Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To Freethinker:  "Just looking through the football league results I see that Rathnew beat Blessington in Blessington earlier. Based on results so far, Rathnew will have a say in where Miley ends up later in the year. I know that no championship medals are handed out in May, but , like I said a month or two ago when we were predicting who might lift the cup in 23 we write the Villagers off at our peril."
I've watched Rathnew on a couple of occasions in each of the last two championship and I think it would take a huge transformation for the team I saw to go on and win a championship or contest a final this year. I know the likes of Rathnew and Baltinglass have a knack of being competitive when the championship rolls around but I couldn't see Rathnew challenging the top teams come the latter stages of the club championship. It is also worth bearing in mind that Rathnew currently have no players on the Wicklow panel so while they are playing with a full squad available to them, other teams, like Blessington are missing key players who are currently involved with the county squad. Time will tell if Rathnew are back in the hunt or it is a false dawn.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 13/05/2023 13:43:37    2478052

Replying To sponger:  "Im not on the wind up by the way.

I expect us to hammer Carlow next week, by about 10 points."
- - - if we're honest that depends on which Carlow team turns up, doesn't it.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 14/05/2023 12:22:58    2478281

Well done to the Wicklow hurlers yesterday. Hopefully they can complete the job by winning the final against Donegal. Regardless of the result, Casey has had a hugely positive impact and the team are going in the right direction.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 14/05/2023 13:51:53    2478318

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Well done to the Wicklow hurlers yesterday. Hopefully they can complete the job by winning the final against Donegal. Regardless of the result, Casey has had a hugely positive impact and the team are going in the right direction."
I was very impressed with yesterdays display. Congrats to all involved. Not that many yrs ago. Roscommon were a tough nut to crack for Wicklow. Let's hope the lads can put the record straight against Donegal in Croke Park ? next time out. At least I am told it's in Croker.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1002 - 14/05/2023 14:53:51    2478333

Replying To supersub15:  "- - - if we're honest that depends on which Carlow team turns up, doesn't it."
We will soon know. We will be expecting nothing less than a tough game.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1002 - 14/05/2023 14:55:20    2478334

Replying To supersub15:  "- - - if we're honest that depends on which Carlow team turns up, doesn't it."
Mr Super

Im half way to eating humble pie on your thread.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2023 16:53:29    2478375

Replying To sponger:  "Im not on the wind up by the way.

I expect us to hammer Carlow next week, by about 10 points."
Well did ye hammer Carlow after??? After seeing ye the first day I knew ye were beatable. Brilliant for Carlow

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 215 - 14/05/2023 17:38:14    2478390

Replying To sponger:  "Mr Super

Im half way to eating humble pie on your thread."
Do you want cream with that sponger

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 705 - 14/05/2023 17:39:24    2478393

Somebody has some explaining to do with that result. A complete and utter disaster with no redeeming features whatsoever.

Anyway I am off to the Carlow thread to take the fall.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2023 17:42:53    2478395

Replying To Blackbog:  "Do you want cream with that sponger"
I think Im going to need it.

Well played.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2023 17:43:36    2478396

Replying To carlo:  "Well did ye hammer Carlow after??? After seeing ye the first day I knew ye were beatable. Brilliant for Carlow"
You spelt Carlow wrong.

Well played.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2023 17:44:17    2478400

Replying To sponger:  "Mr Super

Im half way to eating humble pie on your thread."
You can blame our kick out strategy or lack of for that Sponger. Who in the world would, when 5 pts up, keep kicking out long to a midfield that wasn't on song all day. 5/6 long kick outs, Carlow win them and score 5 pts either direct from play or from fouls committed on the way through. Carlow kept with the possession game and generated the winning point from it nAnyway, fair play to Carlow, they always looked likely. Some of our younger lads did well and others not so. I won't single them out. It might be a long few weeks with Longford and Limerick beckoning.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1002 - 14/05/2023 17:48:03    2478403

That was a hard watch there today one of our worst performances of the year...the team never got going...maybe they thought they only had to turn up for the win or they had some heavy training sessions recently because it looked like they were running in sand! Longford and Limerick will have field days if we play like that again. Anyway fair play to Carlow and best of luck to them

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 14/05/2023 18:52:40    2478432

Replying To Freethinker:  "You can blame our kick out strategy or lack of for that Sponger. Who in the world would, when 5 pts up, keep kicking out long to a midfield that wasn't on song all day. 5/6 long kick outs, Carlow win them and score 5 pts either direct from play or from fouls committed on the way through. Carlow kept with the possession game and generated the winning point from it nAnyway, fair play to Carlow, they always looked likely. Some of our younger lads did well and others not so. I won't single them out. It might be a long few weeks with Longford and Limerick beckoning."
Well done to Carlow on a spirited comeback when all seemed to be lost. A word of warning to them: i wouldn't get carried away on the back of today's result. We have a young team and my hope is that they will learn from today's experience and come back stronger. However, as a county our history of shooting ourselves in the foot and never learning is alive and well. We gave Carlow a massive helping hand in terms of the comeback, just as our u20 did the same up in Louth. Unless and until we learn the top level football includes both the head and the feet, we are going to go on winning nothing. It will be intetesting to see how we approach and perform in our next two games which before today were tough: they've just become even tougher. We'll find out how much character this group has in our next two games. Onwards we go.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 14/05/2023 19:05:15    2478440

While I'd be all for building, losing to this Carlow team is unforgivable. Coupled with the fact that he's still very invested in media over being a manager - is it time to review once the Tailteann is over? Not saying definitely get rid but that's some nail in the coffin today.

FrankieJoe (Wicklow) - Posts: 71 - 14/05/2023 19:35:07    2478458

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Well done to Carlow on a spirited comeback when all seemed to be lost. A word of warning to them: i wouldn't get carried away on the back of today's result. We have a young team and my hope is that they will learn from today's experience and come back stronger. However, as a county our history of shooting ourselves in the foot and never learning is alive and well. We gave Carlow a massive helping hand in terms of the comeback, just as our u20 did the same up in Louth. Unless and until we learn the top level football includes both the head and the feet, we are going to go on winning nothing. It will be intetesting to see how we approach and perform in our next two games which before today were tough: they've just become even tougher. We'll find out how much character this group has in our next two games. Onwards we go."
Yeah don't be worrying yourself we won't be getting carried away after today sure we know well it was only Wicklow we beat … our (only) traditional whipping boys. Seen as we've played ye now 31 times in senior championship football and ye've only ever beaten us 6 times it's not like this is a novelty.

Btw the Carlow team today had a younger average age than Wicklow … so we're young too.

But them's just facts. Don't let them stop you dreaming on as if Wicklow are on the precipice of some significant breakthrough.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 14/05/2023 20:05:04    2478473

Replying To sponger:  "Somebody has some explaining to do with that result. A complete and utter disaster with no redeeming features whatsoever.

Anyway I am off to the Carlow thread to take the fall."
Ah sorry sponger. I posted before reading the thread. Fair play to you.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 204 - 14/05/2023 20:13:09    2478477

In my opinion there were a few differences between the two teams today. It was a game that I thought and said all along could go either way. For me, while our keeper is undoubtedly a brilliant free taker, I was a bit nervous at times that Carlow would break fast and have the ball in the net before he was back between the sticks. There seemed to be a mix up over smother where he was heading up the field and someone else took it with a less than satisfactory outcome. I thought that Carlow were set up better in that we rarely turned a ball over when they were on the attack whereas many times we lost possession in and around the half forward line. I'm not blaming the half forwards as players from all over the pitch were involved in these breakdowns. Carlow were content with points where we maybe scorned possible points in favour of goal attempts. In my opinion Carlow midfield were dominant for periods, particularly when we persisted in the long ball out to them in the final minutes, virtually handing them their last 6 pts. I would like to think we will learn but I'm not too confident. Again, in my opinion, we need a massive improvement across the board if we are to have any hope of staying in Div next year. When you look at the teams we face there, it is thought provoking to say the least.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1002 - 14/05/2023 20:54:51    2478486

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Ah sorry sponger. I posted before reading the thread. Fair play to you."
No probs bud.

Better team won.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2023 21:06:31    2478493

Replying To FrankieJoe:  "While I'd be all for building, losing to this Carlow team is unforgivable. Coupled with the fact that he's still very invested in media over being a manager - is it time to review once the Tailteann is over? Not saying definitely get rid but that's some nail in the coffin today."
I think if we do not win next week he could be in a crisis.

The players are thete to keep us in Division 3.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2023 21:09:22    2478494