RTE Sport Awards

Think Kellie or Rachel would both be worthy winners of the award, other years you'd be scraping the barrel to find a winner, it was James Mcclean 1 year i remember.

On the bbc international sportsperson great to see Rachel nominated with company like Tom Brady, Novak Djokovic and Max Verstappen.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 12/12/2021 09:51:00    2392504

Is there a genuine case for cian lynch as sports person of the year. On the field he's shown us that he is someone the sport really hasnt seen before. He plays with a freedom and abandon that has yet to be seen before. His natural ability and the things he pulls off are off the charts.

He has won his 2nd HOTY and in a different position to 18. Only one other player in history has won more than one HOTY. People talk about role models for young girls in katie Taylor etc but if argue cian is an even bigger one for young men. He advocates mental health awareness physical and emotional well being and constantly refers to community and family importance to his success.

He is a non drinker non smoker and has a genuinely natural qat about him

I'm not sure i can think of for a more deserving winner.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1121 - 12/12/2021 11:33:22    2392522

Replying To wexico15:  "Think Kellie or Rachel would both be worthy winners of the award, other years you'd be scraping the barrel to find a winner, it was James Mcclean 1 year i remember.

On the bbc international sportsperson great to see Rachel nominated with company like Tom Brady, Novak Djokovic and Max Verstappen."
Rachael is not one of the best in a sport that men and women compete in equally. The only international sport where we were are recognised as best in the world, rather than lads who turn up and get beaten in quarter finals!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2518 - 12/12/2021 12:19:36    2392527

Replying To daveboy:  "Is there a genuine case for cian lynch as sports person of the year. On the field he's shown us that he is someone the sport really hasnt seen before. He plays with a freedom and abandon that has yet to be seen before. His natural ability and the things he pulls off are off the charts.

He has won his 2nd HOTY and in a different position to 18. Only one other player in history has won more than one HOTY. People talk about role models for young girls in katie Taylor etc but if argue cian is an even bigger one for young men. He advocates mental health awareness physical and emotional well being and constantly refers to community and family importance to his success.

He is a non drinker non smoker and has a genuinely natural qat about him

I'm not sure i can think of for a more deserving winner."
Daveboy, I wholeheartedly agree, but cannot see Lynch getting it.

Hurling has won the RTE Sportsperson of the Year twice: Shefflin in 2006; no arguments. Henry was going to win it some year, such was his outstanding contribution to Irish sport. Was once enough?

Then a year earlier, we had Sean Og. To me, also a worthy recipient, but for reasons different to Henry. Sean Og, in addition to his fearless hurling skills, brought a new identity to the scene-an Irishman born in Fiji, yet more fluent in the native Irish tongue than probably 85% of the population. Plus, his good looks and engaging demeanor possibly didn't do him any harm. I'd say if it had gone to a people's vote in 2005, Sean Og would also have been chosen. I've often wondered why he has never ran for Dáil Éireann (too honest???).

Btw, whatever they call it, or change it, or whatever the years were, it is still Hurler of the Year for me, and that goes back to 1958.

So, Brian Corcoran has won it twice (1992/1999); Shefflin three times (2002/2006/2012); DJ twice (1992/2000); and Cian Lynch twice (2018/2021). I might be missing some player; how many times did Eoin Kelly, of Tipp, win it?

Why is there such comments as "[the] Limerick star is the first hurler since Kilkenny legend and three-time winner Henry Shefflin to have won the overall award more than once in modern times"? DJ's career is still quite modern enough, as is Corcoran's. They've both won it twice.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 12/12/2021 12:31:36    2392530

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Daveboy, I wholeheartedly agree, but cannot see Lynch getting it.

Hurling has won the RTE Sportsperson of the Year twice: Shefflin in 2006; no arguments. Henry was going to win it some year, such was his outstanding contribution to Irish sport. Was once enough?

Then a year earlier, we had Sean Og. To me, also a worthy recipient, but for reasons different to Henry. Sean Og, in addition to his fearless hurling skills, brought a new identity to the scene-an Irishman born in Fiji, yet more fluent in the native Irish tongue than probably 85% of the population. Plus, his good looks and engaging demeanor possibly didn't do him any harm. I'd say if it had gone to a people's vote in 2005, Sean Og would also have been chosen. I've often wondered why he has never ran for Dáil Éireann (too honest???).

Btw, whatever they call it, or change it, or whatever the years were, it is still Hurler of the Year for me, and that goes back to 1958.

So, Brian Corcoran has won it twice (1992/1999); Shefflin three times (2002/2006/2012); DJ twice (1992/2000); and Cian Lynch twice (2018/2021). I might be missing some player; how many times did Eoin Kelly, of Tipp, win it?

Why is there such comments as "[the
Limerick star is the first hurler since Kilkenny legend and three-time winner Henry Shefflin to have won the overall award more than once in modern times"? DJ's career is still quite modern enough, as is Corcoran's. They've both won it twice."]"DJ twice (1992/2000)" That should be 1993, not 92.
Brian Whelahan was also won hurler of the year twice in 1994 and 1998.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 12/12/2021 12:50:10    2392534

RTÉ coverage of gaelic games is woefully bad. Bad presenters, pundits commenting on their own counties saying absolutely nothing, commentators past their sell by date, bad direction of match coverage e. g missing vital bits of action and replays, the woke agenda including the women as pundits who quite simply have not played at the elite level in the men's games etc etc. And I won't go into their terrible news coverage over the past year and a half

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/12/2021 13:05:17    2392537

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Rachael is not one of the best in a sport that men and women compete in equally. The only international sport where we were are recognised as best in the world, rather than lads who turn up and get beaten in quarter finals!"
IS one of THE best obviously!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2518 - 12/12/2021 13:17:50    2392539

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "RTÉ coverage of gaelic games is woefully bad. Bad presenters, pundits commenting on their own counties saying absolutely nothing, commentators past their sell by date, bad direction of match coverage e. g missing vital bits of action and replays, the woke agenda including the women as pundits who quite simply have not played at the elite level in the men's games etc etc. And I won't go into their terrible news coverage over the past year and a half"
Agree 100%. including their North Korean like "news" service.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2518 - 12/12/2021 14:38:54    2392547

Replying To Saynothing:  "They're not half as bad as"taking the knee" what a joke."
Yup. That has run its course.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/12/2021 15:49:02    2392558

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Do you work for RTÉ Greengrass?

Look it's only my opinion but I reckon RTÉ is brutal in everything it attempts to do, and if people had the choice of paying €160 a year for it or not having it at all then it would be bye bye RTÉ."
You're more than entitled to your opinion KingdomBoy. I also respect your right to articulate your opinion. I don't agree with you in relation to RTÉ. I don't work for them. RTÉ isn't without its flaws . I recognise that but I have no time for the "everything RTÉ does is s***e" point of view. They broadcast plenty of good material. I watched a terrific documentary on the kidnapping of Don Tidey last week.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/12/2021 15:54:42    2392559

Replying To Greengrass:  "You're more than entitled to your opinion KingdomBoy. I also respect your right to articulate your opinion. I don't agree with you in relation to RTÉ. I don't work for them. RTÉ isn't without its flaws . I recognise that but I have no time for the "everything RTÉ does is s***e" point of view. They broadcast plenty of good material. I watched a terrific documentary on the kidnapping of Don Tidey last week."
Fair enough greengrass, everyone to their own, personally I'm not getting €160 worth from RTÉ, for the few matches I'd watch on it every year its not worth it to me.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2021 16:48:25    2392566

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair enough greengrass, everyone to their own, personally I'm not getting €160 worth from RTÉ, for the few matches I'd watch on it every year its not worth it to me."
That's no problem. Each to his own KingdomBoy.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/12/2021 18:20:11    2392589

Replying To Greengrass:  "That's no problem. Each to his own KingdomBoy."
Sound greengrass.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2021 19:26:16    2392601

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "RTÉ coverage of gaelic games is woefully bad. Bad presenters, pundits commenting on their own counties saying absolutely nothing, commentators past their sell by date, bad direction of match coverage e. g missing vital bits of action and replays, the woke agenda including the women as pundits who quite simply have not played at the elite level in the men's games etc etc. And I won't go into their terrible news coverage over the past year and a half"
I'm amazed that more people don't realise that several commentators in RTE are well past their sell by date. And as for the sports reporters on RTE News - the question there is who is the biggest gobshite.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 12/12/2021 19:33:24    2392605

Completely over the top. They're now showing club hurling games as well as a load of inter county games. For a small island we are blessed to have so much GAA coverage. People forget that the pundits are all amateurs in full time jobs as well who have a small amount of time to prepare for it.
A nation of whingers is what we are.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 13/12/2021 11:34:15    2392653

Replying To tiobraid:  "Completely over the top. They're now showing club hurling games as well as a load of inter county games. For a small island we are blessed to have so much GAA coverage. People forget that the pundits are all amateurs in full time jobs as well who have a small amount of time to prepare for it.
A nation of whingers is what we are."
Televised club games under lights on a Saturday evening make for great viewing, glad to see RTE get more involved in the club scene. I think like everything else they have some good and bad.

I think Joanne Cantwell does a great job, she had massive boots to fill in replacing Michael Lyster. Donal Óg Cusack is great on the analysis, Darragh Moloney is a good commentator and for me i love the nostalgia of having Ger Canning commentating. You hear his voice booming out and you just think of the Summer time and the white heat of battle in the championship.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 13/12/2021 11:51:14    2392654

Replying To tiobraid:  "Completely over the top. They're now showing club hurling games as well as a load of inter county games. For a small island we are blessed to have so much GAA coverage. People forget that the pundits are all amateurs in full time jobs as well who have a small amount of time to prepare for it.
A nation of whingers is what we are."
Not a bit of it. They're showing club games after decades of ignoring it because they see the ratings from tg4 for similar coverage. We are blessed to have tg4's excellent coverage, but it is very poor on rte. And this nonsense about amateur pundits, do you think it makes sense that they continue to have pundits from a county standing in on a match involving that county, some of whom might have played with them 2 or 3 years earlier maybe? Are they going to be objective in their views on them. Of course not. If they can't properly prepare for a role then they need to step away from it. What are ya on about whingers for? This is a thread on a forum about RTE, and I am making my point, grow up.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 13/12/2021 14:55:42    2392697

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Not a bit of it. They're showing club games after decades of ignoring it because they see the ratings from tg4 for similar coverage. We are blessed to have tg4's excellent coverage, but it is very poor on rte. And this nonsense about amateur pundits, do you think it makes sense that they continue to have pundits from a county standing in on a match involving that county, some of whom might have played with them 2 or 3 years earlier maybe? Are they going to be objective in their views on them. Of course not. If they can't properly prepare for a role then they need to step away from it. What are ya on about whingers for? This is a thread on a forum about RTE, and I am making my point, grow up."
So what's your solution. Pay pundits like MNF on Skysports and invest heavily in technology for club games with a few hundred supporters? Then complain for the cost of the TV license? Did you ever think a lot of pundits from outside counties would have little or only a small amount of knowledge about clubs in other counties? I'll hold my hands up and say that I'd know little about the Wexford club hurling championship for example so wouyld it not be very useful to have a punidt with an inside knowledge on the county cship. I'm struggling to understand basically any of your points. All you really say is everything is "bad" or "poor" - if that's not whinging I don't know what is. Irish people need to live abroad for a while and see all that we have handed to us here is a luxury and not "poor" or "bad".

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 13/12/2021 16:08:58    2392710

I'm genuinely finding it hard to believe that people are complaining about RTE's decision last year to start showing club GAA matches. As somebody else said, it really does look like a case of "damned if you do, and damned if you don't", because it seems some people just look for a way to give out about RTE anyway.

I don't think it was a case of "hopping on the bandwagon". I think it was a case of RTE recognising that due to all the changes brought by Covid and the re-structuring of the fixtures calendar, they had a gap in their sports coverage at the time of year when they'd normally have been showing the closing stages of the All-Ireland championships. And rather than saying "ah well, not our fault if the GAA are not playing those games at this time of year any more, nothing we can do about it", they instead went out and filled the GAA "hole" in their coverage by starting to do club matches as well.

I think they should be commended for it, not criticised.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2228 - 13/12/2021 16:10:39    2392711

Oh, and as regards pundits on RTE being "poor", I'd wager that most people couldn't even tell if the pundits on TG4 are good or bad, because their own Irish isn't good enough to understand what's being said there.

Have been watching club action myself on TG4 since it started more than 20 years ago, and grateful as I am for all the matches they show, I still don't understand 90% or more of what the commentators or analysts are actually saying.

Fair play to all those with better Irish than me, if they understand more of it, but I daresay that the vast majority of us are only catching and properly understanding the odd bit.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2228 - 13/12/2021 16:15:21    2392713