2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "If you think the ref cost Wexford the game then there is no helping you."
Who said it cost them the game?! It's just a forum to discuss and express opinions. If you struggle to see the facts then maybe you are the one that needs help. I am just calling it as it was.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 21:26:44    2425931

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "If you think the ref cost Wexford the game then there is no helping you."
He didn't say that, he is merely stating the facts in relation to free count.

It was 10 frees to 1 in favour of Clare at one stage.....another fact.

Clare won another fact.

Just facts.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/06/2022 21:30:44    2425932

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Who said it cost them the game?! It's just a forum to discuss and express opinions. If you struggle to see the facts then maybe you are the one that needs help. I am just calling it as it was."
Here's some facts, Clare got more frees because Wexford fouled more

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 18/06/2022 21:43:00    2425936

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Who said it cost them the game?! It's just a forum to discuss and express opinions. If you struggle to see the facts then maybe you are the one that needs help. I am just calling it as it was."
If you went back the last couple of years and compiled all the social media posts and tweets by Clare GAA people you could do one of those "365 daily quotes calendars" .........it would be a daily quote for whingers.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/06/2022 21:50:45    2425939

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "In fairness I would suspect that Lohan played Kelly inside today as he is also carrying a knock from the Munster final too.

Also, Quilligan was guilty of an error himself for Fannings/Chins goal. He should of held that ball."
Quilligan was poor for two of Wexford's goals.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 18/06/2022 21:57:19    2425943

Replying To Trump2020:  "You're probably right but I'm just hoping Galway show up with their best effort. We haven't seen them play great recently. Maybe they're due. Hard to see Limerick losing though."
They'll show up and there is a bit more in them also.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 18/06/2022 22:01:57    2425946

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Can't believe Wexford lads think they were hard done by by the ref? I think he missed the Chin incident, it should have been a sin bin and penalty but he also missed a clear penalty for Clare where Mark Rogers Hurley was being held and he couldn't get a shot off on goal from point blank range. Wexfords 2 second half goals were very dubious and on another day two square balls would have been given. The referee got calls wrong for both teams and did not decide the same and it's nonsense to suggest otherwise.

The reason Wexford lost is the low scoring rate, 3-14 is not a great return and wouldn't win many matches against Munster teams this season. Then again with Wexfords style it's more about restricting your opponent.

Wexford had a great chance today but faded badly. Clutch time is the last ten minutes and this is where most games are won or lost. If your not at the races in this time you inevitably will loose.

This game will really stand to Clare. The way KK play compared to Wexford should suit Clare better I think."
Facts are facts. Munster teams get the rub of the green a little too often. Ah Wexford didn't do too bad considering they were without their best player for most of d match, unfavourable free count etc.

twbm (Clare) - Posts: 23 - 19/06/2022 07:30:11    2425948

No1 thinks the ref cost us the game LRH. Injuries cost us the game. TK scored 3 good points after Shane Reck went off and had a massive influence. Damien lasted longer but was actually injured earlier. He didn't play great after getting the ball in the face off big Davy I think it was. And Rory went down in the 11th minute. Big big loss for us. And that's on top of Mikey and Dee playing with knocks, Chin playing the 2nd half unable to run, Dunbar missing after getting injured against Kerry, etc etc. A 2nd week between the QFs would have helped with some of those niggles.
If the shoe was on the other foot and you lost Ryan and Conlon in the last 10 minutes and we kept the Recks, and you lost SOD in the 11th minute and we kept ROC I'd be pretty sure we would've won.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11831 - 19/06/2022 07:52:07    2425950

I don't know exactly how many but Clare have used A LOT of players in this championship. Many new players getting blooded (even for just a few minutes), as well as more experienced squad members getting a run. Great to see, and the spirit in the squad must be great. Well done, Lohan. Every day out now is a bonus, and the footballers have been adding to a fabulous championship year for the banner.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 19/06/2022 08:40:24    2425956

I don't think anyone could argue that the ref cost Wexford the game. Indeed, if Lyons was less street wise as a ref - the best at top level imho - he might have been taken in and sent a Wexford lad off or awarded a penalty.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2551 - 19/06/2022 08:53:38    2425962

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Here's some facts, Clare got more frees because Wexford fouled more"
Unfortunately in tight games it is never as simple as the way you look at it. From a punditry,gaa and an officiating point of view it all just felt very Clare Centric & there was only one way for Wexford to answer that and we came up short against all the odds. Clare gained massive kudos for their showing against Limerick and rightly so, they all want a round 2. Ye will beat Kk as I felt we would. Over and out!

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 19/06/2022 08:55:44    2425963

Wexford might feel badly done by over the non awarding of a penalty the other way when Chin was dragged down but in fairness that rule appears to have been left die on the vine this year, and probably no harm in general given some of the ludicrous examples from last year.

Lyons is consistent and a good judge. He makes mistakes same as the rest but the best man to have in charge of big games. Murphy did well in first game too.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2551 - 19/06/2022 09:07:41    2425964

Replying To WEX98:  "Like you say Shane O Donnell barely touched the ball in the first 55 minutes, then we loose Damien Reck and he gets man of the match.......Big loss I would say."
Damien Reck went off on 70 mins. ODonnell done the damage in the 10 mins before he went off. Done little after that.
What I meant to say was I don't think his loss was a big one especially at that stage of the game.
Clare had turned the screw and all the momentum was with them before either Reck went off. I genuinely thought ye had it but ran completely out of steam

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/06/2022 09:17:34    2425968

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I don't think anyone could argue that the ref cost Wexford the game. Indeed, if Lyons was less street wise as a ref - the best at top level imho - he might have been taken in and sent a Wexford lad off or awarded a penalty."
Ah would you stop, wexford cost wexford that game.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 19/06/2022 09:50:34    2425974

Replying To Viking66:  "No1 thinks the ref cost us the game LRH. Injuries cost us the game. TK scored 3 good points after Shane Reck went off and had a massive influence. Damien lasted longer but was actually injured earlier. He didn't play great after getting the ball in the face off big Davy I think it was. And Rory went down in the 11th minute. Big big loss for us. And that's on top of Mikey and Dee playing with knocks, Chin playing the 2nd half unable to run, Dunbar missing after getting injured against Kerry, etc etc. A 2nd week between the QFs would have helped with some of those niggles.
If the shoe was on the other foot and you lost Ryan and Conlon in the last 10 minutes and we kept the Recks, and you lost SOD in the 11th minute and we kept ROC I'd be pretty sure we would've won."
Looked like Damien was concussed, fumbled the ball a few times.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 19/06/2022 09:55:25    2425975

Replying To Viking66:  "No1 thinks the ref cost us the game LRH. Injuries cost us the game. TK scored 3 good points after Shane Reck went off and had a massive influence. Damien lasted longer but was actually injured earlier. He didn't play great after getting the ball in the face off big Davy I think it was. And Rory went down in the 11th minute. Big big loss for us. And that's on top of Mikey and Dee playing with knocks, Chin playing the 2nd half unable to run, Dunbar missing after getting injured against Kerry, etc etc. A 2nd week between the QFs would have helped with some of those niggles.
If the shoe was on the other foot and you lost Ryan and Conlon in the last 10 minutes and we kept the Recks, and you lost SOD in the 11th minute and we kept ROC I'd be pretty sure we would've won."
I won't disagree with you there but there are Wexford lads whinging about the ref and it's uncalled for imo

My only compliant about him was he was so whistle happy

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/06/2022 10:16:00    2425986

Replying To tiobraid:  "Damien Reck went off on 70 mins. ODonnell done the damage in the 10 mins before he went off. Done little after that.
What I meant to say was I don't think his loss was a big one especially at that stage of the game.
Clare had turned the screw and all the momentum was with them before either Reck went off. I genuinely thought ye had it but ran completely out of steam"
Reck wasn't right after the ball in the face. Looked a little disorientated. At one point the ball dropped beside him and it took a second or 2 for him to find it. That's not usual for him. And the last 10 minutes he seemed to be distinctly out of sorts. He should've been pulled off earlier but we didn't have any backs on the bench good enough to replace him. Flood was the only player came on who has played much in the backs but he's an attacking wing back. He's actually a forward since underage. His tackling and positional awareness isn't what it should be for a back. That's why he's not a starter because technically he's 1 of the best hurlers we have.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11831 - 19/06/2022 10:33:18    2425996

Replying To tiobraid:  "Damien Reck went off on 70 mins. ODonnell done the damage in the 10 mins before he went off. Done little after that.
Clare had turned the screw and all the momentum was with them before either Reck went off. I genuinely thought ye had it but ran completely out of steam"
Reck was was after taking a knock to the head we'll before he was substituted.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 19/06/2022 10:47:16    2426001

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Wexford might feel badly done by over the non awarding of a penalty the other way when Chin was dragged down but in fairness that rule appears to have been left die on the vine this year, and probably no harm in general given some of the ludicrous examples from last year.

Lyons is consistent and a good judge. He makes mistakes same as the rest but the best man to have in charge of big games. Murphy did well in first game too."
Don't like the rule myself......but isn't it mad how you need a congress to make these rule changes and then you can just drop it / ignore it.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 19/06/2022 10:50:22    2426003

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I won't disagree with you there but there are Wexford lads whinging about the ref and it's uncalled for imo

My only compliant about him was he was so whistle happy"
People are entitled to their opinions. As said don't think it would change the result but it contributed. The goal lost wexford the match, end of. You cannot argue with facts. 10 frees to 1 in favor of Clare at one point and 17-11 in the end. These are the facts and Clare won so good luck to them.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 19/06/2022 11:44:34    2426012