Westmeath Football thread

Having watched the minor final last week, it very obvious why dessie is playing the way he plays. Numbers behind the ball. The minor team tried the attacking football but were opened up for 4 similar type goals (including peno), straight down the centre. They scored 1-18 and were still beaten. Teams outside the top 6 have to play defensively and try stay in games as long as possible. Dessie has westmeath very competitive at the moment and we do need some luck. I think we would all like to see the fast attacking type football but it's just not the modern game. Dub and kerry can do it. I just think if we tried to go toe to toe in all out attack, we could get whipped similar to 20 plus counties. Best of luck to the team. It will be a better achievement than the Tailteann Cup to get a positive result v Derry

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 92 - 14/06/2024 23:19:16    2551524

Hopeful of a great result today! I think we can do it. Let's travel to Newry and get behind that lads.

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 417 - 15/06/2024 11:33:25    2551564

The support certainly didn't travel, approx 150 Westmeath supporters in Newry. Brave performance but our side is lacking in pace, never threatened a goal, subs made a difference, scored three points, possibly the last appearances by a number of long serving players, they certainly owe us nothing.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1563 - 15/06/2024 20:47:10    2551703

thats it all done no more to be said

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1831 - 15/06/2024 20:54:20    2551704

11pts v Armagh-11 pts v Galway -9 pts v Derry never going to win a game with these scores-no championship games won in 2 years.Fair play to the players they always put in an honest effort but somethings need to change if Westmeath are to survive div.2 next year.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 181 - 15/06/2024 21:51:03    2551726

Replying To mickcunningham:  "thats it all done no more to be said"
9 points wont win anything.We didnt go for it no more to be said.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1505 - 15/06/2024 22:01:35    2551733

I was at the game today. Biggest disappointment was not the result, but our support in Newry. Lads put in so much effort but if there's no fan base showing up then what's the point.

Charlie_90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 15/06/2024 23:06:13    2551749

Totally agree Charlie, comments by previous posters claiming we didn't go for it are unacceptable and not grounded in reality, certainly don't represent genuine westmeath football supporters, players put in fantastic effort, deserve praise.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1563 - 16/06/2024 13:41:40    2551845

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Totally agree Charlie, comments by previous posters claiming we didn't go for it are unacceptable and not grounded in reality, certainly don't represent genuine westmeath football supporters, players put in fantastic effort, deserve praise."
Nobody is saying players didnt put the effort in but the facts speak for themselves.2023 we scored 18 points v Tyrone, 1-12 v Armagh and 0-12 v Galway with 14 men for the last 25 minutes.
In 2024 we scored 0-9 v Derry,0-11 v Galway and 0-11 v Galway.
We scored 1-42 in 2023 and 0-31 in 2024 which is the reason we failed again to make the break through.
Facts thats all, if you dont like them face up to the reality, if we dont improve our forward line we wont make the top 12

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1505 - 16/06/2024 14:35:59    2551860

Replying To jobber:  "Nobody is saying players didnt put the effort in but the facts speak for themselves.2023 we scored 18 points v Tyrone, 1-12 v Armagh and 0-12 v Galway with 14 men for the last 25 minutes.
We scored 1-42 in 2023 and 0-31 in 2024 which is the reason we failed again to make the break through.
Facts thats all, if you dont like them face up to the reality, if we dont improve our forward line we wont make the top 12"
Very good analysis and facts.-agree players are giving there all in matches and in training and have to be commended for that but the reluctance by management to make changes when things and players are a bit off has to be noted-I was in Newry last evening and I felt as did a few Westmeath Gaels in our company that bringing on Kieran Martin with 2 mins to go was an insult.Kieran has been a huge player for Westmeath down the years and has given brilliant service and if this was to have been his final time as a senior county player surely he deserved more time -out of respect and im sure he would have made an impact as he always does.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 181 - 16/06/2024 16:12:33    2551904

Replying To jobber:  "Nobody is saying players didnt put the effort in but the facts speak for themselves.2023 we scored 18 points v Tyrone, 1-12 v Armagh and 0-12 v Galway with 14 men for the last 25 minutes.
Facts thats all, if you dont like them face up to the reality, if we dont improve our forward line we wont make the top 12"
Disparaging comments like "we didn't go for it" are in no way supportive or indicative of understanding of the modern game, we trailed by one point with four mins left, we were playing the National league champions. The footballers have been thoroughly competitive against top teams in the last two Sam Maguire campaigns, likes of Armagh, Galway and Derry akin to facing Cork, Clare and Galway in hurling.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1563 - 16/06/2024 17:50:07    2551963

Replying To Bruno@1:  "Very good analysis and facts.-agree players are giving there all in matches and in training and have to be commended for that but the reluctance by management to make changes when things and players are a bit off has to be noted-I was in Newry last evening and I felt as did a few Westmeath Gaels in our company that bringing on Kieran Martin with 2 mins to go was an insult.Kieran has been a huge player for Westmeath down the years and has given brilliant service and if this was to have been his final time as a senior county player surely he deserved more time -out of respect and im sure he would have made an impact as he always does."
I'd agree fully on Kieran Martin points. I think he has been very badly treated this year. Earlier in the league campaign when other players weren't available he stood up especially against Wicklow, Limerick, Clare and Down getting crucial scores in tight games. Even against Down in Mullingar he looked like himself of old and got a great score that not too many would be getting. Then in the league final he is dropped and not even given a run out and as you say bringing him on with minutes to go when looking for a goal is insulting to him given the service he has given the county. I for one hope he like some of the other older players mentioned give it another year and help the younger players settle into Division 2.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 215 - 17/06/2024 11:54:04    2552281

Watch every other team in the country bar Dublin and Mayo in their prime. They all instantly get everyone behind the ball. Westmeath aren't going to be the ones to crack the code and play attacking football and go against the grain and win.

This team has come on so much in the last few years tactically and conditioning wise. We never look inferior physically against top teams. We do need to score more but the new scoring forwards are probably a bit light or not used to the defensive side yet. I think we are building nicely and if anyone can get a forward line scoring in his third year it should be Dessie.

Questions will need to be asked about what happened against Wicklow but other than that plenty to build on and lots of players used.

Gaawestmeath (Westmeath) - Posts: 76 - 17/06/2024 11:59:44    2552286

Replying To mintyfresh:  "I'd agree fully on Kieran Martin points. I think he has been very badly treated this year. Earlier in the league campaign when other players weren't available he stood up especially against Wicklow, Limerick, Clare and Down getting crucial scores in tight games. Even against Down in Mullingar he looked like himself of old and got a great score that not too many would be getting. Then in the league final he is dropped and not even given a run out and as you say bringing him on with minutes to go when looking for a goal is insulting to him given the service he has given the county. I for one hope he like some of the other older players mentioned give it another year and help the younger players settle into Division 2."
I agree on point that I hope some players stay on because if rumors are true this will be the team for Div2 next year. The team is very young and light.

1. T Martin
2. D Scahill
3. C Drumm
4. N Harte
5. Shane Allen
6. Eoin Mulvhill
7. Conor Dillon
8. Andy McC
9. Sam McCartn
10.S Baker
11. R O Toole
12. M Whittaker
13. Luke L
14.R Forde
15. S Smith

Am I missing any players?

If any players that started on Saturday aren't named then I have heard they are considering either retirement or taking a year out!

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 417 - 17/06/2024 14:15:51    2552373

Replying To Temple56:  "I agree on point that I hope some players stay on because if rumors are true this will be the team for Div2 next year. The team is very young and light.

1. T Martin
2. D Scahill
3. C Drumm
4. N Harte
5. Shane Allen
6. Eoin Mulvhill
7. Conor Dillon
8. Andy McC
9. Sam McCartn
10.S Baker
11. R O Toole
12. M Whittaker
13. Luke L
14.R Forde
15. S Smith

If any players that started on Saturday aren't named then I have heard they are considering either retirement or taking a year out!"
This was my whole point a few weeks ago where i got lambasted for suggesting that a number of these younger players should have been given more game time. It was with next year in mind and in particular Div 2 of the League which is going to be very difficult. I would consider these younger players to be technically just as good as those they are replacing but need some conditioning and experience.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 610 - 17/06/2024 15:15:19    2552399

Replying To Meridian:  "This was my whole point a few weeks ago where i got lambasted for suggesting that a number of these younger players should have been given more game time. It was with next year in mind and in particular Div 2 of the League which is going to be very difficult. I would consider these younger players to be technically just as good as those they are replacing but need some conditioning and experience."
ray connellan wont be going anywhere and should captain the team if kevin maguire retires

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1831 - 17/06/2024 15:25:27    2552403

Replying To Temple56:  "I agree on point that I hope some players stay on because if rumors are true this will be the team for Div2 next year. The team is very young and light.

1. T Martin
2. D Scahill
3. C Drumm
4. N Harte
5. Shane Allen
6. Eoin Mulvhill
7. Conor Dillon
8. Andy McC
9. Sam McCartn
10.S Baker
11. R O Toole
12. M Whittaker
13. Luke L
14.R Forde
15. S Smith

If any players that started on Saturday aren't named then I have heard they are considering either retirement or taking a year out!"
Eight players unavailable from last Saturday plus Kieran Martin? What's your source on this? Why would Ray Connellan and Ronan Wallace and David Lynch not be playing? Jonathan Lynam? Those guys are all young enough. Wallace and Connellan are in brilliant form, Jason Daly has had a great year, can understand doubts about James Dolan, Kevin Maguire, John Heslin and Jamie Gonoud based on longevity and signs of wear and tear injury wise but others? I'd be surprised if Dessie commits to another year, he will get one if he wants it but he was much more animated than usual last Saturday on line, normally he's very calm, he's five years involved including selector, the next manager will need to rebuild significantly.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1563 - 17/06/2024 16:31:27    2552424

Replying To Meridian:  "This was my whole point a few weeks ago where i got lambasted for suggesting that a number of these younger players should have been given more game time. It was with next year in mind and in particular Div 2 of the League which is going to be very difficult. I would consider these younger players to be technically just as good as those they are replacing but need some conditioning and experience."
Rebuilding while facing Armagh, Galway and Derry is not practical, unfair on new players and onus on management to put out best team available, likes of Scahill, Whittaker, Allen, Trevor Martin, Kevin Connaughton, have played during league and will get more game time in O' Byrne Cup and league next year.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1563 - 17/06/2024 16:35:09    2552429

Hello
I am just wondering does anyone know if the Hogan Stand Year book for Westmeath was published the last couple of years? I did not see it in any of the shops. I have a big collection of them. Has anyone else collected them. Particular looking for any from before 2000 for a look.

Thanks

GAAfan2024 (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 17/06/2024 21:09:53    2552516

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Eight players unavailable from last Saturday plus Kieran Martin? What's your source on this? Why would Ray Connellan and Ronan Wallace and David Lynch not be playing? Jonathan Lynam? Those guys are all young enough. Wallace and Connellan are in brilliant form, Jason Daly has had a great year, can understand doubts about James Dolan, Kevin Maguire, John Heslin and Jamie Gonoud based on longevity and signs of wear and tear injury wise but others? I'd be surprised if Dessie commits to another year, he will get one if he wants it but he was much more animated than usual last Saturday on line, normally he's very calm, he's five years involved including selector, the next manager will need to rebuild significantly."
Apparently Ronan o Toole & Ronan Wallace are both heading off travelling in the new year David lynch the same.
Then you have heslin gonoud Maguire and jack smith all in the rumour mill of retirement.

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 333 - 17/06/2024 22:06:42    2552534