Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "That is a massive worry regarding goals, if we're to have any chance of beating Clare we'll have to get at least 2 or 3"
To be fair laois defended for their lives and let us pick off scores from distance. If we'd needed goals I think we'd have got them.

Next will be totally different. Clare will attack us which will give way more goal opportunities

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2897 - 16/06/2024 15:32:34    2551892

Replying To Timbertony:  "Agreed, no hard luck story for Clare the last day. Tony Kelly hasn't seemed fully fit since their injury and the likes of Conlan seem on their last legs at this level. Will still take our best performance of the year to beat them. Last two meetings with Clare, Fanning let in awful goals at key times and I think we have a better balanced team and squad now. I think we can do it, huge game for Wexford hurling. I think Mac can be the difference"
I agree. We have improved our squad since 22 and they've regressed slightly. It will take a huge performance but it's in us.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2897 - 16/06/2024 15:34:36    2551895

Thought yesterday was a bit lack lustrewe done enough . . Early days we struggled on their puck out but few tweaks and liam og came to the fore he was our best player yesterday by a long shot . .
Couple of times we lived dangerously laois handling let them down other than that they could ve had few goals .
Too many times we tried manufacture goals when handy points were on . Either too far out or vall on was nt good . Saying that I m sure if we have said chances v ckare points will be taken . Goals come more from opportunism rather than manufactured .
Tucker prov dud nt dobenough to warrant start next day Charlie bit better and his ball winning ability is aa positive . Great to see Corey back showed glimpses of potential and great for impact .. Missed lawlor assume he s injured if we can get some of the injured players back snd have impact from the bench crucial in my opinion .
Jippo is pivotal to our confidence at the back looked vulnerable yesterday at times again . Eoin Ryan is best back to come in for a while . Thiught Donohoe got turned over and then fouled too much and the penalty too was his fault too hate picking znyone out but if he plays next weekend he ll need to improve touch and awareness drastically .
At start of the chzmp I d ve been happy to be here now . We vecblooded new players and good mix old and young too .
If we all click especially in forwards we have a great chance . Think chin and mac are better individually when nit in same line and Rory rimming round .
Whilst mavmc idms going OK abd scoring still think we should get more from him all round .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 211 - 16/06/2024 16:31:50    2551912

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Friend of mine works with Liam. Apparently he's 100% and wanted to play today."
He was in great form yesterday

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:32:11    2551913

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Great to have the real Conor mac back as well what a hurler"
Yes. He was even chasing backs coming out with the ball. Fair play to him he's really got his hurling up a level or two.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:33:17    2551914

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Great to have the real Conor mac back as well what a hurler"
Yes. He was even chasing backs coming out with the ball. Fair play to him he's really got his hurling up a level or two.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:42:51    2551922

Replying To tearintom:  "No it will be thurles anyway I think.

Because of course it has to be thurles, I mean couldn't dare think of anywhere else, I won't lie, I hate going there, every aspect of it.

Terrible road, pain in the ass to get to, no real option os getting there with public transport and literally nothing in the bloody place when you get there.

But hey let's not dare consider anywhere else but we will open croke Park for a game with barely over 10k at it."
Has to be said I prefer travelling to Semple than I do Croker. I hate motorways, and on top of that I travel with 4 kids and there nowhere to pull in safely on a motorway. The Nore valley up through Kilkenny is also one of my favourite roads, along with the N81 from Tullow to Brittas. But from the point of view of promoting hurling the games should be in Croke Park.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:47:03    2551930

Replying To WEXILE:  "They will flip the dates. Probably won't change venues. Thurles is a kip plus it's the graveyard of Wexford hurling.

Tailteann cup must be in Croke Park what a joke. A losers competition taking precedence over the SHC quarter finals."
Imagine if the Joe Mac semis took precedence over the AIFQFs? Oh wait, there aren't any Joe Mac semis.... ..

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:48:08    2551931

Replying To legendzxix:  "Two years on from visiting Tralee, the Wexicans are causing trouble for the lower tier football community! I agree the hurling quarter-finals should be on Sunday. The lower tier football community however were dangled the carrot of Sunday semi-finals in Croke Park. The tiered structure in hurling and football might come under pressure. Some counties don't want the Tailteann. Offaly and Antrim want to live in a world where there is no relegation to the McDonagh Cup. The Tommy Murphy Cup failed because there was no tangible reward for winning it. A few years ago the Christy Ring winners had the choice of joining a provincial championship or remaining at Ring level. It seems counties want that choice though it not ideal."
We took the Tailteann Cup very seriously. None of our players went travelling after the League, or didn't try. How many other counties is that true of?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:51:08    2551934

Replying To Magpie2:  "Wasn't at the game yesterday so I'm not in a position to analyse it.
However we were far too good for most of the game. 32 points is a nice total but conceding 20 points is a little worrying. Clare will be a very different proposition altogether. Our record against them is poor. One win is all we can boast about. They were unlucky in the munster final, missing 2 gilt edged goal chances and then losing by 6 points to a Limerick team going for 5 all irelands in a row. We are a good bit goal shy and didn't get one yesterday against a team that will still be playing Joe Mac next year.
It's going to be an uphill struggle against the bannermen and if we are without Ryan solidifying our defence I really can't see us getting a positive result. Clare have a very potent forward line with Kelly and o'donnell capable of causing us major headaches. On the flip side we have Mac, Rory, Chin and young Byrne. If we can give them enough ball they will cause problems but they will need to be firing on all cylinders for lengthy periods.
Difficult assignment and I'm not confident at all.
Hopefully I'll be proved wrong , as usual."
Magpie Fanning saved 2 penalties also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:52:26    2551935

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations on the win. Best of luck against Clare. Ye have the ammo to get the job done. I hope that Chin is able to play because take him out yesterday and there wouldn't be too much at all between Laois and Wexford."
Feck it if I'd known you were over I'd of grabbed a coffee with you at halftime!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 16:53:40    2551937

According to Clare GAA tickets are going on general sale tomorrow at 2

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 111 - 16/06/2024 16:55:33    2551939

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Conor Mac and Liam og McGovern did all the hurling yesterday."
Agree about Mac and Mogie. Thought Cian and Rory covered more ground than Lee also though. Charlie was good under the high ball, but still needs to get the head up more in possession. Overall played pretty well though. Hearne was excellent, but I still think there should be a pre plan to replace him between 55-60. Puts so much in he's gassed by then. And Kevin or Dee would be ideal replacements. Recks, O Hanlon, Foley were solid at the back, while I think Eoin Ryan improved again, probably along with Mac the lad who has improved most over the course of the championship. Great to see CBD come on and look sharp too. And finally congratulations to Tucker on his first ever Senior Championship start!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 17:01:41    2551945

Replying To Viking66:  "He was in great form yesterday"
I heard its precautionary, tight hammy

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 16/06/2024 17:08:47    2551950

Replying To Viking66:  "Magpie Fanning saved 2 penalties also."
Sorry correction a penalty and 21 free.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12848 - 16/06/2024 17:12:03    2551952

Replying To Viking66:  "Imagine if the Joe Mac semis took precedence over the AIFQFs? Oh wait, there aren't any Joe Mac semis.... .."
Yep incredible double standards. Fair play to Wexford GAA for requesting a change. It's not our fault the schedule is a joke. It's also not a hurling v football argument either, its US wanting to attend OUR quarter final on a a day WE are not hosting thousands for Feile.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 16/06/2024 17:37:06    2551961

Any white smoke regarding changing the day of our game v Clare. The longer it goes on the less confident I'd be in a change, it doesn't have to be a double header. What's their obsession with double header for 1/4 finals

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 16/06/2024 19:08:08    2551984

Replying To WEXILE:  "Any white smoke regarding changing the day of our game v Clare. The longer it goes on the less confident I'd be in a change, it doesn't have to be a double header. What's their obsession with double header for 1/4 finals"
Exactly and why the nees to change the day of the football.. what's that got to do with anything

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 79 - 16/06/2024 20:06:35    2552006

Well lads job done last night wouldn't be that concerned about not scoring a goal.. another day we could of had 2 or 3 if couple of balls would of came off.. thought fanning Shane Reck o hanlon Eoin Ryan were the pick of the backs with Liam og Mac chin the pick of the forwards… mcguckian has done his chances of starting next week no harm…does he start as a ball winner instead of Dunbar who won't give us that.. for me all mcguckian has to do is catch puck outs and work as hard as he can.. if his shooting improves all well and good… just hope we get the match ups right in defence i presume Shane Reck on Tony Kelly o hanlon on Duggan or Eoin Ryan maybe to Shane o donnell

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 16/06/2024 20:27:50    2552013

Replying To WEXILE:  "Any white smoke regarding changing the day of our game v Clare. The longer it goes on the less confident I'd be in a change, it doesn't have to be a double header. What's their obsession with double header for 1/4 finals"
Why not just play the clare v wexford game on Sunday as stand alone fixture?

Portlaoise would be ideal thanks.

In fact portlaoise could work for both games, there's more options than the kip that is thurles.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1378 - 16/06/2024 20:28:45    2552015