County Songs

Replying To foreveryoung:  "2018 rather!"
"Dreams" is a great song, for sure. I know it's a Cranberries song but is there any reference to Limerick in the lyrics?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 19/03/2023 10:52:32    2464650

Replying To 5plus9:  "Clare- Rose of Clare
Westmeath- the Westmeath bachelor
Galway- N17
Offaly- The Offaly Rover
Kerry- the wild goat song
Cork - after all
Limerick- dreams
Donegal- hills of Donegal
Derry- teenage kicks by the undertones
Mayo - Green and red of mayo
Meath - beautiful Meath
Kilkenny- rose of moonicon
Louth - something from the corrs
Down - star of the County Down
Longford- stop the world and let me off by Declan nearney"
'Stop the World and let me off'. Think that might be a hit with the DUP.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 19/03/2023 11:26:35    2464656

Replying To midlands:  ""Dreams" is a great song, for sure. I know it's a Cranberries song but is there any reference to Limerick in the lyrics?"
No. The Cranberries singer RIP, was a Limerick woman. Dolores O'Riordan I believe. We're the band from Limerick?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 19/03/2023 11:47:59    2464662

Replying To midlands:  ""Dreams" is a great song, for sure. I know it's a Cranberries song but is there any reference to Limerick in the lyrics?"
The singer, Limerick fans sing Limerick your a lady and Sean South alot more.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/03/2023 16:21:13    2464784

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I would 100% associate Sean South with Limerick lads on a terrace. Always serious craic!"
Fully agree.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/03/2023 16:21:53    2464786

Replying To foreveryoung:  "On the 4 occasions that Limerick has lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup since 1918, it has always been Dreams that has blared out across Croke Park, and thankfully not Limerick You're a Lady. If you weren't at any of them, try to find a recording on YouTube and you will learn that Dreams is now the Limerick song; the song with which the younger generation and the new breed of Limerick supporter identify."
I was at all since 1994 and yes Limerick your lady was played in croke park,you clearly haven't a clue about the older or younger generation,you clearly aren't going to matches if you think dreams is being sung at matches.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/03/2023 16:25:11    2464788

Replying To foreveryoung:  "2018 rather!"
I was in croke park singing Limerick your a lady while it was playing across croke park, really like you should check things out before you make silly comments.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/03/2023 16:27:16    2464789

Replying To Saynothing:  "USA have biggest everything including biggest mouths."
Don't mind him or her,he thinks Limerick doesn't sing Limerick your a lady or Sean South, their is countless evidence to show his wrong,the Limerick team sang Sean South in the dressing room,the DUP even complained.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/03/2023 16:31:30    2464792

Replying To cityman73:  "Don't mind him or her,he thinks Limerick doesn't sing Limerick your a lady or Sean South, their is countless evidence to show his wrong,the Limerick team sang Sean South in the dressing room,the DUP even complained."
I think you're right with , her.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 19/03/2023 16:36:23    2464795

Replying To Saynothing:  "All mouth , no trousers. Come on out ye Black and Tan."
Yerra you'd still be afraid to even look out your door for fear of a uniform of a Paisleyite, only for our people over here delivering the GFA for ya. And to appreciate it next month, who'll ye be serenading and proclaiming but the Clintons and the American entourage. Come out ye Black and Tan has nothing to do with a county that wears the red hand, a symbol always more associated with unionism than nationalism. We might be all mouth, but we get things done. You're just all mouth, period!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 19/03/2023 16:59:00    2464814

Replying To Saynothing:  "I think you're right with , her."
Fully agree.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/03/2023 16:59:35    2464816

Replying To cityman73:  "Don't mind him or her,he thinks Limerick doesn't sing Limerick your a lady or Sean South, their is countless evidence to show his wrong,the Limerick team sang Sean South in the dressing room,the DUP even complained."
Well they are a sensitive lot, the DUP.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 19/03/2023 17:04:33    2464817

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yerra you'd still be afraid to even look out your door for fear of a uniform of a Paisleyite, only for our people over here delivering the GFA for ya. And to appreciate it next month, who'll ye be serenading and proclaiming but the Clintons and the American entourage. Come out ye Black and Tan has nothing to do with a county that wears the red hand, a symbol always more associated with unionism than nationalism. We might be all mouth, but we get things done. You're just all mouth, period!"
Very strange reply,you do realise unionism is part of our country,you understand our national flag and what it means,you do realise great Irish people,green or white helped bring the good Friday agreement to pass,yes the USa helped but was only a part of it, education is no burden.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 20/03/2023 19:58:02    2465364

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yerra you'd still be afraid to even look out your door for fear of a uniform of a Paisleyite, only for our people over here delivering the GFA for ya. And to appreciate it next month, who'll ye be serenading and proclaiming but the Clintons and the American entourage. Come out ye Black and Tan has nothing to do with a county that wears the red hand, a symbol always more associated with unionism than nationalism. We might be all mouth, but we get things done. You're just all mouth, period!"
Maybe you should've paid more attention in history class? The Red hand is that of the O Neills, one of the last of the true Irish opponents of British rule here.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 21/03/2023 09:46:29    2465402

Replying To thelongridge:  "No. The Cranberries singer RIP, was a Limerick woman. Dolores O'Riordan I believe. We're the band from Limerick?"
Yes. I met her a couple of times back in the 90s she was a friend of friends up in Limerick. Sound woman and great craic at a seisun!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 21/03/2023 09:48:14    2465403

Leitrim: Jungle by Fred again..

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 21/03/2023 14:14:39    2465491

Cavan - Country roads by John Denver..... "almost heaven west Virginia" ha ha

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 21/03/2023 14:43:33    2465506

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe you should've paid more attention in history class? The Red hand is that of the O Neills, one of the last of the true Irish opponents of British rule here."
Which is why we proudly wear the "red hand" on our jerseys. The spirit of O'Neill has never died up here.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 273 - 21/03/2023 21:43:16    2465647

Replying To thelongridge:  "The Turfman from 'Ardee'. was the Louth Anthem, I thought. Sung by the late Dermot O'Brien."
Great song alright.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 22/03/2023 12:56:21    2465751

Replying To supersub15:  "Surely you must have sang a few bars of "Carlingford Bay" Ollie."
Do you mean farewell to Carlingford?

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 22/03/2023 12:57:12    2465752