Sligo GAA thread

Great result. Well done. Brilliant attitude throughout.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 20/04/2022 20:41:45    2411942

Woooohoooo

Sligo win Connacht u20 for the first time in our history, what an absolutely bananas way to win it.

Fair play to the guys after going down to 14 and 5pts down to come back and win it from there.

Congrats to all involved.

Connacht v Leinster May 7/8 weekend.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1635 - 20/04/2022 21:02:53    2411949

Congrats Sligo, best of luck in semi.
Massive achievement today

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 20/04/2022 21:39:52    2411957

Well done to the Sligo under 20 team. You looked dead and buried in both the semi-final and final but kept doing until the last minute when things were not looking good for you. No reason why you can't keep it going, if you really believe.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 492 - 20/04/2022 21:45:18    2411962

Congratulations Sligo great to see a new name on the cup hopefully we can join ye

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 20/04/2022 21:54:56    2411966

To win anything you need a slice of luck. We got that last night. Massive congrats to the entire team and management. No hanging the heads when things are going badly with this bunch. They will give you everything.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 21/04/2022 08:12:19    2411971

Well done sligo on your victory could you be the next Offaly hopefully you are best of luck in the semi final.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 21/04/2022 08:52:24    2411977

Well done to Sligo on your win. Nothing to fear going into the semi final now.

Disappointed about the play acting from the Mayo player for the red card, Karma sorted that out in the end.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 795 - 21/04/2022 09:10:49    2411980

Both sides had lucky goals so best team won in the end. Great for Sligo football. They kept plugging away and showed great character once again. Heads down now for next assignment

thedreamer (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 21/04/2022 09:54:16    2411995

Replying To thedreamer:  "Both sides had lucky goals so best team won in the end. Great for Sligo football. They kept plugging away and showed great character once again. Heads down now for next assignment"
Congratulations to Sligo . Delighted with the result. Hopefully they give a good account of themselves going forward.
To be honest I'm not in full agreement with the "best team " comment and I expect that AI semi opponents would rather play Sligo than Mayo ( especially if Sam Callinan was to be available) . But having said that there wasn't much between any of the Connacht teams this year , and the team that showed the most bravery was Sligo and therefore deserve to be champions.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 21/04/2022 10:23:30    2412009

Great night for Sligo U20s, winning their first Connacht title. Well done, a great boost for the smaller counties.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 21/04/2022 10:34:12    2412012

We all have probably been critical of Sligo for not getting across the line in the past but now two Connacht underage titles within a year is great boost for the county and should hopefully give the belief to young lads coming through that Sligo can and should be competing with Mayo and Galway and be capable of winning titles.

As discussed before, a lot of lads on these teams aren't from traditional stronghold clubs and it is great to see the work that is gone into so many clubs to produce these lads.

Looking at the display of the last 2 games, there is some good lads coming through but none of the calibre of Red Óg, a massive loss to his family and friends but also a massive loss to Sligo Gaa. It was a sheer joy every time to watch him play. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam.

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 440 - 21/04/2022 12:53:54    2412072

If Sligo continued to play the game they played first half they would have won without all the drama but with the weight of expectations on the shoulders of young players they froze for the first ten minutes of the 2nd half.

Five points down plus a man down many a better team would have just looked to keep things respectable but not this group of Sligo players and i believe the spirit of the late great Red Óg Murphy drove them on to this great success. Congratulations

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 21/04/2022 13:22:19    2412081

Any word how preparation for Saturday is going? Any news on Carribine after his injury in New York?

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 26/04/2022 10:43:56    2413272

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Any word how preparation for Saturday is going? Any news on Carribine after his injury in New York?"
We probably won't know the team until the National Anthem is over. It's a disgrace how every county does this to their supporters. What I love about rugby is that they name their team a few days in advance of the game and you know barring an unforseen incident that is the team that will start.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 26/04/2022 11:32:02    2413286

Replying To eoinog:  "We probably won't know the team until the National Anthem is over. It's a disgrace how every county does this to their supporters. What I love about rugby is that they name their team a few days in advance of the game and you know barring an unforseen incident that is the team that will start."
Ya.. Its a shame and we can only speculate. From what I saw the last day the following players definately deserve to keep their spot....
Lyons, McNamara, Mullen, Cawley, O'Connor, Carrabine (if fit), Murphy.
I imagine Devanney should get the nod over Kilgannon for the GK position, and the likes of Kilcoyne and Cummins will also feature in the starting 15. Was interesting to see Phillips get a start at corner back the last day considering Walsh got game time over the league.
I would consider giving a start to P. Spillane around the middle also. He shwoed great energy and a powerful running game when he came on in the Bronx. All speculation of course without news on injuries etc. For example would love to see McGuinness back in the defense. Anyways, my starting 15 if all available would look something like this..Feel free to pull it apart :D

1. Devanney
2. Phillips
3. Lyons
4. McNamara
5. Mullen
6. Cummins
7. Kilcoyne
8. Spillane
9. O'Connor
10. Cawley
11. Towey
12. Carrabine
13. Egan
14. Murphy
15. Reilly

FearSligeach (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 26/04/2022 17:32:48    2413413

Are we playing championship at the weekend as this forum is a quite as a church on Saturday afternoon!

leyny (Sligo) - Posts: 65 - 29/04/2022 09:33:15    2413989

Replying To leyny:  "Are we playing championship at the weekend as this forum is a quite as a church on Saturday afternoon!"
Hopefully ye're busy planning ye're Tailteann campaign....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1399 - 29/04/2022 10:08:37    2413998

Replying To FearSligeach:  "Ya.. Its a shame and we can only speculate. From what I saw the last day the following players definately deserve to keep their spot....
Lyons, McNamara, Mullen, Cawley, O'Connor, Carrabine (if fit), Murphy.
I imagine Devanney should get the nod over Kilgannon for the GK position, and the likes of Kilcoyne and Cummins will also feature in the starting 15. Was interesting to see Phillips get a start at corner back the last day considering Walsh got game time over the league.
I would consider giving a start to P. Spillane around the middle also. He shwoed great energy and a powerful running game when he came on in the Bronx. All speculation of course without news on injuries etc. For example would love to see McGuinness back in the defense. Anyways, my starting 15 if all available would look something like this..Feel free to pull it apart :D

1. Devanney
2. Phillips
3. Lyons
4. McNamara
5. Mullen
6. Cummins
7. Kilcoyne
8. Spillane
9. O'Connor
10. Cawley
11. Towey
12. Carrabine
13. Egan
14. Murphy
15. Reilly"
A Sligo supporter told me after the New York game that Pat Hughes will be fit for Connacht semi final a certain starter if so.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 29/04/2022 14:21:24    2414065

What mismatch of a match. A lorry load of banana skins wouldn't have tripped up Roscommon and for Sligo supporters another sorry saga in the ever increasing list of heavy championship defeats. I never expected Sligo to win this game , given both team's current form , but, the least I expected was some 'fire in the belly' and ' have a cut' at the opposition. The Rossies jerseys will hardly need to be washed ,such was the paucity of the physicality from Sligo,bar a slap effort from Phillips that would be sneered at in playschool. Mooney showed by his actions that he is reffing to the gallery as was apparent during the national league. When he or his linesman didn't see it he erred in sending off the Sligo player based on one umpire's word. The Sligo display was very anemic and players are now so trapped in this system and strategy that coaches have introduced, that no player or players can deviate from it when it is plainly not working. I wish players would think for themselves during a game and not slavishly follow stupid game plans when it was there for all to see that it was going to lead to a hiding.
McEntee cut his teeth on the football fields of Armagh and knows better than most what it takes to win when you haven't always the most talented players at your disposal. Time for a rethink how a county like Sligo approaches the game, as the League and now the Championship shows ,this defensive possession based game is leading us nowhere. Overall , I thought most of the players acquitted themselves well but the game plan was woefully innocent.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 30/04/2022 20:07:03    2414251