Congratulations to Coolera/Strandhill on a brilliant win. Incredible achievement for the club and a massive lift for the county. shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 126 - 02/12/2024 09:17:51 2581985 Link 0 |
Fair play to Coolera/Strandhill. Brilliant performance with great mentality. Lots of teams wouldn't have pegged Pearces back like that because they are such a tough team to play against. They shouldn't fear anyone now and push on and win it out. It's very possible. I have said it here before and to my sligo half of the family that ye are only going one direction over the next few years and it's great to see. dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1159 - 02/12/2024 17:57:24 2582092 Link 0 |
Well done Coolera. I got to admit that I didn't see that happening. Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 78 - 03/12/2024 08:21:50 2582144 Link 0 |
Anything but a flash in the pan. To take two big wins like that in Connacht is no fluke. As eluded to, had to stay in touch as it looked like Pearses would blow them away early on. From then on, they were the better team with more control of the game. A real team performance and a great example to the rest of us in Sligo. Well done to everyone involved. johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 127 - 03/12/2024 11:04:41 2582163 Link 0 |
Has anybody heard any new faces in the senior football panel? BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 64 - 04/12/2024 09:29:47 2582294 Link 0 |
I haven't heard anything from the County set up.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1979 - 04/12/2024 17:12:01 2582376 Link 0 |
League fixtures for the senior footballers Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1739 - 05/12/2024 16:37:32 2582523 Link 0 |
Can one of the clubs back home put forward a motion that all non televised games can be streamed by county boards for additional revenue and growth of the game. Even if it's only for overseas viewers. Thanks in advance. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1739 - 05/12/2024 20:36:56 2582551 Link 0 |
Anytime you have 4 away games, you are instantly at a disadvantage. But good to have Kildare and Clare at hom Live to the county board to promote these well and get big crowds. You're right that we need to start well. I think if we lose in Offaly, we won't get promoted and will be playing to avoid relegation. It's a group where everyone will drop points. Haven't heard which of the Under 20s have gone in.
johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 127 - 06/12/2024 09:30:18 2582594 Link 0 |
4 away games is tough. If one of them was against Leitrim it wouldn't be so bad as they are basically beside us. Our target has to be promotion but if we don't beat Offaly in our first game we will be on the back foot straight away. The only lads I would expect to see moving up from the U.20 are Ross Doherty, Rossa Sloyane and Conor Johnson. Doherty is committed to the club for the foreseeable future. I don't think any of the rest are ready to move up at the moment based on their form this year.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1979 - 06/12/2024 11:09:51 2582608 Link 0 |
looking at all league fixtures I have Kildare and Sligo to get promoted.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3504 - 06/12/2024 18:21:33 2582662 Link 0 |
I think you might have had too many mince pies and maybe indulged a little bit on the mulled wine
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1979 - 07/12/2024 22:12:14 2582740 Link 0 |
Apart from last year our club teams have proven in recent years that they can compete in Connacht with the best which includes clubs from D1 counties, with this been the case it's totally logical that our Senior county team should be easily be able to compete with D3 counties....correct?
MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 08/12/2024 20:58:20 2582814 Link 0 |
Good point sligonian
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 78 - 08/12/2024 23:07:26 2582828 Link 0 |
Don't dare to dream of promotion or think too big lads, Eoinog and the CB will be on your back if you do. We all know why. There is huge pressure on McEntee next year because the excuse's are gone. Our club and underage with Sligo coaches and managers have all had massive breakthroughs. Not just beating tier 1 teams but winning provincial titles. Sligo and Kildare are the clear favorites in a pretty weak Division 3. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1739 - 09/12/2024 01:14:48 2582835 Link 0 |
Delighted you agreed with Mr Underhill.
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 78 - 09/12/2024 08:46:04 2582846 Link 0 |
Very obvious that one person operates 3 accounts Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 78 - 09/12/2024 10:00:05 2582859 Link 0 |
Very obvious that one person operates 3 accounts Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 78 - 09/12/2024 10:59:36 2582867 Link 0 |
I think to be fair to Eoinog that he says above that the target should be promotion. There is certainly no more pressure than there was last year and I don't know why there would be? Do you think they should be winning Connacht? If they were relegated, it would be a huge disappointment but I don't see that happening. I can't see how Sligo and Kildare are favorites ahead of Clare or Fermanagh. Very little between the four sides and one would expect two of those to go up. I have to say Sligonian, you love a bit of drama. And I must say, you haven't a notion what you're talking about most of the time and everyone is sick of your commentary on the mighty unstoppable Grange and their hoard of all stars. I don't like to get on top of people, but my guess is you never kicked a ball at any level. johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 127 - 10/12/2024 09:26:15 2582974 Link 0 |
Was this posted by a 5 year old? very childish comment and unnecessary personal attack
muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 464 - 10/12/2024 10:43:41 2582986 Link 0 |