Sligo GAA thread

Very very sweet victory yesterday evening. Roscommon should have us buried by half time but they didn't because they were not good enough. We hung on, got a penalty from a reckless foul on Jack Davitt, scored 2 more points to go level but lost our wing forward with injury. At Half time we were definitely the happier camp. Terrific second half with storming performances from Keaney, Lavin, Walsh, Smith and Mulligan. Mc Gowan also did well when he came on. Roll on next week where we will be underdogs again. Sligeach abu

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 14/04/2022 09:04:24    2410922

It was a truly awful error ridden game of football neither team could tackle and score rate was something like 40% for Roscommon and maybe 50% for Sligo when wides and dropped balls to keepers hands taken into account.
Sligo kept at it and there gameness win it for them but it looks like the Connacht u20 championship is wellbelow the expected standard.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 14/04/2022 13:05:33    2410978

Well done Sligo. I watched on TG4 and your lads were well worth the win. Roscommon for all their possession out the field weren't accurate enough when it came to shooting.
Hope you go on and win Connacht now. Wonder why the game is fixed for Beacon surly it's a home game for Sligo

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 14/04/2022 15:00:37    2411007

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Well done Sligo. I watched on TG4 and your lads were well worth the win. Roscommon for all their possession out the field weren't accurate enough when it came to shooting.
Hope you go on and win Connacht now. Wonder why the game is fixed for Beacon surly it's a home game for Sligo"
It's totally wrong that a venue that holds just 500 in a seating capacity is allowed to stage this final. And it should be in Sligo as the last U20 meeting between the two was in Castlebar.

Best of luck to Sligo in the final.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/04/2022 15:19:16    2411013

Replying To Yondu:  "It's totally wrong that a venue that holds just 500 in a seating capacity is allowed to stage this final. And it should be in Sligo as the last U20 meeting between the two was in Castlebar.

Best of luck to Sligo in the final."
I see Sligo GAA released a statement saying they've complained about the venue selection but were ignored by Connacht Council. If so it's very disappointing given that the President is a Tubbercurry man, you'd think he'd have some ability to get a response at least.

Not the first time our underage lads have been hard done over venues.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 16/04/2022 16:53:45    2411121

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see Sligo GAA released a statement saying they've complained about the venue selection but were ignored by Connacht Council. If so it's very disappointing given that the President is a Tubbercurry man, you'd think he'd have some ability to get a response at least.

Not the first time our underage lads have been hard done over venues."
If that's true, it's disgraceful. What is the argument for the game being played in Bekan, if it should be a home game for Sligo?
This competition has already had a questionable decision by letting the Galway-Mayo game go ahead in unplayable conditions.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 16/04/2022 17:24:17    2411129

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see Sligo GAA released a statement saying they've complained about the venue selection but were ignored by Connacht Council. If so it's very disappointing given that the President is a Tubbercurry man, you'd think he'd have some ability to get a response at least.

Not the first time our underage lads have been hard done over venues."
From a Leitrim man I say well done to Sligo gaa sticking up for themselves on this venue nonsense. And indeed they shouldn't show up if it isn't changed.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 16/04/2022 19:17:10    2411176

Stick to yere guns Sligo.
Time the paid employee was put in his box.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1414 - 16/04/2022 19:25:23    2411181

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Stick to yere guns Sligo.
Time the paid employee was put in his box."
Yes we've all taken plenty from Prenty. Sligo are absolutely right here.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 16/04/2022 19:42:29    2411186

Well done Sligo.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 16/04/2022 19:55:27    2411188

Fair enough about Bekan but on what basis are Sligo due home advantage? Should this game not be on neutral ground?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 16/04/2022 19:58:36    2411189

Replying To Square_B:  "Fair enough about Bekan but on what basis are Sligo due home advantage? Should this game not be on neutral ground?"
All Connacht games are played on an alternating home-away basis. This includes Connacht finals. The last time Sligo played Mayo at this level, it was in Mayo. This game should be in Sligo. Full stop.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 16/04/2022 20:07:44    2411195

I fully support our County Board and so does everyone. They have handled this brilliantly. Dead right to release the statement when Prenty won't even acknowledge us.

There is a huge amount of anger in Sligo at how we are being treated. It's been a tough couple of weeks and to even have to deal with this in the aftermath is a disgrace. We should be looking forward to a home Connacht final not dealing with TV scheduling and unfair biased venue selections.

The COE is not fit for a venue for any Connacht final. How many can it even hold?

If the Connacht Council don't back down or TG4 doesn't revise their schedule there won't be a match so there will be no winners. Hopefully, they will do the right thing and play the game at 6.30 in Markievicz on Wednesday.

The whole County is behind Sligo CB on this. Keep her lit.

Well done to the U20s against Roscommon. Showed incredible mental fortitude to stay in it and finish strong. Played the big moments when it mattered most. All the best when this is played.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 16/04/2022 20:15:23    2411200

The game is refixed for 6pm in Markievicz on Wednesday.

Fair play to our County Board.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 16/04/2022 20:35:21    2411211

Replying To Sligonian:  "I fully support our County Board and so does everyone. They have handled this brilliantly. Dead right to release the statement when Prenty won't even acknowledge us.

There is a huge amount of anger in Sligo at how we are being treated. It's been a tough couple of weeks and to even have to deal with this in the aftermath is a disgrace. We should be looking forward to a home Connacht final not dealing with TV scheduling and unfair biased venue selections.

The COE is not fit for a venue for any Connacht final. How many can it even hold?

If the Connacht Council don't back down or TG4 doesn't revise their schedule there won't be a match so there will be no winners. Hopefully, they will do the right thing and play the game at 6.30 in Markievicz on Wednesday.

The whole County is behind Sligo CB on this. Keep her lit.

Well done to the U20s against Roscommon. Showed incredible mental fortitude to stay in it and finish strong. Played the big moments when it mattered most. All the best when this is played."
Ye have a serious player in Smith. Looks a really class footballer. Along with a few more. Is the Sligo Vs new York game on gaa go or anything tomorrow

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1053 - 16/04/2022 20:42:09    2411217

Replying To Sligonian:  "The game is refixed for 6pm in Markievicz on Wednesday.

Fair play to our County Board."
About time someone stood up and refused to back down on the daft decision by the Connacht GAA.

And to think a few Mayo heads over on the Galway thread was trying to convince me and themselves that the Connacht GAA Centre is a fine venue for these U20 games.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 16/04/2022 21:56:53    2411247

Replying To dave1988:  "Ye have a serious player in Smith. Looks a really class footballer. Along with a few more. Is the Sligo Vs new York game on gaa go or anything tomorrow"
It's on GAAGO

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 16/04/2022 21:57:33    2411248

Replying To WanPintWin:  "All Connacht games are played on an alternating home-away basis. This includes Connacht finals. The last time Sligo played Mayo at this level, it was in Mayo. This game should be in Sligo. Full stop."
That's fair enough, I didn't know the protocol here. Fair due to Sligo for standing their ground and I see the game has been rescheduled. Good to see Prenty's wings being clipped for a change...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 16/04/2022 21:57:36    2411249

The ultimatum worked which is proper order so well done for sticking it to Connacht Council, but it's bizzare that it came to it. The Connacht Council aren't some external outside body Sligo have people on it too and likes of Leitrim and Ros should take note for future dealings to keep eyes open!

Anyways focus back on football now rather than the meeting rooms. Good luck to Sligo seniors. Great atmosphere over here for the game as usual and race night was good craic. I'd be expecting at least a 6/7 point win!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 17/04/2022 09:25:44    2411264

Replying To Yondu:  "About time someone stood up and refused to back down on the daft decision by the Connacht GAA.

And to think a few Mayo heads over on the Galway thread was trying to convince me and themselves that the Connacht GAA Centre is a fine venue for these U20 games."
Well done on completely missing the point. I said the COE was fine for the Mayo v Galway game since it was due to be a Mayo venue and MacHale park was unavailable at the time. Unfortunately the weather ruined that particular game.

This is different as Sligo are due a home game vs Mayo. Thankfully the correct decision has been reached eventually!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 17/04/2022 10:46:31    2411280