Joe McDonagh Cup 2023

Replying To Magpie2:  "The Joe McDonagh final will be televised live on Rte 2. Maybe there should have been more games shown but it's hard to fit them in with so many games over a short period of time.
Answer, extend the season into late August. This would spread the games out and so allowing for more coverage of the 2nd tier competition.
Actually I believe Clubber TV streamed games from the Joe Mc Donagh over the season."
Regrettably this may be of great interest to us next year

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 27/05/2023 09:56:03    2481862

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Stop being paranoid, new season was introduced to give exclusive time for Club Chamoonships."
You tyring to tell me that shoehorning our marquee games into 3 months of the year is a good idea. Cork or Limerick will be out of the championship before may is out. Ditto wexFord. Ferns had a 7 or 8 week gap between their co. Final and provincial club, ditto St. Mullins. This was replicated all over the country last year. It's just farcical.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 203 - 27/05/2023 13:43:26    2481902

Best of luck to the Carlow team this evening. While Offaly are strong favourites, the Carlow lads might have a strong say in proceedings this evening. I read CW is the opposition that Offaly wanted in the final, we will see how that goes for them.!!

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 27/05/2023 14:45:05    2481926

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Regrettably this may be of great interest to us next year"
If it is its what we deserve.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11857 - 27/05/2023 16:23:34    2481943

Good luck Carlow today.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 27/05/2023 16:25:43    2481945

RTÉ not letting me watch this for some "rights" reason? Never saw this before.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 27/05/2023 16:46:05    2481948

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "RTÉ not letting me watch this for some "rights" reason? Never saw this before."
Working now. Weird.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 27/05/2023 17:04:19    2481951

Offaly looking in serious trouble coming up to half-time. The red card was a ridiculous decision.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 27/05/2023 17:19:55    2481953

Very enjoyable game. Apart from some poor wides it's a cracking game but can someone tell what the square ball rule is - or am I missing something?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/05/2023 17:33:27    2481958

Has the square ball rule in hurling changed? That first Carlow goal looked like the most obvious square ball you're ever likely to see, he started in the square and still caught the ball in the square.

I also don't think the punishment of the red card fitted the crime, don't think there was too much intent involved. Again, the rules are the rules but they're not fit for purpose going off that.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 241 - 27/05/2023 17:40:08    2481961

Going to extra time! Great comeback by Offaly. It looked all over when they were 6 points down with less than 10 minutes left.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 27/05/2023 18:22:07    2481963

Great game!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11857 - 27/05/2023 18:23:15    2481964

Some game

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 118 - 27/05/2023 18:25:00    2481965

That was some game. Surely Carlow have lost their chance now?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 27/05/2023 18:28:38    2481966

Replying To Buachaillbui:  "Some game"
Brilliant stuff

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 27/05/2023 18:30:04    2481967

Epic match! Offaly will be gutted but Carlow deserved it on the day.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 27/05/2023 18:59:51    2481971

What a game Ceatharlach abu

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 27/05/2023 19:01:39    2481972

Outstanding game - pity it had to go extra time - both sides were out in their feet - finals should go to a replay !

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 27/05/2023 19:04:18    2481973

Well done to the neighbours! Hopefully we will be playing them next year!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11857 - 27/05/2023 19:04:38    2481974

Well done Carlow I'm absolutely delighted for ye!!!
Another year for Offaly below in the Joe Mac!!!
Fair play to Carlow they beat Offalys A team and B team, remember Offaly fielded their B team in the last group game v Carlow expecting they would beat Carlow in the Final and not let Laois slip into the Final!!
Offaly v Wexford Joe Mac 2024?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 27/05/2023 19:04:54    2481975