New Jerseys

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thanks cockney-cat, I don't know if I like it, I haven't seen it up close in person yet but from the pictures iv seen it looks very busy to me there is a lot going on.

Maybe it's a tactic to distract the opossision :-)"
My point was it looks very similar to the new Tipp jersey, and that both have got a bit of a retro look about them, which I like.
Still waiting to see Kilkenny's new jersey, I'll be pleased if it's similar in style to Tipp's and Kerry's.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 29/01/2022 18:30:32    2397027

I really dislike the 3 short horizontal stripes on the sleeves that Oneills are putting on some of these jersies the last while. It looks like a total after thought just for the sake of putting something on.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 29/01/2022 20:02:39    2397054

Theres been a few horror shows down the years, but I think O'Neills tended to get it more right than wrong.

If you will allow me, the Monaghan 2013-2015 edition which saw 2 Ulsters is the pinnacle for our County.
Depth of colour with the square patterns on the blue sleeves, raised stripes on the sleeves...and it's that aspect that for many of us if a certain age, is what defines what jerseys should be (I may be guilty of being a nerd here).

The trend to new-ish horizontal stripes is almost certainly an effort to avoid adidas issues overseas. I get that, and doesn't have to be a step backwards.. But, if it's incorporated within the design and is "smooth", then for grumpy old eejits like me, it's not the same, and I then agree with those saying it's souvenir at an airport shop.

Rant over.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 29/01/2022 20:44:31    2397067

Replying To FrankieJoe:  "Wicklows new one is on their social media pages. Hopefully Westmeath will get the new Renault logo also."
I just looked it up and it's a 100% improvement from the old logo on the big yellow square. Hopefully we come out with something similar as I don't think we have updated our jersey in a while. Maybe it will be unveiled at the eagerly awaited "Renault Derby" tomorrow in Mullingar ;-)

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 29/01/2022 21:22:21    2397073

Don't like the new Kerry jersey at all, looks like something out of a tourist shop in Killarney.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 30/01/2022 09:26:19    2397095

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "My point was it looks very similar to the new Tipp jersey, and that both have got a bit of a retro look about them, which I like.
Still waiting to see Kilkenny's new jersey, I'll be pleased if it's similar in style to Tipp's and Kerry's."
Ya i get you, iv a couple of the retro Jerseys and they're lovely, there was better material as well in the old days.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2022 10:51:58    2397113

Replying To wexico15:  "Don't like the new Kerry jersey at all, looks like something out of a tourist shop in Killarney."
I would have to agree. It's a pity especially when Kerry have produced some lovely jerseys down the years

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/01/2022 11:39:39    2397134

Replying To mintyfresh:  "I would have to agree. It's a pity especially when Kerry have produced some lovely jerseys down the years"
Absolutely including their most recent jersey prior to this.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 30/01/2022 13:28:33    2397161

Saw the Kerry jersey in the flesh today in Newbridge and it looks good, you don't really see the stags head at all.

The goalies jersey was nice and looked very semilar to a Tipp jersey.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2022 16:33:19    2397205

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Saw the Kerry jersey in the flesh today in Newbridge and it looks good, you don't really see the stags head at all.

The goalies jersey was nice and looked very semilar to a Tipp jersey."
Agree, was right behind the keeper in the first half and thought the jersey was a thing of beauty

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 30/01/2022 16:45:06    2397215

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Agree, was right behind the keeper in the first half and thought the jersey was a thing of beauty"
Sound sweetspot, were you 1 of the lads that got the game delayed :-)

Fair play to ye on a great comeback in today's game, ye wiped out our midfield in the second half and if there was more injury time I'd say yed have bate us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2022 16:55:28    2397222