What Now For Mayo

Very hard to see this team getting back involved in the latter stages of the championship in the next few years. I think JH will decide to move on now and that will likely spell the end for Keegan, McLoughlan, AOS and maybe even Cillian. The county have to try and figure out why no top drawer natural forwards are coming through. McDonald really the last top notch we have produced. Credit has to go to JH and the players for the fitness and guts and never say die they have shown over the years but as many point out the lack of even one super finisher has cost All Irelands.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 26/06/2022 20:00:05    2427740

They have given great entertainment over the years, the team now is a shadow of what they were 5 or 6 years ago,
I thought I was hallucinating when Aidan O'Shea kicked that point, pity he couldn't have done it when on mattered in a final over the years.
Despite a few possible retirements Mayo won't be far away when they have their injured forwards back.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 26/06/2022 21:44:58    2427796

I would like to see an external appointment this time around.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 26/06/2022 21:52:44    2427800

Lee Keegan is one of if not the best players I've ever seen. Sad for him for a lad who has been in so many all ireland finals and has played brilliantly in every single one that he has never won Sam

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/06/2022 21:54:02    2427802

Maybe ask to be allowed into tailteann cup next year

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1910 - 26/06/2022 21:59:28    2427806

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They have given great entertainment over the years, the team now is a shadow of what they were 5 or 6 years ago,
I thought I was hallucinating when Aidan O'Shea kicked that point, pity he couldn't have done it when on mattered in a final over the years.
Despite a few possible retirements Mayo won't be far away when they have their injured forwards back."
They are done. Another game thrown away with bad shooting. McLoughlin goal chance was crucial and the first 15 of the 2nd half just summed up Mayo. They turned an undercooked Kerry over on multiple occasions but their poor shooting and worse shot selection meant that they entered the final quarter a couple of points down instead of a couple up. I think everyone would have loved to see Mayo win an All Ireland but its over now.
As for Aidan O'Shea, Cathal McShane came on in last years All Ireland Final and got better service in 30 minutes than O'Shea has got in 10 years. Mayo's inability to realise that O'Shea's best position was on the edge of the square not the edge of 13 metre line when playing FF will haunt them forever.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 27/06/2022 07:44:54    2427816

James Horan has done a lot of Mayo football but I think a new voice is needed now. We look considerably further away from Sam now than when he took over back in 2019, even allowing for the injury crisis this year. We never did manage to look comfortable facing massed defensive systems, and perhaps some outside knowledge might be helpful there. It didn't help either than some important players, like Ruane, O'Connor and maybe even Paddy Durcan have been a bit out of form this year.

The first half yesterday was actually quite good, our much maligned forward line actually clipped over a few nice points from play. Thought I was hallucinating when Big Aido slotted one over from 40 metres out! The Kevin McLoughlin goal chance was a bad miss though, he just thrashed at it when just slotting it low and across Ryan would have been a goal giving us the lead at half-time.

In the second half, we lost our shape and resorted to a few Hollywood shots from 40 metres out, when recycling possession or looking to work it inside would have been a better option. One of the big problems in the last few seasons has been scoring droughts within games, and again we went from the 48th to 68th minute without a score. That simply won't win you games against Kerry or the other top sides, and I can barely remember the last time we put together a 70 minute performance in a big championship game. Maybe against Donegal in 2019?

A few lads on the periphery of the squad will probably call it a day now, but I would hope Keegan would give it one more go, as he still has plenty to offer.

Overall I'm not too despondent on personnel, as a fit and sharp O'Donoghue, Conroy and O'Connor will pose anyone problems, and there are some decent younger prospects to come through in the next few years. But a few of the younger lads on the panel already need to start offering more, kicking the odd wonder point here and there simply won't cut it.

Tactically, Horan ball has had its day and also, we need to find out what's going on with these recurring injury crises we keep suffering. 2018, 2019 and 2022 have been blighted with several injuries to top players, which doesn't seem to have been a problem to the Dubs, Kerry, Galway etc., or at least not to the same extent.

Also, one or two personnel from the County Board should be seen and not heard. All the most successful counties have very low-key people in their executives and its something we should learn from.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/06/2022 08:29:43    2427825

Unlucky Mayo was hoping ye would beat Kerry but not to be. Will be sad to see the likes of Cillian, Keegan and O Shea and Mc Loughlin go, good servants and would walk into any team in Connacht. I feel Mayo were too one dimensional this year and with players like Durcan and Ruane very poor all year, it was going to be tough. Yours have some very good players coming through in Orme and Carney and Boland and Conor O Shea and ye will be there or there about again next year.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 27/06/2022 09:29:42    2427846

Dont write Mayo off. I would remain optimistic for them for a few reasons.

1. In all honesty they had Kerry on the ropes yesterday but missed at least 1-5 that you would expect them to score.
2. Missing 2 of the best forwards in the country.
3. Most of their most impressive players this year are still young with a few years left in them. Keegan is the exception but dont rule him out yet.
4. Under age very strong. Super , super minor team with at least 5 potential seniors ... Too soon for them in 2023 but..
5. U20s were sucker punched by Sligo , but were far superior to them and I would have fancied them in the AI series if they had got through. A couple of serious ones on that team too who should play senior in 2023.
6. Just Mayo's overall resilience. How many times have we written them of before... but they keep coming
7. Mayo has a large playing population with football being the number 1 sport. A bit like Kerry but to a lesser extent, but they are always going to be not too far away.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 27/06/2022 09:31:37    2427847

They have missed the boat unfortunately.

Last years final was a massive massive disaster for them. Despite them being no where near the mayo team of 2012 - 2017 it was still there for them to win it.

This year was just a step to far. The injuries to Cillian O'Connor (He has not got back to the player he was up to 2020 and unlikely will), Ryan O'Donoghue and Tommy Conroy have been particularly cruel. who knows what might have been if even two of them remained fully fit.

Back to the drawing board!

Offtheball10 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 27/06/2022 09:34:14    2427852

I think Mayo should stick with it. If they had Tommy Conroy and Ryan O'Donoghue back and at full tilt, they're fit for anyone. No point hitting the panic button after you lose to Kerry without your two most natural forwards.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 27/06/2022 09:37:04    2427854

The method play has been found out.

A new method of play is required which will require at least 2-3 forwards being asked to stay patient and save their energy for taking scores.

Less solo runs and more kicking from the halfback line is required to get ahead of retreating defenders.

The Dublin 6 in a row team were very good at moving upfield with kick passes - we never learnt that lesson from them.

Now every team pulls back a double sweeper v Mayo to block runners.
We had no long range shooters to pull those sweeers out.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 27/06/2022 10:03:07    2427867

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They have given great entertainment over the years, the team now is a shadow of what they were 5 or 6 years ago,
Despite a few possible retirements Mayo won't be far away when they have their injured forwards back."
I said to the person I was watching with after he scored that point he'd do nothing else for the game and he didn't.

Cillian O Connor was another who the game just passed by to the degree I had forgotten he was even playing until the end of the game.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/06/2022 10:08:58    2427871

Replying To FootblockREF:  "They are done. Another game thrown away with bad shooting. McLoughlin goal chance was crucial and the first 15 of the 2nd half just summed up Mayo. They turned an undercooked Kerry over on multiple occasions but their poor shooting and worse shot selection meant that they entered the final quarter a couple of points down instead of a couple up. I think everyone would have loved to see Mayo win an All Ireland but its over now.
As for Aidan O'Shea, Cathal McShane came on in last years All Ireland Final and got better service in 30 minutes than O'Shea has got in 10 years. Mayo's inability to realise that O'Shea's best position was on the edge of the square not the edge of 13 metre line when playing FF will haunt them forever."
With a full deck to pick from , i do give them a real good chance next year, IMO football across the board has dropped a few notches, The Dubs ,Kerry , Tyrone , Donegal ,are nowhere near were they were 2/3 years ago, They will watch yesterdays match back again , and know if the two fowards were available they could have won that match, Keeping the above in mind , Yes i give them every chance

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 27/06/2022 10:15:17    2427874

Replying To galwayfball:  "Lee Keegan is one of if not the best players I've ever seen. Sad for him for a lad who has been in so many all ireland finals and has played brilliantly in every single one that he has never won Sam"
i think a lot of the people who peddle the 'sadness' of such issues are schadenfreude merchants.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 27/06/2022 10:17:35    2427877

Club championships, followed by the FBD League and then into the National League

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 27/06/2022 10:20:49    2427878

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "i think a lot of the people who peddle the 'sadness' of such issues are schadenfreude merchants."
Ya don't see schadenfreude in too many posts like this Pope, Lol. Das ist sehr gut.
True about Lee Keegan though, that lad deserved an all ireland medal. He's still young enough. No point in anyone in Mayo making rash decisions today.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 27/06/2022 10:36:25    2427893

Replying To togoutlads:  "I think Mayo should stick with it. If they had Tommy Conroy and Ryan O'Donoghue back and at full tilt, they're fit for anyone. No point hitting the panic button after you lose to Kerry without your two most natural forwards."
A lot of 'talk' about those two, from myself included, but they're hardly Purshal & Shhtockwell either, and I never seen the terrible twins myself, being a young lad and all.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 27/06/2022 10:56:31    2427904

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Club championships, followed by the FBD League and then into the National League"
Mayo tried out a lot of players in the league. I've no doubt that they'll reap the benefits.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 27/06/2022 10:56:33    2427905

Mayo have probably been the county affected most by injuries this season. With no dominate team since Dublin have returned to the pack; Mayo are well capable of being in the semi finals next year. As we have seen there are probably 4-5 teams guaranteed to be in quarter finals most years with 3-4 spots up for grabs. With the current structure Mayo are almost guaranted one of these 8 spots. The big question is will James Horan continue as manager? And how many of the old guard will retire? I can see Lee Keegan continuing as he is still a fine footballer but i think kKevin McLoughlin may opt to retire. Hard to know what Aidan O'Shea will do.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 27/06/2022 11:03:12    2427911