Sligo GAA thread

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "The only disgrace is this post...typical of the comments someone makes behind the screen of a forum...but would absolutely never say such a think to a players face...some of these players that have set a league and championship record that will never be beaten."
And the last 2 performances were very poor in contrast to the ladt number of years which was correct. Great bounce back this evening and we are back in the race again.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 350 - 25/08/2024 20:18:20    2566741

I think Anto was proven right given the improvement in Tourlestrane today. After about 10 mins today I couldn't see us winning. It was very frustrating as we continued to play the same pattern of play over and over again without trying much different. When we did hit in long, it was forced or a dropped short shot. 2 things we have to learn to play against the blanket in wet conditions and what we do if Alan is man or double marked. Tourlestrane will lock down this gameplan and see how far it gets them. The group is wide open now and I'd say we are in knock out football. Hopefully our lads can work on the long kickouts, patterns of play and positioning better. It's one thing looking great coming out of the defence in space and another thing giving and going and giving clean ball ahead of you. Very disappointing off the shoulder play today. Very little intent of working it through the lines. So much safe lateral just taking away the clock from ourselves. There was no attempt to try and coax the tour defence out the field and set traps.

Eoinog are you seriously flexing that posting club predictions anonymously on an internet forum as having b@lls. Depending on how many club games ye go to does it add much to the forum. I personally much rather analysis where people actually go to games rather than lads guessing a match up where they haven't seen either team play before.

I also watched Vincents v Kilmicud Crokes on youtube at the weekend. The 2 cummins brothers were playing 3 &6 for Vincents with Paddy O Connor at 14 for Crokes. O Connor for me was in a different class of his own with Mannion at 11. They ran the show. Paddy came out deeper and was excellent in all facets of his game. They were far better and have Shane Walsh waiting in the wings. Darragh did ok at times but loses the ball too easily in contact and isn't positionally great. I think Paddy ended up with 0-3 from play. He looks ready to push to an elite level and playing in Dublin will help him but I do feel bad for Farnan's as he is a huge loss.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1696 - 25/08/2024 23:10:38    2566785

Replying To eoinog:  "I predicted 3 of the senior games correctly.
Got 4 out of 4 with Intermediate.
As for the Junior I have zero interest because there are only 3 first teams involved so I wasn't too bothered about that. When Drumcliffe are allowed play a junior game before the seniors play it says a lot for the administration. Ballymote certainly had a great win and they will probably be meeting Cloonacool again in the Junior final as both teams should progress beating 2 B teams to qualify from the group and the other group appears to be a lot weaker.
I admire anyone who has the b..ls to make predictions each week. This forum has improved so much over the last while because of this.
I didn't notice your predictions....... I must go to specsavers."
Bottom line you did make predictions for the junior A so your newly found opt-out of zero interest doesn't hold water. So you got 7 out of 12, marginally better than you would expect if you tossed a coin.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 26/08/2024 08:22:19    2566818

Better than last weeks predictions lol
Very interesting weekend again. Was in Tubbercurry yesterday and it's just typical Tourlestrane to pull themselves back into it. We all know they are not the side they once were, but can't be written off. Far from a classic but the spirit, experience and fight was there to see. They're a proud bunch. They'll have a big one against Drumcliffe when they return after their bye. Molaise are likely the counties top side but now need to beat Drumcliffe who themselves had a good win against Curry. 4 teams massively in the hunt fort two spots. Just the way it should be. Curry will do extremely well to avoid a relegation semi final now.
No surprise in the other side with Shamrock Gaels getting off the mark. Calry even more so than Curry, look certain for a relegation semi final. Easkey and Tubbercurry will likely decide who will be with them in two weeks time. Coolera will be happy to have that potential banana skin out of the way.
Intermediate proving just as entertaining. Geevagh look certain to advance from the first group now. It'll be interesting to see how Buninadden fare against them. Owenmore Gaels edge one of the weekends more high scoring affairs against Castleconnor and will likely have a showdown for the second spot with Buninadden. Castleconnor and Johns are both after two wins to have a chance at avoiding relegation and the way that group is shaping, it possibly wouldn't be enough.
Though Coolaney will be relieved to get off the mark, they can't afford a slip up. Pats beating Enniscrone shows that it's still all to play for there with Harps likely group winners. Enniscrone will need to upset them in two weeks time as will Farnans on Harps to stand any chance of a semi final.
Junior A will take more shape after the next round.

I'll say it again, I love this format. Though, not a lover of Sunday evening games as we enter the Autumn. CCC seemed to get caught out yesterday. Had there been earlier times, fewer games in Junior B may have been affected. Something they need to look at.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 26/08/2024 09:38:53    2566846

Replying To sligo joe:  "Bottom line you did make predictions for the junior A so your newly found opt-out of zero interest doesn't hold water. So you got 7 out of 12, marginally better than you would expect if you tossed a coin."
Another hurler on the ditch!!

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 26/08/2024 10:02:30    2566855

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see DRP v Curry has moved from Keash to Cloonacool to Enniscrone. I understand the weather has been terrible but seeing that a Junior A game went from Scarden to Easkey yesterday evening and with Markievicz Park closed too clubs are being asked to pick up the slack for county facilities not being up to scratch. What do we pay club sligo for?!"
When the county board develop pitches they always seem to make a bad job of it. As we all know the Centre of Excellence isn't fit for purpose, Markiveciz Park is the least used pitch in the county and it's a disgrace. The people who were in charge of the installation of the new pitch in Markiveciz Park should be relieved of their duties.

InAroundTheSqaure (UK) - Posts: 11 - 26/08/2024 12:45:07    2566925

Replying To eoinog:  "Another hurler on the ditch!!"
I've no interest in making predictions but I am amused when those that do can fool themselves into believing that 7 correct out of 12 is now in hindsight 7 out of 8, hilarious.
You should make your predictions with the bookies and tell them afterwards to ignore the wrong ones, you're a comedian.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 26/08/2024 14:08:39    2566953

Replying To sligo joe:  "I've no interest in making predictions but I am amused when those that do can fool themselves into believing that 7 correct out of 12 is now in hindsight 7 out of 8, hilarious.
You should make your predictions with the bookies and tell them afterwards to ignore the wrong ones, you're a comedian."
I don't go to bookies and I doubt very much if you would get odds on Junior A competitions in Sligo. I would much rather be a comedian with a few like minded people on this site that float around different forums dropping snide remarks. What don't you partake in discussions ?

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 26/08/2024 14:25:18    2566957

Replying To sligo joe:  "I've no interest in making predictions but I am amused when those that do can fool themselves into believing that 7 correct out of 12 is now in hindsight 7 out of 8, hilarious.
You should make your predictions with the bookies and tell them afterwards to ignore the wrong ones, you're a comedian."
It's people like you that prevent people from joining these forums. It's not the Eoinog, Sligoman, Sligonian, johncreilly, bumblebee,southsligo etc etc. I was sitting on the fence wondering should I join to promote interest in our games as we are doing quiet well on the field of play. These people have a genuine affection for the sport . If you don't like what you read then just scroll on to another site.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 31 - 26/08/2024 14:33:12    2566962

Replying To Taypot:  "It's people like you that prevent people from joining these forums. It's not the Eoinog, Sligoman, Sligonian, johncreilly, bumblebee,southsligo etc etc. I was sitting on the fence wondering should I join to promote interest in our games as we are doing quiet well on the field of play. These people have a genuine affection for the sport . If you don't like what you read then just scroll on to another site."
Bizarre, how do I, or can I prevent people from "joining" a forum. Equally bizarre how eoinog can commend himself for getting 3 of four senior results correct and 4 out of four intermediate results correct but endeavour to ignore his 100% failure in predicting the junior A results by stating he has "zero interest" in the junior A championship (afterwards). It surely begs the question why if he has no interest did he make predictions for Junior A. If he had predicted the junior games correctly would he have made his zero interest comment???

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 26/08/2024 15:36:37    2566974

Replying To Taypot:  "It's people like you that prevent people from joining these forums. It's not the Eoinog, Sligoman, Sligonian, johncreilly, bumblebee,southsligo etc etc. I was sitting on the fence wondering should I join to promote interest in our games as we are doing quiet well on the field of play. These people have a genuine affection for the sport . If you don't like what you read then just scroll on to another site."
If you believe eoinog has an affection for the game in Sligo I've a chocolate teapot to sell you. Read his earlier comments on certain clubs. He has been rightly called out on it multiple times, and then he moves the goalposts upon being called out to change the discussion. This is just another example.

xwave8000 (Sligo) - Posts: 15 - 26/08/2024 15:36:53    2566975

Replying To eoinog:  "I don't go to bookies and I doubt very much if you would get odds on Junior A competitions in Sligo. I would much rather be a comedian with a few like minded people on this site that float around different forums dropping snide remarks. What don't you partake in discussions ?"
Look if it makes you feel knowledgeable, fire away and ignore the ones you get wrong and similarly I can continue to be amused by your near perfect "managed" results.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 26/08/2024 15:47:53    2566976

Maybe I should feel honoured that do many people look at my predictions with such scrutiny. If I came out yesterday evening boasting that I got 7 out of 8 correct in senior and intermediate then I would deserve a bit of flak. That didn't happen. What happened was a mushroom appeared saying something like you were well out with your predictions and I pointed out what I had got right. I wasn't bothered that I got a load of junior games, mainly between B club teams wrong. If 8 or 9 posters want to do a fun prediction, is it a crime ? A chap in Donegal does it for the National League and The All Ireland championship and it runs smoothly because the participants do it for a bit of fun. Incidentally it was won by Sligoman 123.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 26/08/2024 16:38:01    2566987

Replying To xwave8000:  "If you believe eoinog has an affection for the game in Sligo I've a chocolate teapot to sell you. Read his earlier comments on certain clubs. He has been rightly called out on it multiple times, and then he moves the goalposts upon being called out to change the discussion. This is just another example."
I have no idea what you mean by the second part of that text. The first part is stale news, it has been discussed. No point going over old stuff. People move on you know

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 26/08/2024 16:40:41    2566988

Replying To muscles:  "My predictions for this weekend

Senior
Shams to beat Calry by 4
Drumcliffe to beat Curry by 3
Molaise and Tourlestrane to draw
Coolera to beat Easkey by 7

Intermediate
Coolaney to beat Farnans by 4
Enniscrone and Pats to draw
Owenmore Gaels to beat Castleconnor by 5
Geevagh to beat Johns by 3

Junior
Ballymote to beat Cloonacool"
I am happy enough with my selections,

3 out of 4 in senior, went for the draw between Tourlestrane and Molaise as knew there would be a response from Tourlestrane as last week as was too bad of a performance to be a reflection of where they are at. Keaney would have been a big loss for Molaise, is he injured?

3 out of 4 in Intermediate also, again should not have gone for a draw but knew St Pats and Enniscrone would be a closer game than some people expected. A late goal sneaking the win for Pats and now opens up the group.

And agree with others, there was only 1 game that mattered in Junior last weekend so I only made 1 selection. It's hard to tell from year to year where these second teams are at but I think Ballymote have laid down a marker that Lavin might not have to transfer to another club just yet

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 457 - 26/08/2024 16:45:25    2566992

Replying To eoinog:  "Maybe I should feel honoured that do many people look at my predictions with such scrutiny. If I came out yesterday evening boasting that I got 7 out of 8 correct in senior and intermediate then I would deserve a bit of flak. That didn't happen. What happened was a mushroom appeared saying something like you were well out with your predictions and I pointed out what I had got right. I wasn't bothered that I got a load of junior games, mainly between B club teams wrong. If 8 or 9 posters want to do a fun prediction, is it a crime ? A chap in Donegal does it for the National League and The All Ireland championship and it runs smoothly because the participants do it for a bit of fun. Incidentally it was won by Sligoman 123."
Predictions are grand, bit of craic, agree. My only point is in your response to what you call "a mushroom" you engaged in a ham-fisted attempt at statistical massaging (by saying the junior A games which you got wrong were of zero interest to you) making your predictions something of a silk purse when in fact they were not quite but something close to a sow's ear.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 26/08/2024 17:05:09    2567000

Cat fight over for the night ha ha

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 286 - 26/08/2024 23:48:26    2567054

My head is sore looking at these messages

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 27/08/2024 08:12:10    2567071

Did my kids join this forum when I wasn't looking?

SligoMo (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 27/08/2024 14:17:08    2567149

Were they playing Junior this weekend!

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 31 - 27/08/2024 15:05:47    2567166