Westmeath Football thread

Been told that Mickey O'Reilly has 8 for shamrocks. I'm fairly sure 9 would be a record. Three Lomans men with a chance of breaking that over the next few years

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 147 - 20/10/2024 01:37:41    2575901

Doron Harte-a great player for Garrycastle-would have had 9 if it was not for some crazy substitutions by Garrycastle management team in the last few minutes of their final in 2021 against St.Lomans-a case of the tail wagging the dogs head.!!

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 208 - 20/10/2024 10:46:12    2575921

Sean Fogarty from Athlone has 9 senior county medals. 6 in a row 1955 - 1960, 1965, 1971, 1973. Played his last game for Athlone in 1985 v Ballymore in Moate.

AthLuain (Westmeath) - Posts: 1 - 20/10/2024 13:57:19    2575969

Replying To AthLuain:  "Sean Fogarty from Athlone has 9 senior county medals. 6 in a row 1955 - 1960, 1965, 1971, 1973. Played his last game for Athlone in 1985 v Ballymore in Moate."
Thoughts on the winning captaIn's speech yesterday ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1159 - 20/10/2024 14:46:56    2575975

Replying To BigSur:  "Thoughts on the winning captaIn's speech yesterday ?"
I thought it was a decent speech I understand why people are questioning it,he credited the opposition he thanked the usual management players club etc …. And I can see why he mentioned about been doubted because true out the county they have been questioned and doubted and they did play their 10th final in a row this year and that's a fair achievement and it makes the doubters and those who claimed there weren't good enough look a bit silly….There was nothing between both teams and we've not seen the last of the downs either and my god what a footballer Luke Loughlin is on his day he just oozes class and quality

TheGaaMan77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 54 - 20/10/2024 16:13:08    2575985

His comment about luck having nothing to do with their victory was in response to County Chairman saying little bit of luck separated the sides, The Downs supporters felt the captains comment was ungracious, in relation to being doubted there's virtually no one who did that, the bookies generally reflect the thoughts on a game, Lomans were 2-9 for drawn game, ask any knowledgeable person at outset of year who would win championship and Loman's the answer. No idea why he'd say that.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1864 - 20/10/2024 16:34:39    2575988

Replying To puglerdaly:  "Terrible way to decide a final. Throw the ball up next score wins seems a lot better"
I don't agree with penalties either, but throwing up ball and next score win's can be a problem if there is a really strong wind in one direction.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 214 - 20/10/2024 17:29:29    2575998

When will the intermediate football be played with a full round of hurling next Saturday and Sunday? Bank holiday Monday or midweek?

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 279 - 20/10/2024 17:32:38    2576000

Replying To Claretandblue:  "His comment about luck having nothing to do with their victory was in response to County Chairman saying little bit of luck separated the sides, The Downs supporters felt the captains comment was ungracious, in relation to being doubted there's virtually no one who did that, the bookies generally reflect the thoughts on a game, Lomans were 2-9 for drawn game, ask any knowledgeable person at outset of year who would win championship and Loman's the answer. No idea why he'd say that."
Chairman was obviously referring to the penalty shootout. There is an element of luck involved in a penalty shootout, but utimately it comes down to skill and the player. I don't see anything wrong with the comment made by the Chairman. For the captain to pull him up on the comment in his speech is childish carry on.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 67 - 20/10/2024 17:32:55    2576001

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "I don't agree with penalties either, but throwing up ball and next score win's can be a problem if there is a really strong wind in one direction."
I agree find it crazy that people think that's a better answer than penalties …. End of the day penalties is a horrible way to lose but much much bigger events worldwide have been settled with a shoot out I don't see the problem once it is needed after a replay and not the first day …. It is what it is all teams know it could be a possibility but there's no point giving out after it … I think it's the fairest resolution but only after extra time in a replay and not in the finish on a day scenario of the first game

TheGaaMan77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 54 - 20/10/2024 17:38:50    2576003

Quite a poor standard of football in Cusack Park today. The weather obviously played a huge factor in each game. I feel Milltown will be kicking themselves over poor decision-making and how McGauran dropped that free short. Anyone watching, like myself, on An Iarmhi TV should get a refund-the commentary at halftime and full-time was dreadful and barely audible. Not to mention having the wrong score for the last 12 minutes of the game was very frustrating. I cannot understand why they did the commentary stood on the pitch right in the wind instead of in the tunnel where they could hear themselves, let alone the viewers.

Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 22 - 20/10/2024 17:56:58    2576008

Replying To TheGaaMan77:  "I agree find it crazy that people think that's a better answer than penalties …. End of the day penalties is a horrible way to lose but much much bigger events worldwide have been settled with a shoot out I don't see the problem once it is needed after a replay and not the first day …. It is what it is all teams know it could be a possibility but there's no point giving out after it … I think it's the fairest resolution but only after extra time in a replay and not in the finish on a day scenario of the first game"
100% agree. I get the argument if it's penalties the first day but not after already going to a replay. Harsh way to lose but is conceding a last second point any better ???

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 147 - 20/10/2024 18:08:27    2576011

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "Chairman was obviously referring to the penalty shootout. There is an element of luck involved in a penalty shootout, but utimately it comes down to skill and the player. I don't see anything wrong with the comment made by the Chairman. For the captain to pull him up on the comment in his speech is childish carry on."
Should enjoy their win not be sore winners . Mescal said nothing wrong

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 479 - 20/10/2024 18:13:50    2576012

Replying To Fighting-Cocks69:  "Quite a poor standard of football in Cusack Park today. The weather obviously played a huge factor in each game. I feel Milltown will be kicking themselves over poor decision-making and how McGauran dropped that free short. Anyone watching, like myself, on An Iarmhi TV should get a refund-the commentary at halftime and full-time was dreadful and barely audible. Not to mention having the wrong score for the last 12 minutes of the game was very frustrating. I cannot understand why they did the commentary stood on the pitch right in the wind instead of in the tunnel where they could hear themselves, let alone the viewers."
How anyone could comment on the standard being poor today is beyond belief. Conditions were horrendous, wind far more difficult to deal with than rain, the Louth senior final had 8 scores, all four teams deserve credit,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1864 - 20/10/2024 18:19:55    2576014

Replying To Claretandblue:  "How anyone could comment on the standard being poor today is beyond belief. Conditions were horrendous, wind far more difficult to deal with than rain, the Louth senior final had 8 scores, all four teams deserve credit,"
You seem to get quite offended when someone shares an opinion that isn't positive. The weather was bad all over the country-Meath Senior had 19 scores, Dublin Senior had 25 scores, Roscommon final had 22. I watched the highlights of the Louth final and saw that Ardee scored 2.2, so not all the county finals across Leinster and Connacht were low scoring. I mentioned that the weather played a huge factor, but you must have missed reading that part. Yes, they all deserve credit for playing in those harsh conditions, but i do think Milltown threw away a lot of possession.

Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 22 - 20/10/2024 18:57:38    2576025

Replying To WmeathWarrior:  "Let's revisit this post after the game."
You were bang on the money again. You've your ear to the ground on the Delvin Rd!!

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 67 - 20/10/2024 19:04:52    2576027

Replying To TheGaaMan77:  "I thought it was a decent speech I understand why people are questioning it,he credited the opposition he thanked the usual management players club etc …. And I can see why he mentioned about been doubted because true out the county they have been questioned and doubted and they did play their 10th final in a row this year and that's a fair achievement and it makes the doubters and those who claimed there weren't good enough look a bit silly….There was nothing between both teams and we've not seen the last of the downs either and my god what a footballer Luke Loughlin is on his day he just oozes class and quality"
Senior finals were two cracking games, both last week & again yesterday but his speech was very disrespectful.....both to The Downs & what he called himself as "Lomans doubters".
A man of his caliber that has won so much should have a bit more humility you would imagine.

Junior final went as expected in my opinion, CFCW were unlucky to go down last year but have bounced straight back up,
St. Josephs are a fine young team, this final will stand to them & I think they will make the break through next year.

Intermediate game was very defensive, conditions were very tough for both teams so not surprising. Milltown are a solid outfit & probably should have won especially after missing the free in the end. Hopefully a better day for the replay when we can see both teams go at each other. I think Garrycastle underestimated Milltown & should learn a lot from today.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 250 - 20/10/2024 21:12:38    2576048

Replying To Left Full:  "Senior finals were two cracking games, both last week & again yesterday but his speech was very disrespectful.....both to The Downs & what he called himself as "Lomans doubters".
A man of his caliber that has won so much should have a bit more humility you would imagine.

Junior final went as expected in my opinion, CFCW were unlucky to go down last year but have bounced straight back up,
St. Josephs are a fine young team, this final will stand to them & I think they will make the break through next year.

Intermediate game was very defensive, conditions were very tough for both teams so not surprising. Milltown are a solid outfit & probably should have won especially after missing the free in the end. Hopefully a better day for the replay when we can see both teams go at each other. I think Garrycastle underestimated Milltown & should learn a lot from today."
Milltown will be kicking themselves but I think they will go out and win the replay. I don't think I've been at a game that went ahead with the weather as bad but it was worth playing and I'm glad it went did, gave a different element of entertainment and it wasn't a bad game. I was very surprised at how well set up Milltown were considering, I thought they'd try to do much but they stuck to their game plan extremely well. I had Garrycastle winning this at a canter but weather aside Milltown were the better team. The free at the end is Garrycastles way back in though. I'll be at the replay because it needed another day out. To lose on a day like that just wasn't going to be a fair result.

WmeathWarrior (Westmeath) - Posts: 58 - 21/10/2024 08:50:42    2576087

Replying To WmeathWarrior:  "Milltown will be kicking themselves but I think they will go out and win the replay. I don't think I've been at a game that went ahead with the weather as bad but it was worth playing and I'm glad it went did, gave a different element of entertainment and it wasn't a bad game. I was very surprised at how well set up Milltown were considering, I thought they'd try to do much but they stuck to their game plan extremely well. I had Garrycastle winning this at a canter but weather aside Milltown were the better team. The free at the end is Garrycastles way back in though. I'll be at the replay because it needed another day out. To lose on a day like that just wasn't going to be a fair result."
Interesting to know the plan for replay with some milltown players playing for daltons next weekend in the hurling and possibly some garrycastle lads playing for southern gaels and then 2 weeks time is first round of the leinster for whatever team wins. looking like players will have to play 2 games in very short period.

Dazzler30 (Westmeath) - Posts: 32 - 21/10/2024 11:58:31    2576132

Replying To Left Full:  "Senior finals were two cracking games, both last week & again yesterday but his speech was very disrespectful.....both to The Downs & what he called himself as "Lomans doubters".

Intermediate game was very defensive, conditions were very tough for both teams so not surprising. Milltown are a solid outfit & probably should have won especially after missing the free in the end. Hopefully a better day for the replay when we can see both teams go at each other. I think Garrycastle underestimated Milltown & should learn a lot from today."
Very disappointed in the speech from the St Loman's captain John Heslin, demonstrating a lack of class, a lack of respect and a lack of humility, pandering to his own crowd, while disrespecting the County Board Chairman and The Downs.

St Lomans were lucky to draw all 3 games (extra time is a new game), and then lucky to win a penalty shootout which is essentially a lottery. I think a further replay and extra time would be a better solution considering the game v Dunshaughlin is not for 2 weeks, although there is a full set of hurling games next weekend plus the IFC replay. For me, penalties is a soccer solution to a GAA problem. Need a better solution.

The Downs played the better brand of attacking football, defensive when they needed to be, but always looking to attack. Watching St Lomans and Kinnegad where they bring 15 players behind the ball is an awful spectacle, puke football as Pat Spillane would say. Bring on the new rules.

Luke Loughlin was Man Of The Match in both finals, and player of the SFC Championship. Definitely deserved to win his second SFC medal, but not to be on the day.

St Lomans v Dunshaughlin is on 3rd November in Pairc Tailteann. Hope this is a good game, and that St Lomans for all their bluster of 10 finals in a row, can show they are not just a big fish in a small pond but can go on to win the Leinster Club Championship. I expect they will fall short again. The Downs are better set up to progress in Leinster, more variation in their play and a better attacking team.

JoxerDaly (Westmeath) - Posts: 24 - 21/10/2024 11:59:09    2576134