Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To 35OLT:  "Nice looking line out posted for the Carlow match tomorrow. Glad to see A Clarke in at midfield as they were sorely lacking in that area last weekend vs Kerry. Strong bench too, unfortunately lacking Glennon who took a knock at the weekend.
I think Tommy Doyle works well in the center back position and probably should take his points if the wind is with him. good to see the Cullion boys pulling serious weight here.
Carlow are without Marty Kavanagh so hopefully a good win tomorrow!"
Marty Kavanagh is playing, but I'd still expect us to win down there all going well

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 13/02/2022 10:56:48    2400054

Shocking performance down in Carlow. A lot of lads playing there today that wouldn't make some club teams in the county.
Also, how is Gerry Russell still commentating on games for Midlands 103? Shocking bad commentary.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 13/02/2022 15:26:22    2400110

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Despite a distinctly average performance last Sunday, the first half in particular was full of mistakes by both sides, westmeath are by a distance the best team in the division. Kerry have definitely gone backwards in the past two years even allowing for the absent Kilmoyley players. Carlow have also regressed considerably and Westmeath will easily win the division. Division 2 hurling at its current standard will be poor preparation for the huge challenges of facing Kilkenny, Galway etc in April and May when the pace will be considerably quicker. Our most important match this year will be against Laois who performed very well in their opening league match."
I think the less said about your knowledge of hurling the better!!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 13/02/2022 16:32:06    2400129

Depressing. With a performance like that a top team ( no offense to Carlow) would have put up a cricket score against Westmeath.
I'd wince at the thought of the Leinster Championship coming up. We could be cannon fodder.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 13/02/2022 16:53:07    2400136

My God, what a waste of an afternoon! We are so far off division 1 and Liam McCarthy level that it's frightening.

locklanegale (Wexford) - Posts: 68 - 13/02/2022 16:54:36    2400137

Obviously I'd disagree!!! Seriously, that was an abject display with the late scores putting an unfair gloss on the scoreline. At one stage it was almost double scores. I still think we have the best squad in the division in hurling terms but other qualities are hugely important in the modern game and they were noticeably lacking today. Most worrying is the fact that we were short two regulars or starters.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 13/02/2022 17:25:03    2400145

Absolutely atrocious performance. Carlow absolutely bullied and played Westmeath off the park. We looked absolutely toothless in attack and the defence left oceans of space. Leaving players like Chris Nolan that space is criminal.
Carlows half back line cleaned up and won all 50/50 balls. Carlow were able to play short passes around our forwards unchallenged. A serious amount of work to be done going by that performance.

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 13/02/2022 17:44:18    2400152

Think we needed the result more than your lads. Probably Mouse Kavanagh missing may have seeped into overconfidence for Westmeath.

Look, on any given day Carlow, Westmeath, Antrim, Leix and Kerry can each beat the other.

Home advantage is a big thing. I still think both teams will meet again in the final.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 13/02/2022 18:17:21    2400161

Replying To locklanegale:  "My God, what a waste of an afternoon! We are so far off division 1 and Liam McCarthy level that it's frightening."
Look at how bad offaly are today, they have a manager in his third season in charge and have no gameplan or system and they are in division 1...the division 2 is wide open now, down are on top and kildare bottom. I don't understand why westmeath keep changing managers and not allowing a system to b put into permanent place, o brien quit out of nowhere after the relegation defeat to Laois which to me I couldn't understand he got westmeath to the championship this year and played decent hurling against kerry and Laois. now the new manager already could be under scrutiny

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 735 - 13/02/2022 18:34:34    2400166

Definite wake up call for new management team. Kevin Regan was a loss early on as he had started promisingly and looked capable of adding to the point he got, the reality is that only Darragh Egerton and Tommy Doyle competed with the Carlow lads and both emerged with reputations enhanced. Carlow easily 12-15 points the better team. Imagine what they would have won by with Marty Kavanagh playing.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 13/02/2022 18:49:05    2400171

Niall O'Brien, Davy Glennon and Robbie Greville massive players to come back in, but the performance today is severely worrying. The first half against Kerry was also. I was hoping we would come good in the second half today, just like we did against Kerry but we didn't. Serious improvements are needed if we are to have a hope of getting out of Division 2A.
The young lads that impressed down in Carlow a couple of weeks ago in the Kehoe cup when we defeated them with the likes of Marty Kavanagh and Co playing, where are they??
With the exception of Gillen and McCabe, they aren't being given more of a chance.
We should be giving them their deserved chance. Eamonn Cunneen, Jamie Mulkearns, Morgan Gavigan, Luke Moore, couldn't have done any worse than what was out today?
They should be given more of a run than persisting with Alan Cox, Shane McGovern, Johnny Bermingham, Joey Boyle, Conor Shaw etc.. no offense to them players who obviously give a huge effort too.
Just my thoughts.
Fair play to Carlow today, by far the better team and maybe we were getting overconfident after all!

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 13/02/2022 19:20:41    2400181

Shane O' Brien resigned Preddan. Not much county board could do about it. It's not as if he turned up elsewhere managing another side. The players had their say as to who should succeed him and that was wrong.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 13/02/2022 19:58:22    2400193

Agree with above. Puck out strategy was a disaster.Even when it reached intended target it did not stick. Could not feed Mitchell with ball with Carlow using sweeper. Midfield was bad against Kerry but was worse today. Attitude did not seem right today for some reason. Rest of league won't be any picnic either I think.

Baldy1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 13/02/2022 19:59:53    2400194

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Despite a distinctly average performance last Sunday, the first half in particular was full of mistakes by both sides, westmeath are by a distance the best team in the division. Kerry have definitely gone backwards in the past two years even allowing for the absent Kilmoyley players. Carlow have also regressed considerably and Westmeath will easily win the division. Division 2 hurling at its current standard will be poor preparation for the huge challenges of facing Kilkenny, Galway etc in April and May when the pace will be considerably quicker. Our most important match this year will be against Laois who performed very well in their opening league match."
Those with delusions of grandeur got a brutal example of div 2A hurling today.Carlow in Doctor Cullen Park are serious difficult opponents and perhaps too many in management and squad began to believe the childrens narrative of arrival at the top table without the slow almost impossible work to get there.Carlow were excellent,Westmeath terrible if we dont get attitudes puckouts and midfield sorted Meath will beat us.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 13/02/2022 20:02:56    2400195

Not on here to rub it in but counties like Carlow, Kerry Westmeath etc cant afford to get over confident as on any given day we can beat each other. I wonder did the over confidence get through to the Westmeath players as they were 2nd best all day & were lucky to only lose by 6 points. I'd still fancy ye to make the final but I wont take a leaf out of your book & say Carlow will be there for sure. Kerry, Down Meath & Kildare will have a big say on that. Still I'll take today's result after the tough week we've had especially as we togged out today without Marty Kavanagh & Sean Murphy. Hopefully see ye in final

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 212 - 13/02/2022 21:44:34    2400221

Replying To carlo:  "Not on here to rub it in but counties like Carlow, Kerry Westmeath etc cant afford to get over confident as on any given day we can beat each other. I wonder did the over confidence get through to the Westmeath players as they were 2nd best all day & were lucky to only lose by 6 points. I'd still fancy ye to make the final but I wont take a leaf out of your book & say Carlow will be there for sure. Kerry, Down Meath & Kildare will have a big say on that. Still I'll take today's result after the tough week we've had especially as we togged out today without Marty Kavanagh & Sean Murphy. Hopefully see ye in final"
Only one misguided poster was deluding himself on here Carlo.Westmeath know all about Carlows strengths and we admire the great work Carlow do for hurling. You are right we were lucky to only lose by six.The reality is playing like this Meath,Down and Kildare will all be favoured to beat us so its relegation not promotion we would be looking at.For us now its Meath in Navan that matters nothing else.By the way what a hurler Chris Nolan a great Carlow man.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 14/02/2022 14:14:57    2400310

Replying To jobber:  "Only one misguided poster was deluding himself on here Carlo.Westmeath know all about Carlows strengths and we admire the great work Carlow do for hurling. You are right we were lucky to only lose by six.The reality is playing like this Meath,Down and Kildare will all be favoured to beat us so its relegation not promotion we would be looking at.For us now its Meath in Navan that matters nothing else.By the way what a hurler Chris Nolan a great Carlow man."
Don't think Westmeath will be near the bottom of the table. Just a bad day at the office and I still think you will be in the final.
Kildare will be the danger team over the next month as they get their Naas players back and Meath away is always a tricky match.
Great to see Down back at a high level, they fell away for a while after losing a few Christy Ring finals a decade or so ago.
Chris is a great player all right and hopefully will be on the right side of the result with IT Carlow this week.
Mouse has a groin injury but should be back soon which is a relief after seeing him getting injured last week.
Thought your new forward Gillen looked good and we know that Westmeath are better than they showed Sunday.

Hopefully see you lads in the final. Should be played in Dr Cullen in my opinion.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 14/02/2022 17:47:55    2400367

Replying To carlovia:  "Don't think Westmeath will be near the bottom of the table. Just a bad day at the office and I still think you will be in the final.
Kildare will be the danger team over the next month as they get their Naas players back and Meath away is always a tricky match.
Great to see Down back at a high level, they fell away for a while after losing a few Christy Ring finals a decade or so ago.
Chris is a great player all right and hopefully will be on the right side of the result with IT Carlow this week.
Mouse has a groin injury but should be back soon which is a relief after seeing him getting injured last week.
Thought your new forward Gillen looked good and we know that Westmeath are better than they showed Sunday.

Hopefully see you lads in the final. Should be played in Dr Cullen in my opinion."
Tom Ryan will organize that !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 15/02/2022 10:46:32    2400433

Replying To jobber:  "Tom Ryan will organize that !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
He never misses a Carlow match in 35 years the same man so he might !!!

I was about to get ahead of myself and say Tullamore but theres plenty of hurling
for both counties before we get there.

It may be Down V Kerry in the final !!!!

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 15/02/2022 13:35:36    2400482

Replying To carlovia:  "He never misses a Carlow match in 35 years the same man so he might !!!

I was about to get ahead of myself and say Tullamore but theres plenty of hurling
for both counties before we get there.

It may be Down V Kerry in the final !!!!"
We have Meath in Navan to ensure we at least maintain 2A status then we can think of Down.Surely we have learned that much by now.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 16/02/2022 07:11:40    2400588