Non-Gaa Forum

Hopefully the game on Sunday will help me get over this.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 26/07/2023 21:28:42    2497179

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Congrats lad. Never in my life have I heard of a parade in an underage match. I have played in 3 senior club finals and an Intermediate in 2 different counties and have attended many finals at underage in senior in various counties and have never seen a pre match parade. They must do things different down there............. Maybe other posters have had the same experience as you................."
11 year old Ormo struggling to stay focused and in the zone following the Artane Boys Band in the East Clare Division 3 u-12 league final

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12161 - 27/07/2023 14:18:30    2497304

Replying To Breffni40:  "11 year old Ormo struggling to stay focused and in the zone following the Artane Boys Band in the East Clare Division 3 u-12 league final"
Excellent :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2990 - 27/07/2023 16:42:12    2497330

Replying To supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3127 - 23/07/2023 12:51:27 2496

Perhaps I'm overthink a bit but to me an National Anthem is more than a bit of music or a song played before a match, where and when it is played will be decided on our behalf, just an opinion I have."
Agreed Supersub. The Anthem is more than 'just a piece of music', as described in some quarters.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 27/07/2023 17:39:59    2497341

Replying To realdub:  "Hopefully the game on Sunday will help me get over this."
Stay strong.
There might even be a little bit of media focus on the All-Ireland final now that the women are out...

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 503 - 27/07/2023 17:54:46    2497346

Replying To Breffni40:  "11 year old Ormo struggling to stay focused and in the zone following the Artane Boys Band in the East Clare Division 3 u-12 league final"
:-)

Haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 27/07/2023 18:02:29    2497348

Replying To KillingFields:  "I had it before many finals when playing u12/14/16.
And well done yo you as usual you ho personal and not simply discuss the points at hand"
I know a few have made jokes, but are you seriously telling us that you were part of 'many' pre-match parades for U12 to U16 finals?
I've never seen even one at any local club level, from underage to senior. I've been to hundreds of matches at all levels and grades.
In which county were these parades for underage finals? I'll be honest, I find it unusual.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2155 - 28/07/2023 11:34:45    2497410

Replying To thelongridge:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important?

Perhaps I'm overthink a bit but to me an National Anthem is more than a bit of music or a song played before a match, where and when it is played will be decided on our behalf, just an opinion I have."
Agreed Supersub. The Anthem is more than 'just a piece of music', as described in some quarters."
but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1879 - 28/07/2023 12:20:37    2497425

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I know a few have made jokes, but are you seriously telling us that you were part of 'many' pre-match parades for U12 to U16 finals?
I've never seen even one at any local club level, from underage to senior. I've been to hundreds of matches at all levels and grades.
In which county were these parades for underage finals? I'll be honest, I find it unusual."
Things that never happened tend to be unusual.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8077 - 28/07/2023 12:27:04    2497426

I remember watching a minor final in Birmingham at Páirc na hÉireann a few years ago, a bloke getting the anthem up on You Tube on his phone and handing it over to yer man for him to hold it up to the microphone, it played a 20 sec ad at the start.

dolfos (Longford) - Posts: 124 - 28/07/2023 12:30:47    2497427

Lads go easy on Ormo/KillingFields

Tis a bit of a sensitive soul I reckon.

Although, she does bring it on herself with her wildly outlandish labelling and name calling exploits.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 28/07/2023 13:20:30    2497436

Replying To zinny:  "
Replying To thelongridge:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important?

Agreed Supersub. The Anthem is more than 'just a piece of music', as described in some quarters."
but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it."]Good point. Teams should be instructed as part of the protocol - which is strictly enforced on big days in other ways - not to break rank before the anthem finishes. If teams stay as they are, then the supporters will follow suit.

Call me an old fogey but it annoys the bejaysus out of me to see people talking through it. Shows zero awareness of what we are about.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2990 - 28/07/2023 13:22:22    2497438

Replying To thelongridge:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important?

but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it."]Bit like going to Chapel on Sunday and leaving at communion time. Why bother going, stay to the end and go less often rather than leaving early. Same with Anthem, bit of respect and wait until it's over before roaring and shouting.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2133 - 28/07/2023 13:25:46    2497440

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Things that never happened tend to be unusual."

It did happen. Why would I lie. Who am I proving anything to exactly.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3643 - 28/07/2023 13:54:12    2497451

Replying To KillingFields:  "
It did happen. Why would I lie. Who am I proving anything to exactly."
It's not that uncommon.

We have a pre match parade for county finals here too

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3064 - 28/07/2023 14:32:52    2497462

Replying To Doylerwex:  "It's not that uncommon.

We have a pre match parade for county finals here too"
For underage County finals?? Never seen it in Donegal, Mayo or Dublin. At senior or underage.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8077 - 28/07/2023 15:38:29    2497485

Replying To KillingFields:  "
It did happen. Why would I lie. Who am I proving anything to exactly."
To quote Moe Sizlak. . ."No, no, dig UP, stupid"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5122 - 28/07/2023 20:22:11    2497515

but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it."]I am not saying I am the end all and be all of what it is to be a true gael or Irish man, far from it, however I have maximum respect for our national anthem and what it represents, for the record I am also very passionate about our gaelic athletic association and what it represents also known as the gaa. There are times when I could go to war with Croke Park because of their views and attitudes on this, that, and the other, and if I do bring them to task does that make me a lesser gael than the muted member.?

So now, I sing my head off at every available opportunity when our National Anthem is being played, sometimes I choke up with heart felt emotions, or totally out of touch with the rest, or can't wait to get on with it. Somewhere in that sentence is the answer to the apparent disrespect to the last two lines of our national anthem.

I am quite sure no-good and honest sports minded person goes to a match with the intention of disrespecting our National Anthem.

In my view, for what it's worth, - impatience, - anticipation,- excitement, - let's do it, or, the now or never hour is here, all these things and more brings out the best in the real supporter.

I'm also sure our National Anthem makes allowances for us imperfect supporters that should know better than to stop short of the last two lines.

Apologies if I don't make sense.

PS. I'm very sure not many know more than the first verse of our Anthem.
To mimic the rest is unacceptable.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2990 - 28/07/2023 21:27:39    2497519

Replying To Saynothing:  "
Replying To zinny:  "[quote=thelongridge:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important?

but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it."]Bit like going to Chapel on Sunday and leaving at communion time. Why bother going, stay to the end and go less often rather than leaving early. Same with Anthem, bit of respect and wait until it's over before roaring and shouting."]Bit like going to Chapel on Sunday and leaving at communion time. Why bother going, stay to the end and go less often rather than leaving early. Same with Anthem, bit of respect and wait until it's over before roaring and shouting."

The ruling is if you are in attendance between the Offertory and the Priests communion then you have fulfilled your obligation.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2990 - 28/07/2023 23:05:46    2497527

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To Saynothing:  "[quote=zinny:  "[quote=thelongridge:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important?

but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it."]Bit like going to Chapel on Sunday and leaving at communion time. Why bother going, stay to the end and go less often rather than leaving early. Same with Anthem, bit of respect and wait until it's over before roaring and shouting."]Bit like going to Chapel on Sunday and leaving at communion time. Why bother going, stay to the end and go less often rather than leaving early. Same with Anthem, bit of respect and wait until it's over before roaring and shouting."

The ruling is if you are in attendance between the Offertory and the Priests communion then you have fulfilled your obligation."]How many people (including those who perform it before matches) know the actual words?
Most of them emit phonetic sounds much like the words but.....
And of course the 1st verse is never played, possibly because it wasn't translated into Gaeilge?.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1845 - 29/07/2023 11:29:10    2497557