Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To baire:  "I agree re the slow build-up of KW's team. However, that game could easily have been a draw or a win for Mayo yesterday. Galway still have issues giving the ball away too easily. They obviously expended a lot of energy when Ó Laoi was black-carded (harshly) but a fully fit C O' Connor and a bit more accuracy from the Mayo forwards and Galway would have been in trouble. I thought Pat Spillane was very harsh in his comments re Mayo and not for the first time. He also named Finian Ó Laoi as the goal scorer. He's an awful dose with his clichés not to mention his interruption of Cora Staunton, I can't understand why RTÉ hang onto him."
Couldnt agree more re Spillane. Inaccurate reporting seems to be rampant. Spillane continually gets players names and stats wrong. Commentator spoke about Patrick Kelly winning Sigerson with NUI this year. Not correct. These are not hard things to get right for professionals.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 26/04/2022 15:37:40    2413376

Replying To MayoDan:  "Spillane has been banging the same drum about Mayo forwards for over 25 years. Of course he has a point sometimes but why does he never ask questions about how many goals Mayo concede in big games? Ryan O'Donoghue and James Carr kicked some brilliant scores at the weekend. Diarmuid and Kevin McLoughlin got 2 brilliant ones off their weak foot.

A lot of Galway's points came from weak 1 v 1 marking."
The goal was very bad though. Lee at least stuck fairly close to Damien Comer who's pass in to Heaney was class. But 4 defenders ballwatching on the stand side and a huge space open in front of the goal. No-one anticipating the ball played in front of goal. Aidan didn't do well for it but he's not the fullback or left back that should be there at the time. He goots too much ridiculous abuse at times. Galway were running in ball to that goal in the warmup drills, I was hoping we'd be more than capable of dealing with them if they came at us. A forlorn hope as it happened.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 26/04/2022 16:22:25    2413391

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The goal was very bad though. Lee at least stuck fairly close to Damien Comer who's pass in to Heaney was class. But 4 defenders ballwatching on the stand side and a huge space open in front of the goal. No-one anticipating the ball played in front of goal. Aidan didn't do well for it but he's not the fullback or left back that should be there at the time. He goots too much ridiculous abuse at times. Galway were running in ball to that goal in the warmup drills, I was hoping we'd be more than capable of dealing with them if they came at us. A forlorn hope as it happened."
Aidan had a last ditch tackle on Kieran Molloy too which prevented a goal chance. You would have to question what Coen and Plunkett were doing during the game as they didn't add much going forward either.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 26/04/2022 16:43:06    2413398

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The goal was very bad though. Lee at least stuck fairly close to Damien Comer who's pass in to Heaney was class. But 4 defenders ballwatching on the stand side and a huge space open in front of the goal. No-one anticipating the ball played in front of goal. Aidan didn't do well for it but he's not the fullback or left back that should be there at the time. He goots too much ridiculous abuse at times. Galway were running in ball to that goal in the warmup drills, I was hoping we'd be more than capable of dealing with them if they came at us. A forlorn hope as it happened."
I think the fairest thing to say about Aidan there is that he was the wrong man in the right place, so probably harsh to mention him alone, like I did, when other players were caught completely in the wrong positions. My main point is that he's a bigger asset when the game has settled in and some of the initial pace has died down a fraction.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/04/2022 17:33:33    2413414

Replying To eoinog:  "That post has to be shortlisted for the"Idiotic Post Of The Year""
I agree. The amount of posters (not necessarily Mayo in fairness) who continually want to run down this Galway side is shocking. We beat a top tier team and irrespective of flaws in our play (which every team has plus injuries and absentees for other reasons) this was very significant for PJ and a certain vindication has been reached.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 26/04/2022 17:52:47    2413417

Replying To baire:  "I agree re the slow build-up of KW's team. However, that game could easily have been a draw or a win for Mayo yesterday. Galway still have issues giving the ball away too easily. They obviously expended a lot of energy when Ó Laoi was black-carded (harshly) but a fully fit C O' Connor and a bit more accuracy from the Mayo forwards and Galway would have been in trouble. I thought Pat Spillane was very harsh in his comments re Mayo and not for the first time. He also named Finian Ó Laoi as the goal scorer. He's an awful dose with his clichés not to mention his interruption of Cora Staunton, I can't understand why RTÉ hang onto him."
True words, I thought Cora was going to explode on him at one stage. It's as if Spillane can only stay quiet for a few seconds at a time, needs to hear himself babble on with his same tripe every time.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 26/04/2022 19:53:19    2413450

In fairness to Aidan O Shea, I think he had a decent game and worked very hard. As stated by the other poster he was in the right position and if he was a small bit quicker he would have cut out the pass , which, I dont think was the best pass at all, as Heaney had an awful lot to do and was lucky to get to the ball ahead of O Se as the pass actually favoured the defending player.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 27/04/2022 08:46:52    2413484

Replying To anotheralias:  "In fairness to Aidan O Shea, I think he had a decent game and worked very hard. As stated by the other poster he was in the right position and if he was a small bit quicker he would have cut out the pass , which, I dont think was the best pass at all, as Heaney had an awful lot to do and was lucky to get to the ball ahead of O Se as the pass actually favoured the defending player."
Heaney did well to be fair to get in and put the ball past Byrne given the line he was on when he got possession. That goal enabled Galway to settle into the game plan and the O'Laoi black card was a real disruption to the defensive shape which Mayo managed to exploit to bring us back in.

The killer for Mayo was the aimless over-structured play of the first 25 minutes of the second half. When the game looked lost the lads went completely unstructured and brought the same sort of madness that we saw in the second halves last year v Galway and the Dubs. I acknowledge that we can't completely play an unstructured game over 70 mins, because we'd end up conceding even more very soft scores against good teams, but mixing it up a bit better would make Mayo harder to read. It only seems to come out now when we're staring defeat in the face.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/04/2022 14:21:59    2413634

I thought Cora was very composed given that Pat was being provocative. On the match itself, it was the usual exciting affair with little between the sides. Long may the rivalry endure, and the provincial system. The hand-passing obsession by both sides was the main feature that bothered me a bit.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 28/04/2022 10:21:46    2413788

As a Kerryman I get embarrassed about Spillane. Absolutely one of the best players I ever saw but I cringe at him as a pundit. On Mayo I still expect them to do well. Get Paddy Durcan back and every week brings Cillian up to speed too. Leave Ryan Ó Donoghue in the ff line. I expect Mayo to bounce back and best of luck to them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 28/04/2022 11:16:10    2413813

Replying To maroondiesel:  "I thought Cora was very composed given that Pat was being provocative. On the match itself, it was the usual exciting affair with little between the sides. Long may the rivalry endure, and the provincial system. The hand-passing obsession by both sides was the main feature that bothered me a bit."
Would agree with that. While it's hard to refute some of Pat's points about our forwards' profligacy over the years, I very much get the impression that he jumps on reversals for certain counties, such as ourselves, Tyrone (team of the decade debacle) and Dublin, before they went on their successful run. His post-match tone last Sunday was one of delight and it raises questions about his objectivity as a pundit.

I thought Staunton did very well to stay composed at the time, praising Joyce's defensive set-up and focusing on what Galway did right. Spillane could learn a thing or two in that regard.

Herself and Noëlle Healy are two of the better pundits on The Sunday Game at this point, in my view.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/04/2022 15:44:27    2413907

Good win for the minors last night. Down to 14 in the second half too. To my shame I've not seen them in action this year yet. I did talk to a Leitrim man who said we have a few lively forwards and the movement was very good.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/04/2022 16:41:21    2414210

Mayo hurlers not allowed to play in Mchale Park because they want to mind the grass..
That Mayo county board are some shower..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 03/05/2022 15:51:57    2414664

Replying To tommy132:  "Mayo hurlers not allowed to play in Mchale Park because they want to mind the grass..
That Mayo county board are some shower.."
It's a joke. Plenty of kids on the pitch at halftime in Galway match and loads of suporters on the pitch after the game. If they were as concerned about the pitch as they claim they wouldn't let that happen.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 03/05/2022 16:06:01    2414677

Replying To tommy132:  "Mayo hurlers not allowed to play in Mchale Park because they want to mind the grass..
A poor look not to allow the hurlers play there. Will common sense eventually come into play here?

On the senior footballers i believe Rob Hennelly, Paddy Durcan, Jordan Flynn will be back for the round 1 qualifier. I don't expect Mayo to lose to whoever they draw. The hardest draw would be Armagh, Tyrone both hammered by Donegal and Derry.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/05/2022 18:18:24    2414733

Agreed, the Mayo County Board truly have the opposite of the midas touch: everything they touch goes south. This really sends a terrible message regarding the promotion of the other GAA codes, and undermines some of the good work that has gone into strengthening hurling in the past few decades.

I would also question who thought it was a good idea to allow the Galway footballers to train in MacHale Park before our recent championship meeting, but then to deny our own county hurlers the use of it?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/05/2022 08:36:31    2414767

It's just another disgraceful decision form this board. The hurling clubs should stop paying the levies on MacHale Park debt repayments….a levy that's like a noose around the neck of every club in this county.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/05/2022 10:37:41    2414804

Replying To Gleebo:  "Agreed, the Mayo County Board truly have the opposite of the midas touch: everything they touch goes south. This really sends a terrible message regarding the promotion of the other GAA codes, and undermines some of the good work that has gone into strengthening hurling in the past few decades.

I would also question who thought it was a good idea to allow the Galway footballers to train in MacHale Park before our recent championship meeting, but then to deny our own county hurlers the use of it?"
An absolute disgrace ,and if croke park had a pair ,they would come down hard on mayo cb where it hurts €€€!my club ( played claremorris last year at u15 ) game was unreal and ref from galway said standard wudnt have looked outa place n galway ...but 3 r4 of claremorris best players that day have stopped play cause there on mayo extended !football panel so they v stopped playing to sit n the stand!!!same bs n sligo

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 04/05/2022 12:22:13    2414826

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's a joke. Plenty of kids on the pitch at halftime in Galway match and loads of suporters on the pitch after the game. If they were as concerned about the pitch as they claim they wouldn't let that happen."
To be fair there are 2 sides to the argument.

1. Absolutely the hurlers should be allowed play in McHale Park , if this is possible without risk of pitch damage. This is despite the fact that the expected crowds could be facilitated at alternative Mayo venue where there might actually be a better atmosphere with the crowd numbers not getting dwarfed by the vastness of MHP.

2. However ,I can see a potential alternative view. A lot of money has gone in to the revamp , and its a pitch and facility that you can be proud of . It looked brilliant on TV. It would be a shame to risk un-necessary damage that could risk its condition for a possible qualifier that will require the large capacity.

Only the experts can make an assessment of the likely damage to pitch but I agree that "letting the grass grow" sounds a very weak rationale to deny the hurlers access.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 04/05/2022 14:14:35    2414857

Shocking stuff from Mayo county board. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 04/05/2022 15:41:57    2414883