Westmeath Football thread

Got the job done today. Draw for the next round tomorrow morning

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1800 - 29/05/2022 19:22:20    2420849

A win today for Jack and the lads despite not playing great, great to see Luke loughlin back to his usual self, Sam mccarton super yet again, good to see James Dolan playing a full 70 minutes but he didn't look fully match fit yet, Maguire red probably led to Dolan playing the entire game (which I didn't see however there'd didn't seem to be too many complaints over it being given). If we are to progress and hopefully win the tailteann out we need John heslin performing at his best from play which he has not been doing so far this year but hopefully that will come. No Ray Connellan due to injury and no game time for Alex Gardiner which is a strange one. Looking forward to tomorrows draw which will see us pitted against Offaly Carlow or New York for a place in the semi final

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 55 - 29/05/2022 19:35:46    2420853

Replying To mickcunningham:  "Got the job done today. Draw for the next round tomorrow morning"
Got the job done against the worst Laois team I have ever seen.The performance was deplorable no adventure,no discipline not a clue.After Maguire was rightfully sent off we were a shambles.Only Loughlin,McCartan,Wallace and Smith showed any fire. Of the veterans Heslin missed 1-3 from perfect positions and was turned over at will while Egan is clearly not fit.
Why must everything go through O Toile who then almost invariably go backwards.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 29/05/2022 19:40:35    2420857

Replying To jobber:  "Got the job done against the worst Laois team I have ever seen.The performance was deplorable no adventure,no discipline not a clue.After Maguire was rightfully sent off we were a shambles.Only Loughlin,McCartan,Wallace and Smith showed any fire. Of the veterans Heslin missed 1-3 from perfect positions and was turned over at will while Egan is clearly not fit.
Why must everything go through O Toile who then almost invariably go backwards."
carlow in cullen park nice draw

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1800 - 30/05/2022 10:32:26    2420967

A game with a strange atmosphere. The crowd was poor and we actually seemed to outnumber Laois which is unusual for a Westmeath match. I agree with it being a very poor Laois team and I feel that we played with a sense of arrogance in the first quarter and could have been further ahead by the time Maguire was sent off. I didn't see what it was for but seen the Laois man on the ground in the aftermath. It wouldn't be like Maguire who wouldn't be known to be a dirty type of player. We were very disjointed after the red card for the rest of the half and early in the second half and I honestly thought at that stage we would lose as Laois were well on top and we weren't creating anything. McCartans goal, which he took very well came against the run of play and it seemed to spur us on and when they were reduced to 14 shortly after we seemed to manage the game better. Overall we deserved the win but there is a lot to work on. We should beat Carlow but Offaly won't be as easy if we do. On paper I think we have the better players man for man but I worry that we over emphasise on possession based football and our ability or even willingness to take on long distance scores is poor. Kildare showed that against us and that is probably what won the match for them against us that day and in Niall McNamee and Anton Sullivan Offaly have two players that will take on scores from more ambitious areas. The thing is we have the players capable of it so I don't know is it a management thing but with someone like Dessie Dolan who is one of the all time great scoring forwards in the management setup you would like to think it is something being worked on. It was good to see Forde and Lorcan Dolan come on and do well in the time they were on. They are two players who in club football show they are well able to take scores. The kickout strategy also has to be worked on. The flaws in it were very evident against Kildare and didn't improve yesterday. It was more noticeable when we were a man down but the options for Daly weren't there and even at that he didn't go long and gave away some needless possession. In fairness to him though he pulled off a very good save in the second half and his shot stopping is good.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/05/2022 10:42:41    2420972

Great to see Robbie Forde get a decent run, he always scores when introduced so deserves his chance. Lorcan D only got 5-6 mins, Sam McCartan has been our best player all year, tremendous athlete, work rate, attitude, form of some of our key players is worrying, cannot underestimate Carlow especially in Dr. Cullen. Great coverage of the Tailteann Cup on The Sunday Game and Leitrim, Carlow seemed thrilled to win which shows players interested in the competition.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 30/05/2022 11:49:16    2421016

Replying To mintyfresh:  "A game with a strange atmosphere. The crowd was poor and we actually seemed to outnumber Laois which is unusual for a Westmeath match. I agree with it being a very poor Laois team and I feel that we played with a sense of arrogance in the first quarter and could have been further ahead by the time Maguire was sent off. I didn't see what it was for but seen the Laois man on the ground in the aftermath. It wouldn't be like Maguire who wouldn't be known to be a dirty type of player. We were very disjointed after the red card for the rest of the half and early in the second half and I honestly thought at that stage we would lose as Laois were well on top and we weren't creating anything. McCartans goal, which he took very well came against the run of play and it seemed to spur us on and when they were reduced to 14 shortly after we seemed to manage the game better. Overall we deserved the win but there is a lot to work on. We should beat Carlow but Offaly won't be as easy if we do. On paper I think we have the better players man for man but I worry that we over emphasise on possession based football and our ability or even willingness to take on long distance scores is poor. Kildare showed that against us and that is probably what won the match for them against us that day and in Niall McNamee and Anton Sullivan Offaly have two players that will take on scores from more ambitious areas. The thing is we have the players capable of it so I don't know is it a management thing but with someone like Dessie Dolan who is one of the all time great scoring forwards in the management setup you would like to think it is something being worked on. It was good to see Forde and Lorcan Dolan come on and do well in the time they were on. They are two players who in club football show they are well able to take scores. The kickout strategy also has to be worked on. The flaws in it were very evident against Kildare and didn't improve yesterday. It was more noticeable when we were a man down but the options for Daly weren't there and even at that he didn't go long and gave away some needless possession. In fairness to him though he pulled off a very good save in the second half and his shot stopping is good."
we may not have to play offaly open draw for semi finals

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1800 - 30/05/2022 11:50:48    2421019

Replying To mickcunningham:  "we may not have to play offaly open draw for semi finals"
I would not assume a victory over Carlow is a given.
Yes you are favourites but the display yesterday indicates you are no world beaters.
We have no such expectations so no pressure
I would not discount Carlow winning again
Anyway best of luck

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 30/05/2022 12:44:51    2421045

Replying To mintyfresh:  "A game with a strange atmosphere. The crowd was poor and we actually seemed to outnumber Laois which is unusual for a Westmeath match. I agree with it being a very poor Laois team and I feel that we played with a sense of arrogance in the first quarter and could have been further ahead by the time Maguire was sent off. I didn't see what it was for but seen the Laois man on the ground in the aftermath. It wouldn't be like Maguire who wouldn't be known to be a dirty type of player. We were very disjointed after the red card for the rest of the half and early in the second half and I honestly thought at that stage we would lose as Laois were well on top and we weren't creating anything. McCartans goal, which he took very well came against the run of play and it seemed to spur us on and when they were reduced to 14 shortly after we seemed to manage the game better. Overall we deserved the win but there is a lot to work on. We should beat Carlow but Offaly won't be as easy if we do. On paper I think we have the better players man for man but I worry that we over emphasise on possession based football and our ability or even willingness to take on long distance scores is poor. Kildare showed that against us and that is probably what won the match for them against us that day and in Niall McNamee and Anton Sullivan Offaly have two players that will take on scores from more ambitious areas. The thing is we have the players capable of it so I don't know is it a management thing but with someone like Dessie Dolan who is one of the all time great scoring forwards in the management setup you would like to think it is something being worked on. It was good to see Forde and Lorcan Dolan come on and do well in the time they were on. They are two players who in club football show they are well able to take scores. The kickout strategy also has to be worked on. The flaws in it were very evident against Kildare and didn't improve yesterday. It was more noticeable when we were a man down but the options for Daly weren't there and even at that he didn't go long and gave away some needless possession. In fairness to him though he pulled off a very good save in the second half and his shot stopping is good."
Open draw for the semi finals not north south. Nice to see you're already thinking beyond next weekend though. Fair play ;)

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 30/05/2022 12:57:31    2421055

It's painful to see everyone talk about this Tailteann cup as if it isn't a competition with the worst teams in Ireland in it. The standard is shocking. I personally don't think that a Westmeath team should be happy playing in this competition. They are at this level, for sure, but where is the ambition. Bigging up players after beating a division 4 team in Laois. Barely beating them. Longford relegated Laois for god sake. Now we have Carlow. Then we might play Offaly. Give me a break. Look what happened to Kildare against the dubs and yet Kildare wiped the floor with us. We are destined for this level of football for another 5 years if we keep patting these lads on the back and telling them how great they are, when in total reality, we're beating absolutely nothing. We need a change. Cooney and Co OUT!

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 30/05/2022 13:38:24    2421076

Replying To Edman78:  "It's painful to see everyone talk about this Tailteann cup as if it isn't a competition with the worst teams in Ireland in it. The standard is shocking. I personally don't think that a Westmeath team should be happy playing in this competition. They are at this level, for sure, but where is the ambition. Bigging up players after beating a division 4 team in Laois. Barely beating them. Longford relegated Laois for god sake. Now we have Carlow. Then we might play Offaly. Give me a break. Look what happened to Kildare against the dubs and yet Kildare wiped the floor with us. We are destined for this level of football for another 5 years if we keep patting these lads on the back and telling them how great they are, when in total reality, we're beating absolutely nothing. We need a change. Cooney and Co OUT!"
big rant there , so cooney out and who in . the team will i have no doubt have to freshen up but
cooney out i dont think so

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1800 - 30/05/2022 13:49:04    2421087

Replying To mickcunningham:  "big rant there , so cooney out and who in . the team will i have no doubt have to freshen up but
cooney out i dont think so"
While I do not agree with the Cooney out comment, I think we want to be very careful with the preperation for the Carlow game.
As for the survival of the Tailteann cup, looking at the number of supporters in P Laoise yesterday it was paultry.
It will only survive if the public get behind it, lets see how many turn up for the Quarter final in Carlow.
Looking at the Sunday game it was like chalk and cheese looking at the pro finals and the T Cup games.
It is obvious RTE are treating it as a secondary competition.

Kuga (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 30/05/2022 14:24:25    2421107

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Open draw for the semi finals not north south. Nice to see you're already thinking beyond next weekend though. Fair play ;)"
Sorry my mistake regarding semi finals and apologies also if I came across like I was dismissing Carlow. Far from it and that is from years of following Westmeath. My knowledge of the current Carlow forwards and team even at that is very limited and using examples of Offaly forwards was very presumptuous. I do think we are favourites but a big improvement is needed after yesterday's performance against Laois. Kevin Maguire will be a big loss to us at full back. As I said I can't say I know any of your players and am only really going off league results. Yesterday was a big result for Carlow and I'm sure ye will be well up for Westmeath in Dr. Cullen Park next weekend.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/05/2022 14:50:44    2421125

Replying To Edman78:  "It's painful to see everyone talk about this Tailteann cup as if it isn't a competition with the worst teams in Ireland in it. The standard is shocking. I personally don't think that a Westmeath team should be happy playing in this competition. They are at this level, for sure, but where is the ambition. Bigging up players after beating a division 4 team in Laois. Barely beating them. Longford relegated Laois for god sake. Now we have Carlow. Then we might play Offaly. Give me a break. Look what happened to Kildare against the dubs and yet Kildare wiped the floor with us. We are destined for this level of football for another 5 years if we keep patting these lads on the back and telling them how great they are, when in total reality, we're beating absolutely nothing. We need a change. Cooney and Co OUT!"
I don't understand your point. You agree we are at Tailteann Cup level but we need ambition. Would the ambition of winning this competition to play All Ireland championship next year not be enough ambition. It works at club level and every other sport to have their main competition tiered. This defeatist attitude towards secondary competitions and change in the GAA is why football is the way it is in majority of counties. We have some talented footballers and we need to have a platform within our own counties for kids to look up to our own players and not only the likes of David Clifford and Con O'Callaghan. The Tailteann Cup needs time and if fans see players and management are behind it I can see them getting behind it over time but this rubbish of putting down a competition for the sake of it without offering any solutions of what should be done instead is very irritating. And just to point out we beat Laois playing them with a man deficit for a lot of the game. Kildare certainly didn't wipe the floor with us and a one score difference proves that.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/05/2022 15:06:20    2421135

Edman78, so you say we are at this level - for sure. Yet you want Cooney & Co out?
What is that going to achieve? You can only play at your level until a better standard of footballer comes along. So i'm puzzled by your post.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 30/05/2022 15:22:45    2421142

How can anyone say that there was a significant difference between the Provincial finals and the Tailteann cup? Two of the provincial finals were dismal annihilations and Connacht never I doubt.,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 30/05/2022 16:06:51    2421171

How can anyone say that there was a significant difference between the Provincial finals and the Tailteann cup? Two of the provincial finals were dismal annihilations and Connacht never I doubt.,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 30/05/2022 16:30:14    2421184

Replying To Claretandblue:  "How can anyone say that there was a significant difference between the Provincial finals and the Tailteann cup? Two of the provincial finals were dismal annihilations and Connacht never I doubt.,"
2 bad teams playing each other can lead to an exciting close game but it doesn't mean they are any where near the same quality as say the 4 provincial winners…. If they were they wouldn't be in the Taltainn cup to begin with

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1921 - 30/05/2022 16:39:40    2421191

That post might make a semblance of sense had three of the provincial finals been competitive but they weren't remotely, two absolute annihilations and Roscommon easily 7-8 inferior. Anyone who claims the football in those finals was superior cannot have seen how that only applied to one team in each game.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 30/05/2022 18:57:06    2421245

we must go down to carlow in the right frame of mind on sunday , if we do i have no doubt we will win , carlow will be all set after beating tipp but we have to lay down a marker early

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1800 - 31/05/2022 08:58:08    2421284