CORK FOOTBALLERS ARE RIGHT.

Replying To Rockies:  "The competitiveness between Cork and Kerry is missed! Ireland's soccer game against Belgium last week had 4 or 5 Cork players on it. Caoimhin Kelleher's success with Liverpool will further galvanize the youth towards soccer and rugby. Schools play every sport nowadays especially Christians secondary school! The glamour and attractiveness of soccer and rugby will detract from Gaelic games especially in urban areas."
Absolutely Rockies, I'd love for ye to rise again.

Yer producing some amount of very good soccer and rugby players as well like you say so it's good for them but a pity for the Cork football team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/04/2022 15:22:52    2408910

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Because the pitch won't be ready after hordes of music fans leppin all over it.
That's what Cork CB said anyway.
I see Sky have picked this game for live coverage.
Be embarrassing if it doesn't go ahead."
Cheers Seanfanbocht.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 01/04/2022 15:30:56    2408915

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Absolutely Rockies, I'd love for ye to rise again.

Yer producing some amount of very good soccer and rugby players as well like you say so it's good for them but a pity for the Cork football team."
It's professional. I have met Aussies who can't understand why GAA footballers train so hard, and don't get paid. They honestly can't fathom it.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 15:37:29    2408917

Totally agree game should be played in cork wherever they decide, this game was never going to attract a massive crowd regardless were it is played.
If in Kerry honestly nobody from cork will travel to see there team hammered and likewise those kerry boys will save a few quid by watching it live ( sky covering game ) on tv.
Cork have to get any advantage they can so fair play to them.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 01/04/2022 15:53:19    2408924

Replying To Rockies:  "Cork county board are so badly mired in debt, that they have been selling GAA lands to property developers. Rising interest rates will compound the issue. They should just go ahead and play in Killarney, and see what qualifiers throws up! They have avoided Tailteann Cup for next year anyway!"
What and where are these GAA lands that the Cork county board has authority to sell?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 01/04/2022 15:55:58    2408926

Totally agree game should be played in cork wherever they decide, this game was never going to attract a massive crowd regardless were it is played.
If in Kerry honestly nobody from cork will travel to see there team hammered and likewise those kerry boys will save a few quid by watching it live ( sky covering game ) on tv.
Cork have to get any advantage they can so fair play to them.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 01/04/2022 16:04:47    2408933

Replying To foreveryoung:  "What and where are these GAA lands that the Cork county board has authority to sell?"
Killbarry. Its a transparent process. No pitches are being dug up.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/04/2022 16:13:56    2408938

Replying To foreveryoung:  "What and where are these GAA lands that the Cork county board has authority to sell?"
Kilbarry! Reported in Irish times March 23

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 16:21:14    2408941

Property boom in Cork at the moment. Cork county board joining the action. Quite a big development submitted for planning approval in Kilbarry! Google it

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 16:43:35    2408945

Replying To ballydalane:  "Cork should be banned simply for allowing the Godawful Ed Sheeran play a concert there!"
I do not know what this is about. I was at a Munster Football in Pairc UI Caoimh twelve years ago between Cork and Limerick. It was a cliff hanger and Cork pulled through by two points. In fact in '08, '09 and especially in '10, when they won the All Ireland Title, they were put to the pin of their to beat Limerick. Yet all that attended that Munster Final was 9,000 people. Pairc UI Rinn should easily accommodate a Munster Quarter Final with plenty room to spare. It is all a mini storm in a very small tea cup.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 01/04/2022 16:51:10    2408947

Replying To legendzxix:  "Cork could nominate the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick if they don't want to travel to Killarney?"
Cork should be allowed to nominate a ground in Cork, and as the away team Kerry should travel to it. I get the concert isn't ideal, but there is another ground in Cork, that hosts inter county games that has been nominated.

We all know it'll be more intimidating for Kerry, than a half empty stadium and the Munster council will lose money, but I support the Cork players with their stance, a smaller ground with a terrific atmosphere might give Cork a chance. I can see why Kerry would want the game in Killarney or even Limerick.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 01/04/2022 16:51:55    2408948

Replying To ballydalane:  "Cork should be banned simply for allowing the Godawful Ed Sheeran play a concert there!"
I do not know what this is about. I was at a Munster Football in Pairc UI Caoimh twelve years ago between Cork and Limerick. It was a cliff hanger and Cork pulled through by two points. In fact in '08, '09 and especially in '10, when they won the All Ireland Title, they were put to the pin of their to beat Limerick. Yet all that attended that Munster Final was 9,000 people. Pairc UI Rinn should easily accommodate a Munster Quarter Final with plenty room to spare. It is all a mini storm in a very small tea cup. There is a lovely picturesque pitch above at the Terret Cross in Meelin. It would be an ideal place to stage a Quarter final in the Munster Championship.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 01/04/2022 16:53:05    2408949

One criticism I would have is how come Croke Park as the field ready after a week of a concert and PuC can't

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 01/04/2022 17:13:53    2408952

Google Cork GAA land sales.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1414 - 01/04/2022 17:25:30    2408954

Ed Sheeran, good jaysus :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 01/04/2022 18:51:23    2408963

I have no problems in concerts being held in gaa stadia but not to the detriment of gaa games. Kerry and Cork have an agreement and while I would rather the game be played in a bigger stadium (over 22000 anyway) so I could attend I do respect Cork s argument. My problem is yews the stadium has to be paid for but for what? So gaa games can be played on it! Now it looks like no championship game will be played in PUC this year hurling or football and that is wrong. The Cork County board are wrong imo although I understand the Sheerin concert is ré scheduled from last year and it was Sheerans management probably fixed the date. Also the Cork players are the innocent victims here and they would be silly to give away their advantage particularly at the moment. I'm hope aand I'm fairly certain Kerry County board will not be a stumbling block to Cork. As a supporter I'm mad but I do see the Cork players viewpoint.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 01/04/2022 19:31:09    2408968

As Columbo used to say: "One thing still puzzles me". Cork had to forfeit home advantage in hurling because of Mr. Sheeran but their game with Clare has been fixed for Semple Stadium. No problem for Cork who love travelling to Thurles, but why wasn't the game switched to Pairc Ui Rinn, or indeed to Ennis? Are different standards applying here? The hurling game was switched to a neutral venue so in the interests of consistency why not switch the football game to Limerick, for instance?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 01/04/2022 19:40:22    2408970

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Totally agree game should be played in cork wherever they decide, this game was never going to attract a massive crowd regardless were it is played.
Cork have to get any advantage they can so fair play to them."
Frank Murphy is very proud no doubt!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 01/04/2022 19:52:19    2408972

Replying To sam1884:  "Cork should be allowed to nominate a ground in Cork, and as the away team Kerry should travel to it. I get the concert isn't ideal, but there is another ground in Cork, that hosts inter county games that has been nominated.

We all know it'll be more intimidating for Kerry, than a half empty stadium and the Munster council will lose money, but I support the Cork players with their stance, a smaller ground with a terrific atmosphere might give Cork a chance. I can see why Kerry would want the game in Killarney or even Limerick."
A half full stadium would be a result imo. I'd be surprised if it's even 1/4 full if played in PUC.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 02/04/2022 08:41:54    2408995

The game will be played in Páirc Uí Rinn. Neither the Munster Council nor Kerry want a walkover.

In fairness to the Munster Council they just assumed that the Cork footballers wouldn't care where they got beaten and they know that they'd get a bigger walk up crowd in Killarney for it.

Páirc Uí Rinn will be well capable of holding the crowd that'll want to see that match in Cork City.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/04/2022 09:40:40    2409004