Sligo GAA thread

Replying To SligoD:  "All the minor and u20 championship games are fixed for Tubbercurry"
When you think of how Sligo Teams have made Markievicz a fortress its a shame to have had to close it again. I can imagine many meetings are going on behind the scenes to resolve this and create a PR strategy. Hopefully we see something soon. Fair play to Tubbercurry having their ground available.

Any word on how the u20s and Minors are looking like this year?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1807 - 10/03/2025 19:14:51    2595840

Replying To Patchin:  "well done sligo hope ye stay up"
Our destiny is completely in our own hands. We probably dealt your promotion chances a blow but all's not lost yet.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2050 - 10/03/2025 22:40:11    2595874

Replying To Sligonian:  "When you think of how Sligo Teams have made Markievicz a fortress its a shame to have had to close it again. I can imagine many meetings are going on behind the scenes to resolve this and create a PR strategy. Hopefully we see something soon. Fair play to Tubbercurry having their ground available.

Any word on how the u20s and Minors are looking like this year?"
Watching the game last weekend I couldn't believe how bad the pitch was. Its absolutely ridiculous that after spending God knows how many thousand to apparently improve the pitch we have ended up with a pitch way worse than what we had. Its an embarrassment. If the above is true and we can't even use it then serious questions need to be asked. Sligo people are funding this.

maximus_1 (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 12/03/2025 08:39:00    2596032

Replying To maximus_1:  "Watching the game last weekend I couldn't believe how bad the pitch was. Its absolutely ridiculous that after spending God knows how many thousand to apparently improve the pitch we have ended up with a pitch way worse than what we had. Its an embarrassment. If the above is true and we can't even use it then serious questions need to be asked. Sligo people are funding this."
Who's responsible?

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 75 - 12/03/2025 10:06:17    2596039

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "Who's responsible?"
The responsibility lies at the door of Sligo Co Board. They might have their own internal squabble between the Finance cttee, Markievicz Park Cttee and all other interested parties but the buck stops with the Co Board.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2050 - 12/03/2025 21:13:16    2596154

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "Who's responsible?"
One would presume the county board. Who else could be? I would say that I think we, as patrons, are extremely soft on the county board. The most important thing are the teams we put on the field and the structures around them, but our facilities are a nothing short of a joke. Some of the worst in the country. There is no talk of action or any evidence of future planning for Markievicz or the COE. People in positions for far too long in the Sligo executive. It wouldn't be tolerated in most of our neighbouring counties. Where's our ambition?

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 151 - 13/03/2025 10:32:16    2596211

Replying To eoinog:  "The responsibility lies at the door of Sligo Co Board. They might have their own internal squabble between the Finance cttee, Markievicz Park Cttee and all other interested parties but the buck stops with the Co Board."
Absolutely. There are Development officers on the county board whose role is to oversee all this stuff, the Markievicz Park committee is only a sub-committee who only do the day to day operations I would imagine given the age profile of what I see over the last number of decades I wouldn't imagine they have much input into longer term development. Ultimately the county board executive are the ones who come looking for money for various things so they need to take responsibility.

However I would wonder if the questions will ever be asked about the job that was done in 2019/2020. It shouldn't be so bad now given that there's not been huge traffic on it with covid and temporary closures since.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 477 - 13/03/2025 10:35:05    2596212

Replying To johncreilly:  "One would presume the county board. Who else could be? I would say that I think we, as patrons, are extremely soft on the county board. The most important thing are the teams we put on the field and the structures around them, but our facilities are a nothing short of a joke. Some of the worst in the country. There is no talk of action or any evidence of future planning for Markievicz or the COE. People in positions for far too long in the Sligo executive. It wouldn't be tolerated in most of our neighbouring counties. Where's our ambition?"
I agree we are soft on the County Board and that this would not be tolerated in neighbouring counties. But are we not soft on the senior management. You ask where is our ambition but you don't seem ambitious about the Sligo Seniors. That mediocrity seems accepted very easily.

I think every Sligo supporter is complicit on the state of the pitch. Being soft on the county board has allowed them a free pass to waste money on the pitch. Being soft on the county board has allowed them to stand by senior management.

When has a tough question ever been asked of the county board? Hopefully this will wake a few people up of those that care.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1807 - 14/03/2025 17:15:00    2596385

Replying To Sligonian:  "I agree we are soft on the County Board and that this would not be tolerated in neighbouring counties. But are we not soft on the senior management. You ask where is our ambition but you don't seem ambitious about the Sligo Seniors. That mediocrity seems accepted very easily.

I think every Sligo supporter is complicit on the state of the pitch. Being soft on the county board has allowed them a free pass to waste money on the pitch. Being soft on the county board has allowed them to stand by senior management.

When has a tough question ever been asked of the county board? Hopefully this will wake a few people up of those that care."
TBH if someone sticks there hand up to criticize the pitch etc then they could be handed the job to sort it out. I know we talk about responsibility but this is not a business, theses are still volunteers potentially doing a job no one else wants. I'm quicker to be critical of Senior team management because they are not volunteering in that role.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 85 - 14/03/2025 18:29:39    2596391

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "TBH if someone sticks there hand up to criticize the pitch etc then they could be handed the job to sort it out. I know we talk about responsibility but this is not a business, theses are still volunteers potentially doing a job no one else wants. I'm quicker to be critical of Senior team management because they are not volunteering in that role."
That is a fair comment but they are still dealing with funding resources and it needs to be learned from and used efficiently. I would have a much softer view on volunteers than senior management. Whereas as a fair few posters on here are the opposite and especially quick to criticize Sligonian's. I always found that strange.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1807 - 14/03/2025 19:09:21    2596394

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "God win today but nearly let it slip again. O Connor outstanding. For me, particularly in the first half we were shy about shooting on what was a calm day.. Also was surprised how conservative we were with som of our passing when opportunities were there to open them up. Pitch absolutely terrible and is actually dangerous for players."
Good win. Shooting for 2's seems to be a problem for us. Any games I have been at there's been a few wides and dropped balls. Need more players involved that can. Judging from club games over the last few years Oisin Flynn from Castleconnor is a long range scorer. Seems to lack the confidence to shoot with Sligo at the moment. At club level though he has the biggest accurate range I have seen in years off of both feet. Good to see him and others from the U20s from the last few years getting some game time. Confidence and game time is key for these lads.

gaahub2020 (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 15/03/2025 02:49:27    2596432

Replying To Sligonian:  "That is a fair comment but they are still dealing with funding resources and it needs to be learned from and used efficiently. I would have a much softer view on volunteers than senior management. Whereas as a fair few posters on here are the opposite and especially quick to criticize Sligonian's. I always found that strange."
Careful now, your beginning to argue with yourself (Underhill)

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 103 - 15/03/2025 10:44:38    2596455

Our neighbours pulling out against Fermanagh tomorrow could throw the league into question if things are to get very tight and go to score diff. When I read it online first I thought back to the time we couldn't field against Galway in Covid but tbh I think this is worse as it doesn't impact a league and Leitrim using the u20 championship excuse goes to justify why we don't play any current u20s.

It's a real championship feel for tomorrow's game. If it were in Markievicz I would say no problem at all but the spin to Corrigan is dodgy. Hopefully they're too distracted with the Armagh game and take their eye of this relegation playoff but I doubt it. I suppose no fear of a team until the ball is thrown in???

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 477 - 15/03/2025 13:55:21    2596491

All the best to Sligo seniors tomorrow against Antrim. Massive game and hopefully continues to turn our season. Sligeach abù.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1807 - 15/03/2025 22:08:09    2596633

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Our neighbours pulling out against Fermanagh tomorrow could throw the league into question if things are to get very tight and go to score diff. When I read it online first I thought back to the time we couldn't field against Galway in Covid but tbh I think this is worse as it doesn't impact a league and Leitrim using the u20 championship excuse goes to justify why we don't play any current u20s.

It's a real championship feel for tomorrow's game. If it were in Markievicz I would say no problem at all but the spin to Corrigan is dodgy. Hopefully they're too distracted with the Armagh game and take their eye of this relegation playoff but I doubt it. I suppose no fear of a team until the ball is thrown in???"
No problem if it were in markievicz %() %() think your forgetting there's no field there anymore %()

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 327 - 15/03/2025 22:26:16    2596636

A big game today and I count just 1 post on X and no posts on facebook or instagram all week to promote the game or to try to get a decent crowd to travel with so much at stake.

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 468 - 16/03/2025 10:06:48    2596672

Replying To muscles:  "A big game today and I count just 1 post on X and no posts on facebook or instagram all week to promote the game or to try to get a decent crowd to travel with so much at stake."
The P.R associated with Sligo football is appalling. Remember the brilliant Fr. Liam Devine who had weekly articles in the champion. Big game today. Our last game against Antrim was a draw game so this will be just as tight. Hopefully we get the win

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2050 - 16/03/2025 11:24:48    2596683

Great win in Antrim 1-18 to 1-15. We should be in good position to beat Leitrim at home and stay up. Offaly beating Kildare means they can't rest anyone. Luke bree clearly a top class coach.

Obviously the lead at HT being wiped out is concerning but we got over the line. 1-18 is decent score. I still feel we have a lot of work to do closing out games. It is in us to push on but we have a habit letting teams back in it.

Massive relief given the position we were in at the start of league and damage has been limited to the progress. Congrats to the players.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1807 - 16/03/2025 15:51:33    2596725

Great win and secures Division 3. Kildare won't slip up against Antrim at home and I don't expect we will either against Leitrim, if they can field. You'd wonder have we to be up by 7/8 in every game at some stage to see it out at this stage! But anyway finishing on 7 points is a lot better than it was looking after 3 rounds, so well done to team and management for turning it around. Another win and we'd have been in promotion contention but realistically we are not fit for Div 2.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 477 - 16/03/2025 16:51:53    2596742

From the reports from the plenty of Molaise people who were at the game, very impressive 1st half. Played some great football and made Antrim look very poor, maybe they are. Management then decided to have an extra 3 or 4 min team talk at Half time to sort out all the issues and as you all know it had the desired effect of us going from 1-11 to 6 pts up to 1-11 to 1-10 so 7 pts to no score swing. I know Anto you say it is very amateurish if subs are pre planned but they've taken off Towey in the last 3 games around the 50 min mark despite him playing very well. Spillane who was motoring well got taken off after scoring a great point on 51 mins today. I can't help but think its preplanned because why would you take off players who are top in their position. I know we lost the 3rd qtr badly but Spillane just got our 1st score 2nd half and Towey was still playing well. I think they maybe basing on distance covered or high energy runs on the GPS. Subs didn't turn the game in our favor btw. Others stepped up.

We did well to wrestle back momentum second half. Most said we are moving the ball well. We have trouble following runners and that will be exposed heavily against Mayo who are flying right now. We seem to lose our way second half. Lyons and McGuinness played well by all accounts. The general consensus is we have a good team that should be competing for promotion in Division 3 but we have a poor management who find ways to hold us back.

It didn't take Mickey Harte or Luke Bree long to get to know their players or adapt to the new rules. Offaly are on the brink of promotion to Divison 2. Last May Offaly lost 2-20 to 0-12 to London. He did the similar with Louth. Harte hasn't a bad track record of bringing through good underage players.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1807 - 16/03/2025 22:29:37    2596817