Could see us beating Down and Tyrone and losing the final again probably to Donegal. Consistency is a problem for the side rarely have two big performances in a row. That said won't exit the championship easily and could be v difficult opponent for a provincial champion in a quarter final. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 13/04/2022 15:25:28 2410857 Link 0 |
Ah lads, let's catch a grip here. We have won 7 from 21 games under this management, on what planet does that equate to a All Ireland winning/competing formula? We will beat Down by a cricket score and get seen off by Tyrone, but it'll be grand because we will only have been beaten by a few points and they'll no doubt make a All Ire Final so we can pedal the "not far off" quote for another year. Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 13/04/2022 15:26:33 2410858 Link 1 |
I hear Conor Leonard back at county training last week. At 6' 5'' a useful addition around midfield. Best of luck to him ! Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 19/04/2022 12:04:15 2411533 Link 1 |
BlueBlood will turn every off this forum. turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 19/04/2022 13:05:20 2411552 Link 4 |
If my factual argument is unhinged what would you call yours regarding a McKenna Cup competition? Delusional perhaps? It's amazing how all these new "fans" who only have a handful of posts are all backing the management team. How much is he paying yous a post lads? Or are they all the bold Banty himself?? Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 19/04/2022 19:02:34 2411651 Link 3 |
That's great to hear. He looked the most promising of the new players coming in earlier on in the season. Hopefully he comes through in the championship.
SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 56 - 19/04/2022 19:20:39 2411652 Link 0 |
We now have a plethora of midfielders!! Kearns, 2 xHughes, Lavelle, Leonard, Mohan, Karl. Hiw times have changed
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 20/04/2022 09:49:41 2411691 Link 0 |
Ulster or bust this year lads Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1182 - 20/04/2022 10:04:56 2411701 Link 1 |
You've only 75 posts yourself there. Are you someone who Banty beat to the job in the past? Bitter that you never got a crack at managing the Farney, you're now confined to posting on the Hogan Stand Monaghan Forum. Did you ever think that people are happy that a county our size is consistently competing with the top counties in the country? That we're excited of the prospect of having 3 or 4 young players make a breakthrough in the county set up in one season, for the first time in years. That Jack McCarron seems to have left his injuries behind him and could be set for the biggest championship of his life. That Mansy, despite his age, is still a force to be reckoned with. That Kieran Hughes seems to be finally fitting into the county team, after having a brilliant club season. That we have 4 or 5 brilliant options in midfield after years of being dependent on two. That we've the best goalkeeper in the country. And so on. There's a lot of be positive about. You seem intent on concentrating on the negative though, for some strange reason. SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 56 - 20/04/2022 14:36:50 2411845 Link 0 |
Well said. Supposedly I am close to management because I tried to balance out BlueBlood's negativity with a factual statement about how the team have preformed this year. We should be enjoying this Monaghan team (I know I am) and be desperate, and hopeful, they can take another step soon. Everyone in the country thinks Monaghan are over-preforming except of course....... turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 20/04/2022 15:52:06 2411877 Link 0 |
Great Post. There's of course negative things about the team and managment but in my opinion there are many many times more positive. farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 300 - 20/04/2022 18:19:28 2411913 Link 0 |
With the junior intermediate & senior leagues commencing this weekend what's everyone's predictions for the 3 grades?? Championship & league winners / relegation monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 21/04/2022 18:43:53 2412154 Link 0 |
Senior will be Scotstown, I'm not sure how any senior club can even motivate themselves for a season at this point. They've won 7 of the last 9 and would be going for 10 in a row only for two miracles from Clontibret. Intermediate I believe this will be the year that Emyvale get promoted, along with Magheracloone. Junior - Drumhowan HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 22/04/2022 10:18:23 2412207 Link 0 |
I'm a season ticket holder. I got an email today to redeem my ticket for the game in Clones on the 30th April which I done. I then got another email confirming that I had successfully redeemed my ticket. On this email under delivery method it said download your ticket but the problem is that I can't there is no link. Anyone any ideas nagrattansabu (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 22/04/2022 16:55:45 2412329 Link 0 |
Disappointing result last night in inniskeen. Would've been expecting monaghan to beat them. I wonder is the result bantys fault?. Mark Counihan has now lost first round of championship two years in a row, only good thing about last night is the promising players who hopefully get a chance with 20s next year and those who have another year at minor.
MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 23/04/2022 10:36:18 2412427 Link 0 |
Or maybe give credit to Antrim for winning away at such a difficult venue, Or maybe only good thing about last night is that the promising players can still redeem themselves in the qualifiers Or maybe this group has already done themselves and their county proud by finishing second to a very good Tyrone team in the league Depends on what agenda one wants to pursue I suppose mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 23/04/2022 11:16:37 2412443 Link 0 |
Is it not true that over the course of Banty's managerial career with Monaghan that his teams have lost in their first game five times in eight Ulster championship campaigns.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6177 - 23/04/2022 14:36:28 2412490 Link 2 |
1. Lost to Derry 2. Lost to Armagh (R) 3. Beat Down, Derry, lost to Tyrone 4. Lost to Fermanagh 5. Lost to Derry 6. Beat Armagh, Fermanagh lost to Tyrone 7. Lost to Cavan 8. Beat Fermanagh Armagh lost to Tyrone P 15 W 6 D1 L8 2022 ? Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1182 - 25/04/2022 21:27:59 2413228 Link 0 |
The Head says Beat Down lose narrowly again to Tyrone. Hopefully avoid Mayo or Armagh in the qualifiers lose to provincial champion in quarter final. The Heart says win Ulster make all ireland semi final v Galway. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 26/04/2022 12:32:47 2413308 Link 0 |
Although we are in a mess. I don't think it will be as easy as everyone predicts. Although I think Monaghan will win I think Down have nothing to lose and that's when we are at our most dangerous.
Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 27/04/2022 09:42:57 2413501 Link 0 |