Clare Hurling thread

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I would start Duggan absolutely. He should be our free taker and regardless of his scoring output atm he is a crucial part of our game plan in distributing the distribution of ball from defense to attac for the opposition. He is a nuisance.

I would start Cian Nolan to be honest over Hayes.

I would leave Shanagher on the bench simply because he gives us a real potent weapon off the bench. I would start Meehan ahead of Reidy and rejig the forward line to accommodate him. He has a real x-factor for us.

I wouldnt be worried about Tony Kelly. Although he was stiffled you are not going to be able to stiffle him for the whole game and for all the talk about how he played the last day he came off the pitch with 4 points from play when he largely played in an inside line with little ball going in. I think TK was carrying an ankle injury the last day and thats why he was only brought out to roam for the last 15 minutes. I expect him back on song with a license to roam.

I also expect a huge game out of SOD. He was quiet the last day (still cant believe he got MOM) but I think this game and the way KK will set up will suit him."
Agree with all that except I'd start Reidy for his build and style of play against the Cats and bring Meehan on around the 50 minute mark injuries allowing.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 28/06/2022 16:06:32    2428419

Replying To daveboy:  "Would you start Duggan and Hayes. On current form? Cian Nolan held his own for large parts v wexford and Duggan seems a bit out of form and distracted lately. Shanagher could be more a handful for Lawlor where Duggan would suit him nicely imo.

I wonder will Lohan try something different with Tony Kelly if mikey butler stifles him like Shane reck did? Cody will have a plan B for kelly too where wexford didn't really due to injury."
Kilkenny don't have many fast tight marking backs. Most of them are bigger men who turn slower. That's why Mikey came straight in at cornerback this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 28/06/2022 16:08:30    2428421

Replying To clooney:  "I would agree with most of that Duggan has to start his work rate & tackling coughs up numerous opportunities for those around him I would like to see him catching a bit more ball he has been scoring bar the Limerick & Wexford games.
I have no fear for him he is a very dangerous forward both from play dead ball & side line cuts.

The Rory case is not as clear cut was having a great year up to the Munster Final and even though S Flanagan scored 8 points Rory seemed to be minding House rather that following Flanagan he is such a good hurler you could play him anywhere he might be replaced by Nolan who is a tenacious corner back but he is bound to play a big part at some stage.

I would also start Meehan he is a real handful had great league always in right place can win his own ball too.

However id say Management will go with the 15 that started last day we now have very good options off the bench"
I think its a huge stretch to start meehan. The first 15 mins will be extremely physical and he could get overwhelmed. Much more suited to come in as game opens up. Hayes coughed up 1-06 from dessie v Waterford 0-08 off seamus and pulled after 8 mins v wexford. Its Nolan for me all day. The Duggan one is interesting. I think his influence has been exaggerated. I understand hes integral as the key man in the direct ball but for me he's been poor last few matches I've watched and seems constantly engaged I'm stuff outside the actual play. I wonder if Kelly was a 9 out of 10 free taker would shanagher get the nod? I even think O Donnell as a 14 is way more interesting and troublesome for kk. SOD has been quiet too of late and I'd agree with another poster I was baffled to see him even nominated in motm when clearly Diarmuid Ryan was clares best player on the day by some distance.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1125 - 28/06/2022 18:35:06    2428449

Replying To munsterchamps:  "codys plan A and B will be hit everthing that moves......kilkenny will bring an intensity like they brought in 2019 against us clare better be ready.....the one thing that will favour kilkenny is playing in croke park its as good as a home venue for them as they play there so much, and im thinking up to half of the clare team have never played there."
I don't think intensity will be an issue for Clare, the only game that it lacked was v Wexford. I think Croke park will suit Clare as well, we're definitely more mobile and faster than Kilkenny and if we can use the space well, I think we'll open them up.

Clare by 3.

Hopefully it's 2 great games we see.

Dec82andahalf (Clare) - Posts: 34 - 28/06/2022 20:32:35    2428476

Replying To munsterchamps:  "codys plan A and B will be hit everthing that moves......kilkenny will bring an intensity like they brought in 2019 against us clare better be ready.....the one thing that will favour kilkenny is playing in croke park its as good as a home venue for them as they play there so much, and im thinking up to half of the clare team have never played there."
Home venue where their supporters will be outnumbered 3-1. There will be some Banner roar on Saturday and that'll put an end to "home advantage" feels

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 28/06/2022 20:48:46    2428483

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree with all that except I'd start Reidy for his build and style of play against the Cats and bring Meehan on around the 50 minute mark injuries allowing."
Unless you start Meehan instead of Duggan and try move the ball shorter and faster. Which can work well against Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 28/06/2022 21:41:39    2428491

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Home venue where their supporters will be outnumbered 3-1. There will be some Banner roar on Saturday and that'll put an end to "home advantage" feels"
if you think clare supporters outnumbering kilkenny 3-1 will be an advantage thats the rock that clare will perish on kilkenny are kilkenny and nothing phases them......we probably outnumbered them 4 or 5 to one in 2019 kilkenny didnt really travel as limerick were overwnelming favourites we had possibly 25-30 thousand supporters there and it didnt make one bit of a difference ....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 29/06/2022 11:42:08    2428569

Replying To munsterchamps:  "if you think clare supporters outnumbering kilkenny 3-1 will be an advantage thats the rock that clare will perish on kilkenny are kilkenny and nothing phases them......we probably outnumbered them 4 or 5 to one in 2019 kilkenny didnt really travel as limerick were overwnelming favourites we had possibly 25-30 thousand supporters there and it didnt make one bit of a difference ...."
I'm not saying that it will be an advantage to Clare all I was implying was that it would be a strange "home advantage" given they will be heavily outnumbered.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 29/06/2022 13:02:28    2428606

Replying To TomWex:  "Here's hoping Cody tells, whoever he gets to man mark Tony Kelly, to wear a groin guard"
Did you see something no one else did?

TheDigger (USA) - Posts: 84 - 29/06/2022 13:40:03    2428616

Replying To TheDigger:  "Did you see something no one else did?"
TK finsihed Shane Recks game after digging the butt of his hurl into his groin.. cameras didn't pick it up but I saw it as did several others I came across also saw a Cork lad on twitter talking about it too.. (so it wasnt just grumpy Wexford lads lol) camera just saw Reck lying on the ground with an ice pack - poor fecker..

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 62 - 29/06/2022 18:50:43    2428723

All is missing is the tumble weed from this thread. Big all ireland semi final in few days time and hardly a discussion on here. Lohansredhelmet keeping it going by himself.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 921 - 30/06/2022 09:17:26    2428750

Replying To TomWex:  "TK finsihed Shane Recks game after digging the butt of his hurl into his groin.. cameras didn't pick it up but I saw it as did several others I came across also saw a Cork lad on twitter talking about it too.. (so it wasnt just grumpy Wexford lads lol) camera just saw Reck lying on the ground with an ice pack - poor fecker.."
Yeah? We have also seen Viking, a fellow Wexford fan say that in his opinion it was accidental and resulted from Reck running across TKs path. Given the only people claiming it was deliberate are some (not all) Wexford fans and some random "Cork" fan from twitter and given TKs super disciplinary record I think we could give him the benefit of the doubt with this one and perhaps you could also just move on with your life???

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 30/06/2022 10:18:15    2428757

Replying To hunting:  "All is missing is the tumble weed from this thread. Big all ireland semi final in few days time and hardly a discussion on here. Lohansredhelmet keeping it going by himself."
The population of Clare are too busy with Mass and prayers this week to be posting.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 30/06/2022 10:18:57    2428758

Replying To hunting:  "All is missing is the tumble weed from this thread. Big all ireland semi final in few days time and hardly a discussion on here. Lohansredhelmet keeping it going by himself."
https://clarehurlersforum.proboards.com/

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 30/06/2022 10:27:02    2428761

Nothing on TV so I watched back the Clare V Wexford Game we were poxed lucky to win Wexford were the better team for 60 minutes and even after that a penalty that wasn't given some awful shooting by WX we should have been out of sight fair play to WX but if we play like that on Saturday season will be over.

I am hoping that players such as Malone Taylor Fitz Duggie will be far more in the scoring groove come Saturday.

Last time in Croaker in 2018 Peter Duggan got man of match he is winning an amount of dirty ball but he can be a prolific scorer Saturday would be just fine for such a performance. I really cant call this game but i hope our bench will be the difference we are so much stronger on the bench that at start of year.

Limerick V Galway everybody expects LM to win all the big players available they appear super confident but Galway always have a big game now would be time to deliver.

We could be in for a surprise and have an all Leinster All Ireland Final

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 880 - 30/06/2022 10:31:06    2428765

Replying To munsterchamps:  "if you think clare supporters outnumbering kilkenny 3-1 will be an advantage thats the rock that clare will perish on kilkenny are kilkenny and nothing phases them......we probably outnumbered them 4 or 5 to one in 2019 kilkenny didnt really travel as limerick were overwnelming favourites we had possibly 25-30 thousand supporters there and it didnt make one bit of a difference ...."
But you will admit m.c. that match was lost because some players played well below par and a number of crucial mistakes were made on the sideline. On the other hand, it was probably the kick up the rear end that that young team needed and the trauma of that loss probably spurred them on to greater things. I don't think the support issue had much to do with it.
It should also be noted that KK are always hard to beat when they are underdogs and they played out of their skins that day.
Strangely in hurling, when every hurling county won their first Ireland they were beaten the following year- kk in 1904 would seem to be an exception, but they lost to Cork and only won after a replay, due to an objection. Also any team regaining an All Ireland, after more than a 10 year lapse, have never retained it. So, at least in some ways, the odds were stacked against LK that day.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 30/06/2022 10:57:22    2428774

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Yeah? We have also seen Viking, a fellow Wexford fan say that in his opinion it was accidental and resulted from Reck running across TKs path. Given the only people claiming it was deliberate are some (not all) Wexford fans and some random "Cork" fan from twitter and given TKs super disciplinary record I think we could give him the benefit of the doubt with this one and perhaps you could also just move on with your life???"
Well I've lost all respect for him after that act. Can't get much lower than that

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 62 - 30/06/2022 11:52:25    2428782

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But you will admit m.c. that match was lost because some players played well below par and a number of crucial mistakes were made on the sideline. On the other hand, it was probably the kick up the rear end that that young team needed and the trauma of that loss probably spurred them on to greater things. I don't think the support issue had much to do with it.
It should also be noted that KK are always hard to beat when they are underdogs and they played out of their skins that day.
Strangely in hurling, when every hurling county won their first Ireland they were beaten the following year- kk in 1904 would seem to be an exception, but they lost to Cork and only won after a replay, due to an objection. Also any team regaining an All Ireland, after more than a 10 year lapse, have never retained it. So, at least in some ways, the odds were stacked against LK that day."
I remember the lead up to that match v KK and Gillane was being interviewed about the gap between the Munster final and All Ireland semi final and if it would effect Limerick. He said something along the lines of "sure a Limerick training session is as good as a championship game". I remember thinking at the time that Limerick had started to believe their own hype and their performance levels dropped as a result and the Cats were waiting for them. Over confidence was the main reason Limerick lost that match. Ye were the best team in Ireland that year by a mile.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 30/06/2022 11:54:24    2428783

Replying To TomWex:  "Well I've lost all respect for him after that act. Can't get much lower than that"
its a serious accusation to make without facts surely I was watching live as were many others nobody saw anything, you must have been in Stand Or behind goals a long way from it referee or officials or cameras diden't pick it up.

Two hurlers running along side each other jostling for position you possibly cant say, Wexford player or officials made no comment on it.

its a spurious libellous comment to make without backup so stop trying to be the man & drop it

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 880 - 30/06/2022 12:53:04    2428799

Replying To TomWex:  "Well I've lost all respect for him after that act. Can't get much lower than that"
Ah don't say that, he has a match to concentrate on. What if he sees it.

Dec82andahalf (Clare) - Posts: 34 - 30/06/2022 12:56:43    2428803