Derry V Galway

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Donegal took extra time to beat us in 2011 and we had a goal disallowed for a square ball that clearly wasn't which had put us six points up. Stop talking nonsense and embarrassing yourself.
I don't often agree with Joe Brolly and didn't agree with his assessment about ye for a long time, but by Jaysus he has ye read well, a bunch of losers. I feel sorry for Lee Keegan, the only man who turned up to win those games.

Regarding Kildare in the 2013-2018 period is not a fair comparison as that was a team in transition. You can blow your trumpet all you like but the net return for all that grandstanding is a big fat zero"
I never one blew any triumphant about Mayo in our conversation..
I merely pointed out that Kildare are in no position to mock Mayo football.

It's time you accept your position as a Div 2 team ,just like Mayo fans have accepted that they are no longer a top 4 team atm.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 09/07/2022 21:49:46    2430917

Well done Galway , the better team by a mile , Derry were awful , playing like robots , Gallagher style, Yes they won Ulster and fair play for that , but at this stage of the C ship , players need to be playing off the cuff, a bit more of lets go for it , but not Derry sticking to the robotic plan , anyway tomorrows game should be way better,

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 09/07/2022 21:51:37    2430918

Replying To Vish:  "I never one blew any triumphant about Mayo in our conversation..
I merely pointed out that Kildare are in no position to mock Mayo football.

It's time you accept your position as a Div 2 team ,just like Mayo fans have accepted that they are no longer a top 4 team atm."
You seem obsessed about Kildare's status, we're in Division 2 next year as are Dublin. I have no problem with accepting where we are atm, I'm not the one who came on here to belittle another county. It's your unfounded arrogance, that's based on nothing that tripped you up

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 09/07/2022 21:55:10    2430919

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "You seem obsessed about Kildare's status, we're in Division 2 next year as are Dublin. I have no problem with accepting where we are atm, I'm not the one who came on here to belittle another county. It's your unfounded arrogance, that's based on nothing that tripped you up"
Go argue with Meath fans , that's your level,

Leave the hard hitting "reality talk" to the big teams who are feasting at the top table.
Oiche mhaith .

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 09/07/2022 22:01:44    2430923

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Congratulations Galway, it was a pretty dire game but the better team definitely won. Not sorry to see the back of the northern supporters & their vuvuzelas - very unsportsmanlike display this year from them all. Their booing & jeering has no place in our game"
Some of their counties, probably most have amongst the best fans in the country, best supported teams don't always go down well within all sports, huge crowds this year. It doesn't matter at the All Ireland Final stage but the GAA will be delighted with the crowds they brought, especially post pandemic and I'm Galway enjoyed the two huge Croke Park occasions they were part of. The GAA need them, especially for a few years whilst they try and balance the books.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 10/07/2022 07:26:24    2430926

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "Well I do, a Bhaire! One of my favourite players, and a gentleman to boot.. I recall Galway losing to Tipp in 2001 hurling final - Alan was inconsolable as hurling was his first love, and fair play...

John O'Mahony, a manager I also greatly admired, brought him around to concentrating on football final a few weeks later.. and the rest is history.

Great result last night in minor, and again today. We are one Galway.."
Yes Crúiscín Lán, Alan is a gentleman and someone who has done great work to help the poor in Africa. Glad to hear you saying that we're one in Galway. Comer is a handy hurler too as is Dáithí a great footballer. We're lucky to have them!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 10/07/2022 07:51:44    2430929

Replying To festinog:  "Dead right. Sure we're only going to make up the numbers."
We'll bring a bit of colour anyways! lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 10/07/2022 07:57:00    2430932

Replying To Vish:  "Well done Galway but let's be honest here , Derry are bang average , over rated and gas lighted by the like of brolly .
Galway will now have to earn an All Ireland unlike the 98-01 finals where the opposition was either poor or way past their sell by date.."
Which county are you from Vish?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 10/07/2022 07:58:25    2430933

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "You seem obsessed about Kildare's status, we're in Division 2 next year as are Dublin. I have no problem with accepting where we are atm, I'm not the one who came on here to belittle another county. It's your unfounded arrogance, that's based on nothing that tripped you up"
Padraig Joyce said there's a sign in the dressing room that says "Find a way".
In fairness to Mayo, they always found a way.
Switching goalkeepers, own goals or just plain bottling it like last year.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 10/07/2022 08:31:16    2430938

Replying To Vish:  "Go argue with Meath fans , that's your level,

Leave the hard hitting "reality talk" to the big teams who are feasting at the top table.
Oiche mhaith ."
Feasting, the only thing that you're feasting on is very sour grapes

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 10/07/2022 08:47:01    2430941

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "He gets the passion going no doubt. Hope you, Baire and Katser enjoyed.. Katser now supporting Kilkenny - John Daly might throw him a Mountbellya jersey for the day.."
I know lads from Sylane, Mountbellow and Killimor.....so I'll have no problem getting a Black and Amber Jersey!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2207 - 10/07/2022 09:03:28    2430944

Replying To StopTheLights:  "Padraig Joyce said there's a sign in the dressing room that says "Find a way".
In fairness to Mayo, they always found a way.
Switching goalkeepers, own goals or just plain bottling it like last year."
Pádraig Joyce is a true sportsman and would never speak in such derogatory terms about our neighbours and a great footballing county. Shame on you!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 10/07/2022 09:15:26    2430949

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Sure no need to be down or to stop ?"
What a stupid comment. How is Mickey Harte managing louth, is he doing it via zoom. Away and build your british memorial in dundalk

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 10/07/2022 09:15:46    2430950

Replying To Vish:  "Well done Galway but let's be honest here , Derry are bang average , over rated and gas lighted by the like of brolly .
Galway will now have to earn an All Ireland unlike the 98-01 finals where the opposition was either poor or way past their sell by date.."
Oh a Visheen! Why don't you go and get yourself a nice bageen of emeralds and sit on your bench in belmullet and take a little time off Hogan Stand? It'll do you the world of good. Ye have had a tremendous run with Mayo for years and enjoy it for all the good times it brought. Trying to belittle what Galway have achieved in the past and have done so far this year seems, well, a little bitter and a bit pathetic. You won't see Pericles or Yew Tree saying stuff like that.
This year, in a match that both teams were known full well to be absolutely desperate to win, we came to ye in Castlebar and beat ye fair and square - no doubt in the result. We did the same in Pearse to a very good Roscommon team with a forward unit that's ahead of Mayo's. Granted Leitrim was not any real test in between. Armagh are a bona fide top tier outfit and on the rise, we took them too and in an epic - albeit error strewn at the end. Derry are Ulster champions, let's not forget that, and they shot the lights out against a very good and massively underrated Clare team, yet we held them to 6 points for 71 minutes yesterday- ahead of their injury time consolation goal. Granted, Kerry or Dublin will be expected to destroy us in the final and nobody will give us a snowballs of a chance but we don't care and we'll rock up there and just throw it all at them. Anything could happen and that's the beauty of this great game and of Championship. Gaillimh Abú.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 10/07/2022 09:29:56    2430951

was at game, it was poor but engrossing at the same time, even the lad beside said "this is poor but i cant look away anything can happen" like comers goal

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 10/07/2022 09:32:26    2430953

I have just read an article in the Examiner,an interview with Rory Gallagher about the match yesterday.Did I take it up correctly that the ref asked Derry management if they were happy to have Shane Walshs score reinstated.He said they were but what would have happened if they had said they weren't?Just curious as I didn't think that either management would have a say whether it would reinstated only the officials.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 219 - 10/07/2022 10:02:48    2430960

Sure look if you'd listen to people all week, you'd have heard Derry have been basically living full time in Owenbeg, their team was "set up" for Croke Park, Conor Glass is the best midfielder (McDaid put that right) in Ireland and their "phenomenal" fitness meant Galway would not live with them.

As John O once said "there's only one answer for that"

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 10/07/2022 10:03:14    2430961

Woke up this morning and just realised I don't have to go begging for tickets, asking for favours or praying my name would come out in the club draw. The season ticket has just paid for itself.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 722 - 10/07/2022 10:12:29    2430963

Pay no heed to him Lilywhite.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 10/07/2022 11:24:13    2430989

Replying To ahsure.:  "Sure look if you'd listen to people all week, you'd have heard Derry have been basically living full time in Owenbeg, their team was "set up" for Croke Park, Conor Glass is the best midfielder (McDaid put that right) in Ireland and their "phenomenal" fitness meant Galway would not live with them.

As John O once said "there's only one answer for that""
Derry were oversold alright. Worthy Ulster champions but never likely to win the All Ireland this year. No reason though why they can't improve and come back stronger next year.There's a very solid base to build on.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 10/07/2022 11:47:44    2430996