Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Interview with Rossi this morning with Alan Corcoran. Said Chin and Lawlor were fully fit but one or two others had niggling injuries and he will monitor them over the next two days. He didn't say who they were. I wonder is Jacko one of them?
He didn't say much else except the usual mantra about looking forward to the game and it was going to be a big challenge.
Anyway time to forget all the sideshows connected with this game and let the lads focus solely on the match and nothing else.
Can we win? Of course we can but a lot of things will have to go our way.
Refereeing decisions.
Can we last the full 75 minutes playing with intensity?
Will we control our discipline and not hand them easy scores?
Are we physical enough or will Clare boss us in that department?
Will our backs get to grips with their dangerous forwards?
Can we manage without Jippo?
Will we score goals?
How. Will Our half backs and midfield perform?
Will Rory Mac and Chinner perform as we know they can?
Will we have the support to get behind the lads and outvoice the banner boys?
All those questions will be answered on Saturday.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 20/06/2024 11:30:47    2553158

Replying To diarmaid39:  "Every county will have its idiots but the state of this thread - generalising toxic nonsense about Clare people.
Myself and my young lad were stopped up outside Cusack Park after Limerick won this year and treated to a foul mouthed rant by one brave lout in green. But you'd want to be a complete arse to take that as an indicator of Limerick people. Given all the great relationships between the communities most of us know better.

We'd regard Liam Griffin almost as one of our own- son of a clare man, winner of several clare titles with Newmarket. Hope he doesn't get exposed to some of what passes as commentary on here."
Every county has them and unfortunately there has been a tenancy in the younger generation to get tanked up before going to games. For sure there has always been pints before games and the trend of younger lads doing it didn't start yesterday but it's something that has been going on for a while now. I am sure there are bunch of lads who go to games and who have no idea what happened. Worse I think when they travel by trains as it gives them a cheaper chance to booze up. Do any families travel by train anymore to games! Every county has them unfortunately.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1870 - 20/06/2024 11:32:36    2553159

Replying To diarmaid39:  "Every county will have its idiots but the state of this thread - generalising toxic nonsense about Clare people.
Myself and my young lad were stopped up outside Cusack Park after Limerick won this year and treated to a foul mouthed rant by one brave lout in green. But you'd want to be a complete arse to take that as an indicator of Limerick people. Given all the great relationships between the communities most of us know better.

We'd regard Liam Griffin almost as one of our own- son of a clare man, winner of several clare titles with Newmarket. Hope he doesn't get exposed to some of what passes as commentary on here."
Have to agree, every county has their idiots, some of the stuff is a little bit "school yard" in all honesty.

It has all escalated a little in terms of abuse etc across the board at games and unfortunately this very forum is one of the causes of that, just look at any Internet based social media platform and its wall to wall hate, team and us, no in-between, all arguing under false names and hiding true identiies.

There's anger everywhere, this entire weekend of gaa a action is all angry and divisisive and in all honesty the gaa itself needs to take responsibility for it.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1407 - 20/06/2024 11:36:56    2553161

The team is named and I think Jack O Connors and Liam Ryans size will be sorely missed for primary possession and under high balls

We will need our forwards to be on fire to match Clare

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 20/06/2024 12:24:09    2553177

Replying To Yellow:  "The team is named and I think Jack O Connors and Liam Ryans size will be sorely missed for primary possession and under high balls

We will need our forwards to be on fire to match Clare"
Where did you see the team? Jacko a huge loss too if hes not on the bench

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 345 - 20/06/2024 12:56:25    2553187

Replying To zinny:  "Every county has them and unfortunately there has been a tenancy in the younger generation to get tanked up before going to games. For sure there has always been pints before games and the trend of younger lads doing it didn't start yesterday but it's something that has been going on for a while now. I am sure there are bunch of lads who go to games and who have no idea what happened. Worse I think when they travel by trains as it gives them a cheaper chance to booze up. Do any families travel by train anymore to games! Every county has them unfortunately."
Good post!

We're no different in Wexford to any other county. The train coming back to Wexford after the semi final in 2019 was a desperate affair, and it wasn't all young people either.
Too much alcohol obviously ruins it for the rest of the genuine supporters and most definitely families.

YellowShadeOfPurple (Wexford) - Posts: 23 - 20/06/2024 13:24:08    2553194

If it is a one off, fine. Every county has idiots
If it happens time and again with a particular county, it is fair game to generalise that a county support are toxic.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 20/06/2024 13:29:39    2553197

No team anywhere

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1017 - 20/06/2024 14:05:47    2553204

Replying To Yellow:  "The team is named and I think Jack O Connors and Liam Ryans size will be sorely missed for primary possession and under high balls

We will need our forwards to be on fire to match Clare"
Jacko has plenty of strengths but winning high ball isn't one of them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 20/06/2024 15:02:44    2553217

Replying To StoreysTash:  "If it is a one off, fine. Every county has idiots
If it happens time and again with a particular county, it is fair game to generalise that a county support are toxic."
This thread is toxic and the chemicals are coming from your and that other clown Countyman

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 20/06/2024 15:17:48    2553222

I support Tottenham and have seen people be told to sit down, etc. Peoples attitude is I have paid my money I can do and say what I want.
A big problem is the lack of Gardai both on trains and in the terraces. People inebriated on the terraces at games. Why are they let in?
Having said that, I go to the stands only and will say that Wexford supporters tend to be impeccably well behaved. Too much so some times, need to be a little bit more up in arms for decisions.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1252 - 20/06/2024 15:19:04    2553223

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "This thread is toxic and the chemicals are coming from your and that other clown Countyman"
Ah yea, that sounds about right. The usual personal attacks when they see something they do not like. Never change Clare. As I see another poster saying, that many people surely can't be wrong about them?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 687 - 20/06/2024 16:35:02    2553232

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "This thread is toxic and the chemicals are coming from your and that other clown Countyman"
Sure go on over to your people on the Clarehurlersforum if you feel this thread is too toxic for your liking.

Up Wexford!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 792 - 20/06/2024 17:01:59    2553235

Jackie tyrrell outstanding on sunday game rte podcasts there. Said he very disappointed in Clare for not supporting the vote to change the game and what actually happening is we, are basically putting 2 fingers to all the wexford support around the county who work so hard to promote and develop the game through their work with hosting the Feile.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1017 - 20/06/2024 18:47:00    2553253

Replying To StoreysTash:  "If it is a one off, fine. Every county has idiots
If it happens time and again with a particular county, it is fair game to generalise that a county support are toxic."
Pure nonsense - if you go looking for the bad in people like that you're starting to sound like something not amiss in 1930s Germany. You don't demonise an entire community based on the odd incident. As John Lennon said, People are the same wherever you go.
You'd want to grow up for yourself

diarmaid39 (UK) - Posts: 10 - 20/06/2024 20:48:38    2553265

Would think that Conor Foley should tag Shane O'Donnell, with MOH then marking Peter Duggan. We've man-marked Tony Kelly before but I'd be more inclined to keep Shane Reck on Mark Rodgers and to ask the midfield to try and sit back and cover Tony Kelly (With help from Damien Reck). Think it might actually make sense to put McGuckin in midfield and ask him to tail David Fitzgerald, Charlie could have the physicality and size to handle Fitzgerald who has been Clare's best player this season.

For me, Lohan seems to have little interest in changing his team around to get good match-ups so if we get a good match-up in our forwards, he won't do much to change it. I don't think either of their corner-backs would be able to handle Chin (I usually prefer Chin in the half-forward line but this game is the exception) and then I think we should put Rory at centre-forward and ask him to go everywhere and anywhere, that would give Conlon a real headache

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 20/06/2024 21:31:08    2553273

If the bitterness on this thread is replicated on the pitch on Saturday the game might have to be abandoned! Wouldn't be a fan of the way Lohan conducts himself but cant write off Clare as a county over it! Clare GAA was in a right state not too long ago with a secretary who nearly had to be crowbarred out of his role, took a lot of hard work to get things back on track. With the talent coming through their underage ranks now, even if beaten on Saturday they have a bright future. I think they have underachieved in recent years, lost the games against Limerick and KK that mattered. Generational players - Kelly, O'Donnell, Conlan, McInerney...only 1 x AI medal and only one final even.

Would be a great one to win. Munster hurling people have little respect for Wexford, only one way to earn it.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 263 - 20/06/2024 22:05:19    2553275

Wexford could win this handy enough. Our lads will be ready for ye then. Lee Chin playing best hurling of his life.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 20/06/2024 22:49:09    2553284

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Would think that Conor Foley should tag Shane O'Donnell, with MOH then marking Peter Duggan. We've man-marked Tony Kelly before but I'd be more inclined to keep Shane Reck on Mark Rodgers and to ask the midfield to try and sit back and cover Tony Kelly (With help from Damien Reck). Think it might actually make sense to put McGuckin in midfield and ask him to tail David Fitzgerald, Charlie could have the physicality and size to handle Fitzgerald who has been Clare's best player this season.

For me, Lohan seems to have little interest in changing his team around to get good match-ups so if we get a good match-up in our forwards, he won't do much to change it. I don't think either of their corner-backs would be able to handle Chin (I usually prefer Chin in the half-forward line but this game is the exception) and then I think we should put Rory at centre-forward and ask him to go everywhere and anywhere, that would give Conlon a real headache"
Think you are spot on in the in everything you said here .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 345 - 21/06/2024 00:12:25    2553291

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Would think that Conor Foley should tag Shane O'Donnell, with MOH then marking Peter Duggan. We've man-marked Tony Kelly before but I'd be more inclined to keep Shane Reck on Mark Rodgers and to ask the midfield to try and sit back and cover Tony Kelly (With help from Damien Reck). Think it might actually make sense to put McGuckin in midfield and ask him to tail David Fitzgerald, Charlie could have the physicality and size to handle Fitzgerald who has been Clare's best player this season.

For me, Lohan seems to have little interest in changing his team around to get good match-ups so if we get a good match-up in our forwards, he won't do much to change it. I don't think either of their corner-backs would be able to handle Chin (I usually prefer Chin in the half-forward line but this game is the exception) and then I think we should put Rory at centre-forward and ask him to go everywhere and anywhere, that would give Conlon a real headache"
David Fitzgerald has played wing downward every game for the last 2 years or more. Why do lads still, especially paid pundits, think he is playing midfield? Just because he's named there?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 21/06/2024 07:34:58    2553297