Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To MadgeKing:  "You boys are some laugh. Win and the league is the be-all and end-all, lose a few and its back to being a pre-season competition. Make up your mind!
The way its looking now on points and score difference in the league, there will be a Div1 team playing a Div 2 team on April 7th in the championship but it will be the opposite way round to what everyone thinks now. That might suit your boys because they prefer being underdogs- old habits die hard.
Tick tock..."
You boys are some laugh. Win and the league is the be-all and end-all, lose a few and its back to being a pre-season competition. Make up your mind!
The way its looking now on points and score difference in the league, there will be a Div1 team playing a Div 2 team on April 7th in the championship but it will be the opposite way round to what everyone thinks now. That might suit your boys because they prefer being underdogs- old habits die hard.
Tick tock...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 490 - 20/02/2024 14:46:59

No need for that.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 20/02/2024 15:37:58    2527216

Replying To TheHunter:  "What is the story with Lavelle, I missed the start of the Northern sound coverage of the Derry game but the impression I got during the coverage was that he was taken of the starting 15 at the last minute and didn't hear his named mentioned during the match. But I then seen him listed on some of the papers as starting. Is he injured as well?

Also I see Ronan Boyle was on the UU team that won the Sigerson. Is he on the Panel? If he can make that UU team you would think he would be worth a run out in the league to see where he is at in terms of making the step up."
Def didn't play although I did see it wrongly reported in a few articles. Didn't notice if he took part in the warm up but def saw him with the long coat on making his way to our star studded back bench for the start of the second half.

antok (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 20/02/2024 17:19:53    2527237

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Fir true supporters, they are all worth a visit. Live up to your name."
Do my best to attend any match I can, will make a special effort to get to the Derry game because of the talent they have and the respect I have for them, won't make the rest apologies, true supporter :)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 20/02/2024 22:05:13    2527289

Replying To MadgeKing:  "You boys are some laugh. Win and the league is the be-all and end-all, lose a few and its back to being a pre-season competition. Make up your mind!
Tick tock..."
Great to see yous performing so well. All going well, it'll be interesting to see how yous adjust to competing for the Sam McGuire this year. Will be a big transition but I think yous should be competitive.

MunnionOfMunnionHill (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 21/02/2024 13:44:44    2527377

Tick tock..."
lol good point. the highs and lows of supporting Monaghan...wouldn't have it any other way though

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 22/02/2024 13:28:54    2527556

The new alternate jersey is up on the O'Neills website.

[url=]https://www.oneills.com/uk_en/monaghan-gaa-alternative-jersey-2024-cyan-royal-white.html

antok (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 24/02/2024 09:41:27    2527815

Big game for both our teams tomorrow, if we lose we are gone. I'd expect a good crowd from Monaghan. Safe travels to anyone making the journey, be careful on the roads.

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 146 - 24/02/2024 19:33:22    2527885

End of an era for monaghan football division 2 awaits. Great journey with this team ,had to end sometime unfortunately haven't got enough to compete at this level now.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 25/02/2024 14:54:28    2527992

Thought we might beat Roscommon and draw or win another to leave us safe. Uphill battle now but perhaps if we do go down it might not be the worst thing

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 25/02/2024 16:00:34    2528016

It's the results of not having blooded any players in league football over last 10/12 years. Still Vinny is letting them at it and they will learn

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 25/02/2024 16:05:04    2528018

Too many injuries to key players and a county like ourselves can't afford to lose most of our best side and still perform. Only route to survival now is beating Galway next weekend which will be v difficult and hope they or roscommon don't pick up any more points as don't think we will. Clutching at straws. Think div 2 awaits but if we are being honest not many will be too surprised.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 25/02/2024 16:10:10    2528020

Replying To veterngaa:  "It's the results of not having blooded any players in league football over last 10/12 years. Still Vinny is letting them at it and they will learn"
Division 2 a good place to rebuild if it is to be. We have been a through a golden era since 2013, the calibre of players now are not a patch from 2013.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 25/02/2024 16:11:24    2528022

Another sobbering performance and result… the Rossies in The Hyde are a tough nut to crack… we're carrying to many lads that simply aren't up to the rigours of intercounty football..div 2 is the ideal place to rebuild.. derrys 1st year in div 1 in 6 years and it didn't do them any harm and now there the dominant team in ulster… yes we've been 10 years in div 1 and had pitch invasions after staying up but all to the determinant of blooding players and running out of steam come championship.. so we've reaped what we've sowed and that's why were depending on 3 lads at 36/37 years of age to come back and save the day..saying all that we should beat Galway and mayo at home…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 25/02/2024 16:43:41    2528034

Replying To 222:  "Division 2 a good place to rebuild if it is to be. We have been a through a golden era since 2013, the calibre of players now are not a patch from 2013."
Agreed to a point but to be fair to them they are having to debut in a side missing their best players and lacking confidence. Bad enough not having Beggan available but to be missing mcenespie Mccarthy bannigan o hanlon key men alongside Gary Mone also is v bad luck. Mccarthy has been gone since mckenna cup and doesn't look like featuring at all in this league. Monaghan v light on midfield options this year and today was even worse. Wouldn't be confident even with injured players back as will take time to get fitness back.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 25/02/2024 16:48:00    2528036

Replying To mick2007:  "Another sobbering performance and result… the Rossies in The Hyde are a tough nut to crack… we're carrying to many lads that simply aren't up to the rigours of intercounty football..div 2 is the ideal place to rebuild.. derrys 1st year in div 1 in 6 years and it didn't do them any harm and now there the dominant team in ulster… yes we've been 10 years in div 1 and had pitch invasions after staying up but all to the determinant of blooding players and running out of steam come championship.. so we've reaped what we've sowed and that's why were depending on 3 lads at 36/37 years of age to come back and save the day..saying all that we should beat Galway and mayo at home…"
Given that Galway are on 3 points, they will need a win next sunday (they have dublin and kerry to play) They are probably better than monaghan even though injuries haven't been kind for them and I'd expect a strong surge from them next week. I have no doubt they'll be trying to bury the ghosts of their crumbling in clones in 21.
Its a difficult place to be for vinnie with injuries and rebuilding. The older lads are a year older and the demands at this level don't get any easier.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 25/02/2024 20:32:05    2528112

Replying To veterngaa:  "It's the results of not having blooded any players in league football over last 10/12 years. Still Vinny is letting them at it and they will learn"
Learn what? How to lose? Not having that

Listen, I like vinny and I need to emphasise that before my next rant... For the sake of online debate that ultimately means nothing, let's just be cynical for a moment

Last year, we got lucky in the league. A league that Dublin and derry weren't even competing in. Mayo were in the final regardless of our final day result.

We were embarrassed by derry in ulster

We were beaten by donegal in the round robin, only for lady luck to make that a good thing.

We needed Mccarthy magic to beat kildare by one point to get to the quarter final... This is the same kildare that are pointless in division 2 this year

We beat armagh which was decent altho I really don't rate armagh too highly and it was by the skin of our teeth.. (so we had one good win last year? Buts who's counting)

We competed with Dublin only to be hammered by them in the same game which is a strange sentiment

This year has been very poor to date...

True, we're not at full strength and also true, everyone else seems to be at full strength... Infact you could say we're at crisis with injuries and retirements etc.... But my goodness this is a little embarrassing now

So. What's vinnys plan? Let's not fool ourselves. We were lucky to get to a semi last year.... Where are we going? Honestly the way we're playing now cavan would beat us, so would meath, Louth, Fermanagh and armagh. All our neighbours who possibly envied us in recent times... And I'm not even sure that's true. Its all well and good blooding players but we can't be losing games regularly by an average of 11 points.

So anyway, as I said I like vinny and will blindly follow monaghan again but this is the first year since 2014 that I believe we don't have a chance in hell of an Ulster never mind anything else. Hope I'm wrong

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 26/02/2024 06:36:48    2528171

Replying To MalsBalls:  "Learn what? How to lose? Not having that

Listen, I like vinny and I need to emphasise that before my next rant... For the sake of online debate that ultimately means nothing, let's just be cynical for a moment

Last year, we got lucky in the league. A league that Dublin and derry weren't even competing in. Mayo were in the final regardless of our final day result.

We were beaten by donegal in the round robin, only for lady luck to make that a good thing.

We needed Mccarthy magic to beat kildare by one point to get to the quarter final... This is the same kildare that are pointless in division 2 this year

We beat armagh which was decent altho I really don't rate armagh too highly and it was by the skin of our teeth.. (so we had one good win last year? Buts who's counting)

We competed with Dublin only to be hammered by them in the same game which is a strange sentiment

True, we're not at full strength and also true, everyone else seems to be at full strength... Infact you could say we're at crisis with injuries and retirements etc.... But my goodness this is a little embarrassing now

So. What's vinnys plan? Let's not fool ourselves. We were lucky to get to a semi last year.... Where are we going? Honestly the way we're playing now cavan would beat us, so would meath, Louth, Fermanagh and armagh. All our neighbours who possibly envied us in recent times... And I'm not even sure that's true. Its all well and good blooding players but we can't be losing games regularly by an average of 11 points.

So anyway, as I said I like vinny and will blindly follow monaghan again but this is the first year since 2014 that I believe we don't have a chance in hell of an Ulster never mind anything else. Hope I'm wrong"
Considering we've only won 2 ulster titles in 35 years I would agree our chances of winning ulster are probably zero and slim most other years… but hey we're 10 years in div 1…… I expect us to beat a decimated Galway team at home and prob a 2nd string mayo team to ensure we stay up another year in div 1 and paper over the cracks until next year again before another struggles starts instead of going down to div 2 and getting a winning mentality going again….in fairness to Vinnie I always said the day we lose Beggan is the day were goosed and so it's largely proved… he brings so many facets to the game it's unreal…usually no man is irreplaceable but he is… what really concerned me yesterday was the lack of fight from Monaghan…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 26/02/2024 07:32:32    2528179

Replying To MalsBalls:  "Learn what? How to lose? Not having that

So anyway, as I said I like vinny and will blindly follow monaghan again but this is the first year since 2014 that I believe we don't have a chance in hell of an Ulster never mind anything else. Hope I'm wrong"
Vinny is paying the price for malachy and Bantys short sighted win now mentality's. He's very few young lads that were blooded 5 years ago. Bannigan and o'Hanlon.. anyone else?

It goes to the clubs too. When the big senior clubs - ballybay, blayney, Clontibret and scotstown were going well the county was flying. Look at the last 15 years of county finalists, they're all struggling massively - probably as a consequence of the same short sighted thinking.

Clubs in Monaghan are not going well at all, particularly those with the bigger picks. Scotstowns starting lineup has maybe 13 men well over 30 on it - that should send alarm bells ringing. Truagh got to a county final and fell asunder. Carrick only have 1 contribution to the panel and yoyo between senior and intermediate. The collapse of blayney has been startling but coming for years. The harps have long been poorly considering their population. Magheracloone are a prime example of what's wrong too - they got a few stars and stopped working to develop the others.

Fair play to the likes of inniskeen and corduff for coming through and taking what's theirs when others won't. Ballybay done it on a few occasions and I hope more come along and knock the big boys out of senior a la Truagh and blayney. Might knock some sense into them.

Holistically tough I think the whole football structures in Monaghan needs a shakeup. The league is a challenge match competition and the championship is set up to suit the big boys, who have to loose 3 times to be knocked out. We should bring in the Kerry competition format, Meath have done it recently and it won't be long paying dividends there.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 146 - 26/02/2024 08:26:21    2528191

Will the slide stop if we drop to Division 2, it is a testing place and you could be caught very easily in the Tailteann.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 26/02/2024 09:57:59    2528222

Replying To mick2007:  "Considering we've only won 2 ulster titles in 35 years I would agree our chances of winning ulster are probably zero and slim most other years… but hey we're 10 years in div 1…… I expect us to beat a decimated Galway team at home and prob a 2nd string mayo team to ensure we stay up another year in div 1 and paper over the cracks until next year again before another struggles starts instead of going down to div 2 and getting a winning mentality going again….in fairness to Vinnie I always said the day we lose Beggan is the day were goosed and so it's largely proved… he brings so many facets to the game it's unreal…usually no man is irreplaceable but he is… what really concerned me yesterday was the lack of fight from Monaghan…"
ive had my coffee now and calmed down a bit...agree with most of this, especially the lack of fight...of course its a work in progress and we need patience..not sure i agree with the division 2 thing though. i get the argument but personally on the fence. i think masquerading as a big team is better than being a small team. plus you get the opportunity to play against the best in the country. go down to division 2 and we could go all the way down

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 26/02/2024 10:22:04    2528230