Clare Hurling thread

Replying To WEX98:  "Shocking......played a pivotal role in 3 of Clare's 4 All Ireland wins."
Until Davy acknowledges Brian Lohan and what he has done to this team he will remain on the outside of this Clare team.

The entire county is behind Brian and is behind this team much more than even in 2013 as we can see what Lohan has built. Clare are on a crest at the moment, the atmosphere around Ennis is akin to the 90s.

Davy cannot give the man any credit nor even say his name.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/06/2022 13:28:17    2426051

Replying To WEX98:  "100%......imagine if Shane had of been hurling for the last 4 months."
We wouldn't have been playing Clare in an AIQF I'm fully sure of that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/06/2022 13:31:08    2426055

Replying To cityman73:  "A minority of supporters in every county boo the free takers,no county holds the morale high ground."
Never seen it out of our lot it has to be said. But maybe that would change if we had a bit of regular success and the bandwaggoners returned!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/06/2022 13:32:43    2426056

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Until Davy acknowledges Brian Lohan and what he has done to this team he will remain on the outside of this Clare team.

The entire county is behind Brian and is behind this team much more than even in 2013 as we can see what Lohan has built. Clare are on a crest at the moment, the atmosphere around Ennis is akin to the 90s.

Davy cannot give the man any credit nor even say his name."
Davy said last year if someone set up a meeting with Brian he would do it 110%. I heard him myself. It's all a bit sad really but they are grown men. If it was 2 of the kids inside here you would bang their heads together!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/06/2022 13:34:51    2426057

Replying To Galway9801:  "Is it really that big a deal if they boo the free taker?"
Merely an observation.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 376 - 19/06/2022 14:19:04    2426072

Replying To cityman73:  "A minority of supporters in every county boo the free takers,no county holds the morale high ground."
Merely an observation.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 376 - 19/06/2022 14:19:19    2426073

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Until Davy acknowledges Brian Lohan and what he has done to this team he will remain on the outside of this Clare team.

Davy cannot give the man any credit nor even say his name."
I don't know who is the culprit in this disagreement but Davy had an opportunity yesterday to ease the situation. He acknowledged the great come back of the team (which ranks with the best 10 point swing) but refused to use Brian Lohan's name in it. He used "all involved". How about Brian Lohan and "all involved" deserve great credit.
The other side of it is I don't know if Brian had or has any input into the going ons with Davy's father. Any man worth his salt will stand up for hid dad. It seems to be over a college game. Dave left himself down yesterday (like Cody) in the public eye and probably both of them need to grow up in the interest of Clare.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/06/2022 14:43:40    2426077

Replying To WEX98:  "It was noticeable that only the Cork and Clare supporters booed the opposition free takers......must be only when their supporting the egg ball that they show some respect.

Fair play to the Galway and Wexford supporters."
Bitter bitter bitter.

Maybe the Wexford fans did boo but you couldn't make all 12 of them out?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/06/2022 15:47:21    2426096

Replying To WEX98:  "It was noticeable that only the Cork and Clare supporters booed the opposition free takers......must be only when their supporting the egg ball that they show some respect.

Fair play to the Galway and Wexford supporters."
I don't care what county supporters including mine, it is a horrible development in our sport. In the past you would hear a pin drop when a free was getting taken by either team. That is respect for the players, the opposition and the good name of our sport. The same when booing the opposition team running out on the field. Both teams should get clapped on to the field. Any one of them could be dead tomorrow like the poor Tyrone guy. Is that what these idiots want to be associated with.
If supporters learned this from other sports, f--k back off to them and leave our sport alone. Yes I have heard all this before they paid to enter bla! bla! bla!. I am on a rant because most of the ills in our society starts with a chipping away of decency and respect of others.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/06/2022 17:58:26    2426138

I realise this is very much off topic here but regarding Clare and hurling.. well done yesterday. Great comeback in the end. Should be a good scrap with Kilkenny.

I assume the level of negativity here means Clare must be half decent!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/06/2022 18:37:02    2426148

Replying To Canuck:  "I don't care what county supporters including mine, it is a horrible development in our sport. In the past you would hear a pin drop when a free was getting taken by either team. That is respect for the players, the opposition and the good name of our sport. The same when booing the opposition team running out on the field. Both teams should get clapped on to the field. Any one of them could be dead tomorrow like the poor Tyrone guy. Is that what these idiots want to be associated with.
If supporters learned this from other sports, f--k back off to them and leave our sport alone. Yes I have heard all this before they paid to enter bla! bla! bla!. I am on a rant because most of the ills in our society starts with a chipping away of decency and respect of others."
Booing has been around for a long long time. It's not a new development.

I watched Clare v Wexford replay from 2014 last night and the Wexford fans booed Colin Ryan as he took the equalising free at the end of the game so all counties are at it.

Its not nice though. I would never do it

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/06/2022 18:48:25    2426151

Replying To Canuck:  "I don't care what county supporters including mine, it is a horrible development in our sport. In the past you would hear a pin drop when a free was getting taken by either team. That is respect for the players, the opposition and the good name of our sport. The same when booing the opposition team running out on the field. Both teams should get clapped on to the field. Any one of them could be dead tomorrow like the poor Tyrone guy. Is that what these idiots want to be associated with.
If supporters learned this from other sports, f--k back off to them and leave our sport alone. Yes I have heard all this before they paid to enter bla! bla! bla!. I am on a rant because most of the ills in our society starts with a chipping away of decency and respect of others."
I couldn't care less if clare and cork fans were booing free takers. Happened in munster final too for both sides. The one thing I can't stand is players trying to get opposition players sent off via simulation. It's the definition of cowardice and has no place in our game. This has happened a few times already this year and in my opinion hasn't had half the focus it should have gotten. It's a dirty plague on this great sport.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 19/06/2022 18:58:55    2426153

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Bitter bitter bitter.

Maybe the Wexford fans did boo but you couldn't make all 12 of them out?"
You're some gas!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 473 - 19/06/2022 19:13:16    2426157

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Bitter bitter bitter.

Maybe the Wexford fans did boo but you couldn't make all 12 of them out?"
7000 of us there apparently. We'll drowned out by ye it has to be said. Probably no booing from your 7000 hard-core supporters either. If we have a bit of success and our bandwaggoners come back out I wouldn't be at surprised to hear booing out of them. They are probably watching soccer like yours were the last couple years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/06/2022 20:54:30    2426196

Replying To Canuck:  "I don't know who is the culprit in this disagreement but Davy had an opportunity yesterday to ease the situation. He acknowledged the great come back of the team (which ranks with the best 10 point swing) but refused to use Brian Lohan's name in it. He used "all involved". How about Brian Lohan and "all involved" deserve great credit.
The other side of it is I don't know if Brian had or has any input into the going ons with Davy's father. Any man worth his salt will stand up for hid dad. It seems to be over a college game. Dave left himself down yesterday (like Cody) in the public eye and probably both of them need to grow up in the interest of Clare."
Think it's all alot more complicated than that up there Canuck.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/06/2022 20:55:36    2426197

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Booing has been around for a long long time. It's not a new development.

I watched Clare v Wexford replay from 2014 last night and the Wexford fans booed Colin Ryan as he took the equalising free at the end of the game so all counties are at it.

Its not nice though. I would never do it"
More bandwaggoners LRH. I never booed a freetaker and I can be a fairly raw lad when I get going. Fairly sure from your posts you don't boo either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/06/2022 20:57:21    2426198

Replying To daveboy:  "I couldn't care less if clare and cork fans were booing free takers. Happened in munster final too for both sides. The one thing I can't stand is players trying to get opposition players sent off via simulation. It's the definition of cowardice and has no place in our game. This has happened a few times already this year and in my opinion hasn't had half the focus it should have gotten. It's a dirty plague on this great sport."
Both are despicable and can't be dressed up in anyway. When it started either does not matter. I can say for sure it did not exist in the 60's, 70's 80's or probably 90's either. What is it a feeling of machoism ? Real men and women play our games so that has thought them some respect or most of them.
Duggan bordered on simulation yesterday. A stray hand got him in the face. My god if we were to count the times getting an elbow in the face and getting up and continuing. After what occurred the previous week he should be more reserved.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/06/2022 21:12:46    2426200

Replying To daveboy:  "I couldn't care less if clare and cork fans were booing free takers. Happened in munster final too for both sides. The one thing I can't stand is players trying to get opposition players sent off via simulation. It's the definition of cowardice and has no place in our game. This has happened a few times already this year and in my opinion hasn't had half the focus it should have gotten. It's a dirty plague on this great sport."
Diarmuid Byrnes did that in 2018 and obviously Kiely had a word with him because it never happened again and I'd nearly put money on it, that Lohan had a word with Fitzgerald. These things happen in the heat of the moment, as long as the same team isn't repeating it, then I think we'll be OK.

Lads constantly swiping with the hurley is a far bigger issue in my opinion. Repeat offenders, there the worst.

Dec82andahalf (Clare) - Posts: 34 - 19/06/2022 21:19:15    2426203

Replying To Viking66:  "7000 of us there apparently. We'll drowned out by ye it has to be said. Probably no booing from your 7000 hard-core supporters either. If we have a bit of success and our bandwaggoners come back out I wouldn't be at surprised to hear booing out of them. They are probably watching soccer like yours were the last couple years."
That's the point I am making it's the supporter who pour in when the team are doing well who are booing in general not the steady 5-10 thousand.

I just don't want any chat abou let Clare lads booing. All counties do it when the bandwagon is rolling. Sure wasn't a bottle thrown at TK in an iconic moment in Munster championship history a couple of weeks back.

You can be sure it wasn't thrown by the hardcore Limerick fans

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/06/2022 22:05:24    2426215

Replying To Canuck:  "Both are despicable and can't be dressed up in anyway. When it started either does not matter. I can say for sure it did not exist in the 60's, 70's 80's or probably 90's either. What is it a feeling of machoism ? Real men and women play our games so that has thought them some respect or most of them.
Duggan bordered on simulation yesterday. A stray hand got him in the face. My god if we were to count the times getting an elbow in the face and getting up and continuing. After what occurred the previous week he should be more reserved."
Duggan got a finger in the eye…….. your clutching if you think that was simulation???

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 20/06/2022 07:18:38    2426219