Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To veterngaa:  "There is only 1 report.. one major incident. Johnny Cassidy was sent off then pushed the ref and struck the linesman"
Sorry read your previous post wrong.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 349 - 06/11/2023 15:20:12    2511779

Replying To veterngaa:  "There is only 1 report.. one major incident. Johnny Cassidy was sent off then pushed the ref and struck the linesman"
Where you at the game?

Monaghanlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 30 - 06/11/2023 17:38:14    2511808

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Not very kind fixtures honestly think we won't survive next year, but it's no harm going to division 2 if that's the case."
Every year I look at the fixtures and think we'll struggle to pick up points but I've been happily proved wrong for the past 10 years. Derry aside, I think we've both beaten and lost to each of these teams in league football of late.

antok (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 06/11/2023 18:03:23    2511814

Replying To Monaghanlad:  "Where you at the game?"
I have seen the video. It's pretty clear.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 07/11/2023 11:26:44    2511879

Replying To veterngaa:  "I have seen the video. It's pretty clear."
Is it online, have you a link for it?

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 07/11/2023 18:09:51    2511993

Replying To antok:  "Every year I look at the fixtures and think we'll struggle to pick up points but I've been happily proved wrong for the past 10 years. Derry aside, I think we've both beaten and lost to each of these teams in league football of late."
Yes I know me too, but unfortunately mansy and darren hughes are on their way out. Hopefully niall Kearns is back next year and maybe Andrew Woods if so then we have a great chance.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 07/11/2023 19:09:48    2512000

Karl Gallagher heading for Adelaide Crows in Australia (AFL) Big blow for the year ahead

Farney1990 (Monaghan) - Posts: 20 - 07/11/2023 19:19:39    2512001

So as the club scene draws to an end bar the teams representing in Ulster we now look forward to the Intercounty season again.

I see Bannigan is heading for Australia. Unsure if this is a permanent thing or a holiday. Any other word of players not being available for next season?

Also, any new comers in the pipeline that you may know of? I believe Mooney from Cremartin is going to be involved.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 289 - 08/11/2023 07:49:57    2512024

Replying To Farney1990:  "Karl Gallagher heading for Adelaide Crows in Australia (AFL) Big blow for the year ahead"
He's not away…. He has a 3 week trial …

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 08/11/2023 10:29:09    2512040

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "Is it online, have you a link for it?"
Pay for the Ulster gaa tv pass

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 08/11/2023 10:43:31    2512045

If Bannigan is away I'd get Garland back in. Not worried about year ahead the county team in good hands whatever happens. If older lads decide to give it one more year its a bonus really at this stage as don't expect it. Woods should be back in maybe kearns if he is around not sure. Sean Jones if fit needs to start in the league. These lads need to be given the responsibility now of making the team theirs.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 08/11/2023 11:33:16    2512057

Replying To veterngaa:  "Pay for the Ulster gaa tv pass"
I wouldn't get the value of it, too busy paying at the gate. But thanks for your suggestion...

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 08/11/2023 12:20:42    2512071

Replying To seanie08:  "If Bannigan is away I'd get Garland back in. Not worried about year ahead the county team in good hands whatever happens. If older lads decide to give it one more year its a bonus really at this stage as don't expect it. Woods should be back in maybe kearns if he is around not sure. Sean Jones if fit needs to start in the league. These lads need to be given the responsibility now of making the team theirs."
Very good post, quite obvious Conor Mc carthy made it his team last year, now time for a few more to join him, Ward, Bannigan, O hanlon, O toole, Lavelle, all need to stand up now.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 08/11/2023 12:49:09    2512077

Replying To countymonaghan:  "So as the club scene draws to an end bar the teams representing in Ulster we now look forward to the Intercounty season again.

I see Bannigan is heading for Australia. Unsure if this is a permanent thing or a holiday. Any other word of players not being available for next season?

Also, any new comers in the pipeline that you may know of? I believe Mooney from Cremartin is going to be involved."
Based on club championship form a few players i'd hope to see would include Grimes and Walsh from Killanny, Shane Hanratty needs to be back, Eccles and Mooney from Cremartin. Heard McBennett from Doohamlet is back in the squad - he deserves it being top scorer in intermediate championship this year.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 178 - 08/11/2023 14:23:35    2512111

Replying To sleater:  "Based on club championship form a few players i'd hope to see would include Grimes and Walsh from Killanny, Shane Hanratty needs to be back, Eccles and Mooney from Cremartin. Heard McBennett from Doohamlet is back in the squad - he deserves it being top scorer in intermediate championship this year."
Some new players with trail call up to county team are; Jason Duffy Aughnamullan James Slevin Latton Niall Keenan Carrickmacross Ronan Duffy Killanny Dylan Finnegan corduff Ciaràn Mc Nulty inniskeen Darragh Hughes Clontibret Jordan Mc Phillips Rockcorry

Edd,South(EU) (Monaghan) - Posts: 60 - 08/11/2023 15:16:01    2512123

Replying To seanie08:  "If Bannigan is away I'd get Garland back in. Not worried about year ahead the county team in good hands whatever happens. If older lads decide to give it one more year its a bonus really at this stage as don't expect it. Woods should be back in maybe kearns if he is around not sure. Sean Jones if fit needs to start in the league. These lads need to be given the responsibility now of making the team theirs."
Bannigan won't be gone too long.

Monaghan need some new faces in defence next year.
Young Grimes from Killanny worth a look. Barry Kerr Cremartin and McMenamin from Carrickmacross have the look of county standard players if the mood took them.
Talk is that Andrew Woods will be back too, that would more than balance the loss of Gallagher if that happens- hopefully not.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1183 - 08/11/2023 15:28:47    2512126

Good to see the return of even no age grades in monaghan last night , carried in a vote with a significant majority,
Best for the step up to senior, another year at minor makes a big difference

MONAGHAN1985 (Monaghan) - Posts: 88 - 10/11/2023 14:52:36    2512373

Replying To Blanket:  "I think ye are all getting a bit carried away with scotstown, do you remember what happened last year in the final,they have won nothing yet this year and if it wasn't for the Hughes brothers and beggan, they are a very ordinary team,mccarron hasn't added that much to be honest,the clontibret game was the only decent performance from him,I think corduff will defo test them and whoever is coming in the final ,will be ready for them ,as for the chances of a ulster club not a prayer with the management knowledge of ulster football."
Been waiting to repost this …..

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 12/11/2023 21:47:30    2512611

Great show from Scotstown yesterday. Kieran Hughes has had a lot of bad luck with injuries so was great to see him show his undoubted talent in those last few minutes. Beggan can really impose himself on games which he did in second half yesterday.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 13/11/2023 11:35:42    2512664

Replying To veterngaa:  "Been waiting to repost this ….."
If you read my post as I said only for beggan and the Hughes who have they ??nobody to replace them in club or unfortunately in county when they finish up,and that's a great victory for scotstown but how poor was kilcoo and some of there wides ,I hope they can prove me wrong and win ulster but come back to me when they beat glen in the final and I will hold my hands up and say I was wrong.

Blanket (Monaghan) - Posts: 42 - 13/11/2023 18:33:19    2512813