Derry V Galway

Replying To togoutlads:  "Oh a Visheen! Why don't you go and get yourself a nice bageen of emeralds and sit on your bench in belmullet and take a little time off Hogan Stand? It'll do you the world of good. Ye have had a tremendous run with Mayo for years and enjoy it for all the good times it brought. Trying to belittle what Galway have achieved in the past and have done so far this year seems, well, a little bitter and a bit pathetic. You won't see Pericles or Yew Tree saying stuff like that.
This year, in a match that both teams were known full well to be absolutely desperate to win, we came to ye in Castlebar and beat ye fair and square - no doubt in the result. We did the same in Pearse to a very good Roscommon team with a forward unit that's ahead of Mayo's. Granted Leitrim was not any real test in between. Armagh are a bona fide top tier outfit and on the rise, we took them too and in an epic - albeit error strewn at the end. Derry are Ulster champions, let's not forget that, and they shot the lights out against a very good and massively underrated Clare team, yet we held them to 6 points for 71 minutes yesterday- ahead of their injury time consolation goal. Granted, Kerry or Dublin will be expected to destroy us in the final and nobody will give us a snowballs of a chance but we don't care and we'll rock up there and just throw it all at them. Anything could happen and that's the beauty of this great game and of Championship. Gaillimh Abú."
Fair play togoutlads! That's the spirit!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 10/07/2022 12:02:08    2431002

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Pay no heed to him Lilywhite."
Absolutely, people like him in every county. I actually have great respect for Mayo and would love to see you finally bridge the gap.

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 10/07/2022 12:59:25    2431017

Brilliant stuff
I think we can bring it up a notch and must for final.
Hard luck Derry hope to see ye back in HQ soon
After a great 2022 overall.
On the keeper thing, I felt it hurt Derry even before the Comer second goal
Lads feel they have to pass it to keeper because he made the trip up the field
It disrupted Derry attack

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 10/07/2022 13:22:33    2431024

Replying To baire:  "Which county are you from Vish?"
Take a wild guess….

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 10/07/2022 13:29:14    2431027

Replying To ahsure.:  "Sure look if you'd listen to people all week, you'd have heard Derry have been basically living full time in Owenbeg, their team was "set up" for Croke Park, Conor Glass is the best midfielder (McDaid put that right) in Ireland and their "phenomenal" fitness meant Galway would not live with them.

As John O once said "there's only one answer for that""
That's the power of media influencers, and its time the nation of GAA fans hold their hands up and admit that they are just as guilty buying it hook, line, sinker time after time..
Fans should be more observant about the game, and stop listening to the likes of Brolly who was a catalyst for the media hype with that eye watering article after beating Div 2 Clare team..
If a Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway, Mayo ,Donegal put out an Article regards "being on a mission" after beating a Div 2 team, they would have been ripped to pieces for it around the country..

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 10/07/2022 13:30:17    2431028

Derry remind me of us in 2011 big time but I think the game has moved on from then. I think they'll have big regrets with how the game went, the amount of wides in that first half was a killer for them when the game was still in the melting pot. I also thought they were very slow in their transitions which wasn't like them in Ulster. When they turned over in Ulster they got up the pitch at pace. But yesterday it was slowed down and then getting everyone into position, but Galway were well set up then to stop them.

But it's all about them building now, they have had good success at underage in recent years so the talent will be there for them to kick on. Maybe a Derry supporter will set me right but has McKinless been carrying an injury? I don't think he has looked anywhere near as good since the Monaghan game. Donegal kept him quiet and he hasn't really been that danger from deep since then.

I do think Galway definitely looked at the Ulster final and improved on what Donegal did. When you consider they didn't score for what, 21 minutes of the first half? But they kept doing the same things, kept the goals out and starved Derry of that energy. 2nd half then they completely dominated. The Ulster final took a similar pattern however Derry got their goal in the first half and we only ever got 2 points up. The big difference with Galway's tactics was defensively, they were physical and confronted the man with the ball when they entered a certain area - Donegal too often are very very passive in defence and just shadow their man, whereas Galway were in Derry's faces.

And the 2nd half they really effectively pushed on Derry's kickouts. Donegal tried pushing up but we actually didn't commit enough, there were little gaps where Lynch could get the short one away - they did a good illustration in the Sky coverage of the quarter finals, where Donegal were pushed up a lot but Derry flooded their own full back line with 6 or 7 players to get the short one away, and as soon as it was away we retreated immediately. The big difference yesterday, Galway had 5 of their own men in the full forward line, jumping and moving to distract Lynch. It was very effective because he never saw the short or middling option, even if there was one available. So he went long to Glass, who was isolated with 2 or 3 around him. This only got countered a little bit with Bradley coming on for another long option but the game was gone at that stage.

One other thing was Comer on Rogers. I'm obviously harping back to the Ulster final as it hurt so much to lose it. But Rogers, for all his brilliant ability and talent, struggles when asked to just play the full back role against an out and out full forward. If you bring him out the field, he is lethal because he's got great skills and hurts you going the other way. But Comer stuck to his role, and look at the result. He completely burned him for the first goal and that was the winning of the match, never mind that Comer was the man keeping Galway in touch in the first half (the first Galway point was a huge moment). From a Donegal POV, it just makes the whole Ulster final and Murphy being out the field the whole game all that much harder to take.

The difference of having some tactical nous on the sideline. Joyce and the Galway backroom team played it perfectly, even if they had been 4-2 down at half time I think they'd have kicked on in that 2nd half. They told their boys what they needed to do and then the skills and ability of the Galway lads shone through once they starved Derry of goals and chances.

I think Galway will be very dangerous in the final and being underdogs will suit them rightly. It will be hard to look past Dublin or Kerry but I've been very impressed with Galway tactically this year. As Joyce said himself there would have been a perception of them being a bit soft and I'd have had that idea myself. But there's no thought of that now. Comhghairdeas mór it's great to see them back in an All-Ireland final.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 10/07/2022 13:49:14    2431034

Replying To endgame:  "Derry were oversold alright. Worthy Ulster champions but never likely to win the All Ireland this year. No reason though why they can't improve and come back stronger next year.There's a very solid base to build on."
100%

They have a great foundation to push on and evolve their game plan in 2023. Scoring forwards a worry though.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 10/07/2022 13:57:48    2431037

Replying To baire:  "Which county are you from Vish?"
Either limrik or Mayo

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2207 - 10/07/2022 14:22:12    2431041

Congratulations Galway. Good luck in final, deserve to be there on the back of their progress over the past year.

What can you say about Gallagher other than we have seen all of this before... 2011 v Dublin and Kildare. 2015 ulster final. 2016 ulster final. I thought that the ulster final this year Bonner was solely responsible but i am sure now that Rory Gallagher was equally complicate. Bottom line is that this type of tactic is going to reap zero rewards.

Having said that, the Derry team are a gr8 bunch and can actually play a bit too. Maybe next year they will go one better but it will take a departure from yesterday's tactics.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/07/2022 14:28:21    2431044

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Absolutely, people like him in every county. I actually have great respect for Mayo and would love to see you finally bridge the gap."
Pay no heed to money swindler's Lilly.
We can't even afford a training pitch because of them..

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 10/07/2022 15:00:18    2431048

Replying To festinog:  "Take a wild guess…."
Green and Red I presume

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 10/07/2022 15:04:55    2431050

Rory gallagher relys too much on his stats men why are they so afraid to cough up possession it reminds me of the brilliant dublin team 3 years ago there was a 90 percent chance they would score against any team if they attacked but there was 100 percent chance the other team would not score of dublin retained possession so guess what the stats men had them doing. Rory i am sure was aware that armagh scored two goals on injury time against galway with high balls into the square so how many time did derry try this tactic yesterday.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 10/07/2022 15:15:30    2431053

Thanks for all the replies with regards the TV coverage fellas much appreciated. Was down in Croker yesterday for the Dublin - Kerry game. First game in Croker since we beat Monaghan in 2015, wish my own County had been there but such is life. Was still a great day out and some very sound Dublin and Kerry folk in around the hoganstand bar before the game.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 11/07/2022 07:28:58    2431224

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Derry remind me of us in 2011 big time but I think the game has moved on from then. I think they'll have big regrets with how the game went, the amount of wides in that first half was a killer for them when the game was still in the melting pot. I also thought they were very slow in their transitions which wasn't like them in Ulster. When they turned over in Ulster they got up the pitch at pace. But yesterday it was slowed down and then getting everyone into position, but Galway were well set up then to stop them.

But it's all about them building now, they have had good success at underage in recent years so the talent will be there for them to kick on. Maybe a Derry supporter will set me right but has McKinless been carrying an injury? I don't think he has looked anywhere near as good since the Monaghan game. Donegal kept him quiet and he hasn't really been that danger from deep since then.

I do think Galway definitely looked at the Ulster final and improved on what Donegal did. When you consider they didn't score for what, 21 minutes of the first half? But they kept doing the same things, kept the goals out and starved Derry of that energy. 2nd half then they completely dominated. The Ulster final took a similar pattern however Derry got their goal in the first half and we only ever got 2 points up. The big difference with Galway's tactics was defensively, they were physical and confronted the man with the ball when they entered a certain area - Donegal too often are very very passive in defence and just shadow their man, whereas Galway were in Derry's faces.

And the 2nd half they really effectively pushed on Derry's kickouts. Donegal tried pushing up but we actually didn't commit enough, there were little gaps where Lynch could get the short one away - they did a good illustration in the Sky coverage of the quarter finals, where Donegal were pushed up a lot but Derry flooded their own full back line with 6 or 7 players to get the short one away, and as soon as it was away we retreated immediately. The big difference yesterday, Galway had 5 of their own men in the full forward line, jumping and moving to distract Lynch. It was very effective because he never saw the short or middling option, even if there was one available. So he went long to Glass, who was isolated with 2 or 3 around him. This only got countered a little bit with Bradley coming on for another long option but the game was gone at that stage.

One other thing was Comer on Rogers. I'm obviously harping back to the Ulster final as it hurt so much to lose it. But Rogers, for all his brilliant ability and talent, struggles when asked to just play the full back role against an out and out full forward. If you bring him out the field, he is lethal because he's got great skills and hurts you going the other way. But Comer stuck to his role, and look at the result. He completely burned him for the first goal and that was the winning of the match, never mind that Comer was the man keeping Galway in touch in the first half (the first Galway point was a huge moment). From a Donegal POV, it just makes the whole Ulster final and Murphy being out the field the whole game all that much harder to take.

The difference of having some tactical nous on the sideline. Joyce and the Galway backroom team played it perfectly, even if they had been 4-2 down at half time I think they'd have kicked on in that 2nd half. They told their boys what they needed to do and then the skills and ability of the Galway lads shone through once they starved Derry of goals and chances.

I think Galway will be very dangerous in the final and being underdogs will suit them rightly. It will be hard to look past Dublin or Kerry but I've been very impressed with Galway tactically this year. As Joyce said himself there would have been a perception of them being a bit soft and I'd have had that idea myself. But there's no thought of that now. Comhghairdeas mór it's great to see them back in an All-Ireland final."
Thanks JoeSoap for that well thought out and balanced view. It is refreshing to see an objective post for a change rather than the blinkered, bad-minded, biased (the 3 b's!) posts some people write here.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 12/07/2022 10:13:34    2431585