Sligo GAA thread

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "Blaming Tourlestrane for the state of Sligo football, jaysus that's bitter. Tourlestrane play a defensive system just the same as all other teams do now, it requires hard work and discipline which is why they are good at it. I don't know of any team that just play old style defensive system at the back anymore? Moycullen were the better side yesterday but there was not that much in it if a few things worked out differently, they have quiet a few of the galway all ireland appearing team. With the club championship close in Sligo this year its clear that club football is in a better state than is reflected in our Div 4 ounty status. However as stated by many on here the current setup does not have the skills to get the best 24 in and playing with passion for the black and white."
No. I don't agree. Moycullen won at a canter. What I was surprised at was that there was no mention of Tourlestrane appearing in a Connacht Final on Sligo Facebook either before the final, on the day itself or since the game. That's shocking poor

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 06/12/2022 09:28:05    2449611

Replying To Maggiepie:  "Are you surprised? The type of football played by Tourlestrane will never win anything outside of Sligo. I think 7 attempts answer's that emphatically. Furthermore, it it also having a negative effect on the County team's performances. In the narrow mindset of coaches, they look to imitate what works for a club within the county and set up teams in a similar fashion. Result, teams going out to play provincial competitions are by an large ruthlessly exposed. And that is what happened yesterday. Not for the first time Tour set up to contain and when the realisation hit that this is not going to work, had no experience of playing attacking football in a high intensity game.
Worth remembering that Sligo, a county that used to be regarded as a strong footballing county, is now as embedded in Division 4 as Wicklow, Carlow etc."
Tourlestrane should have taken advice from this tactical genius. Play an open game against the Galway champions in their home ground, similar to Westport. A team featuring 6/7 Galway County players and 3 players poached from other clubs. An analyst role awaits in a club or county setup

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 06/12/2022 19:03:06    2449693

In fairness to Tour they gave a good account of themselves and with 15 min left were in the game and almost in twice for a goal which would have made it interesting. No shame in losing in Salthill to the Galway champs. They only put daylight in it the last quarter. Instead of criticising them others can learn from how they get the most out of their playing resources and actually win 7 titles in a fricken row.

maximus_1 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 07/12/2022 08:35:47    2449711

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "Blaming Tourlestrane for the state of Sligo football, jaysus that's bitter. Tourlestrane play a defensive system just the same as all other teams do now, it requires hard work and discipline which is why they are good at it. I don't know of any team that just play old style defensive system at the back anymore? Moycullen were the better side yesterday but there was not that much in it if a few things worked out differently, they have quiet a few of the galway all ireland appearing team. With the club championship close in Sligo this year its clear that club football is in a better state than is reflected in our Div 4 ounty status. However as stated by many on here the current setup does not have the skills to get the best 24 in and playing with passion for the black and white."
I didn't blame Tourlestrane for the state of Sligo football- I said that the style of football they play is having a negative effect on the county team. That's hardly a bitter thing to say unless you can demonstrate how it is.
If Tour won last Sunday I would no doubt see lots of posts extolling the positive effects the win would have on the county team.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 231 - 07/12/2022 13:39:21    2449758

Replying To Maggiepie:  "I didn't blame Tourlestrane for the state of Sligo football- I said that the style of football they play is having a negative effect on the county team. That's hardly a bitter thing to say unless you can demonstrate how it is.
If Tour won last Sunday I would no doubt see lots of posts extolling the positive effects the win would have on the county team."
Can you demonstrate how Tourlestrane are having a negative impact on the Sligo county team? Absolutely ridiculous statement.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 07/12/2022 14:40:44    2449768

Having a competitive championship with different winners than one dominate team helps but i don't think how successful teams are in provincial championships overly matters.

Take Tyrone for example. It's 20 years since one of their teams won the Ulster senior club championship but in the meantime Tyrone County seniors have won 4 All-Irelands and many more underage All-Irelands.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 07/12/2022 16:48:21    2449779

Any truth in rumblings of a few high profile transfers within the county

Hj-89 (Sligo) - Posts: 6 - 18/12/2022 14:08:34    2450667

Replying To Hj-89:  "Any truth in rumblings of a few high profile transfers within the county"
Heard a rumour about 2 brothers going from one side of the town to the other. Don't know if it's true

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 18/12/2022 20:41:44    2450708

Congratulations to Easkey hurlers yesterday on qualifying for the All-Ireland final. Has a Sligo club ever won an All-Ireland before? Did a ladies team win relatively recently? Hope all Sligo GAA supporters will get behind Easkey now.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 19/12/2022 15:49:43    2450757

Anybody at the challenge between Sligo and Mayo. Not a word on any Sligo social media site about it . The team that was on the program that appeared on the Sligo Twitter page wasn't anywhere close to the team that actually started. Woeful *****. Not sure is it the team Mgt or the Co Board that's at fault there. Who is this Howley lad that started

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 03/01/2023 18:18:05    2451002

Replying To eoinog:  "Anybody at the challenge between Sligo and Mayo. Not a word on any Sligo social media site about it . The team that was on the program that appeared on the Sligo Twitter page wasn't anywhere close to the team that actually started. Woeful *****. Not sure is it the team Mgt or the Co Board that's at fault there. Who is this Howley lad that started"
Was very poor. Team lined out nothing a like the programme. Id say 12/13 changes.
Mayo just showed their class and we couldn't live with it. The intensity in which they tackled in numbers and also how they moved the ball at speed from defence to attack left our lads shell shocked.
Don't know who the howley lad is but a bad game to throw him into straight away. His Club was down as roundtowers meaning he'd be living in Dublin.
FBD league will hopefully give a better indication of where we are at. Promotion into Div 3 and getting to a Connacht final have to be the minimum targets this year. We've been talking of promotion every year and always seem to fall short. Hopefully players and management realise that this year.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 04/01/2023 10:38:04    2451042

Replying To eoinog:  "Anybody at the challenge between Sligo and Mayo. Not a word on any Sligo social media site about it . The team that was on the program that appeared on the Sligo Twitter page wasn't anywhere close to the team that actually started. Woeful *****. Not sure is it the team Mgt or the Co Board that's at fault there. Who is this Howley lad that started"
Don't think we got a single team lineout in advance of a game all last year so that's no great surprise.

ChasingShadows (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 05/01/2023 19:02:53    2451291

Hard luck to Easkey yesterday. Ballygiblin were only in the junior again this year due to Cork championships restructured.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/01/2023 16:12:19    2452540

Great performance from the Hurlers. Coming up against a Cork outfit was always going to be tough. They can be proud of their efforts

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 16/01/2023 11:42:11    2452675

Replying To eoinog:  "Great performance from the Hurlers. Coming up against a Cork outfit was always going to be tough. They can be proud of their efforts"
Gave a good account of themselves early goal for Cork side was a massive blow to Easkey who to have any chance always needed a goal or two.

After the goal thought Easkey gave a good account and for poor shooting could have been closer at the end.

Fair play to ballygiblin after last year's loss to come back and win this year this panel of players have to be admired for what they done.

One stat from speaking to a friend only one county outside the top ten / 12 have won this competition since it started hopefully this will change in next few years.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 291 - 16/01/2023 16:17:44    2452739

Panel is named for the league. Nice to see Lally, O Kelly Lynch and Cox back in the fold. Can't really see any of the U.20 lads from last year making the team. Against Roscommon they didn't look to be ready for that yet. Reasonable performance from the team against the Rossies. Target is to get out of Div 4 so beating our neighbours wasn't a priority. There can be no excuses this year. We have to get out of Div 4. I think we have the players and they all seem to be be on the same hymn sheet as the management. Bring it on

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 18/01/2023 16:13:24    2452989

Replying To eoinog:  "Panel is named for the league. Nice to see Lally, O Kelly Lynch and Cox back in the fold. Can't really see any of the U.20 lads from last year making the team. Against Roscommon they didn't look to be ready for that yet. Reasonable performance from the team against the Rossies. Target is to get out of Div 4 so beating our neighbours wasn't a priority. There can be no excuses this year. We have to get out of Div 4. I think we have the players and they all seem to be be on the same hymn sheet as the management. Bring it on"
Does that mean O'Kelly Lynch is gone from the hurlers?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/01/2023 16:37:13    2452999

Replying To eoinog:  "Panel is named for the league. Nice to see Lally, O Kelly Lynch and Cox back in the fold. Can't really see any of the U.20 lads from last year making the team. Against Roscommon they didn't look to be ready for that yet. Reasonable performance from the team against the Rossies. Target is to get out of Div 4 so beating our neighbours wasn't a priority. There can be no excuses this year. We have to get out of Div 4. I think we have the players and they all seem to be be on the same hymn sheet as the management. Bring it on"
Great to have a panel released this year something that hasn't been done the last number of years. Great to see some older heads along with newcomers and lads who have been there before back in.
Where are all the tourlestrane players?
I think some of the u20s such as Lavin and Keaney will be getting close to the team. A squad that looks like it will be competitive for places. Mayo/Roscommon/Galway put in lads year after year in their first year out of u20 and fit in seamlessly. It's about giving the player confidence. Especially when these lads have won Connacht u20 titles theres no reason they shouldn't be able to. Give them time to train and show themselves. One match in the FBD league while they were also playing intense colleges football throughout the week shouldn't decide anything.
Murphy named as Captain with Cummins and Carrabine named as joint vice-captains.
Best of luck to the squad for the year.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 18/01/2023 17:42:02    2453013

Replying To keeper7:  "Does that mean O'Kelly Lynch is gone from the hurlers?"
Hopefully..... He is a good footballer

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 19/01/2023 09:46:15    2453041

Replying To eoinog:  "Hopefully..... He is a good footballer"
He'd be a bigger loss to the hurlers.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/01/2023 13:26:04    2453942