All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

I was and still worried about our future. However Cork and Wexford are exactly where we are tonight and Tipp by a hair despite the doom and gloom. Half of what would be first team players not available and Tipp a few less also. Mark Fitzgearld (20) should be considered young player of the year. Played in every back position including full back. Patrick Fitzgearld a rare talent and maybe the next Paul Flynn. The two Fitzgerald Padraig and Seamus from KIllrossanty on their way. Not still sure Davy will allow Dessie play the way he can.
One think for sure these amateurs can not play at this hectic pace every week and Tipps energy was down like ours after the Limerick game. Wexford were able to turn over Kilkenny today after getting beat by Westmeath. Clare are the only ones who see to have that weekly energy as Limerick did last year. There has to be a mandatory two week break between games. This system has flaws that need tweaking to have a better chance of the best teams progressing. Not disrespecting who is going ahead.
I predicted in my posts after the league game with Tipp that we would be out and cause them advancement. Bye how close that came. Cahill made a mistake in that game with his tactics and not going in to it again. Other than he would have been better showing some respect to the players he had just managed in an old league match. They were always going to be up for this one and I believe they announced that after the league match.
Good luck to all the teams going on including Tipp and all you posters with a horse in the race.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 28/05/2023 20:29:06    2482332

Replying To tiobraid:  "We lost as many games as Clare and had the same amount of shambolic performaces as Clare too. Down 10 of last years team as well and many of them lost a great friend and have been doing great work in the background.
To sneak out of that group was fair going for such an inexperienced team. Your dislike of Tipp is shining through…"
I don't have a hatred for Tipp, my wife is from Tipp and if the truth be told I was roaring for ye to finish the job today and get to the final. We had a day planned with the kids if Tipp made it so I am just very disappointed ye didn't.

There are plenty of excuses you can use but you guys had to win and beat that Waterford team today. Yes Waterford have decent players but mentally they are on the floor and with Tipp at home, Munster final on the line ye need to be winning that match.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 28/05/2023 20:40:28    2482337

Replying To daveboy:  "Limerick are steadily improving. I felt the scoreline flattered cork a bit today and Limerick were a bit better than a 1 point win. Mike casey better, byrnes huge jump in performance. Hayes powered into the 2nd half. Our Midfield dominated and showing good signs today. O neill coughed up a lot of poor ball that was punished. Our inside line could have got 6 goals minimum and only 1 real shot on Quaid for cork.

I think the munster final is the route now that will suit Limerick. They're going for 5 in a row. Unheard of.

I thought Tipp would be vulnerable today. They gave it all last week. Extra motivation for them was there last week too.

Cork have added a bit of steel no doubt and the Horgan goal kept them in it when Limerick were moving away. They slotted all their frees in fairness and know Pat Ryan will bringbthem forward.

Leinster is just very hard to gauge right now. Kilkenny still for me will be the biggest threat. Delighted for Wexford. They're a great hurling county and I personally am glad they got the win.

Roll on the munster final"
I don't think the score flattered them at all. A very soft penalty was the difference here. I thought Cork should have been further ahead at half time with goals keeping Limerick in it.
The spell after the penalty where Limerick tagged on a few scores won it for them. I feel that the lack of experience in places cost Cork today. A few pot shots from distance, bad wides at the wrong time.
I think if Cork had won or drew, Limerick would not look back and say that they were robbed, just as I am not looking back and saying Cork were.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 28/05/2023 20:53:25    2482342

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Well it was heard of... Cork did Munster 5-in-a-row between 1975 and 1979. I was actually at the 1978 final, a game that Clare are still kicking themselves at how they left it after them. This year's final will be pure blood n guts stuff."
Still not over that game. Twas a long walk back to the Dad's car that day.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 118 - 28/05/2023 21:25:47    2482360

Replying To updwell:  "Ah come on we all know Clare are the form team in Munster and we're still not where we should be, it's Clares to lose now but we'll give it our best shot."
Nice try……….

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 28/05/2023 21:27:50    2482361

One final note, Pat Horgan is one of the greatest players ever to play the game of Hurling. 1-15 today and I think he'll come back next year. It will be a travesty if he doesn't win an All-Ireland. Harnedy also immense today.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 15 - 28/05/2023 20:20:59 2482328

Hurling is a team game. Countless great hurlers (and footballers) down the years never won a Celtic Cross. Especially the great players from the smaller counties.
Spare us your 'travesty' remark about Pat Horgan, great player as he is. Maybe you should look a bit closer to home to realise why Horgan, and especially Cork are not where you imagine they should be.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 28/05/2023 21:45:46    2482370

Well we are still there,today was not a good day for my health..to think 1 point more for cork and tipp were out..thought full back line stood up hugely today to immense pressure..half back line were back with a bang..2 midfielders were awesome..work rate of forwards unbelievable,I don't know where energy comes from..Tom is a freak of nature..delighted for gearoid..cork just about lost out and will be rightly put out by sift enough penslty..hoggie outstanding.Limerick 10/1 for Munster last now favs again..amszing how 1 puck of a ball changed everything..be some crack for next 2 weeks..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 28/05/2023 21:48:02    2482371

Replying To updwell:  "Ah come on we all know Clare are the form team in Munster and we're still not where we should be, it's Clares to lose now but we'll give it our best shot."
I heard the shout from one of our lads who most likely will be taking to the pitch in the final when Limerick got through. They are individually and collectively absolutely relishing this :) And, at the end of the day, the only talking that matters will be done on the field.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 28/05/2023 21:55:35    2482376

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Was not aware of that. If Tipp lose and the Limerick-Cork game is a draw, then scoring difference in the games between these 3 teams would still not separate them since all 3 games would have been draws. What happens then? Presumably it goes to overall scoring difference?"
Yep. Official guide part 1, rule 6.21. Although it says that's for county championships and nowhere does it say that the provincial championships follow those regulations... It's like "Stick them in here, sure everyone will just know." The rulebook needs a clean-up.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 28/05/2023 21:57:19    2482378

Replying To Frontier1000:  "Sickened after that. If Cork scored one more point in any of their last 3 games they go through. The Tipp Draw and 1 point losses to Clare and Limerick. It could be said that we were slightly second best for parts of all three games but the heart and courage the Cork hurlers showed in all three of those comebacks was immense and something that hasn't always been there. Pat Ryan is building something very good and even though we're out of the championship in May, I feel more positive about the direction of Cork hurling than I have in years. Hopefully our U20's can win their All-Ireland and end the year on a high. There was nothing between the Top 4 in Munster but unfortunately we're the ones that miss out. Good to see a bit of heart and fight from Waterford, some of the stuff being wrote and said about them has been ridiculous.

Delighted for Wexford, unreal win. It would have been a shame to see players as good as they have be relegated and fair play to them for fronting up today and righting the wrongs of last week. The Leinster Championship would be a much worse place without Wexford and their fans who I have a massive respect for. However like Waterford, one win doesn't change that it's been an immensely disappointing year for both teams and a lot of soul-searching will need to be done to understand how they found themselves in such an awful position.

On the remaining teams, I think Clare are the best team left. However they are conceding too much goals and that should be a huge worry for them. Limerick are fighting and battling but nowhere near the team we've seen over that last few years and are limping through games. Still wouldn't put it past them though. Like Cork, Tipperary are still in a bit of a transition but on their can beat anyone and will be a dangerous team for anyone to play. I don't know what to make of the 3 Leinster teams as we haven't seen them play under real knock out pressure yet. The Leinster final will teach us a lot more about KK and Galway.

One final note, Pat Horgan is one of the greatest players ever to play the game of Hurling. 1-15 today and I think he'll come back next year. It will be a travesty if he doesn't win an All-Ireland. Harnedy also immense today."
Hard luck today Cork gave it everything but just came up short. I'd disagree with you that Limerick are no where near where they were. I feel they have got incrementally better with each passing game and things were just a little off.

I agree that Clare are the form team and have played the best to date but I still feel Limericks ceiling is higher but Clare do have the Tony Kelly factor so anything is possible for them.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 385 - 28/05/2023 22:03:57    2482380

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I hate to say it but I feel bad for Cork. 1 points away from being in a Munster final. Tipp we're a shambles today. Tipperary have 1 win in the Munster RR in 2 years now. Maybe Cahill isn't the hero he is made out to be.

Limerick Clare Munster final is going to be some battle but Limerick will be heavy favourites now."
In fairness LRH, how could we possibly be heavy favourites. Clare are flying, probably better than last year. We're struggling for form. Realistically speaking, Clare are marginal favourites

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 28/05/2023 22:07:27    2482383

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I don't have a hatred for Tipp, my wife is from Tipp and if the truth be told I was roaring for ye to finish the job today and get to the final. We had a day planned with the kids if Tipp made it so I am just very disappointed ye didn't.

There are plenty of excuses you can use but you guys had to win and beat that Waterford team today. Yes Waterford have decent players but mentally they are on the floor and with Tipp at home, Munster final on the line ye need to be winning that match."
I can't really argue with much of that to be honest. Watching the Sunday game and I kind of agree with the lads on Westmeath and Tipp and the outside noise and everyone expecting them to be safe or heat Waterford in tipps case. Both Wexford and Waterford showed a lot of fight today and looking at the Tipp team on paper today there's no way I'd have expected it to get to a Munster final.
Not making excuses but to progress they will forde, Barrett and Morris back. Unfortunately we have a few that were too class players that are no longer going to produce the goods at the very highest level.

Looking forward to the Munster final if obviously disappointed but I expect another classic

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/05/2023 22:34:16    2482390

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Hard luck today Cork gave it everything but just came up short. I'd disagree with you that Limerick are no where near where they were. I feel they have got incrementally better with each passing game and things were just a little off.

I agree that Clare are the form team and have played the best to date but I still feel Limericks ceiling is higher but Clare do have the Tony Kelly factor so anything is possible for them."
Fair comments. I thought Hegarty definitely came into it today and he was huge for Limerick down the stretch. Sean Finn is a massive loss though, best defender in the game. On the Munster final. If Limerick play as direct as they did vs Cork they could have some joy. Clare are very open defensively but I think they have a better attack than ye this year. I felt sorry for Cian Lynch today, he seemed absolutely devastated. Hopefully he can turn it around.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 28/05/2023 23:08:57    2482399

Replying To tiobraid:  "I can't really argue with much of that to be honest. Watching the Sunday game and I kind of agree with the lads on Westmeath and Tipp and the outside noise and everyone expecting them to be safe or heat Waterford in tipps case. Both Wexford and Waterford showed a lot of fight today and looking at the Tipp team on paper today there's no way I'd have expected it to get to a Munster final.
Not making excuses but to progress they will forde, Barrett and Morris back. Unfortunately we have a few that were too class players that are no longer going to produce the goods at the very highest level.

Looking forward to the Munster final if obviously disappointed but I expect another classic"
I think Clare would have beaten us anyway and look we have time now to regroup and get back a few key players for a crack at Offaly. They won't fear us coming to town either and we'll expect a right aul battle with them. Limerick went this route in 2018 to winning AI so if that's an indicator to go by I'll take where we finished today.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/05/2023 23:23:57    2482402

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "One final note, Pat Horgan is one of the greatest players ever to play the game of Hurling. 1-15 today and I think he'll come back next year. It will be a travesty if he doesn't win an All-Ireland. Harnedy also immense today.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 15 - 28/05/2023 20:20:59 2482328

Hurling is a team game. Countless great hurlers (and footballers) down the years never won a Celtic Cross. Especially the great players from the smaller counties.
Spare us your 'travesty' remark about Pat Horgan, great player as he is. Maybe you should look a bit closer to home to realise why Horgan, and especially Cork are not where you imagine they should be."
Considering he was 20 seconds away from winning won in 2013 I think it's fair to say it'll be disappointing from a Cork perspective if he doesn't win one. I'm sure if it was TJ Reid in his shoes you'd feel the same way. As for looking closer to home, it's been a long 18 years. Getting to 5 out of the last 6 U20 finals makes me optimistic that the famine will end soon and this years performances definitely back that up. There is plenty of teams who have played much worse games than Cork this year and are still in the Liam McCarthy. Cork were unlucky but that's sport.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 28/05/2023 23:26:06    2482403

Was impressed by Cork today.. They were clinical and took some very good scores.
All in all I think though that we deserved it, goals win matches and we could easily have had another 2 or 3.. That said Cork showed great heart and are unfortunate to go out by the finest of margins.

Strolled onto the pitch afterwards and thought that it was fantastic to see the Cork hurlers staying for photos and to sign autographs for youngsters. Easy I'm sure when you've won but they must have been devastated to be out.
There was a genuineness to them that was good to see.

We go on to our 5th Munster final in a row.. Astonishing achievement and it'll be some battle in a few weeks time against a Clare team desperate to win one.

From a Limerick point of view I think that there are shades of last year again.. Tough, hard battle to get out of Munster, every team plays out of their skins against us which takes its toll but our big players are starting to look formidable again maybe, just maybe, we've timed our run well again. Time will tell. Luimneach abu.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 28/05/2023 23:33:23    2482404

Replying To Shocs07:  "In fairness LRH, how could we possibly be heavy favourites. Clare are flying, probably better than last year. We're struggling for form. Realistically speaking, Clare are marginal favourites"
What's the Limerick for Yerra ?

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 29/05/2023 00:10:52    2482410

Replying To tiobraid:  "I can't really argue with much of that to be honest. Watching the Sunday game and I kind of agree with the lads on Westmeath and Tipp and the outside noise and everyone expecting them to be safe or heat Waterford in tipps case. Both Wexford and Waterford showed a lot of fight today and looking at the Tipp team on paper today there's no way I'd have expected it to get to a Munster final.

Looking forward to the Munster final if obviously disappointed but I expect another classic"
Anyone think it complete nonsense that Waterford , Cork and Wexford are out and that the Joe McDonsgh finalists Offaly and Caflow only come into the competition now.

The Joe McDonagh finalists should play the teams who come fourth in their provinces.

Very unfair on the munster teams who would probably all come through an equal qualifying system to loose two top teams without playing anyone from the weaker Leinster province

Medals (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 29/05/2023 00:12:16    2482411

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "I don't think the score flattered them at all. A very soft penalty was the difference here. I thought Cork should have been further ahead at half time with goals keeping Limerick in it.
The spell after the penalty where Limerick tagged on a few scores won it for them. I feel that the lack of experience in places cost Cork today. A few pot shots from distance, bad wides at the wrong time.
I think if Cork had won or drew, Limerick would not look back and say that they were robbed, just as I am not looking back and saying Cork were."
Yes, Cork have improved, or rather have put a bit of steel into their game. Still, their two best forwards were Horgan and Harnedy (unmarkable at times today), and the question is: Will Cork be able to replace them when they bow out? Dalton is a fine prospect but he doesn't seem to have 70 minutes of tough running in him that the white heat of championship requires, and Robbie O'Flynn is a huge loss, of course. However, the rest of the Cork forwards seem to be easy enough muscled out of it. So, while overall, Pat Ryan has improved Cork, his hand might be a lot tougher going forward into the second season, especially if those two great servants and also great stickmen decide to go.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 29/05/2023 02:58:45    2482417

The scenic route to Croker might suit Tipp better actually. They've quite a few injuries and also quite a few still inexperienced players. That couple of extra games could help some of the newer lads to bed things down. Before Mac is lifted, we could still see a lot of that tough, abrasive attitude for which Tipp teams of old were renowned.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 29/05/2023 03:02:40    2482418