Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To jobber:  "No denying that.The only road though is constant year in year out underage development.Plunketts,Southern Gaels Delvin,Cullion and Daltons on their own and Clan Na Gael,Na Piarsaigh and St Vincents amalgamations.It will be a long slog but doable over a decade and not all will make it."
Delvin,Cullion and St.Vincent's didn't field there own under under 17 teams this year and probably won't be able to field at under 18 next year again. This is were the gaps are and no sign of them closing with small numbers at under 13 and Cullion and St.Vincent's struggling in division 2 to win any games.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 45 - 11/11/2023 19:10:29    2512460

Replying To Dheen:  "And how Raharney fair tomorrow will give us an indicator of where our top level club hurling is at. I expect the deelsiders to give a good account of themselves. They have the forwards."
Na fianna will beat them a point a man

CasKD (Westmeath) - Posts: 38 - 12/11/2023 08:32:12    2512493

Replying To jobber:  "People on here have been discussing the standard at senior B during the year.We got a good indication today."
I thought the Senior B standard this year was pretty bad, no disrespect to the winners as you can only beat what's in front of you, but look at the facts. Plunketts were nearly relegated last year, stayed up by virtue of winning a penalty shootout. Ringtown just up from Intermediate and got to the final, The Wood (who are in decline) got to the semi-final having not made the knockouts last year. Cullion just down from Senior were poor and could've ended up in the relegation game only for results went for them in the final round. Delvin were finalists in 21 & 22 but ended up in relegation game, Brownstown made the semi last year and ended up relegated this year. The division was turned on its head. I'd say most people would've had a Delvin-Cullion final in their heads. More worringly, Ringtown hammered the wood in the semi and Plunketts won the final very comfortably.

stonemadbeany (USA) - Posts: 565 - 12/11/2023 12:47:03    2512512

Na Piarsaigh deserving winners, Williams the stand out player. CTG were big favourites but too many of their big players had an off day.
Great quality on display by both sides.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 858 - 12/11/2023 13:03:40    2512514

Replying To Yellow&Green:  "Delvin,Cullion and St.Vincent's didn't field there own under under 17 teams this year and probably won't be able to field at under 18 next year again. This is were the gaps are and no sign of them closing with small numbers at under 13 and Cullion and St.Vincent's struggling in division 2 to win any games."
You are right these clubs are struggling.The Wood and Ringtown need to work very hard at it. Great win for Na Piersaig in the under 19 final. With Clan Na Gael winning the 13s and Na Piarsaig the 19s these amalgamations are beginning to work. It wont be long until the moaning starts from some of the big 3 but isnt that great news.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1542 - 12/11/2023 14:22:20    2512521

Raharney down by 3 pts at half time after hitting some bad wides. 0-14-0-11

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 858 - 12/11/2023 14:40:16    2512528

Replying To Dheen:  "Na Piarsaigh deserving winners, Williams the stand out player. CTG were big favourites but too many of their big players had an off day.
Great quality on display by both sides."
Williams was head an shoulders above every player on the pitch, daire smyth was excellent on David o Reilly, Turin have a bright future with players of his calibre coming through

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 243 - 12/11/2023 15:54:08    2512545

Good game in the park. Bits of indiscipline and 5 weeks without a competitive match probably the difference.Appaently running our championships properly puts the Westmeath champions at a disadvantage.Leinster need to start their championships earlier

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1542 - 12/11/2023 16:09:27    2512549

A valiant performance from Raharney, even though Na Fianna were the better team Raharney were in no way outclassed. Definitely the best Westmeath club performance against a top team in Leinster for a very long time.

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 291 - 12/11/2023 16:11:11    2512550

Replying To westmeathgaa11:  "Williams was head an shoulders above every player on the pitch, daire smyth was excellent on David o Reilly, Turin have a bright future with players of his calibre coming through"
Yeah Darragh Smith did well on O'Reilly who had a rare off day. Smith has a chance of starting on county u20 team, probably wing back. He's a promising defender.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 858 - 12/11/2023 16:32:41    2512556

Replying To jobber:  "Good game in the park. Bits of indiscipline and 5 weeks without a competitive match probably the difference.Appaently running our championships properly puts the Westmeath champions at a disadvantage.Leinster need to start their championships earlier"
Or Westmeath need to plan their championships based on when Leinster is being played. County footballers out 6 days after losing to Tyrone , is there a need for club championships to start that early?

Wmeath2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 178 - 12/11/2023 17:09:08    2512565

Disappointing display by Castletown, they won the minor two years ago convincingly and had four or five seniors starting today, great boost for Na Piarsaigh after disappointing minor final.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 12/11/2023 17:11:59    2512567

Replying To jobber:  "You are right these clubs are struggling.The Wood and Ringtown need to work very hard at it. Great win for Na Piersaig in the under 19 final. With Clan Na Gael winning the 13s and Na Piarsaig the 19s these amalgamations are beginning to work. It wont be long until the moaning starts from some of the big 3 but isnt that great news."
I don't think the big 3 will be moaning at all. What happens when these lads get to adult level? They go back to their own clubs! The big 3 are well able to field on their own & while they might not be winning all of the underage titles they are still very competitive & will benefit from it more so than the amalgamations. Same for Plunketts, very competitive at all age groups.
Clonkill won u15 & u17 & lost out to a strong amalgamation team in u13. Raharney very strong at u15 level this year & while CTG didn't win today most of those lads will go on to win senior championships. I saw a post from on social media from the LLG club saying LLG 1.14 CTG 2.08...I don't think Turin would be too happy with that.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 245 - 12/11/2023 17:58:07    2512575

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "A valiant performance from Raharney, even though Na Fianna were the better team Raharney were in no way outclassed. Definitely the best Westmeath club performance against a top team in Leinster for a very long time."
Raharney have some very capable hurlers, they hurled well.

Albeit Na Fianna were missing one of the best forwards in Ireland in their attack, Donal Burke.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 785 - 12/11/2023 19:12:01    2512586

Good effort by Raharney against top opposition. The Leinster SH round 1 draw hasnt been kind to Westmeath teams.
2023- Dublin
2022-Kilkenny
2021- Dublin
2020- no competition
2019- Kilkenny
2018 - Dublin.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 190 - 12/11/2023 20:04:40    2512591

Replying To Left Full:  "I don't think the big 3 will be moaning at all. What happens when these lads get to adult level? They go back to their own clubs! The big 3 are well able to field on their own & while they might not be winning all of the underage titles they are still very competitive & will benefit from it more so than the amalgamations. Same for Plunketts, very competitive at all age groups.
Clonkill won u15 & u17 & lost out to a strong amalgamation team in u13. Raharney very strong at u15 level this year & while CTG didn't win today most of those lads will go on to win senior championships. I saw a post from on social media from the LLG club saying LLG 1.14 CTG 2.08...I don't think Turin would be too happy with that."
Castletown will have all of Peter Clarke, David O'Reilly, Peter Murphy, Sean Jackson, Shane Corcoran, David Maloney, Shane Doran, Odhran Gavigan, Neale Pearson etc at senior level going forward. Lough Lene Gaels won't have Conor Heffernan, Darragh Smith, Conor Leech etc.
That's the difference when it comes to the big 3 vs these amalgamations.
Fair play to Turin, they are providing a lot of the talent to Na Piarsaigh, albeit Davy Williams was the difference today.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 858 - 12/11/2023 20:39:53    2512597

Replying To Left Full:  "I don't think the big 3 will be moaning at all. What happens when these lads get to adult level? They go back to their own clubs! The big 3 are well able to field on their own & while they might not be winning all of the underage titles they are still very competitive & will benefit from it more so than the amalgamations. Same for Plunketts, very competitive at all age groups.
Clonkill won u15 & u17 & lost out to a strong amalgamation team in u13. Raharney very strong at u15 level this year & while CTG didn't win today most of those lads will go on to win senior championships. I saw a post from on social media from the LLG club saying LLG 1.14 CTG 2.08...I don't think Turin would be too happy with that."
Well that is lies LLG socials state na piarsigh absolutely everywhere, there's a fella that's trying to cause trouble between a successful amalgamation

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 243 - 12/11/2023 21:12:09    2512603

Replying To Wmeath2:  "Or Westmeath need to plan their championships based on when Leinster is being played. County footballers out 6 days after losing to Tyrone , is there a need for club championships to start that early?"
Yes especially in Hurling as you want matches played on a good surface.Leinster need to start their champioships earlier.Its a no brainer with Walsh and O Byrne cups starting in the first days of january.Why should we hold our championships up for the likes of Kilkenny who dont allow football after Easter Sunday and still cant manage to finish the 1 sport they have before the last Sunday in October.
As for the big 3 not moaning we are already listening to it giving out about the number of substitutes the amalgamation clubs have had at finals.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1542 - 12/11/2023 22:12:42    2512613

Replying To CasKD:  "Na fianna will beat them a point a man"
Disappointing for you that your negative prediction didn't come through. A one score game for 56 minutes and while Raharney ended up losing by 8 that certainly didn't reflect contest.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 13/11/2023 09:02:35    2512629

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Disappointing for you that your negative prediction didn't come through. A one score game for 56 minutes and while Raharney ended up losing by 8 that certainly didn't reflect contest."
Majority of national media saying 8 pts flattered Na Fianna. I'd agree, Na Fianna were the better team on the day but I felt they were only 3 points better. The sending off of Killian Doyle halted Raharneys charge coming to the end of the game. Na Fianna beat Kilmacud Crokes by 16 pts in the Dublin final.
Raharney definitely gave a good account of themselves and when you consider they needed a goal in the last minute to beat the Gaels, it's safe to say Senior A level in Westmeath is at a quiet decent level. The issue lies between Senior B to Senior A where their is a big gap in quality. I think that's a fair reflection.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 858 - 13/11/2023 11:47:30    2512671