Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Was in clones yesterday and for the down game too in two different sections of the pitch. I have to say the facilities are shocking, a lack of paint, no tissues in toilets to dry hands, dirty toilets, no match programmes at either game and grass around the stadium overgrown and mucky. Its no wonder the athletic grounds, Omagh and Breffni are starting to get more games ahead of Clones and from listening to Cavan and Donegal supporters around the game it was noted by all."
I have to agree, I was shocked by how bad Clones is. I know they're probably not trying to spend money with Casement hopefully getting started soon, l but they need to update some things. I'd add to your things: half of the tannoy speakers do not work in the stand, couldn't understand some announcements for subs, additional time etc. No timer clock (seems to be standard in most grounds now, Breffni and Omagh has it). Doesn't have floodlights for later games outside of the summer. The wooden seats are now so worn that the grain of the wood sits up proud and makes it hard to sit on for an extended time. I have an idealistic view of Clones in my head from good days in the past, but it's honestly got really really bad.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 10/05/2022 11:49:15    2416192

Replying To countymonaghan:  "So its Semi final week. What is our predictions? And likely lineout on the day?

Personally think it is going to be a tough affair this. Derry performed well against Tyrone and really showed their ability. Tyrone may not of been at the races but still Derry were brilliant with the game plan they played. Gallagher has had a lot of haters over the last while but he has made some job of this Derry team. Monaghan will have their work cut out for them in Armagh Sunday. Venue will suit Derry with the defensive game they play. But now is the time for Monaghan to step up and be counted for.

We have the talent and experience to get over Derry but we need to be at our best. Will we see Monaghan bring a different game plan on the day? Hoping for a great contest Sunday.

My starting 15 is:
1. Beggan
2. Wylie
3. Boyle
4. Duffy
5. McAnespie
6. Ward
7. McCarthy
8. D Hughes
9. Kearns
10. Bannigan
11. McCarron
12. K Hughes
13. Woods
14. Mohan
15. McManus"
agree with everything here. nothing will be handed to us and this is probably our best 15 at the moment.

we've struggled in the past against defensive sides but we have more scorers now than ever before so im hopeful for another Ulster final.

2015 was our last Ulster final in Clones i think? its a distant memory now

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 12/05/2022 13:17:20    2416679

Replying To MalsBalls:  "agree with everything here. nothing will be handed to us and this is probably our best 15 at the moment.

we've struggled in the past against defensive sides but we have more scorers now than ever before so im hopeful for another Ulster final.

2015 was our last Ulster final in Clones i think? its a distant memory now"
Good team.. I would play Karl at number 7 with Conor at 10 instead of M Bannigan..

barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 97 - 12/05/2022 15:05:40    2416711

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I have to agree, I was shocked by how bad Clones is. I know they're probably not trying to spend money with Casement hopefully getting started soon, l but they need to update some things. I'd add to your things: half of the tannoy speakers do not work in the stand, couldn't understand some announcements for subs, additional time etc. No timer clock (seems to be standard in most grounds now, Breffni and Omagh has it). Doesn't have floodlights for later games outside of the summer. The wooden seats are now so worn that the grain of the wood sits up proud and makes it hard to sit on for an extended time. I have an idealistic view of Clones in my head from good days in the past, but it's honestly got really really bad."
I have to agree, I was shocked by how bad Clones is. I know they're probably not trying to spend money with Casement hopefully getting started soon, l but they need to update some things. I'd add to your things: half of the tannoy speakers do not work in the stand, couldn't understand some announcements for subs, additional time etc. No timer clock (seems to be standard in most grounds now, Breffni and Omagh has it). Doesn't have floodlights for later games outside of the summer. The wooden seats are now so worn that the grain of the wood sits up proud and makes it hard to sit on for an extended time. I have an idealistic view of Clones in my head from good days in the past, but it's honestly got really really bad.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 1609 - 10/05/2022 11:49:15 241619

The ground still needs to be maintained casement or not or else it's going to get into a worse condition and next thing they will be closing off areas as it wont be safe. You would think the Monaghan County Board would put some money into it before it gets any worse.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 12/05/2022 15:54:56    2416728

Replying To countymonaghan:  "So its Semi final week. What is our predictions? And likely lineout on the day?

Personally think it is going to be a tough affair this. Derry performed well against Tyrone and really showed their ability. Tyrone may not of been at the races but still Derry were brilliant with the game plan they played. Gallagher has had a lot of haters over the last while but he has made some job of this Derry team. Monaghan will have their work cut out for them in Armagh Sunday. Venue will suit Derry with the defensive game they play. But now is the time for Monaghan to step up and be counted for.

We have the talent and experience to get over Derry but we need to be at our best. Will we see Monaghan bring a different game plan on the day? Hoping for a great contest Sunday.

My starting 15 is:
1. Beggan
2. Wylie
3. Boyle
4. Duffy
5. McAnespie
6. Ward
7. McCarthy
8. D Hughes
9. Kearns
10. Bannigan
11. McCarron
12. K Hughes
13. Woods
14. Mohan
15. McManus"
Not sure about McCarron and McManus both starting against this Derry defence. Prefer Sean Jones and McCarron starting inside with Mohan, Woods Bannigan and McCarthy for the half forward line. Drew to start with Ryan Wylie stepping out to half back.

But you can be guaranteed Shane Carey will get the nod from management.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 12/05/2022 17:55:32    2416764

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Not sure about McCarron and McManus both starting against this Derry defence. Prefer Sean Jones and McCarron starting inside with Mohan, Woods Bannigan and McCarthy for the half forward line. Drew to start with Ryan Wylie stepping out to half back.

But you can be guaranteed Shane Carey will get the nod from management."
Shane Carey will definitely start and mc manus will prob drop out as Carey will cover the right frees. Carey will be a tracker for one of the derry half backs probably number 5 who scored 2 points v Tyrone. His dirty work off the ball is what gets him the start and he will be vital if we are to win. Derry will look to drag the monaghan forward and drag them up the field, dont be surprised to see colin walshe start as a tracker for the derry backs too. It will be important that Jack and Mohan dont get dragged out too much and isolate us up front, Rogers and Mc Cague will look to run from deep and drag shooters with them, id expect us to drop 13/14 men behiond the ball and invite derry onto us and see if they can beat our blanket. If this does happen then free kicks from Beggan, Jack and co. will be massive, then lies the question should mc manus start for his free kicking ability alone??

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 13/05/2022 10:43:11    2416818

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Shane Carey will definitely start and mc manus will prob drop out as Carey will cover the right frees. Carey will be a tracker for one of the derry half backs probably number 5 who scored 2 points v Tyrone. His dirty work off the ball is what gets him the start and he will be vital if we are to win. Derry will look to drag the monaghan forward and drag them up the field, dont be surprised to see colin walshe start as a tracker for the derry backs too. It will be important that Jack and Mohan dont get dragged out too much and isolate us up front, Rogers and Mc Cague will look to run from deep and drag shooters with them, id expect us to drop 13/14 men behiond the ball and invite derry onto us and see if they can beat our blanket. If this does happen then free kicks from Beggan, Jack and co. will be massive, then lies the question should mc manus start for his free kicking ability alone??"
just an observation if anyone wants to see why gaelic football is finished please tune in to derry v monaghan riveting stuff id say

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1801 - 13/05/2022 10:52:52    2416822

Is McManus starting really in doubt? He played on one leg against Tyrone in 2014. I'd have no worries about him contributing for the whole 70+ minutes regardless of lack of game time so far. The big players always show up for the big occasion.

Shane Carey's continued game time is a mystery to me. He's too slow and weak for inter-county football. He can't tackle properly and his free taking is ropey to say the least. His off the ball "work" seems to consist of running beside an opposition player and putting his hand on him (one of the stats that intercounty football managers apparently deem important). And that's it. It's effectively playing with a man down.

I'd hope that pretty much the same team that played against Down will start the next day. I think Bannigan got a bit shunted out of position in that game and maybe didn't contribute as much as he usually does. But he needs to play, his pace is very important and on his game he's very effective.

Midfield as usual will probably decide the game. If Hughes and Kearns get on top then that will be a huge step in the right direction. Monaghan need to start this game on the front foot and let Derry worry about them. After the Tyrone game there shouldn't be any surprises.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 13/05/2022 11:52:59    2416840

Replying To mickcunningham:  "just an observation if anyone wants to see why gaelic football is finished please tune in to derry v monaghan riveting stuff id say"
Yawn. Rubbish post. Gaelic football is thriving.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 13/05/2022 20:11:41    2416928

Replying To mickcunningham:  "just an observation if anyone wants to see why gaelic football is finished please tune in to derry v monaghan riveting stuff id say"
If you believe gaelic football is finished I believe your cracked.
Watch any game this weekend and go back and watch the same teams play q0nuears ago , I guarantee you this years game will be of a far better quality.
Give your head a wobble

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 14/05/2022 08:06:02    2416935

Just on the clones point it could really do with a spruce up alright. As it's not a small ground to do anything would no doubt be expensive. I wonder though do monaghan consider clones their home ground. To me Castleblayney always was the home of the monaghan county team but is it the standard needed. They use inniskeen as well. Clones was the ulster ground that happens to be in monaghan. Though then because the other grounds aren't really at the level needed they've used clones more eventhough it's probably a bit too big. If monaghan aren't that keen on the ground and ulster are waiting on casement it will just get worse. The wooden seats particularly in the uncovered hill side are just done. If casement is ever progressed I wonder what will happen clones. It does have a great buzz about it on ulster final day.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 14/05/2022 10:55:02    2416962

Hard game to call you'd hope our greater experience would get us over the line. The main worry I'd have is the Derry middle eight might have greater horsepower in terms of age and fitness. We'd struggled in games in recent times where opposition get the run on us. Frees and taken our chances crucial here.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 14/05/2022 11:35:07    2416976

Bit concerned about our defence leaking goals, we used to be very savvy in negating goal threats, hopefully the Down game brought a focus on that area.

I still expect us to outscore Derry by a couple of points. Discipline could be key, keeping 15 on the pitch crucial

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 14/05/2022 11:57:30    2416984

Feeling reasonably confident for tomorrow - it certainly won't be easy against a rising Derry team but I think we will bring intensity & experience. Maybe I am coddin myself but we will know tomorrow evening. Best of luck to the lads. I think there will be a big crowd there & important they hear their 16th man behind them. Muineacháin Abú

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/05/2022 13:12:56    2416999

On more local mattters....

What do people think on the county board enforced €10 Gate for senior league matches?

I think it's a bit much, and as someone who has ended up going to junior b and c matches as well this year (€5), I suddenly find I need to be carrying a bit of cash for the first time in more that 2 years! And that's before we get to the obligatory aletto at away games.

I also worry that the €10 is just setting a benchmark for championship and an excuse to up it again.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 193 - 14/05/2022 18:09:50    2417054

Replying To TearsIn85:  "On more local mattters....

What do people think on the county board enforced €10 Gate for senior league matches?

I think it's a bit much, and as someone who has ended up going to junior b and c matches as well this year (€5), I suddenly find I need to be carrying a bit of cash for the first time in more that 2 years! And that's before we get to the obligatory aletto at away games.

I also worry that the €10 is just setting a benchmark for championship and an excuse to up it again."
Do senior league games need to be 10er? My club are junior and had people giving out and had people from other clubs asking about it being a 10er in but then after finding out the fee was optional It was reduced to 5 euro on the day, so I was told anyhow.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 14/05/2022 21:40:03    2417121

I don't see the Monaghan team posted anywhere. Is Banty at his silly mind games as usual? It hasn't worked in the past for him and it won't work tomorrow either.
We posted our team last night so what is the big secret with the Monaghan team? If I was a Monaghan supporter I wouldn't be too impressed with this pointless tactic.
Anyway I reckon our young team will will run the legs of this aging Monaghan team in the last quarter and run out comfortable winners.

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 14/05/2022 21:43:55    2417124

Replying To oakman:  "I don't see the Monaghan team posted anywhere. Is Banty at his silly mind games as usual? It hasn't worked in the past for him and it won't work tomorrow either.
We posted our team last night so what is the big secret with the Monaghan team? If I was a Monaghan supporter I wouldn't be too impressed with this pointless tactic.
Anyway I reckon our young team will will run the legs of this aging Monaghan team in the last quarter and run out comfortable winners."
Well, whoop-de-do, good for Derry. I'm sure that's the team that will start alright. And have no fear, I'm sure Rory has got a hold of the program to circumvent Banty's master plan!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 14/05/2022 21:57:45    2417134

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Well, whoop-de-do, good for Derry. I'm sure that's the team that will start alright. And have no fear, I'm sure Rory has got a hold of the program to circumvent Banty's master plan!"
Exactly. Naming the team basically just tells us what number they'll be wearing and nothing more.

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 15/05/2022 07:50:30    2417143

Fellas, ye are hurting now, I get that. No digs here, honest. Not sure if it's just the manager (I'm sure the Banty out posts will come now) or other factors. Mad how you have underperformed since 2016 despite being a Division 1 mainstay. Is it doing you any good? Only one of the mainstays with no cup last 7 seasons. Battling all Spring, effectively relegated entering injury time last game a fair few times, but pull a point out the bag to stay up. Your 2013 and 2015 Ulster's were built on League titles, moving up, building the team up, and winning lots of games. That's not happening now. Probably expending a lot of energy staying up year after year. The emotion of beating Dublin and staying up was big, but what good is it if you lose today? Probably do need someone new in there all the same. Anyone there in the county? No harm to drop down maybe, refresh, get a run of winning results, and attack Ulster right. Will McManus stay about? Looked off it today, and seems the mantle has been passed from him. I dunno. It's odd looking from the outside in. You should be doing far better than you are, but don't do the job in Championship.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 15/05/2022 18:15:24    2417303