Clare Hurling thread

Replying To Viking66:  "Only just too. Think he was on the 2015 AI U21 winning team."
No he was on the 2011 team. The 2015 half back line was Diarmuid Byrnes, Gearoid Hegarty and Barry O'Connell

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 09/06/2022 11:13:33    2423543

Replying To Tiger1:  "Say 7 in a row to be honest nothing out there to beat them."
Well if the Clare lads continue to try and take lumps out of them we won't go to far!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 09/06/2022 11:14:58    2423545

Replying To Viking66:  "Only just too. Think he was on the 2015 AI U21 winning team."
No Viking, He was not on the '15 team. He was born in Oct '92, which means he would have been over age in '14. However he played a central role, with Dowling and Mulcahy, in an extra time victory, over Cork, in a classic U21 Munster Final in '11. I feel was the first 'warning sign' that a good LK team was on the way. We surely threw away an All Ireland that year, when they played the clearly injured Kevin Downes against Galway.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 09/06/2022 11:32:50    2423554

Replying To Shocs07:  "No he was on the 2011 team. The 2015 half back line was Diarmuid Byrnes, Gearoid Hegarty and Barry O'Connell"
Aha was too! He does seem around a long time for being only 29!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 09/06/2022 12:39:27    2423570

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No Viking, He was not on the '15 team. He was born in Oct '92, which means he would have been over age in '14. However he played a central role, with Dowling and Mulcahy, in an extra time victory, over Cork, in a classic U21 Munster Final in '11. I feel was the first 'warning sign' that a good LK team was on the way. We surely threw away an All Ireland that year, when they played the clearly injured Kevin Downes against Galway."
One of the great hurling games of the last 15 years. Aidan Walsh gave a masterclass too that day.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/06/2022 13:01:21    2423577

Replying To tiobraid:  "One of the great hurling games of the last 15 years. Aidan Walsh gave a masterclass too that day."
Spot on- eight points from play and the equalising one in ordinary time from way out the field.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 09/06/2022 14:17:42    2423599

hannon wasnt on the 2015 u21 team......sean finn , mick casey richie english, diarmuid byrnes, gearoid hegarty , darragh o donovan , pat ryan, cian lynch, tom morrissey and barry nash and peter casey came on as a sub ....when you look back at that team now that was a star studded team.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 09/06/2022 14:29:27    2423605

Replying To munsterchamps:  "hannon wasnt on the 2015 u21 team......sean finn , mick casey richie english, diarmuid byrnes, gearoid hegarty , darragh o donovan , pat ryan, cian lynch, tom morrissey and barry nash and peter casey came on as a sub ....when you look back at that team now that was a star studded team."
Colin Ryan also made a huge contribution, especially that evening, in Ennis when Clare, without so many of the Stars of the previous year,gave us a right tough game. We would not have come through that night, without the superb free taking of MOM Ronan Lynch. No wonder Clare are still strong.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 11/06/2022 08:14:13    2423860

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Colin Ryan also made a huge contribution, especially that evening, in Ennis when Clare, without so many of the Stars of the previous year,gave us a right tough game. We would not have come through that night, without the superb free taking of MOM Ronan Lynch. No wonder Clare are still strong."
Of course the above should have said ' when Clare, with so many of the stars of the previous year GONE'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 11/06/2022 10:52:01    2423877

Who will come in for Duggan and Hayes? Are there any other injuries going into the game?

TheDigger (USA) - Posts: 84 - 15/06/2022 13:27:49    2425149

Farcical to see lads available for Saturday. Obviously Clare supporters delighted but disciplinary system is in tatters

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 16/06/2022 09:26:31    2425273

So now you can flake away off the ball & as long as ref does not see its grand

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 246 - 16/06/2022 10:41:33    2425299

Replying To TheDigger:  "Who will come in for Duggan and Hayes? Are there any other injuries going into the game?"
Duggan and Hayes.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 16/06/2022 11:03:18    2425309

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Farcical to see lads available for Saturday. Obviously Clare supporters delighted but disciplinary system is in tatters"
I agree, I would have preferred if suspension had stood in fact if we hadn't appealed it at all, other County posters on now
nagging on about dirty play flaking others ect all so boring.

GAA will have to revisit this rule it seems to be for the good of the game but after the Armagh/Donegal appeals & now this as well as Galway player its purpose is in tatters.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 16/06/2022 11:03:59    2425311

Congratulations Clare. You will play better and need to. Wexford two goals would be called back on most days. These type of officiating errors can not be tolerated. All the more reason to have the eye in the sky because it is obvious the ref can't be every where and those umpires are there for the meal and expenses. O and wave a flag.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 18/06/2022 18:15:06    2425862

Replying To Canuck:  "Congratulations Clare. You will play better and need to. Wexford two goals would be called back on most days. These type of officiating errors can not be tolerated. All the more reason to have the eye in the sky because it is obvious the ref can't be every where and those umpires are there for the meal and expenses. O and wave a flag."
Clear penalty Wexford weren't given, so don't start any of that. Wexford lot closer to Clare than Waterford.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 18/06/2022 18:33:07    2425867

Congratulations Clare. Great fight back at the end. Hard luck Wexford.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 18/06/2022 19:32:14    2425874

Replying To Jedobi:  "Clear penalty Wexford weren't given, so don't start any of that. Wexford lot closer to Clare than Waterford."
Please……. Mark Rogers Hurley pulled back when he was about to pull the trigger was missed and both your second half goals were square balls as confirmed by the panelist's at full time.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 18/06/2022 19:37:10    2425877

Change the record Canuck.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 18/06/2022 20:15:30    2425888

Replying To Jedobi:  "Clear penalty Wexford weren't given, so don't start any of that. Wexford lot closer to Clare than Waterford."
Easy on. Waterford have qualified for two All Ireland Finals in the last five years, even though they had an awful year this year. It was indeed a good display by Wexford, but with Duggan, O'Donnell and Kelly so well contained, for so long, ye should have prevailed.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 18/06/2022 20:22:50    2425894