RTE Sport Awards

Replying To KillingFields:  "wound down. Why? we then would have virtually no irish programming on our screens. what benefit would losing rte bring?"
You'd still have TG4 and Virgín/Tv3 far superior channels to RTÉ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2021 21:16:30    2392357

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I think Barney is having a bad day all right and that he's definitely not on the money here anyway.

Full list of all RTE Sports Personalities winners is here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RT%C3%89_Sports_Person_of_the_Year

I don't see anybody there from a minority sport "that no one plays or watches". Conor McGregor and MMA might be closest to it terms of people involved in the sport, but there are still huge numbers who watch it. I'm not one of them, but that's beside the point.

Think he's probably getting it mixed up with the BBC award. There was controversy about 15 or 20 years ago when Zara Phillips won it for Three Day Eventing."
I think maybe you should look again at the list of winners of the individual award and tell all the boys and girls how many times it has been won by a GAA person.

Actually let me save you the trouble.

Twice in 36 years.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 11/12/2021 08:44:43    2392361

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "I think Barney is having a bad day all right and that he's definitely not on the money here anyway.

Full list of all RTE Sports Personalities winners is here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RT%C3%89_Sports_Person_of_the_Year

I don't see anybody there from a minority sport "that no one plays or watches". Conor McGregor and MMA might be closest to it terms of people involved in the sport, but there are still huge numbers who watch it. I'm not one of them, but that's beside the point.

Think he's probably getting it mixed up with the BBC award. There was controversy about 15 or 20 years ago when Zara Phillips won it for Three Day Eventing."
I think maybe you should look again at the list of winners of the individual award and tell all the boys and girls how many times it has been won by a GAA person.

Twice in 36 years."
Who were the 2 gaa winners Barney?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2021 11:31:57    2392377

Barney, I was replying to posts about how you complained that the award was won one year by somebody from "some minority sport that no one plays or watches".

How many times it's been won by a hurler or gaelic footballer, and whether more awards should have gone to GAA personalities over the years, is a different matter.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 11/12/2021 11:41:32    2392378

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To BarneyGrant:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "I think Barney is having a bad day all right and that he's definitely not on the money here anyway.

Twice in 36 years."
Who were the 2 gaa winners Barney?"]Sean Óg and Henry.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 11/12/2021 11:59:55    2392382

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "100%, RTÉ should be wound down now as its not fit for purpose, I heard they might lose the rights Irelands fittest families next."
God but I hate that phrase "not fit for purpose". It's up there with the other pretentious and unnecessary phrases like" going forward", 'grow the business", and "reach out". You say RTE should be 'wound down". Where would that leave us KingdomBoy1?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/12/2021 12:06:08    2392384

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To BarneyGrant:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "I think Barney is having a bad day all right and that he's definitely not on the money here anyway.

Twice in 36 years."
Who were the 2 gaa winners Barney?"]2005 - Seán Óg Ó hAilpín
2006 - Henry Shefflin

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 11/12/2021 12:08:26    2392385

Thanks Barney and cockney cat.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2021 13:02:00    2392388

I think it would be a very bad decision to close RTE. I think, especially for a small country it's very important to have a national broadcaster, it will ensure we will get to see Irish made programming and programs specific to Ireland.
Some things RTE do well (Love Hate and similar programs have been very good) and some things RTE aren't as good at.
Regarding sports I think the punditry analysis (I mean the discussions not the live action commentary) on RTE sport has went downhill a bit in recent years. I often find annoying when your at a match and a controversial incident happens which spoken a lot about by spectators at the game but is ignored in the analysis on that night's show.
Current affairs programs also aren't as good as they used to be.
It doesn't bother me too much if a rival channel to RTE available to most wins the rights to show the main championship matches (or other sports of big national interest), no one is missing out in that case, it might be better if it went to other channels in that case anyway as the other channels would not be using tax payers money to buy the rights.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 11/12/2021 13:11:09    2392389

Replying To Greengrass:  "God but I hate that phrase "not fit for purpose". It's up there with the other pretentious and unnecessary phrases like" going forward", 'grow the business", and "reach out". You say RTE should be 'wound down". Where would that leave us KingdomBoy1?"
I suppose I could have said that RTÉ is banjaxed and stuck in the past with over paid presenters who invite famous people from other countries on their shows to ask them the question like what do they think of Ireland and how are they connected to our country, so the famous person says Ireland is the best little country in the world and their great great grandfather was from Roscommon followed by the audience clapping histerically with a few whoops from a Roscommon person who happens to be there.

Then said presenter will ask the famous person if they tried the Guinness to which the famous person will say its the greatest alcoholic beverage in the world and the audience goes wild with clapping and a few more whoops from the Guinness drinkers.

Can you see where I'm going?

RTÉ is a waste of money and I'd only watch it if there was a match on it that I couldn't find on another channel.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2021 13:16:03    2392391

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Have you heard of TG4?"
People on another forum saying, " great old RTÉ showing club football" TG4 always showed it and RTÉ jumped on the bandwagon during Covid. The only programs worth watching are GAA, news and weather. on RTÉ is GAA and news and weather.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 11/12/2021 13:49:48    2392392

Replying To Saynothing:  "People on another forum saying, " great old RTÉ showing club football" TG4 always showed it and RTÉ jumped on the bandwagon during Covid. The only programs worth watching are GAA, news and weather. on RTÉ is GAA and news and weather."
100%,

RTÉ never bothered with club football and hurling but when they saw the numbers of people that were watching it on TG4 they hopped on the wagon.

TG4 are a brilliant channel.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2021 14:48:37    2392396

Replying To Saynothing:  "People on another forum saying, " great old RTÉ showing club football" TG4 always showed it and RTÉ jumped on the bandwagon during Covid. The only programs worth watching are GAA, news and weather. on RTÉ is GAA and news and weather."
You might be referring to something I said, which was simply that it's great that RTE are now showing club matches as well, and that there are more club matches (e.g. from earlier rounds of championships) now being shown than before.

I never criticised or ignored TG4's long-standing and excellent coverage. I simply commented that it's great that there's now extra coverage as well, in addition to the great job that TG4 continue to do.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 11/12/2021 15:25:13    2392403

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "100%,

RTÉ never bothered with club football and hurling but when they saw the numbers of people that were watching it on TG4 they hopped on the wagon.

TG4 are a brilliant channel."
True but I think they moved in COVID times moreso because so many GAA supporters putting hands in their pockets to support their county and give a few quid to their clubs and county funds. Some with dubious quality but well intentioned. You're giving out about Tubridy above, with good reason in some cases, and I like the craic there, cheered me up nicely. But Tubridy, D'Arcy and a few others, whether you like them or not, are one of the few turning a profit for RTE through lucrative sponsorship deals. Just because we mightn't like then, a large audience does and sponsors love them. As for the likes of KIN, how much did RTE pay IKEA for the interiors? Looked mighty but some terrible acting. State funding, advertising, licence money and they still have the hand out for more and ignoring the number of alternatives open to viewers in 2021. Don't close RTE TV, sell the profitable parts and give us back the TV licence money so we can use it elsewhere, maybe shop local for County streams. Is there any need for TV licence outside of propping up RTE television? Government are taking in plenty of tax revenue from other streaming services which have to sing for the supper or we'll go and watch something else. Hard to beat Sunday Sport though, on days when updates from games are bouncing thick and fast though the radio. Each to their own.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 11/12/2021 15:51:15    2392409

Replying To GreenandRed:  "True but I think they moved in COVID times moreso because so many GAA supporters putting hands in their pockets to support their county and give a few quid to their clubs and county funds. Some with dubious quality but well intentioned. You're giving out about Tubridy above, with good reason in some cases, and I like the craic there, cheered me up nicely. But Tubridy, D'Arcy and a few others, whether you like them or not, are one of the few turning a profit for RTE through lucrative sponsorship deals. Just because we mightn't like then, a large audience does and sponsors love them. As for the likes of KIN, how much did RTE pay IKEA for the interiors? Looked mighty but some terrible acting. State funding, advertising, licence money and they still have the hand out for more and ignoring the number of alternatives open to viewers in 2021. Don't close RTE TV, sell the profitable parts and give us back the TV licence money so we can use it elsewhere, maybe shop local for County streams. Is there any need for TV licence outside of propping up RTE television? Government are taking in plenty of tax revenue from other streaming services which have to sing for the supper or we'll go and watch something else. Hard to beat Sunday Sport though, on days when updates from games are bouncing thick and fast though the radio. Each to their own."
That's true green and red, a lot of people do like tubbridy and Ray D'Arcy, I met D'Arcy years ago when he was doing the Rose of Tralee and he came across as an awful diva, I remember some lad who was doing a plumbing job in the Brandon and was walking in with his toolbox and he shouted over well Ray like the intro to D'Arcys fix it Friday radio show and D'Arcy got sour with him,

Im definitely now getting €160 worth from my licence fee as we're lucky enough to have sky and TG4 plus we have Netflix and Amazon prime.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2021 16:14:31    2392412

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I suppose I could have said that RTÉ is banjaxed and stuck in the past with over paid presenters who invite famous people from other countries on their shows to ask them the question like what do they think of Ireland and how are they connected to our country, so the famous person says Ireland is the best little country in the world and their great great grandfather was from Roscommon followed by the audience clapping histerically with a few whoops from a Roscommon person who happens to be there.

Then said presenter will ask the famous person if they tried the Guinness to which the famous person will say its the greatest alcoholic beverage in the world and the audience goes wild with clapping and a few more whoops from the Guinness drinkers.

Can you see where I'm going?

RTÉ is a waste of money and I'd only watch it if there was a match on it that I couldn't find on another channel."
That's nonsense KingdomBoy.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/12/2021 19:43:39    2392458

They're damned if they don't and damned if they do. RTE's coverage of Gaelic games was poor. They only covered championship from May to the end of September. Everything else at all levels was ignored to their shame. Now thankfully RTÉ is expanding their coverage yet according to you they are "jumping on the bandwagon".

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/12/2021 19:48:35    2392460

Replying To Greengrass:  "God but I hate that phrase "not fit for purpose". It's up there with the other pretentious and unnecessary phrases like" going forward", 'grow the business", and "reach out". You say RTE should be 'wound down". Where would that leave us KingdomBoy1?"
They're not half as bad as"taking the knee" what a joke.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 11/12/2021 20:01:55    2392467

Replying To Greengrass:  "That's nonsense KingdomBoy."
Do you work for RTÉ Greengrass?

Look it's only my opinion but I reckon RTÉ is brutal in everything it attempts to do, and if people had the choice of paying €160 a year for it or not having it at all then it would be bye bye RTÉ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2021 20:04:29    2392469

Replying To Greengrass:  "They're damned if they don't and damned if they do. RTE's coverage of Gaelic games was poor. They only covered championship from May to the end of September. Everything else at all levels was ignored to their shame. Now thankfully RTÉ is expanding their coverage yet according to you they are "jumping on the bandwagon"."
Yip

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 11/12/2021 20:42:38    2392479