Replying To Ulsterman: "You're. Get the spelling right at least." Doing nothing to encourage any affection towards Ulster gaels that's for sure.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 31/07/2023 19:11:37
Replying To jimbodub: "He has a long history of losing the big battling AI finals..
That'll get to you" I would hope tradition was upheld jimbo and the losing manager paid a visit to the Victor's dressing room to congratulate them! Can anyone confirm it still happens?
Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 31/07/2023 20:00:33
Stephen Cluxton.
That's all really.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 31/07/2023 20:09:22
Replying To TheUsername: "Well now, not even the weather or a banging head can get me down today.
What a sweet, sweet win. Sinking a few last night, i described watching the game yesterday like as if the Beatles got back together for one last gig and you scored a ticket. It did the heart wonders to see Stevo, Jack, Mannion, Jamsie, Deano, Fitzey, Fento, Kilkenny, Howard and Con - rock it for one last performance - which it probably was. But what a performance it was. Born out of sheer girt, determination, skill and every inch of talent and experience. Fitting that this one probably ends for a few how it started with that type of performance so like 2011.
This one is sweet, because it was a battle, for my money thats the best Kerry team since 2013, better then 2019 with the monkey of their back and a bit more experience and wisdom about them. That makes this one unique to my mind, it was like 2011. We had to look adversity and loss in the face and ask ourselves - are we good enough, do we want it, will we fight for it? And didnt we just di it in style, sucker punch of a goal before half time - no heads dropped. Twice in the second half down by three points and coming back. Down the straight we were loosing that game, but outscoring this Kerry team and their much vaunted forwards by 7-2 in the closing stages - incredible. May no man or woman question this Dublin team hunger again.
Big shout out for the back line, i questioned them more then most throughout the year but they were all magic and worthy of being called the best in the country this morning, Davy Byrne, Murch and Fitzer were sublime. Especially Fitzer, its not the first time hes done a superb job on Clifford and keeping him to a negligible point total, he was brilliant - i see plenty this morning saying Clifford had a bad day and Fitzer didnt win that much ball - what a stupid take in my opinion, Clifford wasn't allowed have a good day, those of us who played the game know there is far more to defending then winning ball, its about pushing your man out to poor scoring angles, giving him limited space to get his teqniuqe of and making him rush his shot - thats what Fitzy did, he was like glue - not for the first time on Clifford, felt in the end Clifford loss his composure, a win for Fitzy. We did brilliantly, not letting him get any advanced marks they make up a lot of his scores. Then we have Stevo - how class was it to see him coming forward, to take frees - just brilliant, greatest hits stuff! His kick outs sublime - flawless as influential as ever and radiates confidence to this group.
Midfield, again i feel we had the better of it, we flooded Howard was superb ball carrying and winning, really grew into his role from Leinster onward but vital in flooding midfield, Kilkenny dropped deep in there as and at times we had those two in there supporting Jamsie and Fento - shout out for Fento, who put the Jack Barry thing to bed in some style.
The forwards had a tough day at the office, it was that kind of day and that type of game, that didnt allow forwards to drop shapes. That said Paul Mannion's quality always shines through - the man could play in snow and still score five from the corner. Finals often throw up unlikely hero's step forward Collie Basquel and Paddy Small, that block and turnover by Collie, he was sublime for 15 mins and Paddy's goal - well in lads delighted for you both. What a year of progress for both.
On Dessie, ive never been his biggest fan and maybe i underappreciated the job of work hes taken on. He got the better of the tactical battle yesterday and deserves huge credit. You could see how much he means to this group and what they think of him - that says a lot. That 2 from 4 for him. He might be the man for the rebuild.
Some incredible scenes yesterday - fairytale stuff, just when you thought we couldn't have anymore. Cluxton, Jamsie, and Fitzer - overtaking Spillane im particularly delighted about - feel its a bit of justice over the Connolly thing. Back in your box Pat. How good was it to see Jamsie climb those steps and lift that cup. He was a credit to himself as captain.
Personally i was delighted to see Deano come on - he deserved it and chipped in with some crucial scores.
Also delighted to see the two set of brothers lift the big one the Smalls and Basquels - great scenes for their families.
So a Div 2 team lift Sam - for the first time in a while, little did we think on that cold Jan day down in Limerick. But wasn't it all worth it!
We will winter well and enjoy this sweet win, we might loose a few solders along the way, but we will go again.
As Always,
Up The Dubs." What a load of waffle… were you at the game at all or even see it…? "Deano got some crucial scores " he scored a more than soft free that me grannie would kick over for god sake.. You should look at the game again without drink…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3827 - 31/07/2023 20:22:53
Stephen Cluxton wearing Number 1
Mick Fitzsimsons wearing Number 3
James McCarthy wearing Number 5
= 10
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/07/2023 21:18:45
Congratulations Dublin.
I think during the six in a row it became too easy to look at the Dubs and think of population, money etc. 2021 & 2022 showed that whatever advantages are there don't really matter.
This year Dublin's sheer desire is what made the difference. The hard work and massive determination to win tackles was very evident. There's reasons why Dublin have won 9 in 13 and things like work rate, coaching, great management on & off the field, will to win and composure come to mind. When a side wins so many tight games that's not down to county board spending or population. There's something about yer footballers that has got ye over the line in so many recent all Ireland finals and it is admirable.
Fair play & well done.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/08/2023 09:48:17
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "What a load of waffle… were you at the game at all or even see it…? "Deano got some crucial scores " he scored a more than soft free that me grannie would kick over for god sake.. You should look at the game again without drink…" I forget now, as it's so long ago since they exited the Tailteann contest, but was it no. 8 or no. 9 that she wore at mid-field this year for Cavan?
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2218 - 01/08/2023 10:06:01
Congratulations to dublin on a great win, a very entertaining all Ireland final and there could be no doubt about the winner. I think those 3 lads getting the 9th all Ireland really crowns this dublin side as the greatest of all time if there was ever any doubt there is none now. Ironically enough this 9th win had a lot of similarities with number 1 back in 2011 I'd expect some retirements now but what a way to finish of the most dominant era we have ever seen
Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1708 - 01/08/2023 10:33:53
Replying To foreveryoung: "I forget now, as it's so long ago since they exited the Tailteann contest, but was it no. 8 or no. 9 that she wore at mid-field this year for Cavan?" And would still kick the soft free….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3827 - 01/08/2023 10:35:40
Replying To TheUsername: "Well now, not even the weather or a banging head can get me down today.
What a sweet, sweet win. Sinking a few last night, i described watching the game yesterday like as if the Beatles got back together for one last gig and you scored a ticket. It did the heart wonders to see Stevo, Jack, Mannion, Jamsie, Deano, Fitzey, Fento, Kilkenny, Howard and Con - rock it for one last performance - which it probably was. But what a performance it was. Born out of sheer girt, determination, skill and every inch of talent and experience. Fitting that this one probably ends for a few how it started with that type of performance so like 2011.
This one is sweet, because it was a battle, for my money thats the best Kerry team since 2013, better then 2019 with the monkey of their back and a bit more experience and wisdom about them. That makes this one unique to my mind, it was like 2011. We had to look adversity and loss in the face and ask ourselves - are we good enough, do we want it, will we fight for it? And didnt we just di it in style, sucker punch of a goal before half time - no heads dropped. Twice in the second half down by three points and coming back. Down the straight we were loosing that game, but outscoring this Kerry team and their much vaunted forwards by 7-2 in the closing stages - incredible. May no man or woman question this Dublin team hunger again.
Big shout out for the back line, i questioned them more then most throughout the year but they were all magic and worthy of being called the best in the country this morning, Davy Byrne, Murch and Fitzer were sublime. Especially Fitzer, its not the first time hes done a superb job on Clifford and keeping him to a negligible point total, he was brilliant - i see plenty this morning saying Clifford had a bad day and Fitzer didnt win that much ball - what a stupid take in my opinion, Clifford wasn't allowed have a good day, those of us who played the game know there is far more to defending then winning ball, its about pushing your man out to poor scoring angles, giving him limited space to get his teqniuqe of and making him rush his shot - thats what Fitzy did, he was like glue - not for the first time on Clifford, felt in the end Clifford loss his composure, a win for Fitzy. We did brilliantly, not letting him get any advanced marks they make up a lot of his scores. Then we have Stevo - how class was it to see him coming forward, to take frees - just brilliant, greatest hits stuff! His kick outs sublime - flawless as influential as ever and radiates confidence to this group.
Midfield, again i feel we had the better of it, we flooded Howard was superb ball carrying and winning, really grew into his role from Leinster onward but vital in flooding midfield, Kilkenny dropped deep in there as and at times we had those two in there supporting Jamsie and Fento - shout out for Fento, who put the Jack Barry thing to bed in some style.
The forwards had a tough day at the office, it was that kind of day and that type of game, that didnt allow forwards to drop shapes. That said Paul Mannion's quality always shines through - the man could play in snow and still score five from the corner. Finals often throw up unlikely hero's step forward Collie Basquel and Paddy Small, that block and turnover by Collie, he was sublime for 15 mins and Paddy's goal - well in lads delighted for you both. What a year of progress for both.
On Dessie, ive never been his biggest fan and maybe i underappreciated the job of work hes taken on. He got the better of the tactical battle yesterday and deserves huge credit. You could see how much he means to this group and what they think of him - that says a lot. That 2 from 4 for him. He might be the man for the rebuild.
Some incredible scenes yesterday - fairytale stuff, just when you thought we couldn't have anymore. Cluxton, Jamsie, and Fitzer - overtaking Spillane im particularly delighted about - feel its a bit of justice over the Connolly thing. Back in your box Pat. How good was it to see Jamsie climb those steps and lift that cup. He was a credit to himself as captain.
Personally i was delighted to see Deano come on - he deserved it and chipped in with some crucial scores.
Also delighted to see the two set of brothers lift the big one the Smalls and Basquels - great scenes for their families.
So a Div 2 team lift Sam - for the first time in a while, little did we think on that cold Jan day down in Limerick. But wasn't it all worth it!
We will winter well and enjoy this sweet win, we might loose a few solders along the way, but we will go again.
As Always,
Up The Dubs." Nár thé tú thar do chuid cacamais!
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 01/08/2023 10:39:05
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "What a load of waffle… were you at the game at all or even see it…? "Deano got some crucial scores " he scored a more than soft free that me grannie would kick over for god sake.. You should look at the game again without drink…" Good man yourself!
Absolutely, agreed! Id be disappointed if anything i ever posted wasn't absolute waffle! ;D
Up the Dubs.
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 01/08/2023 10:48:44
Replying To jimbodub: "Stephen Cluxton wearing Number 1
Mick Fitzsimsons wearing Number 3
James McCarthy wearing Number 5
= 10" I wouldn't like you as my accountant….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3827 - 01/08/2023 10:59:48
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "I wouldn't like you as my accountant…." Oh yeah = 9
Bit of a coincidence that :)
And there's another new batch of Dubs on #8 to keep the Kerry lads company.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/08/2023 12:34:27
Replying To TheUsername: "Good man yourself!
Absolutely, agreed! Id be disappointed if anything i ever posted wasn't absolute waffle! ;D
Up the Dubs." Stay off the drink.. good lad
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3827 - 01/08/2023 12:37:31
Replying To baire: "Nár thé tú thar do chuid cacamais!" Ill bow to your superior knowledge of same given your County's title sponsor.
The sweetest part of any win is the begrudgery, keep her coming - its a long winter when it stars in July (or earlier) for yee. ;D
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 01/08/2023 14:01:53
Replying To baire: "Nár thé tú thar do chuid cacamais!" Tá náire orm duit. Cloí leis an liathróid bheag. Conas atá na liomóidí?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 01/08/2023 16:48:43
Replying To jimbodub: "Oh yeah = 9
Bit of a coincidence that :)
And there's another new batch of Dubs on #8 to keep the Kerry lads company." So who has gone to the 8 Jim?
Kilkenny Rock Costello? Was he on the panel in '13? Certainly was from '14 on.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 01/08/2023 17:53:49
Jimbo! You're a Ballymun Kickhams man aren't you? What's the craic up there with the medal count at this stage with the current crop? Excluding the lads from the 80s, It's through the roof at this stage. (Does Philly play at any level at this stage?)
Jamsie 9 Deano 8 Philly 8 Big Smallie 7 Little Smallie 4? Commerford 4/5? Davy Byrne 1/2?
Any sneaky ones up there that went under the radar? Ted Furman?
The only other club side I can think of that came not even close would be Austin Stacks 70/80s? About half that haul!
Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 01/08/2023 18:35:17
Fair play to all in Dublin GAA circles, ye have come a long way from 2009 & the "startled earwigs ".
Kerry held the whip hand over Dublin for many years & 2009 seemed to confirm that Kerry would continue to inflict more pain on Dublin & administer heavy beatings at will.
St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 121 - 01/08/2023 20:40:37
As Always,
Up The Dubs." Wow wow wow - finally get to sit down and post my thoughts.
Still on the indigestion tablets after having to eat my hat... ;o) Apologies RealDub for not replying to you...
Unbelievable - proud is an understatement. Cant believe we are All Ireland champions for 2023. Still hasnt sunk in yet. I am on cloud Nine - pardon the pun.
I stood on the Hill before the game on Sunday, much like the semi final last year, hoping we wouldnt be beaten by much.
But at half time I was so annoyed we were losing and conceded that goal in injury time. Dublin should have been ahead going in at the break.
2nd half, when we got the goal, I thought we are really in this game again.
Then to go 3pts down, twice I think it was, and come back, showed so much determination and grit by our lads.
We outscored kerry by 7pts to 2pt in the last 25minutes, and I felt we deserved to win the game tbh and were worthy All Ireland Champions again. No excuses and no arguments about it imo.
DC was well shackled by Mick Fitz although DC did miss some relatively easy chances by his standards. Actually felt he tried to force it. Kerry are far too over reliant on DC. One man show at times in some games. But far too much pressure and expectation on him, even since he was a teenager. Only 24 - might end up being the GOAT - but defo not near there yet. People must remember that Kerry struggled against Cork, terrible when beaten by Mayo and very lucky against Derry this year.
I thought Con was well shackled but should have scored that goal chance. Also he refused to take 2 marks which would have been 2 more easy points. Very impressed with Lee Gannon. Gonna be some player. Jamesie and Fento put in some shift and but for a couple of dropped balls by JMcC in attack we could have been in for another goal imo. Howard was immense and also won so many of the kick outs from Clucko. Jack made a big difference when he came on. Stephen had a 100% success rate with his kick outs and also scored just 1pt less than DC.... ;o) And 8pts of our score, came from his kick outs. SOS scored 1pt from play and DC only 2pts from play. Kerry only had 5 scorers to Dublin's 8 scorers. With Fento scoring 2pts whilst playing from midfield.
I thought with the exception of a couple of tackles, our controlled intensity by the likes of John Small for one, was outstanding. I just felt we wanted it more throughout.
Over 1million viewers for this final - so much for someone saying the neutral wouldnt tune in...
As someone posted - "To go on a run, not win it for a few years be relegated, to then come back and win another All Ireland against a Kerry team who were much hyped, as going on a run themselves, is incredible. We could see the emotion at the end, this has to be best and sweetest win. Unlucky to Kerry, this one will hurt" - I couldnt agree more.
Dublin and Jamesie have been in 11 All ireland finals including replays since 2011. In all 9 All Ireland wins by Dublin, they have never lost a game, no back door or defeats in groups or round robin stages, Amazing stat.
I think, like many think, this one was the sweetest of them all. To break the duck in 2011, then go from Back2Back to get the fabled 5 in a row, and then surpass that with 6 in a row. Unbelievable. We won 8 All Ireland's in a decade and now have 7 in 9 years, and 9 in 13 years also. Some record
I have never seen Fento so focused and up for it, as he was this year. Led by example. Lovely photo of him consoling DC after the final whistle also. When you hear Fenton saying this was the sweetest of all his wins - that says it all. You could see how much it meant to the players and fans. The lads were so very determined to win it this year - one last time for some imo.
The Hill went absolutely banana's at the final whistle. I kept saying is it over, really over....? lol What a day to be on the Hill. I was overjoyed to be honest. And not one bit of trouble either on the Hill it must be said...! Wonderful, intense and extremely loud atmosphere throughout. I was shattered after the game in all honesty. ;o)
Hopefully someday, someone will do a last dance style documentary for this Dublin team. I think someone else mentioned this also ;o)
Hard luck Kerry, but the returning cavalry & rest of the team, clearly had a massive point to prove to bring Sam back.
To win the All Ireland from been relegated last year and playing Div 2 this year was remarkable. Timed the run perfectly and went Unbeaten in this Championship run. But those players are without doubt the best team in football history and deserve all the credit in the world. If there was ever a doubt before if this Dublin were the best ever, there isnt now. Unrivalled now.!
It seems very fitting that it will probably be the end of 4 of these Dublin players career, they will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 - Clucko. Fitzy, Jamesie & Deano, The 3 lads getting the 9th all Ireland really crowns this Dublin side as the greatest of all time. It is gas, this 9th win had a lot of similarities with the first one back in 2011
As for the famous 3 - now proudly standing alone with 9 Senior Football All Ireland Medals, and surpassing the likes of Spillane - remarkable achievement. Stephen Cluxton, Mick Fitz, James Mc - I salute you all.
On a side note - I dont remember hearing JOC congratulating Dublin after the game. This one clearly hurt them and will do for a hell of a long time. Kerry's last AI Final win over Dublin was back in 1985 and I am sure they wanted to close the book on this Dublin team once and for all, with a back 2 back victory, but Dublin had more hunger & determination and it showed.
Finally, if that was the last time I see Clucko, Deano, Mick Fitz and Jamesie playing for Dublin - well all I can say is I was honoured to be there on Sunday and to be there for all 9 of those All Ireland wins. Lifetime memories - THANK YOU This win is definitely the sweetest of all and will bring a smile to my face for many a year thinking about it. WOW, just wow.....!
To all my Dublin comrades ( lol ) on here, inc Jackeen - Enjoy the continued celebrations. I know I will, for a very long time....
I need a drink after that...... lol ;o)
Atha Cliath Abú #GOAT #Legends #Immortal
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 01/08/2023 21:49:03