Limerick GAA thread

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Am I right in saying that a limerick semi and the hurling final were mentioned as being shown on television?i have seen Gaa advertised for weekend and a limerick semi definitely isn't been shown."
https://www.the42.ie/kerry-kilkenny-dublin-gaa-club-games-tv-5889236-Oct2022/

Unlikely too many more semis be shown after this weekend I'd imagine.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/10/2022 11:07:23    2443701

Replying To tiobraid:  "https://www.the42.ie/kerry-kilkenny-dublin-gaa-club-games-tv-5889236-Oct2022/

Unlikely too many more semis be shown after this weekend I'd imagine."
Kerry football semi is on RTE Saturday night but not sure if alot of county boards are willing to put high profile knockout games on at 7.30 on a Saturday.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1716 - 12/10/2022 11:34:25    2443714

Big weekend of hurling coming up.
Senior semi finals. Na Piarsaigh will wipe Liberties off the field. Kilmallock to beat Doon who are reportedly without Adam English. This could be a cracker all the same
Premier intermediate. Bruff should have enough for NCW. Monaleen will be too strong for a plucky Effin side.

theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 13/10/2022 16:59:12    2443875

My weekend predictions,
Senior
NAP v Liberties NAP
Doon v Kilmallock Kilmallock

Primer Intermediate
Monaleen v Effin Monaleen
Bruff v NCW NCW

Intermediate
G/Ballingarry v Croom G/Ballingarry
Bruree v Pallasgreen Bruree

Ballyknockill (Limerick) - Posts: 19 - 14/10/2022 09:20:57    2443926

I will say Na piar/doon to get to senior final.
Monaleen/Bruff to get to premier inter final.
Gb and bruree to win inter quarters.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 14/10/2022 11:18:21    2443949

Interesting weekend of hurling , bound to be decent crowds, Bruff on Sunday for Doon & Kilmallock should be great athmosphere, hopefully weather is ok.
Na Piarsaigh & Kilmallock in senior
Monaleen & other game could go either way
Granagh/Ballingarry & Bruree
Be interesting to see are there any shocks!!

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 14/10/2022 18:30:40    2444003

I am still drying off from the soaking I got in Bruff yesterday.
Credit to both team for paying out a real entertaining battle in atrocious conditions. Doon looked to be home and hose with 15 mins to go but fair play to the Kilmallock lads and their never say die attitude. I was delighted for Robbie Egan to get the winning goal. He's a player I think that could have kick onto the Limerick team if applied himself.

I was in Kilmallock the night before for the NAP and Liberties game. 1 sided but Liberties will be happy with the year they had. NAP are so strong in every position it is hard to see them beat in the county final, but if conditions and Kilmallocks never say die attitude you will never know.

Any idea where the final will be played?

I didn't get to the premier intermediate games but no real surprise. i had tipped NCW but Bruff got over the line after ET. Fair play to them for bouncing back from the relegation final last year. Like Kilmallock they will be hard beat and Monalean will need to bring a lot of physicality to the final, but should they perform i would be going with a win for the city side.

I see GB won well against Croom. Pallas beating Bruree was probably the shock of the weekend. It's a young Bruree team so a years' experience won't do them any harm.

Ballyknockill (Limerick) - Posts: 19 - 17/10/2022 14:22:51    2444339

Na piarsaigh knocked up a big big score against South Liberties without coming under any great pressure and look strong for county final and possibly Further . Kilmallock showed great determination in their victory over Doon and are coming into county final with plenty to work on.
The Premier Inter q/finals saw Granagh impressive & Pallasgreen causing a mild upset. Semis this weekend with Croagh & Granagh likely favourites to reach final but im sure Shane Dowling, Colin Ryan &their teamamtes thinking different .
In Junior A St kierans unlucky in last years final & Dromcollogher are my fancies to beat Kileedy & Patrickswell.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 18/10/2022 12:46:53    2444480

Replying To OpenStand:  "Na piarsaigh knocked up a big big score against South Liberties without coming under any great pressure and look strong for county final and possibly Further . Kilmallock showed great determination in their victory over Doon and are coming into county final with plenty to work on.
The Premier Inter q/finals saw Granagh impressive & Pallasgreen causing a mild upset. Semis this weekend with Croagh & Granagh likely favourites to reach final but im sure Shane Dowling, Colin Ryan &their teamamtes thinking different .
In Junior A St kierans unlucky in last years final & Dromcollogher are my fancies to beat Kileedy & Patrickswell."
Is it true the Crecora are objecting to Killeedys win against them . Something to do with composition of Penalty takers.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 18/10/2022 19:36:20    2444542

Didnt hear .
On a different note i wonder is there any appetite for divisional teams in the Senior Hurling championship ? Lots of decent players on Junior Hurling Teams like Cathal O Neill, Gearoid Hegarty , Brian O Grady who deserve a chance to play at the highest level, not their fault they live in a parish with a junior team. Equally at standard Intermediate theres a lot of quality players who'd add to the senior Championship. It worked reasonably well 12 years ago until Blackrock/Emmets had the gun put to their head .
In Football Kerry are All Ireland Champions and their county final sees East Kerry playing Mid Kerry with a host of Junior & Intermediate club footballers playing.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 19/10/2022 09:12:52    2444560

Replying To OpenStand:  "Didnt hear .
On a different note i wonder is there any appetite for divisional teams in the Senior Hurling championship ? Lots of decent players on Junior Hurling Teams like Cathal O Neill, Gearoid Hegarty , Brian O Grady who deserve a chance to play at the highest level, not their fault they live in a parish with a junior team. Equally at standard Intermediate theres a lot of quality players who'd add to the senior Championship. It worked reasonably well 12 years ago until Blackrock/Emmets had the gun put to their head .
In Football Kerry are All Ireland Champions and their county final sees East Kerry playing Mid Kerry with a host of Junior & Intermediate club footballers playing."
I'd imagine a big factor would be how many of the lads are dual players with there clubs, it wouldn't work in Wexford for this reason, lads would have play 2 games a weekend.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1716 - 19/10/2022 11:17:08    2444583

Replying To OpenStand:  "Didnt hear .
In Football Kerry are All Ireland Champions and their county final sees East Kerry playing Mid Kerry with a host of Junior & Intermediate club footballers playing."
Well, the three particular lads that you happen to mention have gotten the chance to play at the very highest level. They all put AI medals in their pocket this year. It's one thing that I really like about the Kiely management's way of doing business: junior/intermediate/premier intermediate/and senior club players all form the 36-37-man panel. If Kiely and his men didn't have their eye in so much on the clubs and the club scene, then I'd say there might be a need for divisional teams. As it is, there doesn't seem to be a huge need, desire or demand for divisional teams.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 19/10/2022 12:41:27    2444604

Well can anyone let us know if it's still planned to hold the senior football final in rathkeale??ive attended a good few games in last few weeks there and it looks as if there is a huge amount to be done to have it ready..also are there any plans to try and provide parking as it can be very difficult to get parking if there is more than one match..also any idea why senior hurling final is a stand alone fixture and the same with premier intermediate??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 21/10/2022 15:42:00    2444956

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Well can anyone let us know if it's still planned to hold the senior football final in rathkeale??ive attended a good few games in last few weeks there and it looks as if there is a huge amount to be done to have it ready..also are there any plans to try and provide parking as it can be very difficult to get parking if there is more than one match..also any idea why senior hurling final is a stand alone fixture and the same with premier intermediate??"
"Huge amount to be done to have it ready": a huge amount of what? And ready for what? A game… Sure, as you say yourself, "a good few games" have been played there recently, and it seems that you've attended some of them. If it wasn't ready, why were all these games played there?

Relax! It's only the Limerick county football final. About 4,000 people, I'm told, and I believe it, watched the relegation final between Ballylanders and Galbally a few weeks ago, out in South Limerick. That was a game that people wanted to see.

The county final, whatever teams or wherever it is played will do very well to top that! So, don't fret the venue, please.

And, no idea about your hurling questions. Go down to the local pub, ask anyone, and they'll give you an answer.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 21/10/2022 20:31:24    2444983

I asked the question because it had been mentioned as being ready for football final..it's not in a condition to host a county final..a lot of games I attended were under age..as I've mentioned if county final goes ahead there,parking is going to be a huge problem..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 21/10/2022 22:00:31    2444995

Surely be some curtain raiser for county hurling final . Mick Neville seems to be the base of football in recent years . From the couple of football matchs I attended the crowds are handy , be very surprised if there was 2000 at football final not to mind 4000 . Same few teams playing with very little interest elsewhere. Mick Neville is not great though watching it at ground level and parking outside venue limited . Would Kilmallock or NCW if their not in it be better .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 23/10/2022 10:51:55    2445090

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/325478

Great to see. Keep the money on rolling in. Every little helps , as some convenience store in Ireland says.

Do other counties have supporters clubs in Dublin or overseas? I know that Limerick has one in London and in NYC now as well that was set up quite recently. See, success breeds success.

I know that Mayo have supporters clubs everywhere (even in parts of Roscommon, dare I say).

These supporters' clubs seem a very good idea, and a fine way of turning a few pound to help the cause!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 23/10/2022 15:41:20    2445122

Replying To foreveryoung:  "https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/325478

Great to see. Keep the money on rolling in. Every little helps , as some convenience store in Ireland says.

Do other counties have supporters clubs in Dublin or overseas? I know that Limerick has one in London and in NYC now as well that was set up quite recently. See, success breeds success.

I know that Mayo have supporters clubs everywhere (even in parts of Roscommon, dare I say).

These supporters' clubs seem a very good idea, and a fine way of turning a few pound to help the cause!"
Kerry probaly the daddy of them all in fundraising abroad, whether they're winning or not. I'd say most counties have supporters groups in New York, London, Chicago, Boston especially the counties with huge communities in those cities, the likes of Galway, Kerry, Mayo etc But Kerry's one is to be admired, they usually bring in serious money from dinners and other fundraisers in New York, think they made over a million from one fundraiser there in the last couple of years. Roscommon have their Club Rossie fundraising group that does plenty of that as well. You'd even see in Mayo, Galway, Roscommon, Kerry etc club teams being sponsored by lads in America. Lads like to keep that link with home and its a great help to those teams as well.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 24/10/2022 10:35:01    2445218

Replying To bloodyban:  "Please to not attempt to bully me by making everything personal. Gaelic football is the number 4 sport in Limerick. I dont have any gra for it at all."
When did I try to bully you,I don't know you,how can I make it personal, just cause you can't debate,that's not bullying.Best of luck.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 25/10/2022 15:11:57    2445399

County finals time,some great finals across hurling and football, fancy Na Piarsaigh senior,monaleen premier,Croagh intermediate and St Kiearns junior, Football Newcastle senior,Na Piarsaigh intermediate,castlemahon premier and mungert junior.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 25/10/2022 15:16:01    2445400