Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You know how many lies Trump told in the first debate? Unchallenged? Of course they want an open mic because he will lose his cool."
All he needs to do is keep quiet and let Harris blab away with her word salad incoherence and people can then decide who they prefer.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 03/09/2024 10:56:06    2568173

The trouble is that Ticketmaster are very vague when it comes to how they operate and the silence from the Oasis camp isn't great either. A classic case of supply, demand and greed.

€200 is the maximum I was prepared to go to, for what essentially will be a three hour event. There will likely be some sort of statement put out, "due to overheads, insurance, rising costs - bla, bla, bla". But when you strip it all back, it's greed and taking advantage of people knowing that the huge demand was there. I'd have no problem if there were set prices outlined beforehand. Everyone join the online queue and if you're lucky, pay for your ticket. Sadly not the case however.

I remember a few years ago my parents were coming home late from a holiday and had booked one of the airport hotels to stay in Dublin, and intended to travel home to Donegal the next day. There happened to be a storm on the day of their arrival, meaning that Bus Eireann services were suspended, and a lot of folk had no option but to stay in Dublin for the night until the weather improved. My parents received an email to say that the cost of their one night stay had suddenly increased (despite having booked it weeks earlier). We called them out on every social media platform and shamed them into agreeing to the original fee and they also threw in a free meal :)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 03/09/2024 11:38:12    2568181

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "All he needs to do is keep quiet and let Harris blab away with her word salad incoherence and people can then decide who they prefer."
Do you think keeping quiet is in his make-up? Pun intended!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 03/09/2024 11:43:15    2568184

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "All he needs to do is keep quiet and let Harris blab away with her word salad incoherence and people can then decide who they prefer."
Aye Trump stay quiet. Good man.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8054 - 03/09/2024 11:44:54    2568185

Also her word salad incoherence? You haven't been following Donald then?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8054 - 03/09/2024 12:13:52    2568194

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Also her word salad incoherence? You haven't been following Donald then?"
LOL - If you ever actually read the transcripts from Trump's speeches you'd question if he was sober and corpus mentis.
But he literally could get up on stage saying any old ***** and his supporters would still lap it up.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 03/09/2024 14:46:19    2568237

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Good enough for anyone willing to pay in to see those pair of toss pots…. They are making pure fools out of the Irish public…"
Not affected by the Oasis hype, I'm of a different musical era. You are right if people are ok with inflated prices to stand for hours at a concert, then groups, or promoters will get away with inflated prices.
You are not a fan obviously.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 03/09/2024 15:00:20    2568247

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The trouble is that Ticketmaster are very vague when it comes to how they operate and the silence from the Oasis camp isn't great either. A classic case of supply, demand and greed.

€200 is the maximum I was prepared to go to, for what essentially will be a three hour event. There will likely be some sort of statement put out, "due to overheads, insurance, rising costs - bla, bla, bla". But when you strip it all back, it's greed and taking advantage of people knowing that the huge demand was there. I'd have no problem if there were set prices outlined beforehand. Everyone join the online queue and if you're lucky, pay for your ticket. Sadly not the case however.

I remember a few years ago my parents were coming home late from a holiday and had booked one of the airport hotels to stay in Dublin, and intended to travel home to Donegal the next day. There happened to be a storm on the day of their arrival, meaning that Bus Eireann services were suspended, and a lot of folk had no option but to stay in Dublin for the night until the weather improved. My parents received an email to say that the cost of their one night stay had suddenly increased (despite having booked it weeks earlier). We called them out on every social media platform and shamed them into agreeing to the original fee and they also threw in a free meal :)"
Fair play to ye for doing that Lockjaw. I think that not enough Irish people complain about poor service when there's options to complain to regulator/ombudsman or to give poor reviews and business's will often contact you looking to put things right. The more you let them get away with poor/ripoff service the more they will keep doing it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7571 - 03/09/2024 18:13:59    2568293

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The trouble is that Ticketmaster are very vague when it comes to how they operate and the silence from the Oasis camp isn't great either. A classic case of supply, demand and greed.

I remember a few years ago my parents were coming home late from a holiday and had booked one of the airport hotels to stay in Dublin, and intended to travel home to Donegal the next day. There happened to be a storm on the day of their arrival, meaning that Bus Eireann services were suspended, and a lot of folk had no option but to stay in Dublin for the night until the weather improved. My parents received an email to say that the cost of their one night stay had suddenly increased (despite having booked it weeks earlier). We called them out on every social media platform and shamed them into agreeing to the original fee and they also threw in a free meal :)"
I'm lucky to have gotten tickets through the res pre-sale at the "normal" price for the pitch. Still the most amount of money I've spent on gig tickets. But that's the only expense I'll have on the day really so maybe it's not so bad. I was a big fan back in the day and saw them a few times before they broke up, and have seen them both in their various post-Oasis lineups.

But I agree with you on Ticketmaster. They should, at the very least, have to have a transparent and easily available Ticket-Price list before all events. Also, I'm no IT expert but in this day and age surely there's a way to make the buying of tickets less of a shambles then it currently is through ticketmaster. They're website and app are just not fit for purpose for high demand events.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13777 - 03/09/2024 19:58:11    2568303

Yeah I know what you mean. In any competent IT department there should be a capacity/performance testing team who have a test environment identical to production. There are loads of performance testing tools where you can mimic unprecedented massive customer demand (and DDOS attacks). Also - with cloud computing there is the ability to very quickly spin up additional computing resources as demand suddenly increases. Then, as the demand subsides again you can easily terminate the compute that is no longer required. Takes a bit of planning and budgeting though, which evidently Ticketmaster got wrong.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 04/09/2024 09:49:41    2568352

Government spend €330k on a pruck of a bike shed as thousands remain homeless..,: What wonderful leaders we have…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 04/09/2024 10:10:15    2568359

Replying To TheFlaker:  "We need to stop blaming musicians and promoters for maximising their profit. We live in a stupid world now where people are competing with each other to make sure they can tell anyone who will listen how they went to amazing lengths to secure tickets because they sare such huge fans of x,y or z and it's gonns be an epic weekend etc. etc. The same people will have their phones out for most of the gig trying to post the perfect shorts on their social media.

The stupidity of people drive the demand and the prices. Until these gigs stop selling out why would things change? I loved Oasis back in the day but wasn't willing to waste my morning stressed trying to secure tickets. Same for Coldplay. People need to cop on."
You hit the nail on the head there.
When you find a donkey you ride it.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2048 - 04/09/2024 11:03:27    2568376

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I know what you mean. In any competent IT department there should be a capacity/performance testing team who have a test environment identical to production. There are loads of performance testing tools where you can mimic unprecedented massive customer demand (and DDOS attacks). Also - with cloud computing there is the ability to very quickly spin up additional computing resources as demand suddenly increases. Then, as the demand subsides again you can easily terminate the compute that is no longer required. Takes a bit of planning and budgeting though, which evidently Ticketmaster got wrong."
Did they get it wrong tho?

To have gotten it wrong, you'd have to assume their intention was not to frustrated fans to the point of desperation, seeing them then pay whatever price was asked to secure the tickers they were so 'lucky' to be offered.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5113 - 04/09/2024 13:16:32    2568403

Replying To cavanman47:  "Did they get it wrong tho?

To have gotten it wrong, you'd have to assume their intention was not to frustrated fans to the point of desperation, seeing them then pay whatever price was asked to secure the tickers they were so 'lucky' to be offered."
Ha you might be right.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 04/09/2024 14:26:26    2568414

Replying To Viking66:  "Do you think keeping quiet is in his make-up? Pun intended!"
You saw his debate with Biden? He let nature take its course there and said very little.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 04/09/2024 14:42:39    2568417

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Also her word salad incoherence? You haven't been following Donald then?"
'what can be, unburdened by what has been'...I'll leave that one there for you to mull over

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 04/09/2024 14:44:03    2568419

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "'what can be, unburdened by what has been'...I'll leave that one there for you to mull over"
Wow a modern day philosopher we have. Talk to me after the election. This isn't 2016.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8054 - 04/09/2024 14:58:06    2568422

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Wow a modern day philosopher we have. Talk to me after the election. This isn't 2016."
That's her word salad right there for you. BTW I don't care which one of them wins, they are both very poor candidates in a country of over 300 million people. It shows the decline of a once half decent country.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 04/09/2024 15:11:40    2568424

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "That's her word salad right there for you. BTW I don't care which one of them wins, they are both very poor candidates in a country of over 300 million people. It shows the decline of a once half decent country."
I never said she was a brilliant candidate. She's just more capable than him currently. And if you can't see his madness then there is no talking to you.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8054 - 04/09/2024 15:56:57    2568437

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "That's her word salad right there for you. BTW I don't care which one of them wins, they are both very poor candidates in a country of over 300 million people. It shows the decline of a once half decent country."
It was the greatest country in the world (for those of WASP decent) in the 1950s.

The American empire is now in the age of decadence and on the verge of total collapse, which began with Reaganomics destroying their unions and pulling their social services apart.

Fine Gael are trying to do the same thing here like Thatcher on the UK

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 04/09/2024 15:58:19    2568438