County Songs

Replying To Blackbog:  "Must check that one out"
Great song

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 17/03/2023 20:38:19    2464398

Replying To Wicklowman:  "Wicklow won a All Ireland Junior Football Final in the early 2000s in Portlaoise v Kerry. The Wicklow captain, Robert Doyle of Carnew after accepting the cup had the whole team up singing "Among the Wicklow Hills", lump in the throat moment. These days are rare in a weaker county. U21B All Ireland Hurling Champions v Meath in Semi Final think it was 2018. That's how rare All Ireland's are for Wicklow."
Follow me up to Carlow is a great song?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 17/03/2023 20:39:16    2464399

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We have any amount of them to be fair.

Chúchulainns son, Bobby rackard from killane, boolavouge, who fears to speak of 98, Kelly the boy from killane, the boys of wexford, dancing at the crossroads, purple and gold.

Immediately after the leinster final in 19 Croke Park played boolavouge.

On the way there, the lad on the speaker in bray dart Station put on the boys of wexford when he saw us all coming in 17 which was sort of a homecoming for us. It was pretty moving.

Another standout memory would be the immediate aftermath of 96 final. Every street in wexford Town had a street party. A load of food from petits, everyone had barbecues out, trax music store provided speakers etc. The team arrived with the cups and dancing at the crossroads has been on repeat since. I wouldn't change it.

I would like to see just one more before my day comes though."
Covers it all nicely especially the last sentence!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 17/03/2023 20:41:44    2464402

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Tyrone: The Mountains of Pomeroy or The Flower of Sweet Strabane."
Or on rarer occasions O'Neill's March or the Hills above Drumquin

Maguiresman (Fermanagh) - Posts: 6 - 18/03/2023 10:08:11    2464414

Replying To Viking66:  "Great song"
Totally agree

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 18/03/2023 11:11:31    2464422

Replying To cityman73:  "Limerick your a lady is song more than dreams,(1) Limerick your a lady,(2)Sean South (3)dreams."
I would 100% associate Sean South with Limerick lads on a terrace. Always serious craic!

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2629 - 18/03/2023 11:17:00    2464426

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Post a Tyrone song if you're able, or I'll fix it for that county, too!"
All mouth , no trousers. Come on out ye Black and Tan.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 18/03/2023 13:36:00    2464465

Replying To Saynothing:  "All mouth , no trousers. Come on out ye Black and Tan."
Phil Begley did a song for ye didn't she no?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 18/03/2023 14:34:54    2464473

The patriot game for Monaghan

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 18/03/2023 14:46:47    2464474

Clare- Rose of Clare
Westmeath- the Westmeath bachelor
Galway- N17
Offaly- The Offaly Rover
Kerry- the wild goat song
Cork - after all
Limerick- dreams
Donegal- hills of Donegal
Derry- teenage kicks by the undertones
Mayo - Green and red of mayo
Meath - beautiful Meath
Kilkenny- rose of moonicon
Louth - something from the corrs
Down - star of the County Down
Longford- stop the world and let me off by Declan nearney

5plus9 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 18/03/2023 15:09:12    2464478

Replying To Viking66:  "Phil Begley did a song for ye didn't she no?"
Think A village in Co Tyrone

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 18/03/2023 15:14:20    2464479

Replying To farneygael:  "The patriot game for Monaghan"
Now we're sucking diesel.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 18/03/2023 15:16:19    2464480

Clare- Rose of Clare
Galway- N17
Offaly- The Offaly Rover
Cork - after all
Limerick- dreams
Meath - beautiful Meath

5plus9 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 18/03/2023 15:25:25    2464483

Clare- Rose of Clare
Galway- N17
Offaly- The Offaly Rover
Cork - after all
Limerick- dreams
Meath - beautiful Meath

5plus9 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 18/03/2023 15:25:36    2464484

Replying To cityman73:  "Limerick your a lady is song more than dreams,(1) Limerick your a lady,(2)Sean South (3)dreams."
On the 4 occasions that Limerick has lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup since 1918, it has always been Dreams that has blared out across Croke Park, and thankfully not Limerick You're a Lady. If you weren't at any of them, try to find a recording on YouTube and you will learn that Dreams is now the Limerick song; the song with which the younger generation and the new breed of Limerick supporter identify.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 18/03/2023 16:45:48    2464505

Replying To foreveryoung:  "On the 4 occasions that Limerick has lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup since 1918, it has always been Dreams that has blared out across Croke Park, and thankfully not Limerick You're a Lady. If you weren't at any of them, try to find a recording on YouTube and you will learn that Dreams is now the Limerick song; the song with which the younger generation and the new breed of Limerick supporter identify."
2018 rather!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 18/03/2023 17:07:18    2464511

Destination Donegal, I'll never forget Jim and the boys singing it on stage when they brought the Sam Maguire home to Donegal again in 2012.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuCJdLIOba0

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 18/03/2023 17:16:12    2464513

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "New Roscommon song "Roscommon People" is a good bit of crack. Wish a few young lads would learn it off and get the supporters going!

The music, chorus and words is based on the Pulp song "Common People"."
There's also a song by Sepultura that can be changed slightly to 'Ros Bloody Ros'. Think we need to start belting it out at the Hyde before big championship games and I think there'll be no stopping us. We'll scare the bejaysus out of our opponents

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 18/03/2023 20:17:05    2464560

I've been at Roscommon games where the Rossie's are singing "All my life I've been living next door to Leitrim, Leitrim, who the F**k are Leitrim"

Also where they sing "We are Ros, Ros, Ros" to the tune of - Felling Hot, hot, hot.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 18/03/2023 20:34:05    2464568

The Bold Thady Quill for Cork

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 18/03/2023 21:00:24    2464588