Sligo GAA thread

Well done to Sligo, by far best team for most of the game, great comeback in fairness but Sligo had the composure and class in the closing stages. Enjoy the final in Croke Park.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 26/03/2023 15:43:02    2466706

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Well done to Sligo, by far best team for most of the game, great comeback in fairness but Sligo had the composure and class in the closing stages. Enjoy the final in Croke Park."
Great to see Sligo get promoted and these group of players should be playing at a higher level than division 4. 2 criticisms, however, do the management pick names out of a hat for substitutions. Some crazy decision making on the line. Also the score difference stat from all our games would make interesting reading. We seem to let teams back into games after doing all the spade work early on. Anyway great boost to get promoted.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 26/03/2023 16:40:05    2466746

Thank you.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 26/03/2023 16:44:14    2466752

The result is all that matters and we achieved that. In truth we were miles the best team but made life difficult for ourselves. Well done to John Mc Entee and his team. We will probably be favourites to win next weekend . Great for these lads to get another day out in Croke Park .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 26/03/2023 16:48:50    2466757

Replying To Sligonian:  "Wicklowman, At least you didn't listen to the bias commentary on Ocean fm.

Anyways absolutely delighted with Promotion. Made hardwork of it from 8 pts up. Not sure why Spillane or O Connor got taken off but if the glee in the commentators was anything to go by it boosted Leitrim. Massive character to pull it back from jaws of defeat. Fair play to the players.

Hard luck to the hurlers who ran London close.

Sligeach abu"
I did listen to it. I couldn't believe the Leitrim comeback. 8 down to go 1 up. If it had finished like that Leitrim and Laois would have went up, that's how close it came... Anyway, I'm delighted Sligo and Wicklow are up. We meet again next Saturday in Croke Park. Wicklow were far from impressive today or last week against Wexford. We are a bit lucky to be going up in truth. Perhaps for beating Laois away and Leitrim at home we deserve it. Advantage Sligo on Saturday.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 26/03/2023 16:59:31    2466764

Great to get out of Div 4 and should win next weekend with bit to spare having been comfy in Aughrim. Laois will be kicking themselves but its a league and as we've learned in the past you need to be up for every game! Great to see Paddy O'Connor flying and Carrabine reliable when needed.
Downside going forward is that we aren't bringing 20s through. aside from Evan lyons who was strangely subbed today, there's little faith put in our star 20s like there is in Mayo, Ros etc. Jack Lavin has been excellent in his appearances yet an unused sub today and u20 all star Joe Keaney didn't make the bench? Maybe they carrying injuries but those guys well able for Div 4 level.
Looking forward to silverware in Croker!

tentonne (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 26/03/2023 17:23:28    2466785

Replying To tentonne:  "Great to get out of Div 4 and should win next weekend with bit to spare having been comfy in Aughrim. Laois will be kicking themselves but its a league and as we've learned in the past you need to be up for every game! Great to see Paddy O'Connor flying and Carrabine reliable when needed.
Downside going forward is that we aren't bringing 20s through. aside from Evan lyons who was strangely subbed today, there's little faith put in our star 20s like there is in Mayo, Ros etc. Jack Lavin has been excellent in his appearances yet an unused sub today and u20 all star Joe Keaney didn't make the bench? Maybe they carrying injuries but those guys well able for Div 4 level.
Looking forward to silverware in Croker!"
Massive win for Sligo today. Huge congrats to everyone. A much needed morale boost to complement the work going on in Sligo GAA the last number of years. Credit where it is due.
I wouldn't worry about the u20s not getting too much of a chance. This year is about development and getting them physically ready and having them adapt to the intensity. Mayo, Ross etc can afford to let them lads have game time as they're safe in their divisions. We aren't. They will feature a lot more next year no doubt. And also the positions these lads play are full of young players also. We can't forget that this Sligo team we seen today was also very young. Very exciting.
As for today as eoinog said we were miles better. And also while it looked like we had let it slip away. The lads stepped up massive credit to them.
After the first 5 minutes we got a foothold on the game and dominated. Went back to our usual job of switching off for 5 minutes and conceding 2 goals. That can be worked on.
Another day out in croker well deserved. A huge turn around compared to the defeat from Laois in the opening round.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 26/03/2023 17:40:33    2466797

Great to get out of Division 4, Leitrim buoyed by a great home support were always going to come at Sligo and again Sligo seemed to falter. Game management has been very questionable throughout this campaign

While it's nice to get a game in Croke Park, promotion was the important aspect, I highly doubt silverware is a priority for management a week out from championship against London.

Hopefully can use the momentum from this league campaign to get to a Connacht final and then have a few testing games against top sides to see where we are at

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 26/03/2023 17:51:13    2466807

Congratulations, Sligo. Well done on gaining promotion. Well deserved. And also nice to do it by beating Leitrim in their own backyard.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 26/03/2023 18:30:09    2466835

Replying To tentonne:  "Great to get out of Div 4 and should win next weekend with bit to spare having been comfy in Aughrim. Laois will be kicking themselves but its a league and as we've learned in the past you need to be up for every game! Great to see Paddy O'Connor flying and Carrabine reliable when needed.
I assume you are indulging in something stronger than orange juice when you wrote that.
Evan Lyons picked up an injury in the incident that saw a goal for Leitrim. Anyone at the game wasn't surprised to see him getting taken off. It's a few years since Evan was at u.20
We have loads of young players on the team . It's a big step up from U.20 to senior, they are not ready for that step yet. Need another year to bring them to the level. Lavin has done very well and he along with others are the future of the team. We need to be patient and not just throw them I because they are

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 26/03/2023 18:45:25    2466845

Plus I had o idea why you think we will beat Wicklow with a bit to spare just because beat them a few weeks ago. Laois also beat us with a bit to spare and look where they are now.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 26/03/2023 18:47:51    2466848

Sligobuck21 Mayo & Ros using 20s from the start of the league and faith shown in them was repaid. McStay and Burke were under pressure from star in top division. Ros were favourites for the drop but their 20s were key men when faith shown in them. We are operating in Div 4 and fair to say its fairly low-level stuff. 2 of our starters today haven't played county football in few years and fared okay so it's not the step up you'd imagine div 1 would be.
Lavin looked very good in all games he played in since Cummins' injury...composed and positionally ahead of most. Would have been good to see him on the pitch. Perhaps he'll get on in Croker.
Again, that's only gripe with what has been a good league after the first game. To win 6 on the trot is good going, especially with trips to Aughrim and Carlow thrown in. Not too long ago Carlow burst our chances down there when we were in the driving seat. Players showed a resilience again today that we too good for another year in basement. Agree with Muscles...push on to Connacht final and see can we compete. No excuses. We have good forward unit and McFadden seems to have that side of things moving well...nice rotation and options inside. Better games against top opposition after Connacht Final will bring players on for Div 3 too.

tentonne (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 26/03/2023 18:57:23    2466855

Hopefully Evan Lyons is okay. He was outstanding once again with some vital interceptions. He's a joy to watch and our best defender since Charlie/Ross. Towey has been our best player all year, his energy is central to much of our good stuff. O'Connor was good today and when on form, an absolute baller. Cummins physical presence is badly missed at 6, hopefully he's back for championship. Lally has been central to our promotion too, he has made a difference around the middle. Spillane improving by the game too. Credit to Nathan Mullen on keeping Keith Beirne quiet too. Lyons kickouts have been excellent too. One thing I can't understand is how Andy Moran left Donal Wrynne at 14 for so long. Played into our hands thankfully. The injection of real quality from the U17/20s of recent years is yet to come. Next year and the year after will be huge. Sligeach abú

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 26/03/2023 19:28:08    2466872

Well done Sligo. Connacht final on the horizon

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 26/03/2023 21:54:35    2466941

Great to get out of Division 4 after our longest spell in it. Throughout the league however I'd be a bit concerned about our inability to close out games that we have in the bag. Against Leitrim,Wexford and Waterford we had the games won and somehow always cough up scores. We should have been able to go to Carrick yesterday with the comfort of knowing if we lost we were still good on score difference. I thought our bench was ineffective yesterday and probably was introduced too early. When you compare what Leitrim brought on with Tom Prior could any of our 5 say they had the same impact? We were by far the better team yesterday in that leadership was spread around. O'Connor, Carrabine, Lyons, Towey, Spillane all played very well. Disappointed in Murphy I thought he was shy enough in front of goal.

I do think we can survive in Div 3 next year. Beat Wicklow and Antrim and look for one more result and we're back where we belong as a mid Div 3 team.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 27/03/2023 08:32:07    2466963

Congrats for your promotion
Exciting last 10 mins.
I'd say ye were thinking this game was gone.
Credit to Leitrim for a great comeback.

As a matter of interest will it is your best team in Croker or your 2nd team with 7 days ahead in the thinking.

That's 2 in a row Sligo have beaten us.
Game 1. On penalties
Game 2. One point.

Crazy stuff these fixtures coming up. Ye now have
Next week Croke Park.
Week after London.

Injuries would be a worry.

It would of been worst for us.

At least ye are only crossing the Irish Sea.
We have a slightly longer journey.

We would of been playing on Sat in Croker
and going to New York Wed/Thur.

Again congratulations on your promotion. And of course
There's a possibility of a rematch in the semifinal.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 27/03/2023 17:00:14    2467126

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Congrats for your promotion
Exciting last 10 mins.
I'd say ye were thinking this game was gone.
Credit to Leitrim for a great comeback.

As a matter of interest will it is your best team in Croker or your 2nd team with 7 days ahead in the thinking.

That's 2 in a row Sligo have beaten us.
Game 1. On penalties
Game 2. One point.

Crazy stuff these fixtures coming up. Ye now have
Next week Croke Park.
Week after London.

Injuries would be a worry.

It would of been worst for us.

At least ye are only crossing the Irish Sea.
We have a slightly longer journey.

We would of been playing on Sat in Croker
and going to New York Wed/Thur.

Again congratulations on your promotion. And of course
There's a possibility of a rematch in the semifinal."
Ya must be forgetting about last years league and FBD too if you're only counting two in a row. In fact I think it's 2011 since Leitrim beat Sligo in a championship game and not sure when in league as we were never in same division until recently.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 27/03/2023 17:40:45    2467145

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Ya must be forgetting about last years league and FBD too if you're only counting two in a row. In fact I think it's 2011 since Leitrim beat Sligo in a championship game and not sure when in league as we were never in same division until recently."
Hands up and sadly I confirm that you are factually correct that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since 2011 in the Championship.

Remarkable that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since in the championship.

The only two reasons I can think of are

1. Maybe it was of injuries Leitrim had.

2. Maybe it's because Leitrim haven't
played Sligo in the championship since.

3 I'm wondering if there was another reason

If you can remember another reason please enlighten me. Thanks in advance

We have defeated Sligo in the league since
Leitrim have won TWO fbd leagues since it started.
Not sure how many times Sligo won the Fbd league.

The only thing I know it of all the five counties in the province Sligo are a commendable fifth best as the most successful county.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 28/03/2023 15:07:00    2467354

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Hands up and sadly I confirm that you are factually correct that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since 2011 in the Championship.

The only thing I know it of all the five counties in the province Sligo are a commendable fifth best as the most successful county.

2."
Maybe it's something to do with your ability to count 1-3 or general grasp of the English language?

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 28/03/2023 16:47:18    2467402

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Hands up and sadly I confirm that you are factually correct that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since 2011 in the Championship.

2."
Perhaps it's that on the day Sligo were better than Leitrim??? Did that ever occur to you?

While ya were trawling the archives you'd have found that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo in league since 2008 the year we were both relegated. Sligo were in a higher division from then on until they went to Division 4 in 2019 when Leitrim were in Division 3 and in 2020,2021,2022 were beaten by Sligo.

As for FBDs I haven't a notion how many any team has one because it's a meaningless competition. Yer good neighbours in Longford found that out with O'Byrne cup win.

My point is I find it laughable how year after year Leitrim supporters come on these forums full of gusto about how they've a great record against Sligo or find some folly excuse to explain why they lost. Sligo statistically are better than Leitrim…not that it matters a whole pile anyway bar local bragging rights as neither are near close to any of the other 3 counties in Connacht.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 28/03/2023 16:47:25    2467403