Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Freethinker:  "What kind of becalmed waters or stagnation has young Kelliher gotten himself into at Liverpool ?? It's looking as if not even Liverpool want him, they are chasing some 23 yr old - so much for staying loyal. . If he doesn't get out soon, he will be getting on to his late twenties, I think he is 25? Peculiar that nobody is looking for him. It's not a great advert for him if his club are looking at passing him over. Bazunu was only what, 22 or 23 when he got his move to a number one spot."
Yes, he needs to leave, but to a club who want him as their No.1 keeper. That would probably be a Championship side, or he goes to Europe. The problem is, most leagues have already started and the transfer window closes in 10 days time. He has 2 years left on his contract with Liverpool. A loan deal with an option to buy, might be more attractive to potential buyers. He's still only 25, young for a goalkeeper. Regular game time, even with a Championship side could be a stepping stone to bigger things.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2643 - 20/08/2024 18:18:34    2566052

I was watching the Democratic National Convention from Chicago last night. I think I saw Leo Varadkar standing near the stage when Nancy Pelosi's was speaking.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 22/08/2024 08:40:39    2566257

Replying To Freethinker:  "What kind of becalmed waters or stagnation has young Kelliher gotten himself into at Liverpool ?? It's looking as if not even Liverpool want him, they are chasing some 23 yr old - so much for staying loyal. . If he doesn't get out soon, he will be getting on to his late twenties, I think he is 25? Peculiar that nobody is looking for him. It's not a great advert for him if his club are looking at passing him over. Bazunu was only what, 22 or 23 when he got his move to a number one spot."
So much for staying loyal? Lol. There is no loyalty in professional sports. Players are even worse than clubs when it comes to loyalty. Trent will likely want out next summer.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 22/08/2024 11:04:42    2566269

I'm endorsing Kamala Harris for President of the United States.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 23/08/2024 15:49:05    2566470

Replying To endgame:  "I'm endorsing Kamala Harris for President of the United States."
Any sane person would. While I don't agree with everything the democrats say or do they are the lesser evil by far than the lunatic alternative. How anyone could vote for Trump is baffling.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 23/08/2024 20:57:08    2566497

Replying To endgame:  "I'm endorsing Kamala Harris for President of the United States."
I'm sure she'll be overjoyed by your public announcement.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2643 - 23/08/2024 23:12:11    2566505

Replying To yew_tree:  "Any sane person would. While I don't agree with everything the democrats say or do they are the lesser evil by far than the lunatic alternative. How anyone could vote for Trump is baffling."
Which of her policies are you most impressed with?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 23/08/2024 23:24:12    2566507

Check out her debate with Tulsi Gubbard at the democratic primaries 4 years ago.
Harris is a weakling but even I was surprised to see her struggle to hold back tears during that head to head.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 23/08/2024 23:33:54    2566508

Well the rumours are true and Oasis have announced a reunion tour in 2025 which includes two dates in Croke Park next August 16th and 17th. I for one am delighted and will be joining thousands of others in the scramble for tickets on Saturday morning.

The two lads aren't everyone's cup of tea and music critics/snobs often sneer at the quality of their songs/albums. But Oasis doing concerts again will remind me of simpler times. Putting their latest album (in cassette format!) into the school bus radio, big drunken singalongs in my late teens/early 20s, and heading to festivals like Oxegen in the summer of 02.

Hopefully the bucks will keep the heads now and deliver a couple of big concerts in Dublin next year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 27/08/2024 11:43:50    2567104

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well the rumours are true and Oasis have announced a reunion tour in 2025 which includes two dates in Croke Park next August 16th and 17th. I for one am delighted and will be joining thousands of others in the scramble for tickets on Saturday morning.

The two lads aren't everyone's cup of tea and music critics/snobs often sneer at the quality of their songs/albums. But Oasis doing concerts again will remind me of simpler times. Putting their latest album (in cassette format!) into the school bus radio, big drunken singalongs in my late teens/early 20s, and heading to festivals like Oxegen in the summer of 02.

Hopefully the bucks will keep the heads now and deliver a couple of big concerts in Dublin next year."
Oasis are good but I prefer Blur myself. I seen them in Malahide Castle last year. They were brilliant. The only time I saw Oasis play live was at Slane Castle in 1995 when they backed up REM.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 866 - 27/08/2024 12:23:28    2567113

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well the rumours are true and Oasis have announced a reunion tour in 2025 which includes two dates in Croke Park next August 16th and 17th. I for one am delighted and will be joining thousands of others in the scramble for tickets on Saturday morning.

Hopefully the bucks will keep the heads now and deliver a couple of big concerts in Dublin next year."
Wasn't it still called witness in02 not oxygen.
Didn't get to see the lads together live as oasis but saw both individually in their solo acts.
Will likely work the 2 gigs but if not will get tickets.
Can't wait

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3624 - 27/08/2024 12:23:49    2567114

At the base level it is good to see two brothers getting on again...even if it may be temporary

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 27/08/2024 13:33:28    2567132

I'd say it will make a big difference and more than likely swing the election in her favour…… You have the Trump camp running scared…!!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 28/08/2024 07:09:30    2567254

I loved them to be honest, particularly Noel who's quite vocal about his Irish roots.

Even the critics acknowledge that the first two albums were fantastic.

They're hit and miss after that but you could always depend on at least one amazing song on each album.

Their b sides were a different level being the songs Liam refused to sing.

Got my presale registration confirmation a moment ago. I can't wait.

My wife who isn't a fan has begrudgingly accepted she has to go with me. Our second date was an oasis gig back in the day. I've sat through about 20 musicals waiting for this to happen.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 28/08/2024 10:05:14    2567292

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I loved them to be honest, particularly Noel who's quite vocal about his Irish roots.

They're hit and miss after that but you could always depend on at least one amazing song on each album.

My wife who isn't a fan has begrudgingly accepted she has to go with me. Our second date was an oasis gig back in the day. I've sat through about 20 musicals waiting for this to happen."
Yeah the first two albums were really good in fairness, and like you say the later albums had a couple of great tunes as well, even if the overall quality wasn't as good as what preceded them.

Just got my pre-sale registration email as well so fingers crossed.

I'm probably being an old nostalgic git, but there aren't many current young rock bands doing anything as exciting as what Oasis brought to the table in the mid 90s? They were proper rock stars. Young working-class lads who made it big and acted accordingly, good and bad.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 28/08/2024 10:53:57    2567305

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I loved them to be honest, particularly Noel who's quite vocal about his Irish roots.

My wife who isn't a fan has begrudgingly accepted she has to go with me. Our second date was an oasis gig back in the day. I've sat through about 20 musicals waiting for this to happen."
Fair play to you Doyler:-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 28/08/2024 11:10:22    2567310

Are you doing it at a public rally or just in a written statement?

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 28/08/2024 11:24:27    2567323

Ah cant wait,fingers crossed I'll get to see them again.Ive been lucky enough to see them in the point,Slane,Marlay park and fairyhouse (witness I think)but without doubt 1996 in Cork was the best.They just did Knebworth in England and the line up was Booth leg Beatles who were very good ,the prodigy at their peak and Oasis also.I was
only a teenager then but knew it would stay with me forever.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 28/08/2024 11:54:58    2567342

Replying To Ollie2:  "Oasis are good but I prefer Blur myself. I seen them in Malahide Castle last year. They were brilliant. The only time I saw Oasis play live was at Slane Castle in 1995 when they backed up REM."
Blur gig in Malahide was magic. I agree with your preference. Did you meet the WUM dressed all in sky blue with the Oasis t-shirt?
Still have a copy of Morning Glory somewhere. Their best album for me, and easy enough songs to play as I was learning the guitar around that age.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 28/08/2024 13:14:51    2567366

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Ah cant wait,fingers crossed I'll get to see them again.Ive been lucky enough to see them in the point,Slane,Marlay park and fairyhouse (witness I think)but without doubt 1996 in Cork was the best.They just did Knebworth in England and the line up was Booth leg Beatles who were very good ,the prodigy at their peak and Oasis also.I was
only a teenager then but knew it would stay with me forever."
I think it's fair to say the summer of 96 was the greatest period in history since the birth of our lord :)

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 28/08/2024 13:27:24    2567371