absolutely correct we need to come out of the fog,we might win a couple of games in Leinster but after that forget about it!!! If it was a Leinster team we were playing Sunday I'd think we have a chance but that don't happen!!! How can U say we are better than we were in 19 that's crazy we aren't half the side we were then!!! People get carried away here in Wexford,if U strip it back the facts don't lie!!! We would be under serious pressure to beat any Munster team!!! Like the only proper game we played was against Kilkenny this year and our poster boys were nowhere to be seen the good teams just cut them out and that's that,we were beat all ends up v Kilkenny,yes we hurled for 20 mins but that's a load of crap,IV watched it back lads a couple of times should have been bet by 6-9 points I reckon!!!our form since 19 is terrible what are ye on about!!! And by the way I'd be out a good bit and listen to crap about Wexford when the fact are staring you in the face,and people think we are better now than 19,cop on!!!!"
We have a better panel than we had in 19. We had nearly noone with any good championship experience on the bench in 19.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 19/06/2024 09:31:08    2552911

In stead of arguing amongst ourselves like eejits and complaining about getting shafted on the time and venue. We should all get on the Dublin and Cork forums and ask them to hang around to cheer Wexford on in Thurles since Clare deliberately pulled the rug out under us and our supporters.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 19/06/2024 09:33:25    2552912

Replying To hunting:  "Great piece by Tom dempsey in the paper today, confirming Clare were the only team out of the 4 playing Saturday that voted against changing the game. Say it all really. No direct quote for rossiter about Ryan, he expect at least one of jack and Mickie to be fit, D O K has put his hand up for selection and Lawlor good to go as well as Chin. No word on Molloy"
Going by who we think is available I would go with
Fanning
S Reck
Hanlon
E Ryan
Donohoe
D Reck
C Foley
Lawlor
Hearne
Liam Og
Chin
Dunbar
ROC
Mac
C Byrne

Jacko, Dee, K Foley , Tucker , Dwyer and Casey all capable of offering impact off the bench

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 345 - 19/06/2024 09:41:34    2552913

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Going by who we think is available I would go with
Fanning
S Reck
Hanlon
E Ryan
Donohoe
D Reck
C Foley
Lawlor
Hearne
Liam Og
Chin
Dunbar
ROC
Mac
C Byrne

Jacko, Dee, K Foley , Tucker , Dwyer and Casey all capable of offering impact off the bench"
Made a mistake forgot Charlie hes in good form and I would probably start him over Dunbar . I think his ability in the air could be a huge asset and workrate around the middle could be vital. Would like to see him have more confidence in himself and go for scores . Also forgot Corey he's another good option from the bench

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 345 - 19/06/2024 10:05:56    2552919

Replying To Viking66:  "We have a better panel than we had in 19. We had nearly noone with any good championship experience on the bench in 19."
We could have Dee , K Foley and Jacko coming off the bench saturday all with huge experience

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 345 - 19/06/2024 10:06:59    2552920

Replying To Afinestick96:  "We could have Dee , K Foley and Jacko coming off the bench saturday all with huge experience"
And maybe Dunbar, Mikey, Dooley, depending on who Keith selects to start. Casey, CBD, Tucker, Charlie not bad options either if they don't start.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 19/06/2024 10:30:45    2552926

Replying To countyman2022:  "You could not make your club panel at u-14?"
He was u13 by the sound of his post.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 19/06/2024 10:32:10    2552927

Replying To countyman2022:  "You could not make your club panel at u-14?"
No but i was 12 at the time. Much like how Pat Horgan was on the bench for Glen Rovers the same day.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 19/06/2024 10:44:04    2552930

Replying To countyman2022:  "They're absolutely horrible, bitter and victimized. The way they have treated the Fitzgeralds speaks volume of them, they would have no All Ireland the last 100 years without Davy, yet look at what they done in Portlaoise in 2020 and within Clare. Was no shock the horrible crowd voted against change in days."
You obviously know nothing about Clare hurling Davy had his time with Clare and he knew it was time for a change hid Dad was Secretary for several years he also knew it was time to move on.

If Clare voted against change this disappoints me but its obviously been used as a motivating factor down in WX unfortunately no one will pass up o any advantage at this stage.

Wexford people and GAA fans are the absolute best IMO so I suppose we should ignore posts like yours who show you definitely as a bitter person get some help

If WX do win is say most Clare fans would want them to go all the way

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 19/06/2024 10:52:45    2552932

I see there is 21 Clubs involved in feile. That leaves plenty of clubs with no involvement. I would hope all genuine Wexford supporters with no involvement in feile make the journey to support the lads.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 345 - 19/06/2024 11:05:48    2552936

I'm sorry to our Clare posters.
I'm sorry to some of the worst winners in the GAA. Jeery, goady, taunty people who wouldn't know winning with dignity if it hit them in the face. I have seen them in full flow at the U21 All-Ireland v Wexford and several quarter finals since.
I'm sorry to a county who wanted the match changed for "hurling promotion", only to u-turn and change their mind and screw thousands of volunteers in a county of the right to go to an All-Ireland Quarter Final for reasons only they know.
I'm sorry.........did I say I'm sorry......yeah as Fr. Jack said "I'm so, so, sorry".
I couldn't go anyway because of where I am. But I know our club is heavily involved in the Feile and supporting a hosting club. It is terrible to see volunteers treated this way.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 19/06/2024 11:24:18    2552944

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I'm sorry to our Clare posters.
I'm sorry to some of the worst winners in the GAA. Jeery, goady, taunty people who wouldn't know winning with dignity if it hit them in the face. I have seen them in full flow at the U21 All-Ireland v Wexford and several quarter finals since.
I'm sorry to a county who wanted the match changed for "hurling promotion", only to u-turn and change their mind and screw thousands of volunteers in a county of the right to go to an All-Ireland Quarter Final for reasons only they know.
I'm sorry.........did I say I'm sorry......yeah as Fr. Jack said "I'm so, so, sorry".
I couldn't go anyway because of where I am. But I know our club is heavily involved in the Feile and supporting a hosting club. It is terrible to see volunteers treated this way."
You tell em brother.
Wexford want to be loved by everybody, and that makes the county a push over. Learn to stick up for yourself and do your own fighting because nobody has your back at the end of it all. The heels needed to be dug in within 5 minutes of the full time whistle v Laois and the narrative "you had a month to sort this, we warned you" needed to be everywhere. If that did not work, the next step was to refuse to play the game. Newbridge or nowhere was what was needed. GAA politics is a minefield and they should have let the GAA figure it and left them in no doubt.
I saw Clare v Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds last year as was down at a wedding. The round robin game. I was astounded at some of the comments and abuse I heard between the 2 sets of supporters. To say it was a nasty atmosphere would put it mildly, it was the first time I wondered if supporters need to be segregated at certain fixtures.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1252 - 19/06/2024 11:56:55    2552956

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I see there is 21 Clubs involved in feile. That leaves plenty of clubs with no involvement. I would hope all genuine Wexford supporters with no involvement in feile make the journey to support the lads."
It does not. Clubs have all been asked for volunteers to help whether they involved or not. My wife nephews are hurling in it and if we were at home would have gone to see them hurl. We fly home from holiday Saturday morning and will decide then where we go.
It is just making what should be an easy decision a hard one for people and it was totally unavoidable.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1252 - 19/06/2024 12:01:59    2552958

Replying To countyman2022:  "They're absolutely horrible, bitter and victimized. The way they have treated the Fitzgeralds speaks volume of them, they would have no All Ireland the last 100 years without Davy, yet look at what they done in Portlaoise in 2020 and within Clare. Was no shock the horrible crowd voted against change in days."
Some dose of irony when you claim someone else is bitter..........

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 19/06/2024 12:12:08    2552959

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I'm sorry to our Clare posters.
I couldn't go anyway because of where I am. But I know our club is heavily involved in the Feile and supporting a hosting club. It is terrible to see volunteers treated this way."
Dry your eyes mate........... Dont take it oo personally,. it only makes losing the match worse when you do.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 19/06/2024 12:13:14    2552960

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Dry your eyes mate........... Dont take it oo personally,. it only makes losing the match worse when you do."
To be fair you're a great example of what he's talking about. I've seen you before on the Wexford page and others with your usual triumphant nonsense. Oh yous are the finished article sure. Munster and All Irelands to bate the band. You were on here 2 years ago too

One thing I have noticed tho is you're never gloating on Limerick page or Kilkenny. Why is that?

You go off now and worry about your own team or doe they actually pay attention to you on Clarr Forum?

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 19/06/2024 12:31:25    2552962

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You tell em brother.
Wexford want to be loved by everybody, and that makes the county a push over. Learn to stick up for yourself and do your own fighting because nobody has your back at the end of it all. The heels needed to be dug in within 5 minutes of the full time whistle v Laois and the narrative "you had a month to sort this, we warned you" needed to be everywhere. If that did not work, the next step was to refuse to play the game. Newbridge or nowhere was what was needed. GAA politics is a minefield and they should have let the GAA figure it and left them in no doubt.
I saw Clare v Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds last year as was down at a wedding. The round robin game. I was astounded at some of the comments and abuse I heard between the 2 sets of supporters. To say it was a nasty atmosphere would put it mildly, it was the first time I wondered if supporters need to be segregated at certain fixtures."
The difference between Kildare and Newbridge was that they were drawn at home and Croke Park told them that their home ground was too small so to give away home advantage and they said sorry but there is not a rule to say we have to do that so we ain't moving.

Wexford had no rule to rely on to say we ain't playing. They also probably felt that they would win the vote with the presidents backing and all hurling counties backing it despite the northerners going against it. Seems like Clare actually had two votes as Podge Collins seemed to be voting for them according to reports. I think Liam Griffin summed it up well here https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41418910.html .

Regarding the game, I really think Clare will be more fired up than two years ago. At that stage they performed well in the Munster final whereas they didn't play well this year but still kept with Limerick. I just hope that we are competitive.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 174 - 19/06/2024 12:44:45    2552968

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You tell em brother.
I saw Clare v Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds last year as was down at a wedding. The round robin game. I was astounded at some of the comments and abuse I heard between the 2 sets of supporters. To say it was a nasty atmosphere would put it mildly, it was the first time I wondered if supporters need to be segregated at certain fixtures."
As a Limerick man i would have to agree. The atmosphere at the Limerick / Clare games in recent years is toxic & getting worse as the years go on. Awful lot of bitterness between so called supporters.

Mossy73 (Limerick) - Posts: 46 - 19/06/2024 12:45:41    2552969

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Going by who we think is available I would go with
Fanning
S Reck
Hanlon
E Ryan
Donohoe
D Reck
C Foley
Lawlor
Hearne
Liam Og
Chin
Dunbar
ROC
Mac
C Byrne

Jacko, Dee, K Foley , Tucker , Dwyer and Casey all capable of offering impact off the bench"
Hard to argue with that, our biggest problem is match ups on Duggan ODonnell Fitzgerald and I'd even throw Malone in there due to his sheer size, against Kilkenny we really struggled with their forwards running directly at us, which Fitzgerald and ODonnell are primed for.

If you remember back to the league game Fitzgerald picked off 5 scores that were an exact carbon copy of each other - given the freedom of the park and easy tap overs.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 19/06/2024 12:59:41    2552971

Replying To Mossy73:  "As a Limerick man i would have to agree. The atmosphere at the Limerick / Clare games in recent years is toxic & getting worse as the years go on. Awful lot of bitterness between so called supporters."
That day in the GGs last year was off the charts in the round robin and we were in the open stand. Couldn't take the kids to ennis this year because of that night and the actions of a few. Took them to the munster finals where I have to say the segregation of tickets especially for season ticket holders was far better. Every kid that loves hurling should see all these matches. Hopefully we've seen the worst of it. There are always sections of all fan bases that are at fault not just one. The clare/limerick rivalry has been the fiercest I've ever seen in my lifetime.

Any similar ones in wexford out of interest that anyone here can recall?

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/06/2024 13:05:56    2552973