Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "I'd agree on Jones but he could do so much more to demand a place.
Pick a team for Meath.
Anyone now what's the story with Dessie Ward? He'd make a massive difference."
Jones needs to work harder when opposite team comming out with the ball his work rate needs to improve massively..we are very slow geting the ball in quick even on a counter attack we slow the ball down..we seem to let the other team get back...than the likes of Jones is running out to midfield area to get the ball of beggan to pass it to the wing half forward that not Jones fault that the way the team seems to be coached..it hasnt really changed since Donie Buckley was coaching monaghan still opting to play agaisnt a sat defence which is madness ...Dessie has torn the hamstring against kerry 3rd time teering hamstring in 12 weeks he not available til quarter finals stage so he mitnt see Dessie back in the team this year..massive miss until the injury last year he was probably our best player under banty when he was at center back.

AlanD (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 06/06/2024 14:04:51    2549856

Replying To AlanD:  "Jones needs to work harder when opposite team comming out with the ball his work rate needs to improve massively..we are very slow geting the ball in quick even on a counter attack we slow the ball down..we seem to let the other team get back...than the likes of Jones is running out to midfield area to get the ball of beggan to pass it to the wing half forward that not Jones fault that the way the team seems to be coached..it hasnt really changed since Donie Buckley was coaching monaghan still opting to play agaisnt a sat defence which is madness ...Dessie has torn the hamstring against kerry 3rd time teering hamstring in 12 weeks he not available til quarter finals stage so he mitnt see Dessie back in the team this year..massive miss until the injury last year he was probably our best player under banty when he was at center back."
And it's this arsing around the pitch that has got us nowhere this year. Only game we played with tempo this year was against Dublin in opening game of the league.
I do believe the team has lost their confidence in their ability to play but hopefully their second half performance against Louth will instill some belief in them again.
Need to start against Meath with speed and intent and maintain it for the duration of the game and I'd like to see Jack on the bench coming on for the last 5 mins or so only if we're well clear of Meath on the score board.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 26 - 06/06/2024 15:16:22    2549873

Replying To AlanD:  "Jones needs to work harder when opposite team comming out with the ball his work rate needs to improve massively..we are very slow geting the ball in quick even on a counter attack we slow the ball down..we seem to let the other team get back...than the likes of Jones is running out to midfield area to get the ball of beggan to pass it to the wing half forward that not Jones fault that the way the team seems to be coached..it hasnt really changed since Donie Buckley was coaching monaghan still opting to play agaisnt a sat defence which is madness ...Dessie has torn the hamstring against kerry 3rd time teering hamstring in 12 weeks he not available til quarter finals stage so he mitnt see Dessie back in the team this year..massive miss until the injury last year he was probably our best player under banty when he was at center back."
3rd time to sustain the same injury is crazy stuff. I also heard similar report on McAnespie.
Surely this is being questioned at Co Board level? I know the money that is being pumped into our co senior team is eye watering every year, much of this going towards the teams preparation i.e. Management, Coaches, Physio, S&C, who is policing these individuals? Who's is holding people and their actions accountable?

MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 7 - 07/06/2024 09:17:31    2549945

Replying To MonaghanMan44life:  "3rd time to sustain the same injury is crazy stuff. I also heard similar report on McAnespie.
Surely this is being questioned at Co Board level? I know the money that is being pumped into our co senior team is eye watering every year, much of this going towards the teams preparation i.e. Management, Coaches, Physio, S&C, who is policing these individuals? Who's is holding people and their actions accountable?"
It's hard to know, if county board get too involved they would be accused of "meddling" but agree the injuries have to be looked although a lot of counties are similar. These lads all have jobs too and imagine some of these fairly serious injuries are not exactly helping your personal or professional life.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 161 - 07/06/2024 14:05:53    2550003

is the last time Meath v Monaghon chamionship game 2003? Boylan V Coyler ?

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 716 - 07/06/2024 22:39:58    2550108

Replying To dickie10:  "is the last time Meath v Monaghon chamionship game 2003? Boylan V Coyler ?"
Yes, meath with an easy win. League meetings have been fairly exciting, 2005 and banty in 2011/12 when he was over meath.

222 (UK) - Posts: 730 - 08/06/2024 09:39:08    2550133

Replying To MonaghanMan44life:  "3rd time to sustain the same injury is crazy stuff. I also heard similar report on McAnespie.
Surely this is being questioned at Co Board level? I know the money that is being pumped into our co senior team is eye watering every year, much of this going towards the teams preparation i.e. Management, Coaches, Physio, S&C, who is policing these individuals? Who's is holding people and their actions accountable?"
Its hard to know without all the facts about the injury. Hamstrings are notoriously difficult injuries to heal and once you've done it once then likelihood of reoccurrence is high. You make a good point though and there have been a lot of injuries this year and maybe there should be questions about the S&C / training load. I have heard the players get urine tested before training to check for dehydration (in order to prevent injuries)... Its hard to balance that level of investment in preventing injuries with the amount of injuries sustained...

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 142 - 10/06/2024 08:48:59    2550467

Whats everyone's thoughts for this weekend?

There's a few teams that i refuse to accept defeat against. Last year it was Kildare who we barely managed to scrape past and this year it has to be Meath. My opinion is they're the worst team in the Sam Maguire. I don't know how they won the tailteann cup last year and if anything they've gone backwards since that.

Having said that I just can't see 2024 Monaghan (or any Monaghan team) comprehensively beating them. We rarely shoot the lights out and hammer teams. And lets be fair to Meath, its not like we're covering ourselves in glory this year either,

Nip and tuck for me and a hard fought Monaghan win hopefully

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 11/06/2024 11:46:37    2550768

Replying To MalsBalls:  "Whats everyone's thoughts for this weekend?

There's a few teams that i refuse to accept defeat against. Last year it was Kildare who we barely managed to scrape past and this year it has to be Meath. My opinion is they're the worst team in the Sam Maguire. I don't know how they won the tailteann cup last year and if anything they've gone backwards since that.

Having said that I just can't see 2024 Monaghan (or any Monaghan team) comprehensively beating them. We rarely shoot the lights out and hammer teams. And lets be fair to Meath, its not like we're covering ourselves in glory this year either,

Nip and tuck for me and a hard fought Monaghan win hopefully"
We should be winning and it could be a good platform for us for the prelim quarter … a v strange year if we end up in the quarter final -
against all the odds.. on the back of the Louth performance and winning Saturday would put some confidence into the team. Who knows what will happen but if we beat Meath we have nothing to lose at all

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 453 - 11/06/2024 12:52:29    2550792

Against Meath, Monaghan need to stop with the conservative approach and just go all out attack. Push up on every kickout.
Meath have conceeding some high scores so far in the championship (including 14 goals in 4 games) so I reckon this could be shootout as as both sets of defences are not great.
Meath's record so far is:
v Longford 3-12 (a Div 4 team)
v Dublin 3-19
v Louth 3-10
v Kerry 2-18 (These were first goals Kerry scored in championship)
I'd hope that Monaghan have the better fire power up front so if we can get quick ball into our forwards, they can do damage.
We need the likes of Woods and Jones starting this game. Jones always looks dangerous when given some room and he should get the room he needs in this game.
Monaghan by 3 points.
Predict a score of 3-12 to 2-12.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 11/06/2024 13:47:59    2550807

Meath will certainly fancy taking the 2 pts on Sunday but I think if Monaghan got a few scores on the board early in the game, something they haven't been doing, it would settle them. They are more than capable of putting Meath away and I expect a good performance out of them at the weekend.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 26 - 11/06/2024 13:59:15    2550810

It's mad to think Monaghon and Meath border each other , I know only slightly but they must be two counties in Ireland that border each other with such little similarities or things in common, be it geographically looking, culturally ,other sporting interests like hurling or horses or just socially mixing with each other , even the accents make it sound like there 100 miles apart.
Compared to Monaghon and cavan or Monaghon and Armagh.
Can't think of many other examples of counties that border each other with such big differences. Maybe Offaly and Roscommon but not sure that's a proper border

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 716 - 11/06/2024 14:22:49    2550817

Replying To dickie10:  "It's mad to think Monaghon and Meath border each other , I know only slightly but they must be two counties in Ireland that border each other with such little similarities or things in common, be it geographically looking, culturally ,other sporting interests like hurling or horses or just socially mixing with each other , even the accents make it sound like there 100 miles apart.
Compared to Monaghon and cavan or Monaghon and Armagh.
Can't think of many other examples of counties that border each other with such big differences. Maybe Offaly and Roscommon but not sure that's a proper border"
Cavan and Westmeath border each other too. You would not think that either.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 833 - 11/06/2024 14:48:00    2550826

yeah there would be very little if any interaction between cavan and westmeath all right, especially as hurling is on an equal footing with football in westmeath and probabaly better success last year beating wexford in hurling, there would be vast areas from mullingar to the meath where hurling would be number 1 and a good lot of Gaa fans wouldnt be interested in football. meath and kildare and meath and louth are probably the two that are intertwined a lot. i dont think monaghon and louth are that similar though even though they have a long border

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 716 - 11/06/2024 22:26:20    2550902

Replying To dickie10:  "yeah there would be very little if any interaction between cavan and westmeath all right, especially as hurling is on an equal footing with football in westmeath and probabaly better success last year beating wexford in hurling, there would be vast areas from mullingar to the meath where hurling would be number 1 and a good lot of Gaa fans wouldnt be interested in football. meath and kildare and meath and louth are probably the two that are intertwined a lot. i dont think monaghon and louth are that similar though even though they have a long border"
How big is the monaghan meath border?

222 (UK) - Posts: 730 - 11/06/2024 22:42:12    2550909

Replying To dickie10:  "yeah there would be very little if any interaction between cavan and westmeath all right, especially as hurling is on an equal footing with football in westmeath and probabaly better success last year beating wexford in hurling, there would be vast areas from mullingar to the meath where hurling would be number 1 and a good lot of Gaa fans wouldnt be interested in football. meath and kildare and meath and louth are probably the two that are intertwined a lot. i dont think monaghon and louth are that similar though even though they have a long border"
Have you heard the Inniskeen / Knockbridge accent??

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 142 - 12/06/2024 08:28:23    2550929

Replying To 222:  "How big is the monaghan meath border?"
Tiny... The tip of South Monaghan. I'd say its 1/10th the size of the Louth border. Sure look at a map there yourself.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 12/06/2024 08:52:10    2550934

We have far more in common with people in Meath then Tyrone or Armagh and that's no fault of the other 2 counties. Meath people are generally great craic, anyone who went to college/ work in Dublin etc will know loads, they have a very similar outlook with ourselves and the Cavan lads.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 12/06/2024 09:23:58    2550939

Replying To 222:  "How big is the monaghan meath border?"
Not very long. It's between the Monaghan/Meath border and Cavan/Westmeath border as the shortest border in Ireland between two counties. Which two counties in Ireland has the longest border?

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 833 - 12/06/2024 09:35:40    2550945

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "Have you heard the Inniskeen / Knockbridge accent??"
What about Ardee/Carrick accent?

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 833 - 12/06/2024 09:37:02    2550947