Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Surely two dead ducks of league finals this weekend after last weekend. Wouldn't be surprised if Scotstown and Killanny won both by 10 points. County board need to look at playing these league finals before the championship starts. Unfair on Ballybay/Clones who are representing the county in Ulster having to go out this week and risk injury on wet pitches.

Game of the weekend is in Inniskeen on Sunday. Should be a cracking game. I hear Corduff have some big names in training them in the last few weeks. No do-re-mi left to waste this year so pressure will be on to deliver on Sunday. I think magheracloone's history of getting over the line in championships will be enough for them on Sunday but this one is tough to call."
Would certainly have to agree here, especially both SFL and JFL games being played at the 1 venue less than 24 hours apart.

It'll be interesting to see how both Ballybay and Clones treat it with their focus surely on Ulster,but then again doubles don't come too often for teams at any level so they'll want to get a performance in too...it'll be interesting to see what happens. Scotstown won't give a damn though you'd imagine!

MonaghanGa3l (USA) - Posts: 18 - 20/10/2022 14:45:51    2444786

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Surely two dead ducks of league finals this weekend after last weekend. Wouldn't be surprised if Scotstown and Killanny won both by 10 points. County board need to look at playing these league finals before the championship starts. Unfair on Ballybay/Clones who are representing the county in Ulster having to go out this week and risk injury on wet pitches.

Game of the weekend is in Inniskeen on Sunday. Should be a cracking game. I hear Corduff have some big names in training them in the last few weeks. No do-re-mi left to waste this year so pressure will be on to deliver on Sunday. I think magheracloone's history of getting over the line in championships will be enough for them on Sunday but this one is tough to call."
Magheracloone for the win. Corduff have a lot of resources and good coaching team but they struggled for a long time against Seans and Toome who have a lot less depth. Magheracloone were impressive against a lively Emyvale team that is on the rise.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 117 - 21/10/2022 07:37:41    2444865

Should be an exciting game tomorrow. Hopefully the weather doesn't have a big impact on anything. Plenty of rumors goin around on the what's app. Surly it will have some impact on some of the decisions the ref will make in the match. Expecting a big crowd of nuterals for a good Derby. Hopefully we all get a good exciting game.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 22/10/2022 18:03:10    2445047

League finals were dead ducks.
Hope maghercloone beat corduff, would be a good result for football

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 22/10/2022 18:55:24    2445053

Replying To 222:  "League finals were dead ducks.
Hope maghercloone beat corduff, would be a good result for football"
Why would it be good for football?

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 22/10/2022 21:11:48    2445068

Because if rumours are true regarding pressuring refs etc then this simply has no place in our game…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 23/10/2022 07:34:10    2445076

I struggle to see how any of these 'rumours' regarding the ref can be true. If there was any truth in them the referee in question would have had to tell somebody about these 'pressures', and would have been removed from his duties by the cb.

Although I'm not a Banty fan, I find these rumours a bit disgusting and unfair on the Corduff club, and to a certain degree Magheracloone.

Let the two teams at it and the best team on the day will win, referees rarely have a massive outcome on a game either way. It's usually the losers bemoaning a 50/50 decision or two.

FarFrom (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 23/10/2022 11:47:52    2445101

Poor game corduff pinched it at the end congratulations to them as for refs with pressure being put on them didn't look like it today. Any such talk should be reported no place in the game for that carry on.

Pet (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 23/10/2022 20:27:44    2445182

Poor game today, low in quality and high in mistakes..magheraclone kicked themselves out of it, corduff parked the bus and magheraclone panicked and kicked stupid wides which ultimately cost them the game.. today was Bantys all Ireland final so having Rory Gallagher down training them recently paid off..going to be a very very long year in senior for both teams next year and particularly corduff, honestly will be shocked if they win a game in it next year..
After attending the senior and junior final last weekend along with today's intermediate final I definitely don't envy Vinnie trying to pick a competitive county team for div 1 football because the standard and quality in all 3 finals has been very poor with very few players putting the hand up for county selection..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 23/10/2022 20:57:31    2445186

Replying To mick2007:  "Poor game today, low in quality and high in mistakes..magheraclone kicked themselves out of it, corduff parked the bus and magheraclone panicked and kicked stupid wides which ultimately cost them the game.. today was Bantys all Ireland final so having Rory Gallagher down training them recently paid off..going to be a very very long year in senior for both teams next year and particularly corduff, honestly will be shocked if they win a game in it next year..
After attending the senior and junior final last weekend along with today's intermediate final I definitely don't envy Vinnie trying to pick a competitive county team for div 1 football because the standard and quality in all 3 finals has been very poor with very few players putting the hand up for county selection.."
Would agree here with you, fair play to Corduff in the end- you make your own luck.
Football in the county not great at the moment, many smaller clubs in the northwest of the county struggling as are some of the big town teams. Alot of clubs up and down through divisions as well and very few players coming through that are of division 1 standard- I suspect Vinnie will be using the old heads again, mc anespie and niall kearns big losses also for 2023.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 24/10/2022 09:58:52    2445206

Magheracloone can have no excuses. They had all the possession required to make hay but chose to arm wrestle Corduff at their own game and lost.

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 336 - 24/10/2022 13:01:44    2445251

Fair play to Corduff. I doubt there was a single person outside Corduff that would have tipped them to win the the Intermediate championship this year. I believe they will be competitive in senior next year, particularly in the league when you take county players out of it. In terms of physicality, I would say they're ahead of most senior teams. They all look very athletic and have clearly done serious gym work. They'll certainly be no walkover like some posters are suggesting, and will certainly offer more of a game to senior teams than Carrick and Castleblayney did last season.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 24/10/2022 15:27:26    2445277

Exciting finish to the game yesterday. Was very harsh on magheracloone at the end but corduffs fight until the very end got them over the line. Hard to call how corduffwill do in senior next year but a good few local derby's for them will leave them games harder to call.
I'd expect the league to play out like the senior and junior league finals and magheracloone to win easily.
Anyone any idea in how many was in attendance yesterday?

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 24/10/2022 17:32:22    2445295

Replying To 222:  "Would agree here with you, fair play to Corduff in the end- you make your own luck.
Football in the county not great at the moment, many smaller clubs in the northwest of the county struggling as are some of the big town teams. Alot of clubs up and down through divisions as well and very few players coming through that are of division 1 standard- I suspect Vinnie will be using the old heads again, mc anespie and niall kearns big losses also for 2023."
To my knowledge players from the junior final have already been asked to come onto the panel.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 24/10/2022 19:55:13    2445305

Replying To HB245:  "Fair play to Corduff. I doubt there was a single person outside Corduff that would have tipped them to win the the Intermediate championship this year. I believe they will be competitive in senior next year, particularly in the league when you take county players out of it. In terms of physicality, I would say they're ahead of most senior teams. They all look very athletic and have clearly done serious gym work. They'll certainly be no walkover like some posters are suggesting, and will certainly offer more of a game to senior teams than Carrick and Castleblayney did last season."
My god I don't know what u wer watching yesterday!!!! That was pure puke football!!!! Couldn't pick one player that would make a sub on the county team!!!! So what teams do u think they could pick up points again??? Scot's? Ballybay?? Latton? I think they could b in the intermediate final in 2 years time….

jakeezme5 (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 24/10/2022 20:28:55    2445308

Was at the 3 county finals, people giving out there's no talent in the county on the basis of 3 games is bit over the top, dessie ward apart there was no stand out performance s, but these occasions sometimes happen , 2 equal teams cancelling either other out , loads of players look better when surrounded by better players , if Vinnie and co are strong enough to give the 20 -24 age group a couple of games , I m sure they ll find a couple of new lads between now and the championship

Monaghan78 (Monaghan) - Posts: 22 - 24/10/2022 21:36:53    2445314

As the club scene has come to an end within the county what were people,s highlights and lowlights of the season ?

Pet (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 02/11/2022 19:49:25    2446278

Anyone know the Monaghan National League fixtures? All I know from reading different articles is that we start with a home game v Armagh. We also play Roscommon at home (pretty sure it's the last game). Traveling to Mayo & Kerry. No clue about Donegal Tyrone & Galway.

padaly (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 03/11/2022 08:01:31    2446284

Anyone know what are Monaghan's provisional fixtures for the coming NFL Div 1 2023

farneyforever (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 03/11/2022 08:53:53    2446286

Anyone know what are Monaghan's provisional fixtures for the coming NFL Div 1 2023

farneyforever (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 03/11/2022 08:53:53    2446287