Sligo GAA thread

Replying To westvoice:  "Well that is one of the most naive posts I've seen here. It's a closed shop and if you're not in the club of a select few you ain't getting in."
I was going to reply with a near identical post. Not much has changed in there.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 13/08/2024 15:25:43    2564982

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "You're right Mr. Underhill.
It's not and if they've no interest in doing it half right, then why do it at all? I mean, it's hardly rocket science and doesn't need more time or additional meetings. A bit of player input and common sense would go a long way. Have they ever asked the players what they wanted, or expect, or for some help? No. But they'll expect the player to get off work with a few days notice or to explain to their spouses why they cant commit to any family events because they haven't got a clue what day a game is on. A lifestyle balance is vital to those involved and the young guys coming through. Football will be the one to sufger when these decisions are being made.
And I'm telling you now, it's not that easy to get changes on these kinds of committees. You know that just as well as I do. A few hold plenty of control and if you toe the line you'll be OK. Anyone that tries to think outside the box down there, would be ostracised very quickly. Throwing a line like, "Sure do it yourself" won't add anything here. These guys have put themselves into this position and should be doing a better job, simple as that. Imagine a lad down to work next Saturday week, still not knowing if he needs it off? They have no idea to the pressures poor scheduling can bring. Every single championship fixture should be long fixed with a time (and not 5pm on a Sunday). The pitches can come closer to the day.
Speaking to players, coaches and referees from clubs all over the county, they're sick of it. No wonder numbers for all three of those are dwindling. High time the CCC either do the job they're supposed to, or step aside and let someone else do it."
I am really worried now. Not about the cccccccc, but the number of posts I find myself agreeing with you, but I won't change my mind on the state of the bunny pitch, there is a serious hill in it. Maybe it's a feature. ))

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 13/08/2024 18:42:00    2565009

Replying To InAroundTheSqaure:  "Collooney hosted an underage final last week and there's a senior championship been game played there this weekend."
You are correct, but my point was that they are not hosting near as many games as they used to.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 13/08/2024 18:44:05    2565010

Replying To eoinog:  "I am really worried now. Not about the cccccccc, but the number of posts I find myself agreeing with you, but I won't change my mind on the state of the bunny pitch, there is a serious hill in it. Maybe it's a feature. ))"
Let's join the CCP together Eoinog ❤️
Mr Underhill says we're allowed

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 14/08/2024 08:39:25    2565040

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "Let's join the CCP together Eoinog ❤️
Mr Underhill says we're allowed"
Fixtures, fixtures galore

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 46 - 14/08/2024 14:48:49    2565089

I don't know if that's a good idea Bumblebee, Eoinog would probably fix all the St Molaise matches for Castleconnor lol

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1696 - 14/08/2024 18:04:57    2565134

I'm late to the party with my predictions for the championship.
In group 1 it has to be Coolera and Shamrock Gaels to top the group. It's a glorious opportunity for Shamrock Gaels to get to a Co Semi final after the horrible campaign from last year.
In Group 2 Molaise Gaels will qualify and you would expect the second place to be between Tourlestrane and Drumcliffe. Tourlestrane are in decline and I think for the second year in a row Drumcliffe will pip them. Mary's are without a lot of players between lads transferring elsewhere and younger lads opting for year long transfers to America so I can't see much of a kick in them. I went for Coolera last year to win the Championship and I will stick with them again for this year . Easkey/Curry for relegation and I will go for the Marren boys to keep Curry safe but realistically when they eventually retire Curry are doomed.
In the Intermediate in one group you will have 3 Division 1 teams looking to make the semi finals plus a Pat's team that has shown a bit of form in the last few weeks. Coolaney are a better outfit than last year. The 2 beanpole Gorman's are fit and Mullen is is playing the best football of his career. Johnson is also handy and Connolly is a good footballer. Eastern Harps despite having a very young team held their own in Div 1 but they still are missing a few players.They play Coolaney and the winner of this fixture should be able to get to the knockouts. I think Coolaney will win this but Harps to also qualify. Enniscrone have serious momentum and will certainly enjoy rattling a few caves. Coleman is in good form and the Duffy's are good players. I just don't see them getting enough points to make the playoffs . I won't write off Pat's. 2 years ago they made the semi finals but were terrible last year. They are going much better and will give anyone a game.
In the other group I can't see any of the 5 teams making the final, never mind winning it. The Bunnies or John's are not very strong. Geevagh are a tough uncompromising team that love wet evenings. Owenmore Gaels had an indifferent league, I was expecting more from them but last year's good championship run might stand to them. Castleconnor without Carrabine and having got relegated can have much confidence going in to the championship either. I will chance Geevagh and Owenmore Gaels. Castleconnor to get relegated in a relegation final against John's.
Cloonacool to win the Junior A
No idea who will win Junior B

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 15/08/2024 15:43:45    2565285

Senior.
Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubbercurry by 4
Tourlestrane to beat Mary's by 2
Molaise to beat Curry by 7
Tourlestrane to beat Mary's by 3.
Intermediate
Eastern Harps to draw with Coolaney
Bunninadden to beat John's by 5
Geevagh to beat Castleconnor by 6
St. Pat's to beat Farnans by 7.

It's terrible to have games fixed for 5 pm on a Sunday evening . The game won't be over until 6.30. shower, change get a bit of grub and then head off .

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 31 - 15/08/2024 22:59:38    2565356

Senior.
Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubbercurry by 8
Tourlestrane to beat Mary's by 5
Molaise to beat Curry by 5
Easkey to beat Calry by 2
Intermediate
Eastern Harps to beat Coolaney by 1
Bunninadden to beat John's by 8
Geevagh to beat Castleconnor by 5
St. Pat's to beat Farnans by 3

SligoD (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 17/08/2024 11:41:25    2565559

Replying To SligoD:  "Senior.
Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubbercurry by 8
Tourlestrane to beat Mary's by 5
Molaise to beat Curry by 5
Easkey to beat Calry by 2
Intermediate
Eastern Harps to beat Coolaney by 1
Bunninadden to beat John's by 8
Geevagh to beat Castleconnor by 5
St. Pat's to beat Farnans by 3"
Shamrock Gaels by 5
Tourlestrane by 2
Molaise by 7
Calry by 2
Coolaney by 4
Bunnies by 4
Geevagh by 5
Pats by 6.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 17/08/2024 14:36:28    2565577

A bit late to the party but would have predicted wins for Bunninadden against St John's and Geevagh over Castleconnor but Mullinabreena and not Harps. Expect Pats to beat Farnans

In senior I fancy wins for St Molaise Gaels, Tourlestrane, Shamrock Gaels and Calry.

In Junior Michael's and Molaise to win.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 400 - 17/08/2024 19:33:04    2565610

I won't comment on the predictions from other people but my predictions were hammered. A brilliant weekend though. Loads of shocks and surprises. After one game ☘️ Gaels are in bother and is this the end of Tourlestrane as a power in Sligo football ? Massive win for Easkey and while Molaise won by 5 they conceded a huge score to Curry
Harps got the better of Coolaney and Farnans did likewise over Pats. Geevagh won as expected as did the bunnies.
It all means that we are in for a hum dinger of a championship. Let it roll

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 18/08/2024 19:14:27    2565709

Replying To eoinog:  "I won't comment on the predictions from other people but my predictions were hammered. A brilliant weekend though. Loads of shocks and surprises. After one game ☘️ Gaels are in bother and is this the end of Tourlestrane as a power in Sligo football ? Massive win for Easkey and while Molaise won by 5 they conceded a huge score to Curry
Harps got the better of Coolaney and Farnans did likewise over Pats. Geevagh won as expected as did the bunnies.
It all means that we are in for a hum dinger of a championship. Let it roll"
Same as Eoinog. I really didn't see that coming for Tourlestrane or for St. Marys. Credit to Marys who have lost a few but can enjoy their week off now. You can't right out Tourlestrane yet however as I think every team will suffer at least one defeat in that group and maybe Molaise is just the game they need to get going. Curry are no pushovers and showed that at the weekend but Molaise seems like they are in a really good place to have a go at Owen B, especially if they finish off Tourlestrane. Drumcliffe Curry will be interesting with Curry on the back of a decent performance.
Shamrock Gaels will be gutted to lose that one to Tubber who were well written off for a semi final place by myself. Could end Gaels chance at a semi final before it begins. Has opened that group right up. One would think it's already near impossible now for Calry to get out of a place in relegation but stranger things have happened. They have to beat Shams to put them in a relegation battle but it's a big ask. Fair play to Easkey who got theior important win. A different level of opposition next week against Coolera but who knows.
Intermediate had fewer surprises. Haprs and Coolaney was always going to be tight and I still expect that both will get out. Pats being beaten puts them in big trouble already and they will have to absolutely beat Enniscrone next weekend to have a chance at avoiding it. Geevagh beating Castleconnor means the men from the west are in the same boat. A defeat to Owenmore Gaels will leave it hard to avoid the bottom two. Geevaghs win puts them favorites for a semi final spot in that group and Bunninadden will be happy to get St. Johns out of the way. Geevagh should beat Johns and strengthen their grip on the group.
No great surprise in Junior A with Michaels and Molaise B off the mark. Ballymote and Cloonacool a tough one to call on Sunday.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 19/08/2024 09:02:04    2565762

Some surprising results across both Senior & Intermediate grades at the weekend. Fair to say very few predicted Tubber & Marys wins and even more surprising the margin of St Marys win. Tubber lost Gilmartin to an injury after 2mins & were 4 down after 9mins which makes their victory even more impressive. Shamrock Gaels were wasteful and had some very poor wides by all accounts. Easkey v Calry game looked very tight throughout with Easkey just holding on, while Molaise chalked up a big score against Curry but will probably be a bit concerned at the score they conceded.

In intermediate St Johns were not far away against the Bunnies and could be maybe a little bit more competitive than people were expecting. Castleconnor appear to be on a very bad run at the moment, the loss of Carrabine is obviously impacting them a lot. Harps got the job done over Coolaney/M without Walsh & Henry which is impressive. Farnans pulled away in the end against Pats and have obviously put their poor league campaign behind them. Some interesting ties coming up next weekend - but what is with the 6pm game on Sunday!!

benbulbingael (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 19/08/2024 16:24:26    2565854

Happy with Molaise Gaels start to championship given the proximity of the league final. Reilly and Marren will give any team plenty of trouble so I was glad to get over it especially being down 1-3 to 0-1 at the start. McLoughlin with 1-11, coxey and Keaney played well by all accounts. Conceding 2-13 would be the only concern.

I thought the Shamrock Gaels and Tubber match lacked a lot of quality, just too many mistakes. Perry is a elite free taker and in fairness he did well from play too. Great to see Joshua Flynn back playing well after a tough injury. I was really disappointed with Shamrock gaels county men tbh. A day to forget for them. McGee's stock as manager continues to rise and is clearly better than good.

Mary's were no surprise to me, their performance was impressive. Cian as target man works very well and Kyle Cawley looks back to his best. The have great timing and runners from the back with Clifford, OKL etc... great in support play. They are going to cause any team a lot of trouble this year, if they can stay injury free. Eli Rooney is probably Sligo's best prospect and he gave a masterclass in this match although he did miss some free's and should have buried that goal chance. They work incredibly hard from the front, but set up defensively when needed. They are dangerous on the counter if teams push too hard. Definitely dark horses this year for me and Mark Breheny another young manager who is looking very sharp. Are Liam Gaughan and young Marren not available for Tourlestrane this year? Who else are tourlestrane missing? I'd expect a big reaction from them against Molaise.

Fair play to Easkey beating Calry. That's a big win for them.

Congrats to the Sligo u16s who improved a lot during the season, beating Cork in the manning cup shield final 1-14 to 1-10. I'm hearing good things about this group. Fair play to all involved. Leitrim won the main competition.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1696 - 19/08/2024 16:29:09    2565855

There was a huge number of games last weekend and it was not possible to get to them all, even if I wanted. W.T.S is a brilliant app, could clubs please download the teams to the app so that nerds like me can follow all games. It's not that big of a deal but can be a huge advantage to people that try to follow all games. Results last weekend really put pressure on teams that lost. Lose again and that's probably the knockout stage gone

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 31 - 19/08/2024 22:54:04    2565901

Replying To Sligonian:  "Happy with Molaise Gaels start to championship given the proximity of the league final. Reilly and Marren will give any team plenty of trouble so I was glad to get over it especially being down 1-3 to 0-1 at the start. McLoughlin with 1-11, coxey and Keaney played well by all accounts. Conceding 2-13 would be the only concern.

I thought the Shamrock Gaels and Tubber match lacked a lot of quality, just too many mistakes. Perry is a elite free taker and in fairness he did well from play too. Great to see Joshua Flynn back playing well after a tough injury. I was really disappointed with Shamrock gaels county men tbh. A day to forget for them. McGee's stock as manager continues to rise and is clearly better than good.

Mary's were no surprise to me, their performance was impressive. Cian as target man works very well and Kyle Cawley looks back to his best. The have great timing and runners from the back with Clifford, OKL etc... great in support play. They are going to cause any team a lot of trouble this year, if they can stay injury free. Eli Rooney is probably Sligo's best prospect and he gave a masterclass in this match although he did miss some free's and should have buried that goal chance. They work incredibly hard from the front, but set up defensively when needed. They are dangerous on the counter if teams push too hard. Definitely dark horses this year for me and Mark Breheny another young manager who is looking very sharp. Are Liam Gaughan and young Marren not available for Tourlestrane this year? Who else are tourlestrane missing? I'd expect a big reaction from them against Molaise.

Fair play to Easkey beating Calry. That's a big win for them.

Congrats to the Sligo u16s who improved a lot during the season, beating Cork in the manning cup shield final 1-14 to 1-10. I'm hearing good things about this group. Fair play to all involved. Leitrim won the main competition."
The 2 lads are gone long term i believe. But thats irrelevant Marys started with only 5/6 players who played in the county final less than two years ago.
I would expect an improvement from Tourlestrane this weekend as the last 2 performances were a disgrace.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 350 - 20/08/2024 09:54:27    2565945

Made good use of the season pass - great value.
Harps V Cool/ Mullinabreena - A game that could come back to haunt Cool/Mullinabreena. They should have won this game but poor discipline cost them big time. Harps have a lot of pace in their team and was very impressed with Hunt for Harps. Gormans done well for Cool/Mullinabreena but they should be closing out these games. Daverys is impressive in goals for Harps and thought Harps wing back was decent. Think it is the lads that was with county under 20's. Impressive result without Dylan Walsh and Matt Henry. Hard to see anyone stopping them this year.

Sham Gaels/Tubber - Really enjoyed this game and as someone mentioned earlier, quality was not that high but had everything else. Tubber were impressive, they have a strong full forward line of Perry, Flynn and Gilmartin. Eddie Mc was solid at 6. Tubber won some key battles in defence and thought Surlis and Moran were solid, tbh I was disappointed with some of Sham Gaels county players. They had chances to win it and they have a big game on Sat v Calry which they should win.
Tubber win v Easkey would mean if they beat Calry - they will be in a county semi final. The joys of championship.

St Marys/Tourlestrane
Huge win for St Marys and Tourlestrane did not look a patch of the team they have been the last number of years. I think Tourlestrane's big problem is - who will score for them ? Brian Egan/Cathal Henry are not playing well and if Jonny Kelly is locked down - they don't have anyone else. Like Tubbers full forward line , Marys one of Breheny, Rooney and Cawley was very good. Thought Kilcoyne and O Kelly lynch brothers were excellent. Mulligan controlled the game as well and after that victory - they are gone up the ladder in a lot of peoples mind.

Any quick reports from any other games?

Looking forward to this weekend !

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 104 - 20/08/2024 11:48:15    2565972

Replying To Anto:  "The 2 lads are gone long term i believe. But thats irrelevant Marys started with only 5/6 players who played in the county final less than two years ago.
I would expect an improvement from Tourlestrane this weekend as the last 2 performances were a disgrace."
Why Anto ? Heard Solan/Moyles though not cheap are supposed to be the best coaches to come into Tourlestrane.
What are your thoughts?

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 104 - 20/08/2024 11:49:30    2565973

Replying To Anto:  "The 2 lads are gone long term i believe. But thats irrelevant Marys started with only 5/6 players who played in the county final less than two years ago.
I would expect an improvement from Tourlestrane this weekend as the last 2 performances were a disgrace."
Disgrace is very harsh Anto.
Tourlestrane had a brilliant run of championship victories but those days are gone and they are on a downward spiral now. I don't expect them to qualify for the knockout stages. Some huge names have called time on their careers and a few others have gone foreign. Gaughans, Leonard,Henry, Harte etc etc are very hard to replace and you have another few that will probably retire after this campaign.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 20/08/2024 12:58:20    2565980