Galway V Kerry All Ireland Final 2022

Dessie Farrell will surely fancy staying on for another year... lets be honest Kerry deserved their win but they made tough work of it.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 845 - 24/07/2022 17:40:43    2433955

Well done Kerry, well deserved. Hard luck Galway for their part in a good game.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 24/07/2022 17:42:06    2433957

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Sean Cavanagh bang on the money. Kerry and Galway getting fulsome praise from Spillane and the Southern media for their workrate and playing with a tight, pressing, defensive system.......just like Armagh and Tyrone 20 years ago. The hypocrisy and double standards are quite nauseating."
What is the county Pat would most like to needle on his last SG appearance? On the day Kerry replaced Tyrone as All Ireland champions, to have a Tyrone man get obviously annoyed sitting beside him would of made Pat's day.

Cavanagh fell right into the trap, and I'm sure Pat and many Kerry people would of had a laugh at it. Of course it's no different to 20 years ago, but have one last bite and watch to see if Tyrone man sitting beside reacts, he did, so as usual Pat wins the battle. Despite what many think, he was a great pundit as he knew the narrative he wanted out there, and in most cases achieved it, including one last success in the studio, on the day Sam returns to Kerry. Cavanagh allowed him that one last success by reacting.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 24/07/2022 17:47:07    2433960

Replying To arock:  "Looks like Kerrys now, ref is playing his own rules."
What a load of nonsense. Referee had a pretty decent game, probably should have shown the Galway keeper a black card.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 24/07/2022 17:55:45    2433962

Comhghairdeas Ciarraí!

Deserved it on the day for me.

Jack O'Connor is some man. 3 Sams in his three stints. Some going.

I hope CiarraiMick is enjoying himself. A gentleman poster. Enjoy it bud.

But a word for Shane Walsh. Best player on the pitch today. A performance for the ages.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 24/07/2022 18:00:37    2433966

Good game, closer than I expected; be interesting to see if Galway can push on and be competitive next year. The gap between Kerry/Dublin and the rest seems to be narrowing

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 24/07/2022 18:03:22    2433968

Kerry marginally the better team. Galway seem to lose their intensity around 50/55 minutes but the key difference was the fact that Kerry had a couple of key impact subs which Galway didn't. Galway will need to find some impact subs as it is a 20 man game if they want to push on and win the all ireland. David Clifford is a magnificent player but is he much better than Shane Walsh? I thought Shane Walsh was magnificent for Galway but overall the other forwards didn't contribute enough. Also if Kerry had lost there would've been serious questions posed as to why Tom O'Sullivan was left on Walsh for the entire match; sullivan got roasted, will be interesting to see if o'sullivan gets an all star considering the weighing given to all ireland performances.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 24/07/2022 18:15:59    2433970

Congrats to Kerry and hard luck to Galway at least they can take some consolation in the fact with Walsh they clearly have one of the best kickers in the game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 24/07/2022 18:29:22    2433973

Galway need to get better at the kickouts. Galway keeper lucky not to be black carded. GAA should look at advanced mark too. Maybe play advantage. Galway midfield and forwards were not great. Kerry also very wasteful with the wides.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 24/07/2022 18:29:34    2433974

A win for Kerry just as I predicted…. Galway and Shane Walsh put up a good battle but ran out of steam…. The goalkeeper was a bit of a weak link and was lucky to not get carded…As I said Damien Comer is no David Clifford…! I thought the referee did very well and got little if anything wrong… A full season in Division 1 will bring this Galway team on a ton..and they should feel proud of their display today..!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1943 - 24/07/2022 18:30:52    2433975

Kerry were ultimately the better all round team with better squad depth. The kerry bench made a big impact and management showed good resolve to take moran off at ht. Galway just don't have that and walsh was their only forward to score from play. You need your secondary forwards to at least score a few points.
One basic difference that got kerry over the line was their reduction in goals conceded. They know they have the best forward line and if they reduced the goals conceded they'd know they'd win and they did.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 696 - 24/07/2022 18:33:10    2433977

Shane Walsh was superb, I meant some of Galway fullforwards did not score. But this is Kerry's day. In 2022 they are the best.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 24/07/2022 18:34:11    2433978

Good game - congrats to Kerry - a fantastic win for the Kingdom. I thought the ref was excellent - on the black card incident - very hard to make a call in real time on it. David Clifford unreal.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 24/07/2022 18:39:51    2433983

Could I suggest one rule change, that once you go past the half way line when in attack that you can't pass the ball back over the halfway Line. Think it would improve it as a spectacle and could be easily managed by the referee

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 24/07/2022 18:40:53    2433984

Replying To Breffni1969:  "How in the name of god would you expect to win an All Ireland with a goalkeeper like that ??
I wouldn't pick him for a junior B club team!"
Remember our 1st choice keeper has been injured since the div league 2 final. With the short season it was an issue. Very proud of our guys given few gave us a chance. Shane Walsh worth the admission price alone. Man of the match performance even if he was on the defeated team.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 24/07/2022 18:46:27    2433986

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Kerry marginally the better team. Galway seem to lose their intensity around 50/55 minutes but the key difference was the fact that Kerry had a couple of key impact subs which Galway didn't. Galway will need to find some impact subs as it is a 20 man game if they want to push on and win the all ireland. David Clifford is a magnificent player but is he much better than Shane Walsh? I thought Shane Walsh was magnificent for Galway but overall the other forwards didn't contribute enough. Also if Kerry had lost there would've been serious questions posed as to why Tom O'Sullivan was left on Walsh for the entire match; sullivan got roasted, will be interesting to see if o'sullivan gets an all star considering the weighing given to all ireland performances."
Yes,you're right.
I thought myself that Kerry would have too much on the bench for Galway...and that's how it turned out.
Walsh is a super player but all the media want to talk about is Clifford...and that won't change.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 24/07/2022 18:51:59    2433988

Finals are for winning but proud of our lads. I do hope we push on in 2023, we have a taste for it now so let's push on.

Well done Kerry.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 24/07/2022 18:52:01    2433989

Congratulations to Kerry, any All Ireland is hard earned and should be respected!

I was always confident Galway had a great chance and it's how it played out. For the wider football public, I don't see back to back being achieved for the next five years as there are too many counties at a similar standard.

What will be an issue though, is whilst money doesn't win All Irelands alone it is required. I thought Galway had the better footballers in most areas but you could see them getting tired around the 55th minute. Fitness and conditioning got Kerry over the line and the small margins with backroom operations probably had an impact there. Galway will be disappointed as an All Ireland was there to win, but their county should be very proud of them. They'll challenge again next season.

Overall today's final wasn't a classic and there'll be many counties, especially those who got close to Galway and Kerry this season thinking they can win it next year, I'm sure Tyrone will also be back stronger as well.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 24/07/2022 18:53:41    2433990

Replying To realdub:  "Congratulations to Kerry, ye got it back. Galway made a good attempt but that's as good as they get I fear.

Look forward to taking it back off you in next year's final, enjoy the winter lads :D"
What are you like! A tight match with more room for Galway to improve, but here you are saying they've peaked and it will Dublin and Kerry next year. I think that run of success has gone to you head a mhic.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/07/2022 18:54:06    2433991

Replying To Breffni1969:  "How in the name of god would you expect to win an All Ireland with a goalkeeper like that ??
I wouldn't pick him for a junior B club team!"
You know when they talk about faceless keyboard warriors, well that's you they are taking about. Very ignorant post just after An All Ireland final.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 24/07/2022 18:55:58    2433994