2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Trump2020:  "Amen to that but we need a very big improvement over today if we have any hope against Limerick. I hope Gerry Macs injury isn't serious. He'll be needed. Galway Abu!"
Well I'm sticking with my original prediction from the start of the Championship of a Galway v Clare All Ireland Final....remember?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 18/06/2022 18:09:30    2425859

Gifting a goal at that point was the clincher, they didn't have to work for it. Could have sneaked it if not for that goal. Losing 2 recks in last 10 mins and roc at start did not help. For def I thought over 60 mins Wex were the better side with tactics and matchups and put Clare under savage pressure when they had the ball but a game lasts 70 mins plus. Their bench in the end was the difference imo.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 18:25:56    2425864

Replying To daveboy:  "Both matches lacked quality. Cork left that behind. Wexford just lacked depth and really missed ROC. Clare will be delighted that they had a real off day and weren't punished. Lyons bottled the pen call on chin. The rule was brought in for that exact foul. But fair play to both clare and galway to grind it out."
Clare had an off day? I wonder why! 4 teams today not much between em, but Limerick still way ahead and won't be beaten.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 18:33:43    2425868

Replying To daveboy:  "Both matches lacked quality. Cork left that behind. Wexford just lacked depth and really missed ROC. Clare will be delighted that they had a real off day and weren't punished. Lyons bottled the pen call on chin. The rule was brought in for that exact foul. But fair play to both clare and galway to grind it out."
Yea, both games were very disappointing. I think defeated provincial finalists are in a very vulnerable position in these q-finals! Both Galway and Clare were very flat and victories for Cork and Wexford wouldn't have flattered in the least.

Rogers purl been held when running through on goal towards the end was a penalty and probably canceled out the Chin incident.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 18/06/2022 18:34:35    2425869

Replying To katser:  "Well I'm sticking with my original prediction from the start of the Championship of a Galway v Clare All Ireland Final....remember?"
I do remember you saying that. I hope it comes true too but based on today's performance both teams will be underdogs for sure. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 18/06/2022 19:34:50    2425876

Replying To Ban:  "Yea, both games were very disappointing. I think defeated provincial finalists are in a very vulnerable position in these q-finals! Both Galway and Clare were very flat and victories for Cork and Wexford wouldn't have flattered in the least.

Rogers purl been held when running through on goal towards the end was a penalty and probably canceled out the Chin incident."
17 frees to Clare 11 to Wexford & it felt like that thru the game. But bottom line their goal on 68 mins was huge. A bad bad blunder, twice! But then it's easy to talk from the stand.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 19:44:40    2425879

The first half of both games were definitely forgettable.the difference for Clare today was the huge impact from the bench,think it was 1-4..i also thought diarmaid Ryan kept Clare going forward when they were struggling..can I also pay huge compliments to Flanagan and mcinerney..Wexford missed o Connor hugely as he was taking a lot of pressure off chin and McDonald..think this game will bring Clare on big time and feel they will be to good for killkenny..the other game,cork will look back with huge regrets..freetaking dismal,3 goal chances butchered and what I thought were two very bad goalkeeping mistakes,don't think he should have been beaten at near post..there was a distinct lack of pace in Galway defense which cork should have exposed a lot more..grealish stood up to the mark big time today..part from whelan and mannion the other forwards all struggled,whelan is class..this game will also improve Galway and they will be very hard opposition in the semi final..can I also ask that keepers go and concentrate on the basics,some terrible mistakes which made huge difference to both games..not sure what to make of reffing today,thought some very needless yellows handed out..on the penalty incident at the end,possibly but there were 2 clare defenders between chin and the goals.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 18/06/2022 19:55:27    2425882

Both Galway goals were terrible errors. The standard of goalkeeping isn't as high as previous periods. To be fair to Eanna Murphy I have regularly criticised him but thought his all round display even without the saves was really good today. A lot has been said about young cork forwards but if cadogan and Horgan starts the result may have been different. Lehane doesn't seem to have the big game temperament. I thought Joyce took a long time to get going but it was his drive that brought Cork back into the game. I'd once again question daithi Burke's positioning when a ruck forms in front of goal. He again made a run to follow his man and left the whole thing open behind him. When you win you nearly always deserve it and Galway deserve it today on the grounds they made less mistakes and one or two better decisions. Kingston made a huge error leaving Lehane to miss free after free which ultimately cost them.

In the second game I think Diarmuid Ryan and Paul Flanagan must wonder how shane O'Donnell got man of match! I don't believe he touched the ball twice in the first 55 mins. For me Flanagan is in the top 5 for hurler of the year as it stands. I'm baffled that the panel couldn't understand why Hayes was taken off. Conlon was caught for the goal but hayes simply can't see danger. Tony Kelly once again stepped up when the need was greatest. I disagree that Damien Reck was a loss…I don't think he was having his best game. I thought OHanlon was excellent as usual. With 10-15 mins to go I said wexford looked good to get into an all Ireland final. They'll be bitterly disappointed having been in a posiiton equal to what they were in the semi in 2019. Hopefully they bounce back and drive on for 2023

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/06/2022 19:56:01    2425883

Replying To Trump2020:  "I do remember you saying that. I hope it comes true too but based on today's performance both teams will be underdogs for sure. Galway Abu!"
Limerick would get more scores than any two of those four teams put together.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/06/2022 20:16:03    2425890

Replying To bottletopbill:  "17 frees to Clare 11 to Wexford & it felt like that thru the game. But bottom line their goal on 68 mins was huge. A bad bad blunder, twice! But then it's easy to talk from the stand."
Please man don't. Your clutching at straws if you think Wexford were wronged especially given both your second have goals were square balls

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 20:19:58    2425892

Can't believe Wexford lads think they were hard done by by the ref? I think he missed the Chin incident, it should have been a sin bin and penalty but he also missed a clear penalty for Clare where Mark Rogers Hurley was being held and he couldn't get a shot off on goal from point blank range. Wexfords 2 second half goals were very dubious and on another day two square balls would have been given. The referee got calls wrong for both teams and did not decide the same and it's nonsense to suggest otherwise.

The reason Wexford lost is the low scoring rate, 3-14 is not a great return and wouldn't win many matches against Munster teams this season. Then again with Wexfords style it's more about restricting your opponent.

Wexford had a great chance today but faded badly. Clutch time is the last ten minutes and this is where most games are won or lost. If your not at the races in this time you inevitably will loose.

This game will really stand to Clare. The way KK play compared to Wexford should suit Clare better I think.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 20:30:13    2425898

Replying To Canuck:  "Limerick would get more scores than any two of those four teams put together."
You're probably right but I'm just hoping Galway show up with their best effort. We haven't seen them play great recently. Maybe they're due. Hard to see Limerick losing though.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 18/06/2022 20:39:04    2425902

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Please man don't. Your clutching at straws if you think Wexford were wronged especially given both your second have goals were square balls"
The free count speaks for itself and it wasn't a dirty match. Are you judging the square balls on the biased RTÉ commentary? Chin was dragged/strangled in to the square for one of them, if not a goal a definite penalty. The other I would agree with but that just cancels the call for a penalty on Chin that duignan correctly called, but the one sided RTÉ commentary didn't, no surprises there! Look, ye won the match over the 75 mins and I think overall the gaa punditry is very happy!

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 20:45:28    2425907

Replying To Trump2020:  "You're probably right but I'm just hoping Galway show up with their best effort. We haven't seen them play great recently. Maybe they're due. Hard to see Limerick losing though."
Galway are in a great position, under no pressure, haven't played well all year and no major expectations

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 18/06/2022 21:03:57    2425919

Replying To tiobraid:  "Both Galway goals were terrible errors. The standard of goalkeeping isn't as high as previous periods. To be fair to Eanna Murphy I have regularly criticised him but thought his all round display even without the saves was really good today. A lot has been said about young cork forwards but if cadogan and Horgan starts the result may have been different. Lehane doesn't seem to have the big game temperament. I thought Joyce took a long time to get going but it was his drive that brought Cork back into the game. I'd once again question daithi Burke's positioning when a ruck forms in front of goal. He again made a run to follow his man and left the whole thing open behind him. When you win you nearly always deserve it and Galway deserve it today on the grounds they made less mistakes and one or two better decisions. Kingston made a huge error leaving Lehane to miss free after free which ultimately cost them.

In the second game I think Diarmuid Ryan and Paul Flanagan must wonder how shane O'Donnell got man of match! I don't believe he touched the ball twice in the first 55 mins. For me Flanagan is in the top 5 for hurler of the year as it stands. I'm baffled that the panel couldn't understand why Hayes was taken off. Conlon was caught for the goal but hayes simply can't see danger. Tony Kelly once again stepped up when the need was greatest. I disagree that Damien Reck was a loss…I don't think he was having his best game. I thought OHanlon was excellent as usual. With 10-15 mins to go I said wexford looked good to get into an all Ireland final. They'll be bitterly disappointed having been in a posiiton equal to what they were in the semi in 2019. Hopefully they bounce back and drive on for 2023"
Like you say Shane O Donnell barely touched the ball in the first 55 minutes, then we loose Damien Reck and he gets man of the match.......Big loss I would say.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 21:06:10    2425920

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Can't believe Wexford lads think they were hard done by by the ref? I think he missed the Chin incident, it should have been a sin bin and penalty but he also missed a clear penalty for Clare where Mark Rogers Hurley was being held and he couldn't get a shot off on goal from point blank range. Wexfords 2 second half goals were very dubious and on another day two square balls would have been given. The referee got calls wrong for both teams and did not decide the same and it's nonsense to suggest otherwise.

The reason Wexford lost is the low scoring rate, 3-14 is not a great return and wouldn't win many matches against Munster teams this season. Then again with Wexfords style it's more about restricting your opponent.

Wexford had a great chance today but faded badly. Clutch time is the last ten minutes and this is where most games are won or lost. If your not at the races in this time you inevitably will loose.

This game will really stand to Clare. The way KK play compared to Wexford should suit Clare better I think."
You are obviously very happy with the ref and I wud be too if I was from Clare. In a close match you don't see a 33% differential in free count, just doesn't happen, unless something is a miss. A team chasing a game are more liable to fowl and that was Clare for 60 mins with some purple patches, pardon them pun! Stats don't lie.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 21:07:59    2425921

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Can't believe Wexford lads think they were hard done by by the ref? I think he missed the Chin incident, it should have been a sin bin and penalty but he also missed a clear penalty for Clare where Mark Rogers Hurley was being held and he couldn't get a shot off on goal from point blank range. Wexfords 2 second half goals were very dubious and on another day two square balls would have been given. The referee got calls wrong for both teams and did not decide the same and it's nonsense to suggest otherwise.

This game will really stand to Clare. The way KK play compared to Wexford should suit Clare better I think."
Injuries to key players notably Rory O'Connor and shane reck cost us dearly today as did fanning's error. Rory O'Connor and chin are as important to us as Tony Kelly is to ye and losing Rory inside 10 mins (and I suspect chin was also carrying an injury )was too much for us to overcome against a top team

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 18/06/2022 21:12:37    2425922

Replying To bottletopbill:  "You are obviously very happy with the ref and I wud be too if I was from Clare. In a close match you don't see a 33% differential in free count, just doesn't happen, unless something is a miss. A team chasing a game are more liable to fowl and that was Clare for 60 mins with some purple patches, pardon them pun! Stats don't lie."
If you think the ref cost Wexford the game then there is no helping you.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 21:14:20    2425924

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Injuries to key players notably Rory O'Connor and shane reck cost us dearly today as did fanning's error. Rory O'Connor and chin are as important to us as Tony Kelly is to ye and losing Rory inside 10 mins (and I suspect chin was also carrying an injury )was too much for us to overcome against a top team"
In fairness I would suspect that Lohan played Kelly inside today as he is also carrying a knock from the Munster final too.

Also, Quilligan was guilty of an error himself for Fannings/Chins goal. He should of held that ball.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 21:19:06    2425928

Gr8 game today. I thought Tony Kelly was a little quieter than he was in the limerick game but came good when needed. Well done clare. Looking forward to kilkenny and hopefully getting another crack at limerick in the final

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 18/06/2022 21:21:09    2425929