Monaghan GAA thread

Very frustrating watching yesterday, ifs and buts . McCarville showed ok yesterday, big improvement on all his previous performances.. a lot of no shows yesterday.. One settled performance in the last two games needed .

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 04/03/2024 12:28:14    2529697

We have conceded the most goals - 11 and most points 107 - out of any team across all 4 leagues… a damning stat

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 04/03/2024 12:32:12    2529698

Replying To MalsBalls:  "the -40 score difference is the main thing that has me worried...we fully deserve to go down this year and if we stay up i really hope there is no pitch flooded on the final day. we cant applaud and congratulate too much from this league campaign. I know that sounds cynical when we're talking about young supporters etc but its quite embarrassing IMO.

Priority number 1 from management has to be shoring up that defence regardless of what happens in the next two games.

I thought it was a little unfair taking woods off considering he had just come back on presumably well rested.

I thought mccarville was good yesterday and during the league we've seen other people excel at different times...fully fit and available, we have a division 1 capable starting 15. after that unfortunately it seems to be slim pickings. Great to see Ward and Mccarthy back...i do believe we still have a great team (potential) but need to sort that defence.

can someone let me know the status of our other injured players please? namely o'hanlon, jones and mohan...is there anyone else to come back? Id say Ward could do a job in defence but after scoring a couple of nice points yesterday it'd be a shame to lose that attacking outlet.

As for the long term plan for the year - Id love to know what the goal is. To win an Ulster we need to beat Cavan, Tyrone, and then probably Derry and then probably Armagh...That's a tall order for any team never mind a struggling one. So do we turn our attention to the all Ireland series? Stating the obvious here but thats an even taller order

at this moment in time, what constitutes a successful year?"
Let me tell you, if we stay up at the end of the Mayo game,I will be invading the pitch,congratulating Vinny and the lads and I am not a young supporter. Staying up this year would be one of our best ever achievements. With all the injuries and blooding young players and Rory and Karl gone, why wouldn't we celebrate. So many warriors on this site seem to have no conception of what is involved in rebuilding a team, especially for a management team coming after the 3 years of mis-magement. A few wins and lots of performances will constitute a successful year. We may beat Cavan and we may not. It is not about preaching patience it is about practicing patience. This is not the Premiership. Continued success can not be bought year after year. Monaghan football is in a good and safe place with Vinny, Dermot, Paul and their management teams.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 121 - 04/03/2024 15:00:42    2529743

Replying To MalsBalls:  "the -40 score difference is the main thing that has me worried...we fully deserve to go down this year and if we stay up i really hope there is no pitch flooded on the final day. we cant applaud and congratulate too much from this league campaign. I know that sounds cynical when we're talking about young supporters etc but its quite embarrassing IMO.

Priority number 1 from management has to be shoring up that defence regardless of what happens in the next two games.

I thought it was a little unfair taking woods off considering he had just come back on presumably well rested.

I thought mccarville was good yesterday and during the league we've seen other people excel at different times...fully fit and available, we have a division 1 capable starting 15. after that unfortunately it seems to be slim pickings. Great to see Ward and Mccarthy back...i do believe we still have a great team (potential) but need to sort that defence.

can someone let me know the status of our other injured players please? namely o'hanlon, jones and mohan...is there anyone else to come back? Id say Ward could do a job in defence but after scoring a couple of nice points yesterday it'd be a shame to lose that attacking outlet.

As for the long term plan for the year - Id love to know what the goal is. To win an Ulster we need to beat Cavan, Tyrone, and then probably Derry and then probably Armagh...That's a tall order for any team never mind a struggling one. So do we turn our attention to the all Ireland series? Stating the obvious here but thats an even taller order

A good run in AI round robin, try and win your home game and see what the draw gives you elsewhere.

I think its about blooding more players in Championship football. Giving players starts rather that 15min from the bench.

The depth could have been there if the net was cast wider in previous managerial spells. For example, if Kevin Loughran is good enough now at mid to late 20's why wasn't he brought in previously despite being captain of a underage team that won a trophy.

Every player needs a year (probably at least two years) to get up to speed at intercounty level. So whoever is given a chance now, will be ready for next year and the following years.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 04/03/2024 16:07:26    2529765

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Let me tell you, if we stay up at the end of the Mayo game,I will be invading the pitch,congratulating Vinny and the lads and I am not a young supporter. Staying up this year would be one of our best ever achievements. With all the injuries and blooding young players and Rory and Karl gone, why wouldn't we celebrate. So many warriors on this site seem to have no conception of what is involved in rebuilding a team, especially for a management team coming after the 3 years of mis-magement. A few wins and lots of performances will constitute a successful year. We may beat Cavan and we may not. It is not about preaching patience it is about practicing patience. This is not the Premiership. Continued success can not be bought year after year. Monaghan football is in a good and safe place with Vinny, Dermot, Paul and their management teams."
Well said

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 04/03/2024 18:04:48    2529800

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Sorry I will repost the bit about the second goal.

The second goal came from a free awarded against Woods, which was never a free never mind a black card. Under no circumstances would a Galway player have been issued a black card in them circumstances."
Correct the black card had a major influence on the outcome, given for Woods stepping across the Galway player. Cassidy could not give the card quick enough and him {surprisingly} right up with the play...it wasn't a black card. If it was then there will be a lot of 13 aside matches from here on. It won't be given for a similar incident this year, let's wait and see for it's bound to happen again. He is not fit for purpose at this level

However even after that decision, defending that ball should be routine stuff. We could not execute the basic skills that are required to compete on any level, even division 4 as someone said
O Toole has not looked right since last year, even in the Seigerson cup games he was not himself. I would also question the decision to hold off on McManus and McCarthy until midway through the second half yesterday. A week earlier was the time IMO
Tyrone seems to be in a better place than us at the moment, any chance of beating them requires a lot of work on the ball, and, some big decisions from management

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/03/2024 18:49:04    2529806

I reckon you guys can stay up. Its not over yet.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 828 - 05/03/2024 13:20:05    2529924

Replying To Shearer:  "I reckon you guys can stay up. Its not over yet."
The Monaghan V Louth derby next year could be good craic. You could play it in Killanny, and let the Louth supporters stay in Louth, and the Monaghan supporters stay on the Monaghan side of the field. There'd be a good few locals at it with half and half jerseys.

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 05/03/2024 18:02:53    2529978

The last two games against Roscommon and Galway have been littered with errors. 9 technical fouls against Roscommon and 3 defensive lapses against Galway. The only silver lining is that the injuries are no longer piling up. There does come a point where losing all the time takes it's toil on morale and affect the rest of the season. That could happen to Monaghan if they lose next two games so they really need to out in some good performances and get the wins.

Does anyone else think that Irwin would excel in a defensive role? He's got that bit of aggression in him and comfortable on the ball. If McCarthy and Lavelle can make the move to defense then it wouldn't be that big a leap to see Irwin make that switch?

Great to see Hamill, McNulty , Mooney get significant game time this league campaign. They'll benefit hugely from it going forward. Looks like we may have seen the last of Beggan in a Monaghan jersey. You don't know what you have until it's gone, what a player he is. I hope he gets the contract and does Monaghan folk proud in the NFL

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 06/03/2024 13:55:42    2530077

O'Hanlon is a hamstring, league over for him and race against time to be ready for the championship.

Challenge match last night against Armagh to presumably try get out of the rut of heavy defeats, don't be surprised to see a few more given chances in the last couple of games that we haven't seen much of in the league so far.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 06/03/2024 15:20:56    2530090

A week away when the reserves leagues are due to start and not a fixture issued. Considering it's a bank holiday weekend and players/teams waiting in limbo to know when they playing.

Firstly, it's a terrible weekend when to start club games, even if it reserve games. County playing Saturday evening and it's a bank holiday weekend.
Secondly, the games should be released well in advance to allow teams to schedule these.

TheJackel (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 07/03/2024 10:37:20    2530168

https://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2530168

agree can't under why the monaghan gaa website can't be updated to show the new fixtures.
with Monaghan playing Tyrone on the 16th of March. game will have to be played early on the Saturday or on the morning of the 17th,
Under 14 fixtures begin on Saturday 16th , no fixtures out for these either.

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 07/03/2024 13:14:32    2530190

Agree, what is the county board playing at? I heard there has been a lot of changes on committees

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 07/03/2024 14:48:10    2530200

Will we ever see the double game league back, home & away games?
There was no excuses for the bottom or top teams then. I'd love it back and I'd imagine the players would too I stead of training from January till April for a first game.

And agree with previous posters, I go to the monaghan website every few days looking for fixtures, must be very frustrating for players and there family's.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 07/03/2024 22:02:37    2530238

Replying To farneygael:  "Will we ever see the double game league back, home & away games?
There was no excuses for the bottom or top teams then. I'd love it back and I'd imagine the players would too I stead of training from January till April for a first game.

And agree with previous posters, I go to the monaghan website every few days looking for fixtures, must be very frustrating for players and there family's."
Fixtures are released to the clubs .. just because they are not on the website ..

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 08/03/2024 00:46:11    2530247

Replying To farneygael:  "Will we ever see the double game league back, home & away games?

And agree with previous posters, I go to the monaghan website every few days looking for fixtures, must be very frustrating for players and there family's."
Why would you start training in January??

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 121 - 08/03/2024 02:37:41    2530251

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Why would you start training in January??"
Ask most of the club managers in the county! Corduff back since November I think...

Blayney back on the pitch since January, that's why their pitch is in crap...

Killanny were back, Blackhill, Cremartin and lots more...

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 08/03/2024 07:43:15    2530257

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "Ask most of the club managers in the county! Corduff back since November I think...

Blayney back on the pitch since January, that's why their pitch is in crap...

Killanny were back, Blackhill, Cremartin and lots more..."
Who wasn't back in January is the big Q.

Its a disgrace reserve games at 12:30 on a paddy's day, no thought for fathers who want to take children to Parades and enjoy the day, players who train all year and want to enjoy the weekend or go away or for referees too. No wonder players are leaving in their droves from the GAA or abroad. Why cant these games be played this weekend or early on the Saturday morning?

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 08/03/2024 08:50:04    2530260

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Who wasn't back in January is the big Q.

Its a disgrace reserve games at 12:30 on a paddy's day, no thought for fathers who want to take children to Parades and enjoy the day, players who train all year and want to enjoy the weekend or go away or for referees too. No wonder players are leaving in their droves from the GAA or abroad. Why cant these games be played this weekend or early on the Saturday morning?"
Whine,whine,whine.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 121 - 08/03/2024 11:35:37    2530297

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Who wasn't back in January is the big Q.

Its a disgrace reserve games at 12:30 on a paddy's day, no thought for fathers who want to take children to Parades and enjoy the day, players who train all year and want to enjoy the weekend or go away or for referees too. No wonder players are leaving in their droves from the GAA or abroad. Why cant these games be played this weekend or early on the Saturday morning?"
Whine,whine,whine. When do you want to play them, at six in the morning?

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 121 - 08/03/2024 11:36:26    2530298