All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Wishing teams a good hiding wouldn't be the words of a true Gael, more of a ***** stirrer I'd say .. to escape from Ulster you have to beat what's in front of you , hard to explain unless your in that position. Both Monaghan and Derry have done what had to be done to get to the semi finals. The last time Monaghan played Dublin they beat them .. fact . And as a division one team they have done ok in the top division this 10yrs. I do think they will give Dublin a good run for it , what would the critics here say if it was actually a good game I wonder .. roll on the Dublin v Monaghan semi final ,"
My opinion is there will be 8/9 points in it in both Semis.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/07/2023 17:00:13    2491925

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Wishing teams a good hiding wouldn't be the words of a true Gael, more of a ***** stirrer I'd say .. to escape from Ulster you have to beat what's in front of you , hard to explain unless your in that position. Both Monaghan and Derry have done what had to be done to get to the semi finals. The last time Monaghan played Dublin they beat them .. fact . And as a division one team they have done ok in the top division this 10yrs. I do think they will give Dublin a good run for it , what would the critics here say if it was actually a good game I wonder .. roll on the Dublin v Monaghan semi final ,"
Dublin have always found Monaghan a tough opponent in the league. I'd imagine Monaghan's record is as good as most teams, Monaghan were the only team to beat Dublin in 2018 in last league game in Croke Park. Dublin beat Galway in final,

The few championship encounters have not been close but whatever about punters and pundits, Dublin won't be taking anything for granted, Especially after the last time they met! Nobody other than Derry and Kerry have beaten Dublin since that game.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 03/07/2023 17:01:36    2491927

Replying To peiledoir20:  "It was early enough in the second half, after the Dublin blitz. If Dublin are as 'pure' as you claim they are they wouldn't be doing it at all.

Funny enough Derry must have kicked the ball on at least a few occasions yesterday as I doubt they fisted all their goals and points...."
I never said that Dublin were pure, just that some teams are choking the life out of the sport with these negative tactics. Let the lads kick the ball, let them shoot, let them kick pass.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/07/2023 17:02:04    2491928

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Easy to say when your county has received 16 million Euros from Croke Park to upgrade your coaching and training facilities. It's no coincidence Dublin were resurrected after massive investment. Look at Dublin compared to Antrim and Belfast. Night and day."
Somebody tell the likes of Galway that spending is the key to success. They spent over €2m last year alone. They should be on their way to a 6 in a row throwing that kind of cash around. The largest spend by any county on their IC teams in a single year. Sure money is all that's to it. Dublin's hurlers are testament to that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/07/2023 17:08:56    2491933

Replying To Saynothing:  "Wishing teams a good hiding easily pops into your head when your sitting quietly watching your team getting a lesson by Kerry and a young lad (early 20s) and his father turning round and roaring into your face on each Kerry score. Could easily have lost it but not the place for a Glasgow kiss. Anyways both yourselves and Derry are keeping the Ulster flay flying."
That is very surprising behavior from them..... ;o) lol

What on earth did you do to provoke them...???

Must have been you who started it.... ;o)

Joking of course....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 03/07/2023 17:22:26    2491938

The three games in 14 days took it's toll on both Tyrone,Mayo at the weekend and allowed Dublin and Kerry pushed home for very comfortable wins. HQ will need to have a two week gap between the Prem Quarter final and AI Quarter if they want to have competitive matches.

Mayo two in front on the 23rd minute to getting outscored by 14 points for the rest of the contest. Tyrone level with Kerry 0-6 each on 27 minutes and got then got outscored by 12 points for the rest of the contest.

Cork another side that was running on empty yesterday and lucky it was Derry they were playing instead of Dublin or Kerry.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 03/07/2023 17:52:42    2491943

Replying To Saynothing:  "Wishing teams a good hiding easily pops into your head when your sitting quietly watching your team getting a lesson by Kerry and a young lad (early 20s) and his father turning round and roaring into your face on each Kerry score. Could easily have lost it but not the place for a Glasgow kiss. Anyways both yourselves and Derry are keeping the Ulster flay flying."
Connacht for the most part probably 90% want their neighbours to lose, refreshing to see this take

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 03/07/2023 18:00:43    2491945

Replying To legendzxix:  "To come out of Ulster undefeated and the to come out of the group Clare called the Ulster Championship undefeated outlines the difficult opponent that Derry are for anyone."
You'll be fine, we hammered them in the D2 final, and we're not near as good as Kerry.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/07/2023 18:46:41    2491962

Replying To Joxer:  "Somebody tell the likes of Galway that spending is the key to success. They spent over €2m last year alone. They should be on their way to a 6 in a row throwing that kind of cash around. The largest spend by any county on their IC teams in a single year. Sure money is all that's to it. Dublin's hurlers are testament to that."
Galway are a top4 team in both codes. Expensive enough standard of operation.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 03/07/2023 19:42:31    2491970

Very unsporting Saynothing and childish behaviour from those 2 and sorry to hear that as a Kerryman. As I always say there are idiots and tramps everywhere from every county. I myself was told shut up "you free state bastard" for cheering in Cliffords great pass from a Tyrone supporter. Tbf his comrade beside him told him shut up. I heard A few Dubs at Kildare game calling country people inbreds etc. I saw a whatsapp of a Dublin supporter heading to Sundays match with a slogan of "Mayo are still shite" on the back of his Dublin T shirt. I saw Monaghan and Armagh fans being unruly on Hill 16 (Muppet that could nt fight). Every county has the bad losers and ungracious winners. Some more than most. I ve seen bad stuff from many county supporters as I go to both hurling and football and where you ll really notice the bad stuff is when you are a neutral.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 03/07/2023 20:07:12    2491972

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ulster had 4 quarter-finalists and has 2 semi-finalists. Derry are unbeaten. Kerry beat Cork by 2 points. Derry beat Cork by 4 points. Dublin beat Mayo. It is very understandable that a lot of people are talking about Derry and Dublin."
And Cork beat Roscommon who drew with Dublin.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 03/07/2023 20:10:18    2491974

Replying To Breffni1969:  "My opinion is there will be 8/9 points in it in both Semis."
You might well be right but I don't expect Derry to fold so easily. They may not be a great watch but they are a physically strong and mobile unit with some very good players. Tyrone seemed to have 3-4 small lightweight nippy players who couldn't live with Kerry's physicality while all the Derry players can compete for the 50:50 ball. Glass and Rodgers are a good footballing midfield pairing and the team carry a goal threat from different parts of the pitch. There seems to be a togetherness among the players , tackle well without fouling and all of them buying into their game plan. Kerry will be hot favourites with Derry coming in under the radar from Div 2 . Both teams will be equally well rested , will Kerry reach the same heights again and will Derry be as flat?
Kerry will probably have too much but I'm expecting it to be closer than many expect.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 03/07/2023 20:33:55    2491980

Well said Stonegrey but not everyone might be as sporting as you. On here we have some posters (a minority T. G) that are more worried about other counties demise than their own counties results. The practice of "eoicaricacy" or "schaucenfreude" comes to mind. These people are eaten by jealousy. I like you don't wish any team a hiding. Just glad to win although close games are bad for the heart. Anyway fair play to you as you seem like a true sport.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 03/07/2023 20:38:31    2491981

Replying To Joxer:  "Somebody tell the likes of Galway that spending is the key to success. They spent over €2m last year alone. They should be on their way to a 6 in a row throwing that kind of cash around. The largest spend by any county on their IC teams in a single year. Sure money is all that's to it. Dublin's hurlers are testament to that."
Did you factor in the cost of fielding 6 different teams and many of them reaching an AIF or AISF, the cost of travel to Dublin or Thurles not to mention the overnight cost of Dublin hotels?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1804 - 03/07/2023 21:00:14    2491985

Is there a reason why Dublin v Monaghan is on Sat and Kerry v Derry is on Sun at 4? Why not switch days around? A bit hard on the 2 sets of Sunday travelling fans. Please do not tell it is something to do with TV arrangements.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/07/2023 21:10:58    2491990

OTB did a very good early preview of the All Ireland Final this evening. Consensus was that Dublin have rebuilt strength in depth from the bench, at least for this season, and this gives them the edge over Kerry.
Kerry need to be 4 to 5 points up at HT to cope.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 03/07/2023 21:52:27    2491997

The big beasts have come out to play (not talking about Derry/Monaghan); all the games up till now have been a phony war

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 03/07/2023 22:14:26    2492004

I've often had experiences like that, where there was palpable tension in the stand between opposing supporters, often leading to verbals, and once two lads even squaring up to one another. I didn't enjoy it at all.
I'll be attending the monaghan semi final with a couple of friends from there and I just hope it goes well from that point of view but who knows?
Gaa fans pride themselves on the the crowds mixing but tbh I've never understood whats so great about it. I'd rather go to a game knowing I'd be surrounded by other galway fans.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 03/07/2023 22:27:14    2492005

Replying To Galway9801:  "I've often had experiences like that, where there was palpable tension in the stand between opposing supporters, often leading to verbals, and once two lads even squaring up to one another. I didn't enjoy it at all.
I'll be attending the monaghan semi final with a couple of friends from there and I just hope it goes well from that point of view but who knows?
Gaa fans pride themselves on the the crowds mixing but tbh I've never understood whats so great about it. I'd rather go to a game knowing I'd be surrounded by other galway fans."
Some people are just bad losers. I enjoy the mixing with other supporters and it makes the GAA unique in that respect. We all love our national game but it is just a game at the end of the day. I remember the semi-final against Galway last year. There was a mix of crowd where we sat. Not one bad word amongst anyone. All shook hands at the end of the game and wished Galway well for the final. A lot of young people with drink in or in some cases other substances should stay at home and go to the soccer games if that is the nonsense they want to bring to games. As we know they won't the Guards should take a no nonsense approach to any shenanigans.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 04/07/2023 08:30:28    2492019

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Very unsporting Saynothing and childish behaviour from those 2 and sorry to hear that as a Kerryman. As I always say there are idiots and tramps everywhere from every county. I myself was told shut up "you free state bastard" for cheering in Cliffords great pass from a Tyrone supporter. Tbf his comrade beside him told him shut up. I heard A few Dubs at Kildare game calling country people inbreds etc. I saw a whatsapp of a Dublin supporter heading to Sundays match with a slogan of "Mayo are still shite" on the back of his Dublin T shirt. I saw Monaghan and Armagh fans being unruly on Hill 16 (Muppet that could nt fight). Every county has the bad losers and ungracious winners. Some more than most. I ve seen bad stuff from many county supporters as I go to both hurling and football and where you ll really notice the bad stuff is when you are a neutral."
Nothing to apologise for CiarraiMick, it's was our neighbours in blue who were doing the goading. Bad enough young boys but middle aged father as well. Uncalled for by Tyrone supporter and was rightly told to shut te ***** up. A good day out all the same except for result and traffic.Best of luck with rest of year and watching Clifford.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 04/07/2023 08:40:58    2492024