Sligo GAA thread

Any word on Luke Gilmartin Tubercurry, hear he's moving well and scoring for fun. Injury free first time in a while!

Shligotownboy (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 27/10/2022 14:55:08    2445683

I will also do my senior all stars.
1) Jack Teape
2) John Francis Carr
3) Barry Walsh
4) Ryan Feehily
5) Oisin Kennedy
6) Adrian McIntyre
7) Gerard Okelly Lynch
8) Conan Maren
9) David Quinn
10) Eoghan Smith
11) Paddy Oconnor
12) Cathal Henry
13) Cian Lally
14) Niall Murphy
15) Liam Gaughan

POTY: Conan Marren
Tourlestrane heavy but don't see who else was better than those lads this year. Few Mary's and DRP. Shamrock Gaels, Farnans and Coolera/Strandhill get one each.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 27/10/2022 20:51:39    2445728

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I will also do my senior all stars.
1) Jack Teape
2) John Francis Carr
3) Barry Walsh
4) Ryan Feehily
5) Oisin Kennedy
6) Adrian McIntyre
7) Gerard Okelly Lynch
8) Conan Maren
9) David Quinn
10) Eoghan Smith
11) Paddy Oconnor
12) Cathal Henry
13) Cian Lally
14) Niall Murphy
15) Liam Gaughan

POTY: Conan Marren
Tourlestrane heavy but don't see who else was better than those lads this year. Few Mary's and DRP. Shamrock Gaels, Farnans and Coolera/Strandhill get one each."
Interesting selection. I went for Teape because of his semi final heroics. He didn't have a great Final. I included Gaughan because if I didn't I would get slaughtered. In the scoring charts he wouldn't be in the top 6 scoring forwards and unlikely to make the top 10. I don't count frees. But I think you have made a bigger call by leaving out Evan Lyon's.....

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 28/10/2022 11:32:51    2445767

Replying To eoinog:  "Interesting selection. I went for Teape because of his semi final heroics. He didn't have a great Final. I included Gaughan because if I didn't I would get slaughtered. In the scoring charts he wouldn't be in the top 6 scoring forwards and unlikely to make the top 10. I don't count frees. But I think you have made a bigger call by leaving out Evan Lyon's....."
Didn't proof read that well enough. My mistake!!!
Lyons slots in there at number 4.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 28/10/2022 15:16:27    2445807

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Didn't proof read that well enough. My mistake!!!
Lyons slots in there at number 4."
Did you break the news to Ryan Feehily that you dropped him !!!

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 29/10/2022 19:23:28    2445903

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Will do my best to do weekly predictions for u21. A great competition each year. Something to keep the forum active also.
U21 A:
Molaise to beat St. Mary's. Don't know who will be able stop Keaney from dominating around midfield.
DRP to beat Ballymote/Bunninaden. DRP will just be better in the majority of areas on the pitch.
U21 B:
Tubbercurry/Cloonacool to beat Coolera/Strandhill. I predict the winners of this game to go on and
win it all. Tubbercurry/Cloonacool should come through here.
Curry to beat Coolaney/Mullinabreena. Can't see Curry losing. Don't know much about either side. Curry won the u20 last year so I'd guess they won't be far away again.
Calry/St Joseph's to beat Castleconnor . This will be a tight match. Both teams with good sets of forwards.
Geevagh/ St. Michael's to beat Tourlestrane. Another tight game. I don't know much about either sides.

Overall winners
U21 A - Molaise
U21 B - Tubbercurry/Cloonacool"
Two wrong this week for me. DRP being the biggest shock exit. No surprise with Molaises win.
Goals win games which Tubber shown. Curry had another comfortable scoreline. Geevagh/St Michael's lucky to get over the line against Tourlestrane I hear. Castleconnor surprised me with a massive win.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 30/10/2022 09:16:34    2445925

Replying To eoinog:  "Did you break the news to Ryan Feehily that you dropped him !!!"
It's a cruel game them All Stars

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 30/10/2022 09:17:30    2445926

Ballymote/Bunninaden u21 A champions. Fair play to them. Heard the lads speaking on the radio after and sounds as if they were always near Molaise so great for them to get over the line. I wasn't at that game or any game as I was away this weekend.
Easkey/St Farnans came out one point winners over Geevagh/St Michael's. I would've expected Geevagh/St Michael's to come out on top there. Surprised me. They now take on Tubbercurry/Cloonacool in the semi final, a game I predict Tubbercurry/Cloonacool will win. Curry beat a Castleconnor side who won convincingly last week. Possibly a shock result?

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 07/11/2022 21:56:07    2446820

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Ballymote/Bunninaden u21 A champions. Fair play to them. Heard the lads speaking on the radio after and sounds as if they were always near Molaise so great for them to get over the line. I wasn't at that game or any game as I was away this weekend.
Easkey/St Farnans came out one point winners over Geevagh/St Michael's. I would've expected Geevagh/St Michael's to come out on top there. Surprised me. They now take on Tubbercurry/Cloonacool in the semi final, a game I predict Tubbercurry/Cloonacool will win. Curry beat a Castleconnor side who won convincingly last week. Possibly a shock result?"
I had topped Molaise from the start so I got it wrong. Even without Jack Davitt who will also miss the Connacht game on Saturday they put up a poor show. Molaise have a few other injuries for Saturday also so Tuam could be a graveyard for their dreams. With the U.20 Sligo team getting their medals on Friday evening it's a pity that these lads will have to behave impeccably. Could a case not have been made for the game to be played on Sunday. What do our reps do on Connacht Council?
If the U.20 team are to retain their title they will have to do it the hard way. Away to the Rossies, and if they win that away to Mayo and should they come out of that alive it's an away final against Leitrim/Galway.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 10/11/2022 13:02:40    2447084

Very disappointing show from our club teams in Connacht action over the weekend. Both gone at the first hurdle. Tourlestrane are in action this weekend. We badly need a victory. Big prize at stake, a Connacht final berth .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 15/11/2022 10:30:53    2447615

Replying To eoinog:  "Very disappointing show from our club teams in Connacht action over the weekend. Both gone at the first hurdle. Tourlestrane are in action this weekend. We badly need a victory. Big prize at stake, a Connacht final berth ."
Well wouldn't have expected much out of Owenmore Gaels who are there by default and probably hadn't trained much. Molaise would have it tough away from home. Tourlestrane should be winning on Saturday given their experience but playing away against a young enough outfit may balance it out.

Has anyone seen league fixtures for 2023. How many home games have we?

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 16/11/2022 09:25:38    2447722

Good showing from our teams this weekend. Congrats to Easkey on their hurling success. Also to Tourlestrane on their win at the weekend. Moycullen now await them in two weeks time after an Extra-Time win today over Strokestown.
Curry won the U21 B championship. EoinOg got his prediction correct. I went with Tubbercurry/Cloonacool from the start so not far off.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 20/11/2022 17:45:30    2448238

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Good showing from our teams this weekend. Congrats to Easkey on their hurling success. Also to Tourlestrane on their win at the weekend. Moycullen now await them in two weeks time after an Extra-Time win today over Strokestown.
Curry won the U21 B championship. EoinOg got his prediction correct. I went with Tubbercurry/Cloonacool from the start so not far off."
I went for Curry from the beginning because they won the U.20B championship last year and with a few lads on the Sligo U 20 panel I figured they would be strong. They should not have been allowed play B. When the same group of players won B the year before they should surely have played A this year.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 25/11/2022 09:30:41    2448662

All the best to Tourlestrane on Sunday. Did well to stay composed second half against Marys and grind it out from 6-2 down.

Anto or any of the Tourlestrane lads on here, what's the story with Liam Gaughan, I was really impressed with him in the Sligo Championship and he got some incredible scores from play and frees the last day which were very tricky with the wind. I still feel with county conditioning he could get even sharper. Is he coming back to the Sligo Senior setup? If not, do you know why?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1635 - 29/11/2022 19:47:08    2449092

Good to see a Sligo team in the Club final. I don't think they will win it. A pitch along the Atlantic in December isn't very inviting for supporter's so it will only be die hard club fans that will travel and not much support from the other clubs. It will probably be a very low scoring game but it's a huge ask to beat a Galway team over there. I wish them well

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 01/12/2022 13:00:53    2449227

Fairly comprehensively beaten so I don't think Tourlestrane can have any complaints. They have played a good few games in Connacht at this stage and really struggle to put scores on the board. I have been critical of Liam Gaughan in the past. Today he was very good. In that sort of form he would be a help to Sligo if he decides to commit. If he doesn't want to play that's fine, just move on without him. I imagine P.J in the Galway camp will move heaven and earth to try and Keep Peter Cooke from traveling this year. He was my man of the match.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 04/12/2022 15:21:35    2449487

Funny enough I hear Peter Cooke is a player for the Sligo club in NYC for 2023. Really poor showing again, the score lines Tour have been putting up in Connacht have not been up to standard. It's very disappointing to have 7 in a row and nothing to show for in Connacht.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 04/12/2022 17:06:36    2449502

Replying To republican:  "Funny enough I hear Peter Cooke is a player for the Sligo club in NYC for 2023. Really poor showing again, the score lines Tour have been putting up in Connacht have not been up to standard. It's very disappointing to have 7 in a row and nothing to show for in Connacht."
Are you surprised? The type of football played by Tourlestrane will never win anything outside of Sligo. I think 7 attempts answer's that emphatically. Furthermore, it it also having a negative effect on the County team's performances. In the narrow mindset of coaches, they look to imitate what works for a club within the county and set up teams in a similar fashion. Result, teams going out to play provincial competitions are by an large ruthlessly exposed. And that is what happened yesterday. Not for the first time Tour set up to contain and when the realisation hit that this is not going to work, had no experience of playing attacking football in a high intensity game.
Worth remembering that Sligo, a county that used to be regarded as a strong footballing county, is now as embedded in Division 4 as Wicklow, Carlow etc.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 05/12/2022 11:13:55    2449546

Moycullen were a very good side playing at home. The Tour gameplan worked well at time but poor showings by a number of individuals saw a handful carry the fight.
Moycullen beat Westport by 3-18 to 1-12...Tourlestrane were within touching distance. Johnny Kelly should have had a penalty in 2nd half when fouled in square going for loose ball when 0-6 to 0-4 down, and his brilliant pass over the top was an inch from putting James Leonard through. Moycullen were the stronger side..the Kelly's are machines & Cooke and Antrim man Gallagher ensured they bossed exchanges in middle.
Blaming Tour for what's going on at county level is laughable tbf. John Francis Carr, Barry Walsh, Johnny Kelly and Liam Gaughan should be in there. Big part of management role is to get best guys bought in but soft skills not in evidence. Guys on panel didn't stand out, a feature of club championship across the board.

tentonne (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 05/12/2022 13:01:50    2449566

Blaming Tourlestrane for the state of Sligo football, jaysus that's bitter. Tourlestrane play a defensive system just the same as all other teams do now, it requires hard work and discipline which is why they are good at it. I don't know of any team that just play old style defensive system at the back anymore? Moycullen were the better side yesterday but there was not that much in it if a few things worked out differently, they have quiet a few of the galway all ireland appearing team. With the club championship close in Sligo this year its clear that club football is in a better state than is reflected in our Div 4 ounty status. However as stated by many on here the current setup does not have the skills to get the best 24 in and playing with passion for the black and white.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 05/12/2022 18:25:05    2449600